Any experience with TCL? People seem to *like* the LE55FHDF3300ZTA 55-Inch 1080p 240Hz - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2013, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
elninoloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgmoore View Post

I have the 55" model. It's really nice considering what I paid for it. The only thing I cant figure out is how to get the spdif to pass anything other than stereo. The manual seems to indicate you can pass Dolby Digital as well, and there is a setting for that, but it only passes stereo for me.

Anybody experience anything different?

I too am having this same issue. When i have the PS3 on my Sony Receiver will only display PCM Stereo, even though Dolby is selected on TV and PS3. In main menu of PS3 the audio keeps cutting off. When gaming or movie playback no sound cutting is experienced, but i get no digital sound.
elninoloco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2013, 11:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,902
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by elninoloco View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgmoore View Post

I have the 55" model. It's really nice considering what I paid for it. The only thing I cant figure out is how to get the spdif to pass anything other than stereo. The manual seems to indicate you can pass Dolby Digital as well, and there is a setting for that, but it only passes stereo for me.

Anybody experience anything different?

I too am having this same issue. When i have the PS3 on my Sony Receiver will only display PCM Stereo, even though Dolby is selected on TV and PS3. In main menu of PS3 the audio keeps cutting off. When gaming or movie playback no sound cutting is experienced, but i get no digital sound.

Good grief. In a world where the most complicated thing by far is the display, it's amazing to me how many people have trouble (even with high-end brands) with something as relatively trivial as audio. I don't care what encrypted wizbang format it's in.

Send this to all your friends! When will this stupidity end? So hysterical: Vertical Video Syndrome --- a PSA.
tgm1024 is offline  
Old 05-07-2013, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
elninoloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

Good grief. In a world where the most complicated thing by far is the display, it's amazing to me how many people have trouble (even with high-end brands) with something as relatively trivial as audio. I don't care what encrypted wizbang format it's in.

Thanks buddy, that really helped rolleyes.gif I would much rather get Digital Sound (whether Dolby , dts or Multi-Channel PCM) Than Stereo sound. Anyway i thought i would ask (or comment on the previous user rather) about the issue seeing as that this thread seems to talk/have owners that own this TV.

I will try to play with the settings on PS3, TV and Receiver a bit more when i get home later today. It probably won't matter much as i see myself getting an updated Receiver sometime soon.
elninoloco is offline  
Old 05-07-2013, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,902
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 693 Post(s)
Liked: 957
Quote:
Originally Posted by elninoloco View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

Good grief. In a world where the most complicated thing by far is the display, it's amazing to me how many people have trouble (even with high-end brands) with something as relatively trivial as audio. I don't care what encrypted wizbang format it's in.

Thanks buddy, that really helped rolleyes.gif

LOL. I was busting on the manufacturers, not you. Audio problems and flakiness seem to plague the industry.

Send this to all your friends! When will this stupidity end? So hysterical: Vertical Video Syndrome --- a PSA.
tgm1024 is offline  
Old 05-07-2013, 07:34 PM
Newbie
 
elninoloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i changed my PS3 settings to Bitstream out, now i get Dolby Digital 5.1, unfortunately any movies with any type of DTS (master audio, 5.1, etc) will not audio out to my receiver. I have tried all settings, can't do it. So for now i have optical from my PS3 to Receiver and HDMI to TV.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

LOL. I was busting on the manufacturers, not you. Audio problems and flakiness seem to plague the industry.

haha okay then.
elninoloco is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 07:47 AM
Member
 
Smitty20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully someone has seen this issue....

I have had 2 of the 55" versions since about December. On Sunday, after about 5-6 hours of being on, 1 of them just went to a blank screen...but you could see some ambient "back-lighting" so you knew it was "on", if that makes sense. At this point, I tried turning on and off, but it would just go back to this "back-lit" blank screen never doing the TCL splash screen that normally occurs during start-up. Also, it would not respond to any of the buttons directly on the TV (aside from power). Getting frustrated, I unplugged from the wall and went to bed.

Came home yesterday, plugged back in, and turned on....it started right back up with the TCL splash screen....picture looked great, so I left it on.

About 3 hours later, it went to the same "back-lit" screen and turning off and on did not help. Turned it off (did NOT unplug this time) and went to bed. Went outside this morning, and it booted right up with normal TCL splash screen.

So, it appears to only occur after a few hours of being on. Overheating? Both TVs are mounted next to each other, so both are in the exact same environment. Any ideas?


Part 2: Anyone actually worked with their customer support/warranty service? Based on those Amazon reviews, I am nervous about trying to get this thing serviced.
Smitty20 is offline  
Old 11-08-2013, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
kudla25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have used this for over a year - great value for the price. The picture is excellent. Only problem - it makes a strange sound like stuff is breaking inside the TV after it has been turned off. This sound can happen randomly even over an hour after the TV is turned off.

kudla25 is offline  
Old 06-07-2014, 10:10 PM
Member
 
cah95046's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the same problem.
cah95046 is offline  
Old 06-07-2014, 10:12 PM
Member
 
cah95046's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by elninoloco View Post

I too am having this same issue. When i have the PS3 on my Sony Receiver will only display PCM Stereo, even though Dolby is selected on TV and PS3. In main menu of PS3 the audio keeps cutting off. When gaming or movie playback no sound cutting is experienced, but i get no digital sound.

I have the same problem. Has anyone found a solution? Does TCL know about the problem?
cah95046 is offline  
Old 06-22-2014, 09:38 PM
Newbie
 
golaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cah95046 View Post
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1442019/any-experience-with-tcl-people-seem-to-like-the-le55fhdf3300zta-55-inch-1080p-240hz/90#post_23286667" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>elninoloco</strong> <a href="/t/1442019/any-experience-with-tcl-people-seem-to-like-the-le55fhdf3300zta-55-inch-1080p-240hz/90#post_23286667"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
I too am having this same issue. When i have the PS3 on my Sony Receiver will only display PCM Stereo, even though Dolby is selected on TV and PS3. In main menu of PS3 the audio keeps cutting off. When gaming or movie playback no sound cutting is experienced, but i get no digital sound.</div>
</div>
<br>
I have the same problem. Has anyone found a solution? Does TCL know about the problem?
Same here. It sounds like wood cracking.
golaj is offline  
Old 11-27-2014, 03:47 AM
Member
 
Reverenddave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have good settings for the TCL 40FS4610R (40" 1080p LED with Roku)?

Right now I'm just using the basic Movie setting, which seems pretty good. But if anyone can suggest a few tweaks, I'd appreciate the help.
Reverenddave is offline  
Old 11-27-2014, 06:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 169
That noise is the cabinet contracting from cooling off. Funny you guys don't here it when it's warming up as the plastic sections 'expand'.
I had a Mits DLP and had the same 'problem', but that is a much larger enclosure and it generated much more 'heat' from the lamp. I wouldn't worry about it.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
Old Today, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
1rabid1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverenddave View Post
Does anyone have good settings for the TCL 40FS4610R (40" 1080p LED with Roku)?

Right now I'm just using the basic Movie setting, which seems pretty good. But if anyone can suggest a few tweaks, I'd appreciate the help.
I have the non R version and the default "Vibrant" is perfect for me. If you really want to get into tweaking the display there is a service manual (for another TC but works the same) that can be downloaded that explains all the service menu option and how to get in.
1rabid1 is offline  
Old Today, 11:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
there is a service manual (for another TC but works the same) that can be downloaded that explains all the service menu option and how to get in.
And the link is......??

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
 

Tags
Led Hdtv , Tcl Le55fhdf3300zta 55 Inch 1080p 240hz Led Hdtv With 2 Year Warranty Black
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off