Vizio E701i-A3 Owners Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2473 Old 01-19-2013, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Turick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woke up, turned my TV on, said it updated to 1.1.5. Can't seem to find any info on it, though. Anybody know if it's exactly the same as the 60" FW?
Turick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2473 Old 01-19-2013, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
still 1.1.3 for me.

on another note, what are people using for the sound settings. I know the speakers are weak but dialogue seems to be very low when playing a movie
Suzook is offline  
post #453 of 2473 Old 01-19-2013, 08:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RichardCarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook View Post

still 1.1.3 for me.

on another note, what are people using for the sound settings. I know the speakers are weak but dialogue seems to be very low when playing a movie

In Audio you can play with the various settings, rock, jazz etc but to increase voice over background and music with the standard sound turn SRS Studio to STANDARD and turn SRS True volume OFF.

LR: Vizio E701i-A3, Vizio VSB207 sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3.

BR: Vizio E601i-A3, Sharp (disc.) sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3
RichardCarver is offline  
post #454 of 2473 Old 01-19-2013, 09:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook View Post

still 1.1.3 for me.

on another note, what are people using for the sound settings. I know the speakers are weak but dialogue seems to be very low when playing a movie

Suzook you must have more giant screen TVs than anyone here!

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #455 of 2473 Old 01-19-2013, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonymoody View Post

Suzook you must have more giant screen TVs than anyone here!

ssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!! :-)
Suzook is offline  
post #456 of 2473 Old 01-20-2013, 09:46 AM
Member
 
dpiantino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In an attempt to eliminate the little bit of corner flash lighting this set has I made another attempt at massaging the tv. What I found is that this massaging can actually make things worse. I think that the screen needs to be pulled out, and not pressed on. A small suction cup could be used to pull on the screen without damaging the unit. The issue seems to be how the screen sits against the edge of the frame. I was able to eliminate a lot of the edge bleed by pinching firmly on the frame edge. I think some issues in uniformity may be created during the handling of the tv during setup. Twisting and flexing of the frame during handling will no doubt impact how the screen is bedded against the frame. I would suggest handling the tv in the vertical orientation as much as possible. I bet a lot of "flex" is introduced during the installation of the stand. Just my two cents.
dpiantino is offline  
post #457 of 2473 Old 01-20-2013, 09:48 PM
Member
 
doox00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonymoody View Post

Current settings (watching as we speak, daytime, overcast but somewhat bright out) and its surprisingly bright.

Standard
Backlight 30
Brightness 50
Contrast 81
Color 54
Tint 1
Sharpness 0


Color temps are from the cnet settings (I had them at stock Standard for a time but prefer these)
Normal
RG 104
GG 115
BG 130
RO 129
GO 130
BO 132

In Advanced, everything Off except Film Mode which is Auto

This is a very easy on the eyes set up on my set. Not remotely retina searing. Natural filmic look with film sources, but still very crisp and bright for video based sources. And it makes the backlight unevenness almost un observable and very much no longer at all distracting.


Just picked this tv up today at costco, so far very happy with it, was deciding between this and a sharp, liked the picture on this one much better. The sharp the blacks just seem way to much.. where its way to dark and all the detail was gone, especially in dark scenes. Perhaps adjusting would get it in check but happy so far with our decision on the vizio.

I like these settings very much, but was a bit to dim for me, moved backlight up quite a bit and so far its great. Really loving the picture so far after watching for a few hours now. Forza Horizon looks damn nice to on the 360 smile.gif. thanks.
doox00 is offline  
post #458 of 2473 Old 01-20-2013, 11:42 PM
Member
 
doox00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have a question/problem. Not sure if its a tv thing or a directv issue.

I am on channel 8 NBC HD channel. It is not filling the screen though. Its filling about 80 percent of the screen, but is not centered. The right 10-15 percent section and a top and bottom 5 percent strip is not being used. So far going through a bunch of channels this is the only one this way.
doox00 is offline  
post #459 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 08:05 AM
Member
 
dpiantino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For those of you that feel you're screen is completely uniform. (no flashlighting or blotching) while viewing a black screen in a dark room. What serial number is your set? I'm about to take back my second set. Same firefighting in bottom right. It seems like it had gotten worse over time.
dpiantino is offline  
post #460 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 11:11 AM
Member
 
pollofrito22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was pushed 1.1.5 yesterday as well. In all honesty, the lip sync issue wasn't noticeable to me this week regardless. I will check tonight to see if it fixed the ARC issue.
pollofrito22 is offline  
post #461 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 02:21 PM
Member
 
BDUB619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi All, pulled the trigger this weekend and got my e70 at Costco ($70 off, so was $1879 before tax), replaced my Sony 60" KDL-60EX500. It was between the Vizo70 or the Sharp80 and for cost vs performance, I went with the e70 and couldn't be happier. The TV was on yesterday from 7am - 10pm for NFL playoffs and no issues....until the lip sync issue happened on CBS channel (Time Warner HD Cable, Moto box, will try the LCPM fix tonight). I do have very minor clouding on the lower left corner but only barely noticable when powering up, not when the picture is displayed or showing dark colors/blacks. No flashlighting or feathering either. I'll play around with settings more tonight and see if dpiantinos or Suzooks work well for me. Using this for sports, BluRay/PS3 and XBOX (alot of sports & XBOX lol). Buddy of mine bought the e60 and he's had no problems with his either. So in case you're reading this and thinking of getting one of these TV's, we're both very happy with ours and I'd recommend them.
`

Epson 2000 Projector & 120" screen
Sony 70W830B LED TV
Xbox One & PS4
Gamertag: JonnyRingo619
BDUB619 is offline  
post #462 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 02:34 PM
Member
 
astrodanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pollofrito22 View Post

I will check tonight to see if it fixed the ARC issue.

I used to think I wanted a TV that supported ARC. Not any more I don't! Alas, using ARC with this set requires HDMI CEC to be enabled. With HDMI CEC enabled, turning on the TV causes my AVR to be powered up and then the AVR's input to be switched away from the SAT/CBL input to the TV AUDIO input. This all occurs in slow motion as the TV slowly powers up. It's the switching of the AVR's input to TV AUDIO that drives me nuts. So I've now disabled HDMI CEC and run a TOSLINK cable from the TV to the AVR for the rare times when I may actually need TV AUDIO on my AVR. So much for ARC. So much for HDMI CEC. Pfft!
astrodanco is offline  
post #463 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 05:52 PM
Member
 
rstambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northeast
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpiantino View Post

For those of you that feel you're screen is completely uniform. (no flashlighting or blotching) while viewing a black screen in a dark room. What serial number is your set? I'm about to take back my second set. Same firefighting in bottom right. It seems like it had gotten worse over time.

My serial number starts with 48LFTRNXAN and I have had no issues with this TV. Watched hundreds of hours so far, streamed dozens of movies and played hours of PS3.
rstambo is offline  
post #464 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 05:54 PM
Member
 
rstambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northeast
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, turned on the TV tonight and got a notice that 1.1.5 was pushed to the TV. I previously had 1.1.4. Not sure what it did, everything seems to be the same. Looked to see if they added any new apps, but does not appear it did.

Anyone know what the 1.1.5 did? Nothing on Vizio's web site.
rstambo is offline  
post #465 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 08:26 PM
Member
 
pchain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep...I turned on mine tonite as well and had the update as well. Haven't noticed anything different yet.
pchain is offline  
post #466 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 09:10 PM
Member
 
doox00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchain View Post

Yep...I turned on mine tonite as well and had the update as well. Haven't noticed anything different yet.

Just got my screen yesterday, still at 1.1.4 though.
doox00 is offline  
post #467 of 2473 Old 01-21-2013, 10:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgrokkos View Post

Been following this thread for a while, as well at the 60 in thread. I may be wrong but I don't see the complaints relating to sudden panel black/failure that appear to be cropping up on the 60's. Is that simply due to the fact that there are considerably more 60's being sold, so that if some percentage of both 60s and 70s are failing, then there are just more 60s failing for people to write about? Or are the 70s just not as susceptible to this problem?

Looks like the 70s do suffer from the same lip sync issues however, but I'm hoping that either the cable box output change or an eventual firmware update should fix this.

Other than that, major concerns I've seen here are fairly typical for a large set like this, clouding, uneven back lighting, 'feathers', off angle viewing - but these all seem to me to be fairly typical for all these big screen LEDs and I think I can take my chances on them being acceptable. In my mind, you will still see some degree of these issues at double the price, so I'd rather save the $$.

Am I missing any other major issue that existing owners would suggest as a knock against the TV?

The panel failure issue is the one that concerns me most, has anyone seen that as a problem here?

I don't think we have the panel failure issues with the 70 that the 60 is experiencing. There have been some lip sync issues, but those seem to get cleared up if you turn off the extra video processing, which I don't think does much anyway.

You are righ, all LCDs have issues. I'm happy with mine. I only see an issue occassionally. No TV is perfect, no matter how much you pay.

Michael
Michael2000 is offline  
post #468 of 2473 Old 01-22-2013, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Goodfellas27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the e70" Vizio with FW 1.3
I turned the TV on and now I have 1.5: anyone know what they changed?

Thanks,

Jairo

MCACC Workflow tips <-- Click here
Goodfellas27 is offline  
post #469 of 2473 Old 01-22-2013, 11:00 AM
Member
 
BDUB619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Found a dead pixel last night on the e70, far right middle, kinda bummed. Not sure if something I can live with or if I'm going to exchange for another one. I'll try the "massage trick" tonight and see if that fixes it. To complicate matters, the Sharp LC-70LE600U just went on sale for $1699, almost $200 less than the e70. Decisions, Decisions. Anyone's thoughts/opinions on Sharp vs Vizio? I'm researching them now, main concern is PQ. I bought the Vizio because a friend has one and likes it and also CNET voting it Best Value 70". Thanks for any input!

Epson 2000 Projector & 120" screen
Sony 70W830B LED TV
Xbox One & PS4
Gamertag: JonnyRingo619
BDUB619 is offline  
post #470 of 2473 Old 01-22-2013, 11:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Got 1.1.5 too. Had already gotten audio in sync via control on my receiver. The new firmware did not seem to impact that.

Btw to the poster above about having made things worse by rubbing - sorry to hear that. Glad to hear though that you were able to remedy with other methods.

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #471 of 2473 Old 01-22-2013, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
Azure Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One thing seems fairly certain--whatever 1.1.5 was supposed to have fixed, it sure wasn't the Hulu app. It still starts stuttering after 20 minutes or so.

The other apps (Amazon, Crackle, Vudu) stream flawlessly, so it's a bit maddening that Hulu hiccups so frequently since I use that service more than any other. It probably won't bother most owners--and it's certainly not a dealbreaker by any means--but it'd be nice if I didn't have to fire up the PS3 for Hulu.

On a more positive note, I continue to be impressed every time I turn on the tv. The image quality is really superb, especially when being fed good source material. I'm probably not the most discerning viewer, but I don't think it gives up much to my previous Kuro. Blacks aren't as deep, but it's not a magnitude of difference and they're certainly inky enough on the Vizio for the viewing experience to be very satisfying.

It's so good, in fact, that a couple of friends are seriously considering getting one for themselves after seeing mine. I should probably get Vizio to send me a royalty check or two.
Azure Chicken is offline  
post #472 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RichardCarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
$1599.00 at Amazon. I went ahead and got one, couldn't resist! I have got to get rid of these extra TVs!

LR: Vizio E701i-A3, Vizio VSB207 sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3.

BR: Vizio E601i-A3, Sharp (disc.) sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3
RichardCarver is offline  
post #473 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 07:08 AM
Member
 
indianlegend83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

I am interested in buying this TV but had a question regarding the screen uniformity and blacklight/edge bleeding... how bad it is with these sets? I currently own the 65inch m3651sv which has none of the aforementioned issues ..however due to the glossy screen the reflections are pretty bad and hence i am looking for a replacement. ...
indianlegend83 is offline  
post #474 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
Morael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is on sale for $1,599.99 on both Amazon and Costco.com.
I went to the Costco in my area today and they would NOT honor this deal in the store.

While buying on Amazon was tempting because it was cheaper... I opted for buying mine online through Costco. (It ends up being 50$ more if you're buying a full warranty, since +4 years of Warranty is ~$220 at Amazon and you get 1 year free, +3 years is $99 at Costco and then ~$120 in tax. Those prices even out and it's only the $50 shipping/handling that makes Costco more expensive).

Reason being, as is famous on this forum... Costco's TV returns services are superb, and I'd prefer being able to just load it up and take it somewhere to return it, rather than messing with shipping it to return it.


Anyways, I'll be back to comment on the TV when I get it! biggrin.gif
Morael is offline  
post #475 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 08:19 AM
Member
 
NachoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Sam's Club has also dropped their price. $1598 in club, $1588 online.
Walmart price dropped to $1698.
NachoB is offline  
post #476 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 08:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Glad that pricing is back down to this nice low level.

Amazon wouldn't price protect me as I've had the set too long, and my Amex doesn't provide that. I tried to argue that I could simply return the set for a full refund, and buy a new one. Even after paying shipping I would save around $40. But they wouldn't go for it. Definitely too lazy to actually do this for $40 especially when my set is a good one as far as uniformity, etc.

Anyway I guess with the 2013 coming shortly the 2012s are going to be pushed out something fierce. Fun times.

Speaking of the 2013s supposedly Vizio showed a line, including a 70", that is full array back lit locally dimmed at CES no? Wonder what it'll go for. EDIT - I see that the top of the line XVT is a 4K set, but is edge lit. My bad. Still wonder what the 70" will go for. And, I wonder when a set like it will cost $1600 smile.gif

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #477 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCarver View Post

$1599.00 at Amazon. I went ahead and got one, couldn't resist! I have got to get rid of these extra TVs!

Thanks so much for the heads up pn this. Just got Best Buy to match the price on the TV I purchased last week.
blackssr is offline  
post #478 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by indianlegend83 View Post

Hello All,

I am interested in buying this TV but had a question regarding the screen uniformity and blacklight/edge bleeding... how bad it is with these sets? I currently own the 65inch m3651sv which has none of the aforementioned issues ..however due to the glossy screen the reflections are pretty bad and hence i am looking for a replacement. ...

I have mine over a week now and no bleeding or clouding what so ever. I tested with "The Descent", "Aliens" and "The Dark Knight Rises" and am very happy with the screen uniformity as well as picture quality.
blackssr is offline  
post #479 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 09:45 AM
Member
 
OGHowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrodanco View Post

I used to think I wanted a TV that supported ARC. Not any more I don't! Alas, using ARC with this set requires HDMI CEC to be enabled. With HDMI CEC enabled, turning on the TV causes my AVR to be powered up and then the AVR's input to be switched away from the SAT/CBL input to the TV AUDIO input. This all occurs in slow motion as the TV slowly powers up. It's the switching of the AVR's input to TV AUDIO that drives me nuts. So I've now disabled HDMI CEC and run a TOSLINK cable from the TV to the AVR for the rare times when I may actually need TV AUDIO on my AVR. So much for ARC. So much for HDMI CEC. Pfft!

I have to sent my Harmony One to turn on the AVR, wait for 27 secs for the SAT and TV audio to go back and forth because of ARC (This happens 2x) and then input the SAT command so that the ARC doesn't override it and switch it back to the TV input. Annoying but I guess I'll get used to it.
OGHowie is offline  
post #480 of 2473 Old 01-23-2013, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
GMC1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$1599 today at Costco.com, but was still full price ($1949) at my local store (Redding, CA). But they had a lot of sets in stock, and the guy working there told me they will be at the $1599 price in the store tomorrow. So I went ahead and bought one at the full price, since I had brought a truck. Costco will refund you the amount of any price reduction for 30 days, so I will go back tomorrow and collect the difference.

A reminder for all those who have bought from Costco at a higher price in the last 30 days to head down to the store and collect the price difference.
GMC1 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio , Lcd Hdtv , Vizio E550va 55 Inch Lcd Hdtv , Vizio E701i A3 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off