Panasonic TC-L42E5 calibration settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 50 Old 12-24-2012, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
superwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello does anyone have calibration settings for this set?
superwell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 50 Old 01-06-2013, 09:01 AM
Member
 
Leo-Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Good day,

I also bought this TV.

So far Im pretty pleased with it, but I haven't been able to calibrate it to the point where I can say: "this is it".

I have tried a calibration from this forum, but it was not meant for this specific Panasonic Viera model, and I feel it looks too soft and warm (i always use warm, but this one looks TOO warm).

Please advice, thanks in advance!
Leo-Tyrant is offline  
post #3 of 50 Old 01-06-2013, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Maverickaim9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
On a side note, I really wish for panasonic to include at least a 2 point white balance and gamma adjustments to their whole lineup of Viera TV's.
Maverickaim9 is offline  
post #4 of 50 Old 01-06-2013, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Leo-Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If this helps, im trying to have the tv look as close as possible as my wii u gamepad.

blues look more "blue" in the gamepad...
Leo-Tyrant is offline  
post #5 of 50 Old 01-07-2013, 12:00 PM
Member
 
Leo-Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm attaching some comparison pictures




Leo-Tyrant is offline  
post #6 of 50 Old 01-08-2013, 08:23 AM
Member
 
Leo-Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Guys? Any help?

I bought the Disney WOW blu ray, but it won arrive for another 2 weeks, maybe someone could share their recommendations in the meantime?

Panasonic TC-L42E5

Thanks!
Leo-Tyrant is offline  
post #7 of 50 Old 01-09-2013, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
lexluthor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Bump. Just ordered this. Anyone want to share their calibration settings.

Also, I don't need to get the suggested wifi adapater Panasonic TY-WL20U, do I? Any suggestions on what other ones are compatible?
lexluthor is online now  
post #8 of 50 Old 01-10-2013, 07:54 AM
Member
 
Leo-Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just connected the Ethernet cable and it works perfectly, my TV its near my router.

I find it hard to believe no one in this specialized forum has a list of recommendations for this specific model.

Regards,
Leo-Tyrant is offline  
post #9 of 50 Old 01-10-2013, 08:01 AM
Newbie
 
benwaldeny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah,i think so,I find it hard to believe no one in this specialized forum has a list of recommendations for this specific model.
benwaldeny is offline  
post #10 of 50 Old 01-10-2013, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
lexluthor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo-Tyrant View Post

I just connected the Ethernet cable and it works perfectly, my TV its near my router.

I find it hard to believe no one in this specialized forum has a list of recommendations for this specific model.

Regards,
Mine will actually be right next to the router as well, so I'll just do that. Still curious if I can pretty much use any wifi adapter or I have to use the only 1 that's listed in their FAQ (the Panasonic one)?

Also, hoping someone posts some calibration settings.

Looking forward to playing with DLNA on this as well once it comes.
lexluthor is online now  
post #11 of 50 Old 01-10-2013, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
lexluthor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
These settings are posted in one of the Amazon reviews by someone who felt he knows what he's doing (though calibrated by site and with no tools)

I guess maybe it's a starting point?

PICTURE:

PICTURE MODE: Custom
BACKLIGHT: 90
CONTRAST: 96
BRIGHTNESS: 40
COLOR: 40
TINT: -3
SHARPNESS: 75
COLOR TEMP: Normal
COLOR MGMT: Off
AI PICTURE: On
C.A.T.S: Off:
VIDEO NR: Off

ADVANCED PICTURE
BLOCK NR: On
MOSQUITO NR: On
BLACK LEVEL: Light
3:2 PULLDOWN: On

AUDIO SETTINGS:
BASS: +5
TREBLE: -5
BALANCE: Center

ADVANCED AUDIO
AI SOUND: Off
SURROUND: On
BASS BOOST: On
VOLUME LEVELER: +2
TV SPEAKERS: On
HDMI 1 in: Digital
lexluthor is online now  
post #12 of 50 Old 01-11-2013, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Leo-Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thank you Lex,

I tried with that actually, its how I figured that my tv looks warmer than it should, so I came to this forum.

I changed it following the thread of the new panasonic vieras on this same forum, I dont agree with these specs for example:

TINT: -3
SHARPNESS: 75
Leo-Tyrant is offline  
post #13 of 50 Old 01-11-2013, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
lexluthor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo-Tyrant View Post

Thank you Lex,

I tried with that actually, its how I figured that my tv looks warmer than it should, so I came to this forum.

I changed it following the thread of the new panasonic vieras on this same forum, I dont agree with these specs for example:

TINT: -3
SHARPNESS: 75
Could you provide a link to that thread? What settings did you settle on (or at least what you currently use)?
lexluthor is online now  
post #14 of 50 Old 01-11-2013, 04:51 PM
Member
 
Leo-Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sure:

Jingai post post #171 of 281 (PS3 settings, since I will be using my TV for gaming on the PS3 and Wii U the most, plus some Netflix)

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1387706/official-panasonic-2012-lcd-lineup-and-information-thread/150

I will provide exact details on my current setup when I get home.
Leo-Tyrant is offline  
post #15 of 50 Old 01-11-2013, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Leo-Tyrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
See picture for details, I have also disabled most (if not all) of the enhancement options

Leo-Tyrant is offline  
post #16 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 12:22 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys here's the settings for my tv the panasonic tcl42e5 100 percent no need to touch it anymore done backlight 25, contrast 95, brightness 35,color 50 , tint - 25, sharpness 0 , color temp warm color mgmt off , ai picture on cats off video nr off black level light for brighter modes and for movie mode backlight 25, contrast 95, brightness 45, color 50, tint - 25, sharpness 0, color temp warm, color mgmt off , ai picture off , cats off , video nr off, black level light and that's it 100 percent no need to touch it anymore done calibrated enjoy everyone and last thing make sure to set player to full color output ycbcr color and then your done enjoy your calibrated screen
will2060 is offline  
post #17 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,585
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Did you arrive at those settings using light meters and software? If not, your tv is only adjusted and not calibrated to REC. 709 standards. Sharing settings may be a way to start, but with component variances and viewing environment being different from tv to tv, shared settings can sometimes actually make a tv worse.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #18 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 01:14 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did by looking at my retina ipad 3 and used it as reference cause ipad comes calibrated from the factory and I looked at my lg bd 630 went in to lg setting and the audio speaker graphic was all green which screwed up color so I took tint down tell it turned the right color of gold again then all the color came into line perfectly and you don't have to desaturate you don't lose any color res and I adjusted the rest to there right settings and bam it all calibrated 100 percent perfect my lg bd 630 really helped me get tint right on spot on so it's now all perfectly 100 percent rec 709
will2060 is offline  
post #19 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 01:19 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which means they got tint wrong from the factory and really bad wrong they put it up 25 clicks to high see every set that goes red yellow green is wrong in the middle -25 is the correct tint setting see if tint is off really bad that ruins your overall color
will2060 is offline  
post #20 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 01:54 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See guys 8 bit color calibrates to a certain level and if it's not at that level then that screws up your overall calibration see we only thought we had to desaturate but we don't you just need to put tint at its correct setting of -25 then all the color comes into line and you don't have to desaturate you don't lose any color res see in the middle where factory defaults it's to much green push which ruins your overall color so take it down to -25 where all the color becomes the same and all our color comes into line and then you don't have desaturate and you don't lose any color res
will2060 is offline  
post #21 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,585
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
You can not use an iPad 3, or any tablet like that to "calibrate" a tv. All you're doing is adjusting your panel to the iPad 3. You have no way of knowing if the iPad 3, or any other device for that matter, was calibrated to the Rec. 709 standards. And even if it was, you still have component variability so you're no better off than using someone else's settings. Unless you can actually graph out your calibration settings against the Rec. 709 standards and see the difference (before and after calibration) then you haven't a clue as to where your panel is. If may look good, and that may be all you need, but it in no way is "calibrated" against a known set of standards. For that, you have to use light meters (which themselves are calibrated to a traceable standard) and calibration software. This is usually done with a laptop computer that has the necessary software to take the light readings and compare them to what they should be in relationship to the standard. You can get a calibration disk and use that to adjust your tv settings to the Rec. 709 standards and accurately adjust your tv that way but it still won't be "calibrated", only accurately adjusted. However, that may be all you need to achieve good pq. Using a disk alone though usually requires the use of a blu-ray player that has all of its video processing options disabled (the tv's video options need to be disabled as well).
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #22 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 03:20 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it is right cause go look at lg bd 630 which I have and look at the speaker graphic in the audio settings when you go into settings and the factory default for tint is in the middle and the speaker graphic is overly green it's supposed to be gold not green and that's why color is off from the factory so take tint down to the point where the speaker graphic becomes gold again at - 25 and all the color comes into line and you don't have to desaturate and you don't lose any color res
will2060 is offline  
post #23 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,585
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
It's pointless to continue this discussion because you apparently don't understand the difference between visually adjusting your settings using your eyes and adjusting a tv using spectral information. I would suggest you take your questions and comments to the Display Calibration forum and see what they have to say there.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #24 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 04:54 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tell you what go put in the correct settings I gave all of you and try to tell me that it isn't 100 percent correct rec 709
will2060 is offline  
post #25 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 04:59 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like guys all I'm saying is put the correct settings I gave in before you all say its incorrect when it's correct
will2060 is offline  
post #26 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 05:09 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once you guys put the correct settings I gave you in on your sets you'll see perfect rec 709 like me just go put it in and see for your selfs on all our content photo sets and video content you will notice right away that it all looks the way it supposed to and you'll see it be calibrated perfect put the settings in on your sets to and then try to tell me it's not perfect rec 709
will2060 is offline  
post #27 of 50 Old 11-20-2013, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,585
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by will2060 View Post

Once you guys put the correct settings I gave you in on your sets you'll see perfect rec 709 like me just go put it in and see for your selfs on all our content photo sets and video content you will notice right away that it all looks the way it supposed to and you'll see it be calibrated perfect put the settings in on your sets to and then try to tell me it's not perfect rec 709

Prove it. Let's see your graphs.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #28 of 50 Old 11-21-2013, 06:55 PM
Member
 
will2060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also guys when you get tint down to its correct setting of -25 then all our color comes into line and you have don't have to desaturate and you also don't have black level errors cause all the black white and color all blend in at the same point to create perfect flawless rec 709 so put in the correct settings I gave you and enjoy your 100 percent no need to touch it anymore calibrated screen
will2060 is offline  
post #29 of 50 Old 11-22-2013, 05:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
lexluthor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by will2060 View Post

Also guys when you get tint down to its correct setting of -25 then all our color comes into line and you have don't have to desaturate and you also don't have black level errors cause all the black white and color all blend in at the same point to create perfect flawless rec 709 so put in the correct settings I gave you and enjoy your 100 percent no need to touch it anymore calibrated screen
That must just be with your TV (or your eyes). With my tint at -25, everything has a horrible red tint.
lexluthor is online now  
post #30 of 50 Old 11-22-2013, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
craigbrower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And even if it was, you still have component variability so you're no better off than using someone else's settings. Unless you can actually graph out your calibration settings against the Rec. 709 standards and see the difference (before and after calibration) then you haven't a clue as to where your panel is. If may look good, and that may be all you need, but it in no way is "calibrated" against a known set of standards.
lh8uQf
craigbrower is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc L42e5 42 Inches Led Lcd Tv , Led Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread - L42e5 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off