IPS Panasonic screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-06-2012, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Richdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure if all IPS screens are driven this sort of way or not.

I get like very very faint lines going down the screen ( its not the backlight as it sometimes shows on dark/ colours )

I don't think it's a fault I think it's how it's driven somehow can anyone explain?

Thanks
Richdot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-06-2012, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Im not sure what you are describing, but it sound like it could be banding. Search "LCD banding."

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-06-2012, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Richdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not banding it's like down the screen there's very faint line not light. It's weird. But the backlight is even no problems what so ever!
Richdot is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-06-2012, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdot View Post

It's not banding it's like down the screen there's very faint line not light. It's weird. But the backlight is even no problems what so ever!
Now it sounds even more like banding. Is it more visible during a panning scene?
squeakybirnbaum is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-07-2012, 12:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Richdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It can be still or moving. But the backlight is even and does not have any clouding issues or anything like that!
Richdot is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-08-2012, 01:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Richdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I am being picky that is all because I have looked at the LCD banding pictures and its not like that. I am only seeing it on bf3 and forza. Could even be how the games made because I am not just seeing it in a certain area smile.gif
Richdot is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-09-2012, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Could be an HDMI cable or HDMI input issue. Try switching the cable to another input and if that does nothing try a different cable.

 

 

StardogChampion is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-09-2012, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
fritzi93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Could be an HDMI cable or HDMI input issue. Try switching the cable to another input and if that does nothing try a different cable.

In my case it was the cable. (LG 65LW6500, IPS panel).

The OP's problem sounds very similar to one I had recently, except it was just a couple vertical lines, very visible. They appeared only after playing a solitaire game for a while from my HTPC. Start a new game and bam, there they were. Had to cycle the TV off and on to get rid of them.

A new monoprice HDMI cable fixed it. Worth a try.
fritzi93 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-10-2012, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Richdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will try a new Hdmi cable smile.gif thanks.
Richdot is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-12-2012, 12:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Richdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I change preset to normal picture it's fine but when I change it to game picture it has the lines? Very strange! Can't use normal preset due to lag!
Richdot is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off