How do I download a firmware update for my Samsung UN55D7000?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 12-08-2012, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I was hopping someone could tell me how to get the latest firmware update for my Samsung UN55D7000. I've never done an update before. I was kind of hoping a firmware update might cure some lag issues I'm having when playing my ps3. Has anyone else had this issue with this model? I tried playing games in "game mode" but doesn't seem to help all that much. I was hoping someone can give me some tips on correcting this issue. Maybe getting a new HDMI cable or something? please let me know. Thanks
Devin1886 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 12-08-2012, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Maybe everything is simply the way it is. Why do you think a firmware date will address that particular problem? The instructions are in your tv's manual. Your hdmi cable sounds fine unless you're getting artifacts or other issues...lag isn't one of them. Game mode is usually your best option. Is there an avr in the mix or is your ps3 direct to the tv?

lovinthehd is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 12-08-2012, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was simply wondering if a firmware update might help with the lag issue.yes, My PS3 is connected directly to my denon receiver via HDMI. Then HDMI to my TV. So the Game Mode is the only option I have to help reduce the lag issue?
Devin1886 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 12-09-2012, 07:36 AM
Member
 
jan8186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nashville
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Open the Menu on the TV and go to the support section, there should be a "Software Upgrade" option. No idea if that will solve your problem though.
jan8186 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 12-09-2012, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
define "lag" please
RonAlam is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 12-09-2012, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I'll give that a try
Devin1886 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 12-09-2012, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well basically its just a delay when playing certain video games through my PS3. For example, when playing "Far cry 3" I noticed that when moving through the level if i was to try and turn around quick, there would be a delay from the time I move the joystick to when the character actually turned around on the screen. Could it be an issue with my AVR not processing the video signal fast enough?
Devin1886 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 12-09-2012, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devin1886 View Post

well basically its just a delay when playing certain video games through my PS3. For example, when playing "Far cry 3" I noticed that when moving through the level if i was to try and turn around quick, there would be a delay from the time I move the joystick to when the character actually turned around on the screen. Could it be an issue with my AVR not processing the video signal fast enough?

Which Denon avr do you have? Is it doing video processing or is pass-through? You could always plug your ps3 into the tv directly to see if that will resolve your issue (and run a optical from your tv back to the receiver for sound).

lovinthehd is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 12-09-2012, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your input I will try that. I have the denon 2310ci. To be honest I'm not sure whether the video is being processed by the receiver or just passing through but I just have the ps3 connected to the receiver via hdmi then an hdmi runs from the "output" of the receiver to the TV.
Devin1886 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 12-10-2012, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I tried connecting my ps3 directly to the TV to see if it would make a difference with the lag and it didn't! I guess no lag and no flash lighting is too much to ask when paying $2,600 for a god damn TV. Sorry but I really feel like I got ripped off. I guess there's not much else I can do right? I also tried to update the firmware through the Tv's support menu but I already have the latest one. If you guys have any other suggestions, please throw them my way. Thanks.
Devin1886 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 12-10-2012, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
try game mode on the TV like someone else had suggested, and turn off any trumotion enhancements...
RonAlam is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 12-10-2012, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonAlam View Post

try game mode on the TV like someone else had suggested, and turn off any trumotion enhancements...

Turn off all enhancements in your tv would be my suggestion, altho I think the Samsung game mode does that. I got rid of my Samsung LCD for the flashlighting/clouding and went with a plasma instead, much happier with the pic (but have no idea if game performance is better or not, tho).

lovinthehd is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 12-11-2012, 06:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks you for taking the time to post your thoughts. I will give that a try. I will say though, that some games are worse than others with lag. I tested "modern warfare 3" yesterday and there was almost no lag at all where as "killzone 3" has lots of lag. So could it be a combination of things? i.e. the way certain games are made or my receiver not displaying the video fast enough? or is it most likely just the TV?
Devin1886 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 12-11-2012, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
maybe its bluetooth interference? You are using a PS3 that runs the controllers off of bluetooth...
RonAlam is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55d7000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv Silver
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off