Vizio E701i-A3 Owners Thread - Page 89 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2641 of 2655 Old 11-20-2014, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
jjthenovice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Antelope, CA
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleCard View Post
I received my replacement E700i-B3 today. I am happy to report this is clearly a better TV than the E701i.

Positives:

* The bezel is slightly smaller
* Overall improved picture, deeper blacks, better contrast
* Menu switching and overall operation - seems to have a faster processor
* Smart apps are actually quick enough to use (for example the Netflix app is now natively usable).

Negatives:

- Remote no longer has a keyboard on the back.
- There are no physical buttons externally (at least, haven't found em!) ... this really isn't a negative for me since I have little kids

Overall I am pleased now with Vizio's service. Keeping my fingers crossed that this unit does not develop issues. The one I received looks brand new, not even sure if it was/is a refurb or not (came in a retail sealed box).

Hope this helps others... let me know if you have questions.
Check your user manual. There is a power button lower left corner in rear.
jjthenovice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2642 of 2655 Old 11-20-2014, 07:56 PM
Member
 
SeattleCard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjthenovice View Post
Check your user manual. There is a power button lower left corner in rear.
Should have clarified. Power button, yes, but input / volume / channel change, no. The 701 did have these.
SeattleCard is offline  
post #2643 of 2655 Old 11-20-2014, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jjthenovice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Antelope, CA
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleCard View Post
Should have clarified. Power button, yes, but input / volume / channel change, no. The 701 did have these.
Not to split hairs but according to manual the power button also functions as a input selector
jjthenovice is offline  
post #2644 of 2655 Old 11-21-2014, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Received my refund check today. So it sucked to have to go through the replacement process knowing the white spots would eventually show up again, in the end Vizio was pretty good about it and refunded my money.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #2645 of 2655 Old 11-21-2014, 08:22 PM
Newbie
 
timcreech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ARC question

HI All, just go this set from Costco. It was a display that they had on sale for $699, and I couldn't pass it up. It looks great right now, but I don't know how long it was on display.

But my question is, I have this connected through ARC to the Panasonic bluray Home Theater. Previous this was connected to a Panny ST58 and all worked fine.

It actually works fine with the Vizio, but it sometimes takes 2 minutes to engage the audio of the Panasonic Home Theater. And while it is "connecting" the TV is frozen with the status bar at the top.

Any thoughts as to what setting I may need to tweak to encourage it to engage with the Panasonic Home Theater over the ARC?

Thanks in advance!!!
timcreech is offline  
post #2646 of 2655 Old 11-22-2014, 07:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been following this thread for months and registered today just to update you on my experience. I'm on my 3rd Vizio 70". Two E701i-A3's and one E709i-B3 that I received about 1 month ago. The A3's both developed the white spots discussed here and Vizio swapped them for the B3. Other than it not being native 120Hz, I've been happy with this unit until this morning where I noticed a white spot on a dark background. This doesn't appear to be the same white spots that plagued the A3 because I saw those regardless of what the background color was. Regardless, I plan on speaking to Vizio about what my options are. Here is a picture I just took of the spot. Forgive the flash.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20141122_082520.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	79.5 KB
ID:	379754  
Nonno1984 is offline  
post #2647 of 2655 Old 11-22-2014, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Edit: E700i-B3, not E709i.
Nonno1984 is offline  
post #2648 of 2655 Old 11-23-2014, 02:31 PM
Member
 
ben7337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Finally called Vizio, few days before the warranty expires, getting a new 700i-B3, however it seems they aren't using Manna this time though, some repair and replacement company, which seems a bit strange. I may call back just to confirm I have everything in order.

Edit: Called back, the woman on the phone was sneaky and was sending me a recertified tv, got that sorted out and getting a new one now, as I was originally promised on my first call. Both the recert and the new one were going to be 700i-b3's though. I just want to have a new tv in case it does have some issue or quality problem that bothers me, it will be easier to sell and get rid of if it comes down to that.

Last edited by ben7337; 11-23-2014 at 02:58 PM.
ben7337 is offline  
post #2649 of 2655 Old 11-23-2014, 03:06 PM
Member
 
pollofrito22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
Received my refund check today. So it sucked to have to go through the replacement process knowing the white spots would eventually show up again, in the end Vizio was pretty good about it and refunded my money.
what did you do or say exactly? I sent then my pics last sunday, have been too busy to call them back, they did ask me to. I want a refund. What did you say/do?
pollofrito22 is offline  
post #2650 of 2655 Old 11-23-2014, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by pollofrito22 View Post
what did you do or say exactly? I sent then my pics last sunday, have been too busy to call them back, they did ask me to. I want a refund. What did you say/do?
I was very firm even on my first call that this problem is very wide spread, more so than they think. I sighted all the multiple replacements in this thread and the fact I had personally seen over 10 sets with the problem in stores. I asked to speak to a manager as well. I said fine, I'll accept ONE replacement but guaranteed I'd be calling back within 3 months with the same problem and when that happened I would want my refund. They agreed.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #2651 of 2655 Old 11-23-2014, 05:43 PM
Member
 
pollofrito22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
I was very firm even on my first call that this problem is very wide spread, more so than they think. I sighted all the multiple replacements in this thread and the fact I had personally seen over 10 sets with the problem in stores. I asked to speak to a manager as well. I said fine, I'll accept ONE replacement but guaranteed I'd be calling back within 3 months with the same problem and when that happened I would want my refund. They agreed.
so Vizio themselves cut you the refund?
pollofrito22 is offline  
post #2652 of 2655 Old 11-23-2014, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by pollofrito22 View Post
so Vizio themselves cut you the refund?
Correct. They sent me a box to package it up, scheduled a pickup and about 3 weeks later I got my check for the original purchase price.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #2653 of 2655 Old 11-24-2014, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
neemo6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Bend, In
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So best buy geek squad tech came out. He said the spots were screen damage and he was not sure that the warranty would cover this! He was waiting to hear back from his manager to determine the fate of my tv. What can I do if they decline my claim?
neemo6 is offline  
post #2654 of 2655 Old 11-24-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by neemo6 View Post
So best buy geek squad tech came out. He said the spots were screen damage and he was not sure that the warranty would cover this! He was waiting to hear back from his manager to determine the fate of my tv. What can I do if they decline my claim?
LOL, it is not screen damage. Point them to this thread. There was another poster a while back where that was the initial response too.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #2655 of 2655 Old Today, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Guys I bought 3 years warranty with Sam's club, should i just return the TV and get a refund or go with the exchange process again with Vizio?

Just when i started to love this TV.



This would be the second TV..
Movie78 is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio , Lcd Hdtv , Vizio E550va 55 Inch Lcd Hdtv , Vizio E701i A3 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - E701i by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off