1080p HD from cable box to monitor with max resolution of 1600x900. What happens? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-20-2012, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What happens to the resolution when I connect an hdmi cable box putting out 1080p HD to a monitor which handles up to 1600x900? Does the monitor scale down to native resolution or what?
qwerty11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-20-2012, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The monitor SHOULD scale it down to it's native resolution. However, this depends on the model/brand. Some lower end monitors will lack scaling that an actual "tv set" will have.
sitlet is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-20-2012, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know if a dell s2009wb does it?

Will it mess up the picture quality with the scaling?
qwerty11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off