OFFICIAL Samsung Smart Hub Fiasco Thread - Page 3 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > OFFICIAL Samsung Smart Hub Fiasco Thread

LCD Flat Panel Displays

RBCski's Avatar RBCski
05:20 PM Liked: 11
post #61 of 81
02-27-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2014

so did you try the optical cable, does it work ? I am having the same issue with netflix on samsung TV, optical cable doesn't work on mine.


leem6453's Avatar leem6453
12:58 PM Liked: 10
post #62 of 81
05-05-2014 | Posts: 539
Joined: Aug 2007
I just bought a new Samsung 55" (UN55FH6200) and the Smart Hub doesn't seem to have a Youtube app...just a "link to Youtube" that redirects to the web browser. Unfortunately I can't find anything on the web about this. Weird. Do you guys have the Youtube app?
golden1998's Avatar golden1998
07:26 PM Liked: 10
post #63 of 81
05-07-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: May 2014
I was able to resolve this issue. I have a Samsung 55" (UN55F9000) with Denon AVR2313CI. By using the optical cable + I had to manually specify under AVR that when I m using the TV as the video provider to use the optoical cable. I have tried both Netflix and Youtube and I m getting 5.1. Under YouTube you can find surround testing 5.1 video

Envoyé de mon Nexus 7 en utilisant Tapatalk
CaptJoe767's Avatar CaptJoe767
04:44 PM Liked: 10
post #64 of 81
05-09-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014

I just got the 2014 Un6500H800. Same issue. Absolutely unacceptable. Tv is going back if this issue is not resolved.


CaptJoe767's Avatar CaptJoe767
04:47 PM Liked: 10
post #65 of 81
05-09-2014 | Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014

Un65H8000


Fant's Avatar Fant
08:22 PM Liked: 14
post #66 of 81
07-08-2014 | Posts: 199
Joined: Apr 2003
So I just got a new receiver (marantz nr1403) to go with my samsung d8000 tv and you're not gonna believe this.

I GOT NETFLIX APP IN SMARTHUB TO OUTPUT DD TO MY RECIEVER!

Here are the settings I used to achieve this.

First I'm using a single hdmi cable from the RECIEVER to the ARC Hdmi port on the Tv. All my sources (cable, bluray) are connected to my RECIEVER.

On the RECIEVER:
Video - hdmi setup -
Hdmi audio out set to AVR
Hdmi control set to on
P off control set to off
Inputs - digital assign
TV audio set to none
Inputs - input select
Input mode set to auto
Decode mode set to auto


On the tv:
System - anynet+ hdmi-Cec set to ON
System - anynet+ auto turn off set to no
System - anynet+ RECIEVER set to On
Sound - speaker settings set to external (this May get disabled once you turn on anynet so not sure this matters)

The one caveat is that I don't have any speakers hooked up yet so I can't audibly confirm this is working but I can get the Dolby digital sign on the RECIEVER to go on and off based on whether I pick dd or stereo from the netflix audio and subtitles menu of the film.

On to try amazon prime and hbo go now!

Confirmed getting Dd from hbo go too!!
ChromeJob's Avatar ChromeJob
05:15 PM Liked: 15
post #67 of 81
08-23-2014 | Posts: 104
Joined: Apr 2011
I'm following this thread because I've just discovered a problem. I have been using my UN40ES6150 TV with a Yamaha RX-V663 amplifier, Netflix content with audio in Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 is output via PCM over optical to the 663 just fine.

I just upgraded to an RX-V775 receiver, and the DD+ 5.1 soundtracks blank out for a second intermittently. The receiver identifies it as "Dolby Digital." ... Works fine with "Stereo" signal selected (the receiver claims this is still Dolby Digital 2.0). [Clarification: I've observed this both over optical SP/DIF and HDMI ARC.]

Playing Netflix through my Chromecast and Panasonic BDT-210 (connected directly to the amp's HDMI inputs), playing Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 has no issues -- and the amp identifies the streams as "Dolby Digital+". I'm convinced now that the problem is with my UN40ES6150 sending DD+ stream as PCM with the incorrect flag.


ADDENDUM: My Panasonic BDT-210 outputs in a format that my amp ID;s as DD+. DEFINITELY a problem with the TV.
Azeem00
12:03 AM Liked: 0
post #68 of 81
09-09-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2014
So are you saying any content played through smarthub is not even close to 1080P, so how do you fix this issue? Do you just have to use another device like Roku3 or something to play 1080P content? Has this been fixed by Samsung in 2014 or is this still a problem?
Azeem00
12:10 AM Liked: 0
post #69 of 81
09-09-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2014
I recently bought Samsung TV Model: UN65H6350AFXZA with a Sound barModel: HW-H450/ZA. I have the sound bar connected with HDMI ARC (Audio Return Channel) built into the smart TV. I've been having issues with skipping sound through the sound every time I play any movie with HD 5.1 sound. I initially thought it was the sound bar so after replacing or trying 3 different sound bars I still have the same issue so my conclusion it has to be the TV.
After reading all these forums about skipping Sound I believe it is either the Netflix built in App into the TV through smart hub. Also I have read that HDMI ARC in Samsung TV does not output HD 5.1 sound on this forum as well.

So how do you fix this problem? I know my soundbar is a 2.1 channel so does that it's not capable of playing HD 5.1? Is this why it's skipping sound?
I'm guessing you have to use another device to play your Netflix content, like Roku3 or another smart device that has Netflix app. If Samsung TVs are really not putting out 5.1 HD surround sound through HDMI ARC then it is a serious design flaw by Samsung and I'm thinking that itself is good enough reason to return the TV?
Any suggestions or solutions anybody came up with so far to solve this issue?

ChromeJob's Avatar ChromeJob
09:40 PM Liked: 15
post #70 of 81
09-11-2014 | Posts: 104
Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azeem00 View Post
I recently bought Samsung TV Model: UN65H6350AFXZA with a Sound barModel: HW-H450/ZA. I have the sound bar connected with HDMI ARC (Audio Return Channel) built into the smart TV. I've been having issues with skipping sound through the sound every time I play any movie with HD 5.1 sound. I initially thought it was the sound bar so after replacing or trying 3 different sound bars I still have the same issue so my conclusion it has to be the TV.
After reading all these forums about skipping Sound I believe it is either the Netflix built in App into the TV through smart hub. Also I have read that HDMI ARC in Samsung TV does not output HD 5.1 sound on this forum as well.

So how do you fix this problem? I know my soundbar is a 2.1 channel so does that it's not capable of playing HD 5.1? Is this why it's skipping sound?
I'm guessing you have to use another device to play your Netflix content, like Roku3 or another smart device that has Netflix app. If Samsung TVs are really not putting out 5.1 HD surround sound through HDMI ARC then it is a serious design flaw by Samsung and I'm thinking that itself is good enough reason to return the TV?
Any suggestions or solutions anybody came up with so far to solve this issue?
The Netflix app on my UN40ES6150 definitely outputs 5.1 to the amp. But it is not identified as DD+. This is possibly the problem, the decoder in my Yamaha RX-V775 is thrown off by the PCM signal from the TV.

Try switching to a "Dolby Stereo" (really DD 2.0) audio track if you can. (Not all movies have this option.)

Addendum: I tried this on Netflix with I KNOW THAT VOICE, and even the DD 2.0 tracks were dropping out.
yanquiuxo's Avatar yanquiuxo
12:42 AM Liked: 10
post #71 of 81
10-26-2014 | Posts: 28
Joined: Aug 2013
So I just upgraded from a 46es7100 to a 55f8000 and it would appear that I, too, am having issues with the Smart hub receiving Dolby Digital on the Netflix app and sending it over HDMI ARC. The app itself shows it's only receiving a stereo signal even on 5.1 enabled content when I press the info button or go to the audio settings. Previously, I never had this problem with my es7100 which was set up the same exact way, it was able to send 5.1 from Netflix through ARC to my receiver which was great.

I truly believe this is a Samsung app-related problem on this model of the TV not receiving 5.1 signal. When I watch the same content through my Sony blu Ray player I get 5.1 no problem, and like I said, the TV displays "stereo PCM" when you click the info button so I don't think this is ARC-related (when I watch 5.1 content from my media server through the TV it gets outputted as DD over ARC no problem).

After reading more into the issue, it would seem that this is purely a smart hub issue (hence what thread this is being posted in). The thing that really makes me angry is that my 2011 model es7100 had no problem getting 5.1 from Netflix through the smart hub. When I bought this 2012 f8000, I was under the impression I was upgrading the TV, not downgrading. Now why would I have a silly thought like that?

I'm not sure why Netflix and Samsung would not have addressed this issue by now, this an older TV and has recently been updated to the latest firmware. It would just seem that Netflix is not receiving a 5.1 signal on this specific model through the smart hub. It's a bummer.
nextgenfmradio's Avatar nextgenfmradio
06:09 PM Liked: 1
post #72 of 81
02-18-2015 | Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2015
I have the Sam un55es6100

And this problem has still not been fixed!!!
ChromeJob's Avatar ChromeJob
08:03 AM Liked: 15
post #73 of 81
02-19-2015 | Posts: 104
Joined: Apr 2011
I still have this problem with Netflix, Amazon Instant Video. I circumvent it by streaming through a Chromecast, but can't for Amazon unless I bought a Fire TV Stick.

Because both apps exhibit this issue, I tend to blame Samsung.


// Tapatalk on iPad Mini - Misspelling courtesy of Logitech folio kybd //
nextgenfmradio's Avatar nextgenfmradio
01:23 PM Liked: 1
post #74 of 81
02-19-2015 | Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChromeJob View Post
I still have this problem with Netflix, Amazon Instant Video. I circumvent it by streaming through a Chromecast, but can't for Amazon unless I bought a Fire TV Stick.

Because both apps exhibit this issue, I tend to blame Samsung.


// Tapatalk on iPad Mini - Misspelling courtesy of Logitech folio kybd //
Yup, still waiting on that firmware update! There was a nice big fat one around November last year, how about a New Years Present Sam??? Honestly, I don't think they are ever going to fix it...
nextgenfmradio's Avatar nextgenfmradio
03:21 PM Liked: 1
post #75 of 81
02-19-2015 | Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2015
This problem seems to even occur on regular stereo soundtracks also. I was watching some "Ancient Aliens" ( i know , try not to laugh ) and was still having the issue.
ChromeJob's Avatar ChromeJob
05:45 PM Liked: 15
post #76 of 81
02-23-2015 | Posts: 104
Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextgenfmradio View Post
This problem seems to even occur on regular stereo soundtracks also. I was watching some "Ancient Aliens" ( i know , try not to laugh ) and was still having the issue.
Yes. I'm messing around with my UN40ES6150 networking (it can't connected to my wi-fi LAN after using Ethernet, another frakking Samsung problem), and tried House of Cards S1E1 in both DD+ 5.1 and DD Stereo (maybe DD+ 2.0), both tracks were blanking out even via Gigabit Ethernet. Not as bad as the Ethernet connection to a wireless bridge configured Asus 802.11n router, but still doing it with absolutely zero network reduction plugged right into the Netgear R6700, 5.1 and 2.0 audio tracks.

(N.B. Same issue with Amazon Instant Video app, streaming Archer S3E8. Lots of audio dropping out, but that was via the wireless bridge Asus router.)

There have been numerous SmartHub updates, unsure about Netflix app, but at this point I blame either the Samsung hardware, could even be Samsung software.

Thank heavens for Chromecast, I get DD+ audio tracks smooth as silk. Tempted to buy an Amazon Fire TV Stick if I use Amazon Prime Instant Video more (darn it, I passed when there was a $20 rebate for Prime members).
Tom Imp's Avatar Tom Imp
09:12 AM Liked: 65
post #77 of 81
02-26-2015 | Posts: 2,173
Joined: May 2003
I have Optimum Online as my e-mail and internet provider. Every so often on the home page there will be a special announcement. For the past two days there has been a notice about the Samsung Smart Hub being down or having spotty connectivity.


I'm not so much concerned about that as I am how the hell they even know I have a Samsung Smart TV and why they, who have nothing to do with Samsung, would even be announcing it.
ChromeJob's Avatar ChromeJob
11:09 PM Liked: 15
post #78 of 81
02-28-2015 | Posts: 104
Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Imp View Post
I have Optimum Online as my e-mail and internet provider. Every so often on the home page there will be a special announcement. For the past two days there has been a notice about the Samsung Smart Hub being down or having spotty connectivity.


I'm not so much concerned about that as I am how the hell they even know I have a Samsung Smart TV and why they, who have nothing to do with Samsung, would even be announcing it.

Because Smart Hub has to phone home to Samsung to work. Trivially easy for your isp to detect this. Couple of years ago all the apps were failing to run with some innocuous error message. I finally called Samsung after trying everything including a full reset. Their support line answered with a recording that listed the exact same error message, disclosed that it was a problem with their own servers, and they were working tirelessly to restore service.

I waited for a real human rep to come on, and she corroborated that the Samsung servers had to be reached by the TVs, before contacting the service (Netflix, Amazon, etc). Pretty lame design, eh?
nextgenfmradio's Avatar nextgenfmradio
09:43 AM Liked: 1
post #79 of 81
Yesterday | Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2015
My smart hub updated yesterday, I have no idea what the hell it did. Kinda creepy.

Still waiting on that firmware update Samsung!
ChromeJob's Avatar ChromeJob
09:35 AM Liked: 15
post #80 of 81
Today | Posts: 104
Joined: Apr 2011
Get used to it. I've had countless updates, often interrupting use. Having the "standby update" option doesn't seem to help.
nextgenfmradio's Avatar nextgenfmradio
11:25 AM Liked: 1
post #81 of 81
Today | Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2015
My model actuAlly updated to version 2003 last night, but I have no idea what it fixed if anything, there is no change log on samsungs website

Sadly I'm still getting the skip
Tags: Samsung Un46es7500 46 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv

Gear in this thread
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3