Official LG XXLM7200 Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 735 Old 01-30-2013, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,602
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiverSide View Post

There are dedicated apps for Netflix and Youtube.. No Amazon Instant yet

Here it is: LOL

Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent. Unless, of course, it's to keep someone from creating a phone video in portrait mode, in which case it's a pretty good first step. Portrait mooks: KNOCK IT OFF.
tgm1024 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 735 Old 01-30-2013, 05:22 PM
Member
 
esoxlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rer420 View Post

user expert1 ...turn off local dimming, crank up backlight to 70....contrast at 70, brightness 50.
view various contents with black image, black bars and turn off the lights in your room and make sure the room is fairly dark.
that will give you an idea of how bad it is, but it should get much better as you tweak the settings and adjust your advanced calibration settings according to cnet guide.
you wont notice much light bleed if your in a well lit room and it doesnt affect most content, just stuff with dark images and black bars.

So How Bad is this clouding and bleed? Watching Wall-e, lights in the bottom corners drove me nuts.






esoxlee is offline  
post #453 of 735 Old 01-30-2013, 07:51 PM
Member
 
roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What you need to do to get rid of the cloudiness in the lower corners is to slowly push in on the screen in the lower corners. you will feel a small pop but that will clear up the cloudiness and make your picture much better.

LG 60LM7200, Pioneer SC-05, Panamax M4300-PM, Oppo BDP-103, Paridigm Monitor7's (fronts and center), Velodyne F-1200, Infinity surrounds.
roach is offline  
post #454 of 735 Old 01-31-2013, 03:47 AM
Senior Member
 
RiverSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by esoxlee View Post

So How Bad is this clouding and bleed? Watching Wall-e, lights in the bottom corners drove me nuts.

Backlight of 70 in a dark room is way too high! I hover around 20 or lower in a completely dark room.

Insert pithy comment here
RiverSide is offline  
post #455 of 735 Old 01-31-2013, 06:44 AM
Member
 
rer420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by esoxlee View Post

So How Bad is this clouding and bleed? Watching Wall-e, lights in the bottom corners drove me nuts.
looks pretty bad, but those settings are extreme....maybe now compare them with the same content with local dimming on low, medium or high, backlight 30-40, contrast 80, brightness 50.
you need to find the happy medium between losing picture quality versus getting rid of the flashlight....set one mode for dark room viewing and another for daytime.
when the your in a dark room the backlight will be turned down and the local dim turned up...brightness and contrast can be used a little to help compensate a bit.
best thing to do is try all the cnet settings to use as a base and then tweak from there...and ultimately if you cant get it reasonable, you may wanna exchange b4 your return period ends.
you can try the corner snapping like roach said.. helped his tv a lot but be gentle in case you need to return it eek.gif
rer420 is offline  
post #456 of 735 Old 01-31-2013, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,602
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by rer420 View Post

looks pretty bad, but those settings are extreme....maybe now compare them with the same content with local dimming on low, medium or high, backlight 30-40, contrast 80, brightness 50.
you need to find the happy medium between losing picture quality versus getting rid of the flashlight....set one mode for dark room viewing and another for daytime.
when the your in a dark room the backlight will be turned down and the local dim turned up...brightness and contrast can be used a little to help compensate a bit.
best thing to do is try all the cnet settings to use as a base and then tweak from there...and ultimately if you cant get it reasonable, you may wanna exchange b4 your return period ends.
you can try the corner snapping like roach said.. helped his tv a lot but be gentle in case you need to return it eek.gif

And make sure your AVS name and real name are not connectable. smile.gif

Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent. Unless, of course, it's to keep someone from creating a phone video in portrait mode, in which case it's a pretty good first step. Portrait mooks: KNOCK IT OFF.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #457 of 735 Old 01-31-2013, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,602
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by rer420 View Post

looks pretty bad, but those settings are extreme....maybe now compare them with the same content with local dimming on low, medium or high, backlight 30-40, contrast 80, brightness 50.

What he said.

Except, esoxlee, to pay $1700 for a TV, even if it is 60", and have to worry about this kind of thing is completely ridiculous IMO. Try the backlight throttling and snap technique, but seriously, maybe down-grade for now and hope for the 2013 models to have cleaned things up. I cringe looking at a TV and thinking "this is a 2012 model and we're still struggling with this?"

Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent. Unless, of course, it's to keep someone from creating a phone video in portrait mode, in which case it's a pretty good first step. Portrait mooks: KNOCK IT OFF.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #458 of 735 Old 01-31-2013, 10:47 AM
Member
 
esoxlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
thanks everyone!!!!!! The jpegs from Wall-e were actually on one of the default(standard, I think) settings and the clouding/bleeding on the bottom is slightly brighter than what is shown.
esoxlee is offline  
post #459 of 735 Old 01-31-2013, 04:20 PM
Member
 
roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Read my thread a few above yours. It will help your light bleed on the lower corners. i did it to mine and it virtually went away.

LG 60LM7200, Pioneer SC-05, Panamax M4300-PM, Oppo BDP-103, Paridigm Monitor7's (fronts and center), Velodyne F-1200, Infinity surrounds.
roach is offline  
post #460 of 735 Old 01-31-2013, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Derbel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm thinking about buying the 60LM7200...how do you guys like this for gaming? Have any of you taken lag measurements?
Derbel is offline  
post #461 of 735 Old 02-02-2013, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
mmunro2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up the 60LM7200 and so far I have been moderately pleased with it. I have been struggling to get the best picture settings for my basement. I cant seem to get the black bars on movies to be as dark as I want with out crushing the blacks in the movie. Can anyone share their settings?
mmunro2003 is offline  
post #462 of 735 Old 02-04-2013, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
theblackkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone? I would like to see some settings also.
theblackkeys is offline  
post #463 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 12:14 AM
Newbie
 
spendandsave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone report the voltage support for this tv as listed on the back panel. The online manual lists the voltage as 100 -240V, but I would like to confirm it. A picture of the back panel would be helpful.
spendandsave is offline  
post #464 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 04:36 AM
Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I will post settings when I get home.......I calibrated it with a spears and munsil disk and you can only calibrate so much with the discs. You can't fine tune all the colors with it but it sets the contrast and brightness pretty good. I am planning on buying an actual light meter in the near future and will be able to further calibrate.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #465 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 06:18 AM
Member
 
ssgmun5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got this TV delivered yesterday. I like it but do have a bit of clouding on the set. Got it from BB and have 30 days to try. Wondering if the 2013 line would be better.
ssgmun5000 is offline  
post #466 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,602
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssgmun5000 View Post

I got this TV delivered yesterday. I like it but do have a bit of clouding on the set. Got it from BB and have 30 days to try. Wondering if the 2013 line would be better.

Probably. But you gonna wait until Light Gray Friday 2013 and hope for the best? Prices of new models are routinely just miserable. Plus, LG seems to have no *real* deals any longer anywhere.

Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent. Unless, of course, it's to keep someone from creating a phone video in portrait mode, in which case it's a pretty good first step. Portrait mooks: KNOCK IT OFF.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #467 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 03:14 PM
Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Alright for my settings I have:

Picture menu:
Energy Saving: Off
Picture Mode: Expert [1 or 2]
Backlight: 20 (for night) 50-75 (for day)
Contrast: 81
Brightness: 52
H Sharpness: 0
V Sharpness: 0
Color: 50
Tint: 0
Aspect Ratio: Just Scan

--Expert control menu--
Dynamic contrast: Off
Super Resolution: Off
Color Gamut: BT709
Edge Enhancer: Off
xvYCC: Off
Color Filter: Off
Expert Pattern: Off
Gamma: 2.2

--White Balance submenu--
Default

--Color management system submenu--
Default

--Picture Option menu--
Noise reduction: Off
MPEG Noise Reduction: Off
Black Level: Low
Real Cinema: On
Eye Care: Off
LED Local Dimming: High
TruMotion: Off

Again I just used the Spears and Munsil disc which can only do the basics. The color and tint were already good where they were. Just had to adjust contrast and brightness. Having LED Local Dimming on helps with backlight bleed and makes the blacks appear darker......I have heard mixed feelings about Local Dimming though and these settings were set with it on. And backlight is completely up to you depending on room lighting. The contrast ratio stays the same no matter what the backlight settings are at, just whatever is comfortable to your eye. I have expert 1 and 2 as the same exact settings except for backlight, which one is a day and one is a night setting. Thank you.......oh and every T.V. set is different and so are everyone's eyes so these settings might not look the best on your set.
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #468 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 04:52 PM
Member
 
tbook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
spendandsave likes this.
tbook is offline  
post #469 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 04:58 PM
Member
 
tbook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
no lag whatsoever, it's either xbox or ps3's connection i.e. your internet to them. nothing to do with the tv. either way both wifi and wired both worked fine for me MP CoD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derbel View Post

I'm thinking about buying the 60LM7200...how do you guys like this for gaming? Have any of you taken lag measurements?
tbook is offline  
post #470 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
spendandsave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the picture. So these new units support only 120V in contrary to the specification in the online manual.
spendandsave is offline  
post #471 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 05:39 PM
Member
 
tbook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by spendandsave View Post

Thanks for the picture. So these new units support only 120V in contrary to the specification in the online manual.


Below is the generic manual, and specific specs. in it.


spendandsave likes this.
tbook is offline  
post #472 of 735 Old 02-05-2013, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
RiverSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derbel View Post

I'm thinking about buying the 60LM7200...how do you guys like this for gaming? Have any of you taken lag measurements?

I play Madden on it and see a difference between Game and other settings where Game gives virtually no lag and you can see the ball clearly. Other settings cause a mild 'streaking' effect on deep passes.

Insert pithy comment here
RiverSide is offline  
post #473 of 735 Old 02-06-2013, 12:00 AM
Newbie
 
spendandsave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbook View Post

Below is the generic manual, and specific specs. in it.



Thanks. Excellent. This clears up the confusion.
spendandsave is offline  
post #474 of 735 Old 02-06-2013, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
iggy0747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was planning on getting a Sharp Aquos 60" 3D TV, but the glasses where just to expensive. Luckily I found the LG 60LM7200 on BB website a few days ago and after some research fell in love with it!!

I'm going to pick it up tomorrow, I actually called the store today to make sure they had enough and they had only 1 and he offered to have it put on hold!!! Very glad I called.

Whats gonna suck though is after I pick it up I have to go into work until 8pm, but I know what I'll be doing when I get home!!!


I've skimmed through all 16 pages of this thread as well and found tons of great information and tips. It's all very much appreciated!!!
iggy0747 is offline  
post #475 of 735 Old 02-06-2013, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
theblackkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for sharing your settings. I really like the picture quality now, I did set my backlight at 30-35 because it was just a little dark for me. Thanks again for sharing!
theblackkeys is offline  
post #476 of 735 Old 02-06-2013, 04:51 PM
Member
 
psxp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any Canadians here who missed the Christmas day sale for this @ $1599 at Futureshop and purchased in the last 30days at a higher price, the price dropped back to $1599 this week. You have 1 day left to get a price adjustment before it goes back up!! I got $100 back smile.gif

Glad I have been watching that page.

Meanwhile, I havent watched much on the TV.. busy month for me. We did watch a couple BluRays - Back To the Future and Polar Express. Very happy with it. At first the TV seemed to be TOO BIG but not anymore.. saw a 70" at CostCo the other day and drooled ;-) lol!!

We watch a lot of HD TV Rogers and Media PC (Mac Mini Running Plex) and its been great.

I will try some of the posted settings soon.
psxp is offline  
post #477 of 735 Old 02-06-2013, 04:54 PM
Newbie
 
krauley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got this tv (lg 60lm7200) at bb just about a week ago and i have to say that i havent found anything negative to say about it. I understand there are probably better units out there but none in this price range that ive seen. biggrin.gif
krauley is offline  
post #478 of 735 Old 02-06-2013, 11:10 PM
Newbie
 
manba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I bought this tv for a month now. Everything is very good except the speed the menu show up after press "home" or "quick menu" button, which takes 3-4 seconds. if the tv was just turned on, it takes even longer( i can count to 8 seconds), is this normal?
manba is offline  
post #479 of 735 Old 02-07-2013, 06:17 AM
Member
 
tbook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Definitely! Interesting, also coming up to 1 month or so and noticed since last week takes much longer to get to home or apps, settings. Pretty sure it was way faster in the beginning. Since you've mentioned going try and trouble shoot it, got some ideas from adding book marks in the browser, to registering apps etc -- all things that might have to load once you hit the button to go into the tv itself. That and reboot the tv since its a cpu and also the control's batteries -- that thing seems to be used more often than any TV's remote I have ever used before and I wonder if its ever truly off or on standby only when not in. But for sure its slowed down significantly in the same time period as you.
tbook is offline  
post #480 of 735 Old 02-07-2013, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
aposner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. Just got my set a few days ago. Everything seems perfect. None of the problems described here. The remote though is slow as mentioned by manba and tbook, especially "Home".
aposner is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un60es6500 60 Inch 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off