LG 47LM4600 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 356 Old 12-25-2012, 09:09 PM
Newbie
 
bis22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe63304 View Post

Hey, I'm new to AVS but have been following the site for years. Anyway, I am thinking of getting the 47LM4600 and my question is does anyone who owns it notice any vertical banding? The reason I ask this is that I just bought the LG CM565 and it has vertical banding and seeing if it would be worth it to return it and get the 47LM4600.

I think my 47LM4600 has a smilier issue with vertical banding. They're difficult to see on a stationary image, but when there's a camera pan, I notice some vertical stripes on the screen that are slightly darker than the rest of the picture (noticeable mainly on brighter areas). It's the "dirty screen effect," if you will. Now that I know they're there, they're distracting. Does anyone else have this effect on their TV? I want to exchange it if I got a bad one, but I don't want to go through the hassle if this is pretty typical.
bis22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 356 Old 12-26-2012, 08:07 AM
Newbie
 
joe63304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm no expert but what I've looked up on the Internet is that all LED/LCD displays have it to a certain extent. Even though it's really impossible to see on the display units at stores I've used the grey pattern option like I mentioned on this thread on those and I noticed it then on the display models. I never noticed it on my old 32 inch Panasonic but that could be due to it being too small. I personally think some people are more sensitive to it. I don't think it's really worth it to exchange it since the next one will probably be the same. Unless you decide to get a different TV.
joe63304 is offline  
post #93 of 356 Old 12-28-2012, 10:50 AM
Newbie
 
SpecTP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboypup View Post

sears and best buy are still selling it for like $950

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboypup View Post

yup .... I got mine for $799 yesterday had sears price match it

So how is the glare on the LG 55LM4600?
SpecTP is offline  
post #94 of 356 Old 12-28-2012, 11:25 AM
Member
 
gafool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine from walmart 598

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
gafool is offline  
post #95 of 356 Old 12-28-2012, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
e84cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I picked on up yesterday I see no glare off of it

Main System
Fronts RB 81 II BLK
Cener RC 52 II BLK
Rears RB 61 II CHERRY (going to be replaced with a black set)
Subwoofer SW112 BLK
SR 5006
MM7025
LG 55 LED 120HZ BDPS590 ipad 2 remote
Bedroom RB 41 II BLK/ TXSR 607 / TCL32X1 / BDPS370 / Apple TV 2 wife ipad3 remote
e84cooper is offline  
post #96 of 356 Old 12-31-2012, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
KingCesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desz View Post

I have to say that I'm sticking to my expert II settings I posted earlier in this thread. However, these settings work perfect for the PS3 only. I tried these exact settings on the Wii U and the image looked grayed out, like there was a very light grey transparency over the image. I'll work on the Wii U settings and report back.
Here's a shot I took from my favorite Christmas movie yesterday playing on my PS3 with the settings I posted earlier. I'm very happy with the overall image. I'll test Uncharted 3 next.

Expert 2:
Backlight: 75
Contrast: 93
Brightness: 53
H Sharpness: 55
V Sharpness: 65
Color: 55
Tint: G6
Aspect Ratio: Just Scan
Expert Control Menu:
Dynamic Contrast: Medium
Noise Reduction: Off
Digital Noise Reduction: Off
Black level: Low
Real Cinema: ON
Color Gamut: Standard
Edge Enhancer: Off
Color Filter: Off
Color Temp: Medium
Gamma: 2.2
Method 10 Point IRE
Pattern: Outer
IRE: 100
Luminance: 175
I'm picking this up tomorrow. Would be great if you could help me out with the settings for the Wii U.
KingCesar is offline  
post #97 of 356 Old 01-02-2013, 08:45 AM
Member
 
FrankTheTank2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if this TV has a PCMCIA slot for a CableCard or am I out dating myself? Also, does anyone here use Time Warner Cable without paying for a cable box? If so, are you able to connect the cable to this TV and have it find all the clear QAM channels? Thanks.
FrankTheTank2 is offline  
post #98 of 356 Old 01-02-2013, 12:16 PM
Member
 
gafool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so i have the tv set up, good picture nice 3d, but im guessing like all others have said this is not a true" true motion" tv? i just watched total recall 2012 and did not notice any soap opera effect that true motion offers, ive also read where the update u download deletes the 3d? now mine was make in sep 2012 so im guessing it has it already? how do i find out where the version is? under settings? over all i like the tv.
gafool is offline  
post #99 of 356 Old 01-03-2013, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
tjxlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So there have been a number of questions about whether this set actually has Trumotion and 120hz. I found this Q/A on the LG website:

QUESTION
Where are the trumotion settings?

Description clearly says trumotion but there are no settings
Category: I own this product
Interested in: Troubleshooting
ASKED 1 WEEK, 2 DAYS AGO User Name: MexelvisCalifornia, USA ON 47LM4600




Answer this question
1 ANSWER
According to our information, the TruMotion feature is activated at the factory, and is set to its LOW setting by default. No options are made available to adjust this feature.
STAFFEXPERT
ANSWERED 2 DAYS AGO User Name: NeilE


This was answered by one of the staff, I guess this may be a service menu option?
tjxlee is offline  
post #100 of 356 Old 01-03-2013, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: One step ahead of you
Posts: 8,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gafool View Post

how do i find out where the version is? under settings? over all i like the tv.

If you open up the settings, there's an option with the "red" button for customer support. Pressing this brings up a menu with some basic trouble shooting (image, audio and some other basic stuff) there's also an option to display the firmware version. To find the hardware version you'd have to open up the TV (but that's not recommended unless you know what you're looking for).
gafool likes this.
Jeff D is offline  
post #101 of 356 Old 01-03-2013, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: One step ahead of you
Posts: 8,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjxlee View Post

So there have been a number of questions about whether this set actually has Trumotion and 120hz. I found this Q/A on the LG website:
According to our information, the TruMotion feature is activated at the factory, and is set to its LOW setting by default. No options are made available to adjust this feature.
STAFFEXPERT
ANSWERED 2 DAYS AGO User Name: NeilE
This was answered by one of the staff, I guess this may be a service menu option?

There's no service menu option for the TruMotion. From what I've been told from the inside is that it is enabled, but there's no way to change it. I've looked through the service menus and didn't find anything related to TruMotion. I was also told the TM support is being worked on and should be in a future release.


Do any of you have the 03.03.08 (I'm not sure of the last number) firmware? I'm still trying to locate that version along with others to create an archive so we can revert back if needed. I've got more of this tech info in a thread for the 4600/4700 owners.
Jeff D is offline  
post #102 of 356 Old 01-03-2013, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
guno89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New guy here, My 7yr old Toshiba 46hm95 DLP started having issues. Ended up it was the color wheel. I coudn't Justify spending $125 to fix it myself knowing that i would need a bulb in next few months also. I bought the LG 47lm4600 at Frys since it's was no tax free sip to NY. I have Verizon Fios and am using a HDMI cable im sure it is a low end cable. Had no issues with my old DLP. When I watch Hockey (world Juniors now cause NHL & players are greedy) It looks like complete crap. When players skate fast its blurred nd even on replays slowed down names on jersey's aren't clear. I updated to firmware 03.40.08 it didn't do anything. I got the tv 2 days ago and If i can't get Hockey looking good i am going to send this thing back.

Any sugestions would be great. I wish there was a way to mess with "true motion" of what I have read it might not even have.
guno89 is offline  
post #103 of 356 Old 01-03-2013, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Dellamorte13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So can anyone tell me if there's any banding or flashlighting on the LG LM4600?

Is there any kind of auto brightness in dark scenes?

My Samsung has both and I want to get something else but I'm on a budget of $700-750 Max.

Your help is greatly appreciated.
Dellamorte13 is offline  
post #104 of 356 Old 01-04-2013, 08:38 AM
Member
 
FrankTheTank2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by guno89 View Post

New guy here, My 7yr old Toshiba 46hm95 DLP started having issues. Ended up it was the color wheel. I coudn't Justify spending $125 to fix it myself knowing that i would need a bulb in next few months also. I bought the LG 47lm4600 at Frys since it's was no tax free sip to NY. I have Verizon Fios and am using a HDMI cable im sure it is a low end cable. Had no issues with my old DLP. When I watch Hockey (world Juniors now cause NHL & players are greedy) It looks like complete crap. When players skate fast its blurred nd even on replays slowed down names on jersey's aren't clear. I updated to firmware 03.40.08 it didn't do anything. I got the tv 2 days ago and If i can't get Hockey looking good i am going to send this thing back.
Any sugestions would be great. I wish there was a way to mess with "true motion" of what I have read it might not even have.

I just ordered mine from Frys too. I don't think they allow returns of large TVs that were shipped to you. Hopefully you can find a fix and please let us know. I will test mine out and let you know if I have the same problem.
FrankTheTank2 is offline  
post #105 of 356 Old 01-04-2013, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
guno89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it is defective it can be exchnaged or returned for credit. I consider fast action being blurry defective. Overall picture is great, just the hockey issue. I will watch USA hopefully in gold at 8am tommorow and if its not good i will call LG after the game. There is no truemotion settings on the tv. I will call and get to the bottom of it.

I will post my results if I have to call LG
guno89 is offline  
post #106 of 356 Old 01-04-2013, 08:13 PM
Member
 
gafool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok i tried downloading the update i have a macbook pro, how do i get it to open and unzip? i tried using my wifes computer but could not get the update to show up? i put it on the zip drive but nothing? a great walkthrough would be great!
gafool is offline  
post #107 of 356 Old 01-05-2013, 04:49 AM
Newbie
 
Hitesh Kumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bot it yesterday here in Oman, its very good tv in budget. It is a 3D ready. Can anyone help me what is the missing function in 3D ready as compared to Full 3D. Please help me in this way.
Hitesh Kumar is offline  
post #108 of 356 Old 01-05-2013, 09:59 AM
Member
 
gafool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
someone that knows how to do this please help!!!!! ive got the update on a sandisk but when i plug it into the tv it shows it as empty but plug it into the computer it has the flies and all in there and yes its unzipped? but when i plug it into the tv it does not give me the tv upgrade option? please help help help! mayday mayday mayday! im using a macbokk computer i downloaded the winzip version for macbook
gafool is offline  
post #109 of 356 Old 01-05-2013, 10:29 AM
Member
 
gafool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nevermind i got it labeled the folder wrong so now im running the latest upgrade yay
gafool is offline  
post #110 of 356 Old 01-05-2013, 10:05 PM
Newbie
 
LGManTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this site, I just signed up to be able to report that I will be calling LG on Monday to request the future ability to adjust the TruMotion settings.

I actually found this thread by trying to research why this model did not look "120 Hz"
Did anyone else notice kind of an increase in quality after the firmware update, or am I just stupid?
LGManTX is offline  
post #111 of 356 Old 01-06-2013, 05:56 AM
Member
 
FrankTheTank2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just setup this TV yesterday. Connected it to Sony 3D Bluray player (BDP-S590) with high speed HDMI cables. When I try to play a 3D movie using the Blueray player, the TV asks me if I want to watch in 3D and I select "OK". Then is shows the movie like this (split screen)




Now, when stop the movie and restart it, it seems to play normally and 3D looks and works great. Am I missing something or have some weird setting enabled? Thanks!
FrankTheTank2 is offline  
post #112 of 356 Old 01-06-2013, 08:50 AM
Member
 
gafool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try looking in the 3d settings, my issues seems to be when im playing 3d the tv keeps popping up adking if I want 3d so im looking how to shut that off

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
gafool is offline  
post #113 of 356 Old 01-06-2013, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Dellamorte13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So can anyone tell me if there's any banding or flashlighting on the LG LM4600?

Is there any kind of auto brightness in dark scenes?

My Samsung has both and I want to get something else but I'm on a budget of $700-750 Max.

Your help is greatly appreciated.
Dellamorte13 is offline  
post #114 of 356 Old 01-06-2013, 11:57 AM
Member
 
FrankTheTank2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gafool View Post

Try looking in the 3d settings, my issues seems to be when im playing 3d the tv keeps popping up adking if I want 3d so im looking how to shut that off
Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

If you press the "3D" button on your remote, the first option that pops up asks you if you want the 3D prompt. Try changing that to off. Hope that will work.
gafool likes this.
FrankTheTank2 is offline  
post #115 of 356 Old 01-06-2013, 06:41 PM
Member
 
jlo8720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ordered the other day for 549 + tax in Texas.


will post my findings, although it sounds like there are some disappointed owners

LG 60PM6700 (2012)
Moto HD DVR + Suddenlink HD>>>Xbox One
PS3
Yamaha RX-677 w/ 5.1

Samsung LNT4665F (2008) - OTA Tuner - LG Blu Ray - Panasonic HD-DVD
jlo8720 is online now  
post #116 of 356 Old 01-07-2013, 06:19 AM
Member
 
FrankTheTank2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlo8720 View Post

ordered the other day for 549 + tax in Texas.
will post my findings, although it sounds like there are some disappointed owners

The TV has a good image and is a very good deal for the money. There are just some weird settings and issues that I hope will be worked out over time.
FrankTheTank2 is offline  
post #117 of 356 Old 01-07-2013, 04:30 PM
Member
 
jlo8720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3.02.67 is the tvs firmware and updating doesn't bring up any new versions

however the website lists 3.40.08 as the newest version.

anyone know the difference before I dl the zip, add to flash drive, update, etc?

LG 60PM6700 (2012)
Moto HD DVR + Suddenlink HD>>>Xbox One
PS3
Yamaha RX-677 w/ 5.1

Samsung LNT4665F (2008) - OTA Tuner - LG Blu Ray - Panasonic HD-DVD
jlo8720 is online now  
post #118 of 356 Old 01-07-2013, 04:31 PM
Member
 
jlo8720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
O yeah, great picture quality, looks like a 120 hz panel coming from my 08 60 hz tv (model number in sig)

LG 60PM6700 (2012)
Moto HD DVR + Suddenlink HD>>>Xbox One
PS3
Yamaha RX-677 w/ 5.1

Samsung LNT4665F (2008) - OTA Tuner - LG Blu Ray - Panasonic HD-DVD
jlo8720 is online now  
post #119 of 356 Old 01-07-2013, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
kojmuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by guno89 View Post

New guy here, My 7yr old Toshiba 46hm95 DLP started having issues. Ended up it was the color wheel. I coudn't Justify spending $125 to fix it myself knowing that i would need a bulb in next few months also. I bought the LG 47lm4600 at Frys since it's was no tax free sip to NY. I have Verizon Fios and am using a HDMI cable im sure it is a low end cable. Had no issues with my old DLP. When I watch Hockey (world Juniors now cause NHL & players are greedy) It looks like complete crap. When players skate fast its blurred nd even on replays slowed down names on jersey's aren't clear. I updated to firmware 03.40.08 it didn't do anything. I got the tv 2 days ago and If i can't get Hockey looking good i am going to send this thing back.
Any sugestions would be great. I wish there was a way to mess with "true motion" of what I have read it might not even have.


lower the sharpness. I had this issue with football games, and it's fine now for me
kojmuffin is offline  
post #120 of 356 Old 01-07-2013, 07:59 PM
Member
 
gafool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wish this had true motion like it says! i watched avengers at best buy on a real true motion and man that was awesome! it looked so real! it was a total difffrent movie, come on lg give us real true motion!!!!
gafool is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg , Lcd Hdtv

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off