Vizio E701i-A3 Owners Thread - Page 91 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 2720 Old 01-14-2015, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for your input. Please see my reply to Fucco.
Ron Hawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 2720 Old 01-14-2015, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
Lubmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I am an A3 owner for the time being. I had bought my first A3 Black Friday 2013, and it developed the white spots after only a month. Called Vizio, they were great, swapped out the bad one for a new A3, but supposedly a later revision that should be ok. And it was, up until a couple of weeks ago, when the spots reared their head again. Called Vizio again, and they wanted me to send them pics again. Called back tonight to follow up. Surprise, I am past my warranty period by like 6 days from when I received the replacement. After putting me on hold for an agonizingly long time trying to make a decision on what they would or wouldn't do, the rep came back and told me that because of having this problem before, they were going to make an exception and send me a brand new B3. And I can buy an extended warranty for it, which I am going to do after it arrives. 3 years for $89, 4 for $119, or 5 for $149. Worth it to not have to worry if this one craps out too. I told the rep that based on them being willing to help me, I was going to return the favor and post my positive account of their service for me, to offset a lot of bad reviews I have read about them, and that's what this is. I am ecstatic, and wish any of the rest of you good luck if you have to attempt getting an out of warranty replacement.
Lubmo is offline  
post #2703 of 2720 Old 01-15-2015, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Is it so bad that you could post a screenshot and we could see it?

It sounds like something is wrong.
xnappo is online now  
post #2704 of 2720 Old 01-15-2015, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
indept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deptford,Nj.
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Lubmo,
Good luck with the new set. The Square Trade warranties are great. I had on on my e701i-a3 and when my 3rd set got spots they refunded my whole purchase price and said to keep the tv too, so I have a free 70" tv with a few spots.
indept is offline  
post #2705 of 2720 Old 01-15-2015, 10:10 AM
Newbie
 
Lubmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, if I had enough sense to get the Square Trade warranty the first time, then getting to keep the set to put in the family room would of been nice. Well, up until the point that there were so many white spots that it would be like watching a snow globe. As far as pics, I do have some I can post, but they are not as easy to see as in person, and I just assumed plenty of users have posted them here in the past (didn't go very far back in the thread).
Lubmo is offline  
post #2706 of 2720 Old 01-15-2015, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
indept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deptford,Nj.
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 62
2 of my previous tv's had the spots really bad, this one has 5 that are real close to the bottom so I don't mind them so much at this point.
indept is offline  
post #2707 of 2720 Old 01-18-2015, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pictures to show the pixelation/graininess I have complained about

This is a follow-up to my earlier post about the graininess of the Vizio b3 replacement they have sent me. Since someone asked for pictures, here are some. Can anyone think of any settings that might lead to this? I have replaced all the cables just in case with no change.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0502.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	356.1 KB
ID:	486826   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0506.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	410.1 KB
ID:	486834   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0508.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	276.8 KB
ID:	486842  
Ron Hawk is offline  
post #2708 of 2720 Old 01-19-2015, 12:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Hawk View Post
This is a follow-up to my earlier post about the graininess of the Vizio b3 replacement they have sent me. Since someone asked for pictures, here are some. Can anyone think of any settings that might lead to this? I have replaced all the cables just in case with no change.
I have it figured out now. It was the sharpness. It has to be turned down all the way to zero. I have no idea why they ship them with such factory settings when they're so terrible. And nowhere in their support/documentation mention how much of an impact this one setting has.

Thanks to all for your suggestions.
Ron Hawk is offline  
post #2709 of 2720 Old 01-19-2015, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Hawk View Post
I have it figured out now. It was the sharpness. It has to be turned down all the way to zero. I have no idea why they ship them with such factory settings when they're so terrible. And nowhere in their support/documentation mention how much of an impact this one setting has.

Thanks to all for your suggestions.
Hi Ron,

Those definitely look bad. What is the source? DVR/BluRay/Dish?
xnappo is online now  
post #2710 of 2720 Old 01-24-2015, 06:39 AM
Member
 
pollofrito22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I FINALLY got my replacement e700i-b3. Mana was an effin disaster yesterday. My tv is wall mounted. Less than 5' high. These clowns REFUSED to remove the old tv or mount the new one. I'm telling the guy, how the eff am I supposed to take the old tv off the wall alone? He's like we're not responsible if it breaks, I'm like its already junk, i dont care if it breaks! Finally after 5 min of arguing with the guys one of them helped me take down the old one, and i simply had them remove the new one from the box and mount in with th base on the floor. Visio blows, mana blows. Took almost 2 months to get a replacement.
pollofrito22 is offline  
post #2711 of 2720 Old 01-24-2015, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
FUCCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: south cheektowaga ny
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pollofrito22 View Post
So I FINALLY got my replacement e700i-b3. Mana was an effin disaster yesterday. My tv is wall mounted. Less than 5' high. These clowns REFUSED to remove the old tv or mount the new one. I'm telling the guy, how the eff am I supposed to take the old tv off the wall alone? He's like we're not responsible if it breaks, I'm like its already junk, i dont care if it breaks! Finally after 5 min of arguing with the guys one of them helped me take down the old one, and i simply had them remove the new one from the box and mount in with th base on the floor. Visio blows, mana blows. Took almost 2 months to get a replacement.
I got you beat. I had 2 vizio tv delivered by manna both horrible. In December they never called or emailed they just showed up with the new set. Then the guy puts the new 70 in tv in my kitchen goes back to his truck and drives off. Never saw him again. It took 4 calls to vizio and 6 calls to manna to get the old unit picked up. When they did get it they just showed up one day out of the blue to get it, 2 weeks later. The entire work order had on it they were to take the old unit and come with a 2 man team. Both deliveries one back in August and the past December one only came with 1 person from manna. Manna is the worst company I have ever delt with.
FUCCO is offline  
post #2712 of 2720 Old 01-26-2015, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
jetfxr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My a3 is continuing to shut down and have to be hard reset with a power plug pull. After that I get the loud POP when power is applied.

I called Vizio due to the warranty (Feb. 2013- Costco) about to expire and was offered the b3 after a few questions and it was determined no parts are available for my issue. The rep mentioned no VGA on the b3 and that's a no go for me. The rep then mentioned that they would apply for a replacement equivalent exception which takes up to 72 hours.

Does anyone know what the possibilities are? I went through Vizios entire lineup and I don't see a VGA on any of the current TV's.
jetfxr27 is offline  
post #2713 of 2720 Old 01-26-2015, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RichardCarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well, I finally got some white spots after two years. I bought this set in January of '13 and it has been trouble free. After reading about the spots I checked my panel on the test screen someone posted and there are 15 or so very small ones and a grouping of 3 or 4 slightly larger ones on the lower left . None of these are visible under normal use so I'm not going to obsess over it. I have no idea how long they've been there. It's an extremely good set and if I can get another year or two out of it I'll spring for an M or P.

I never thought I'd say this but I don't think I'll go larger than 70. I sit about 9 ft away and the 70 is an immersive experience but I think an 80 would make me have to move my head!

LR: Vizio E701i-A3, Vizio VSB207 sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3.

BR: Vizio E601i-A3, Sharp (disc.) sound bar, Sony BD390 BR, Roku 3
RichardCarver is online now  
post #2714 of 2720 Old Yesterday, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetfxr27 View Post
Does anyone know what the possibilities are? I went through Vizios entire lineup and I don't see a VGA on any of the current TV's.
Well you have two choices:

1. Try to get your money back and buy another brand
2. Buy a VGA->HDMI adapter. They are really not expensive: http://www.amazon.com/IO-Crest-Conve...ds=vga+to+hdmi

I would definitely recommend AGAINST getting another A3.

xnappo

Last edited by xnappo; Yesterday at 07:44 AM.
xnappo is online now  
post #2715 of 2720 Old Yesterday, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by FUCCO View Post
I got you beat. I had 2 vizio tv delivered by manna both horrible. In December they never called or emailed they just showed up with the new set. Then the guy puts the new 70 in tv in my kitchen goes back to his truck and drives off. Never saw him again. It took 4 calls to vizio and 6 calls to manna to get the old unit picked up. When they did get it they just showed up one day out of the blue to get it, 2 weeks later. The entire work order had on it they were to take the old unit and come with a 2 man team. Both deliveries one back in August and the past December one only came with 1 person from manna. Manna is the worst company I have ever delt with.
Yep - Manna was HORRIBLE. My parents were in town for two weeks, and 3 of the days they were here I was sitting around all day waiting for freakin' Manna. Their hold times were 1.5 hours, and I got disconnected twice. They had a 'call back' feature, but hung up after 2.5 rings. It took four scheduled appointments for them to actually show up, and that after a LOT of complaining on my part.

That said - the sub-con delivery guys were nice and helped me get it back on the wall. From talking to them, some people are very rude about it and don't offer to help. I knew how to get it off the wall and helped them lift it up there. My advice when approaching this is to say 'can you help me put it back up there' not 'can you put it back up there'.

xnappo
xnappo is online now  
post #2716 of 2720 Unread Yesterday, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
jetfxr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post
Well you have two choices:

1. Try to get your money back and buy another brand
2. Buy a VGA->HDMI adapter. They are really not expensive: http://www.amazon.com/IO-Crest-Conve...ds=vga+to+hdmi

I would definitely recommend AGAINST getting another A3.

xnappo
Sorry I wasn't more clear, I was curious what Vizio would come back and offer to replace my A3 if none of their tv's have VGA now.
jetfxr27 is offline  
post #2717 of 2720 Unread Yesterday, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetfxr27 View Post
Sorry I wasn't more clear, I was curious what Vizio would come back and offer to replace my A3 if none of their tv's have VGA now.
Yeah, and my concern is they will offer you a refurb A3 that will almost certainly develop white spots.
xnappo is online now  
post #2718 of 2720 Unread Yesterday, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
indept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deptford,Nj.
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by pollofrito22 View Post
So I FINALLY got my replacement e700i-b3. Mana was an effin disaster yesterday. My tv is wall mounted. Less than 5' high. These clowns REFUSED to remove the old tv or mount the new one. I'm telling the guy, how the eff am I supposed to take the old tv off the wall alone? He's like we're not responsible if it breaks, I'm like its already junk, i dont care if it breaks! Finally after 5 min of arguing with the guys one of them helped me take down the old one, and i simply had them remove the new one from the box and mount in with th base on the floor. Visio blows, mana blows. Took almost 2 months to get a replacement.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FUCCO View Post
I got you beat. I had 2 vizio tv delivered by manna both horrible. In December they never called or emailed they just showed up with the new set. Then the guy puts the new 70 in tv in my kitchen goes back to his truck and drives off. Never saw him again. It took 4 calls to vizio and 6 calls to manna to get the old unit picked up. When they did get it they just showed up one day out of the blue to get it, 2 weeks later. The entire work order had on it they were to take the old unit and come with a 2 man team. Both deliveries one back in August and the past December one only came with 1 person from manna. Manna is the worst company I have ever delt with.
That sucks, I had 2 replacements by them and they were great. all helped me get it off the wall and put them back on the wall. I remember one of the crews saying they weren't supposed to do that and they were to call and request permission but they said by the time they did all of that they would be done so they just do it. My only complaint with Manna is when you call them & they put you on hold, the music they play will cause you to have convulsions

Last edited by indept; Yesterday at 08:45 PM.
indept is offline  
post #2719 of 2720 Unread Today, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 4,022
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post
Yeah, and my concern is they will offer you a refurb A3 that will almost certainly develop white spots.
It seems ove the last couple months that people have been offered the 2014 models. My guess is these crappy A3's are finally out of the supply chain.
primetimeguy is offline  
post #2720 of 2720 Unread Today, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post
It seems ove the last couple months that people have been offered the 2014 models. My guess is these crappy A3's are finally out of the supply chain.
I agree - but he is tempting fate by complaining about the VGA - he REALLY doesn't want them to find a refurb A3 sitting in the corner. He should just call them back, tell them he'll take B3, and buy an adapter.

IMHO of course.
xnappo is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio , Lcd Hdtv , Vizio E550va 55 Inch Lcd Hdtv , Vizio E701i A3 Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - E701i by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off