Just found out my TV isn't actually 120hz, what the heck? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-25-2012, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HelloHelloHello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
LG 46LD550, advertised as 120hz.. plugged my computer into it and what do you know, it only reports a max refresh rate of 70hz?

Also I never see that soap opera effect frown.gif
HelloHelloHello is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-25-2012, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloHelloHello View Post

LG 46LD550, advertised as 120hz.. plugged my computer into it and what do you know, it only reports a max refresh rate of 70hz?
Also I never see that soap opera effect frown.gif
The 120HZ usually refers to the post-processing done by the Tru-Motion feature on the set.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-25-2012, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HelloHelloHello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Wow that is just crap frown.gif
HelloHelloHello is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-25-2012, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloHelloHello View Post

Wow that is just crap frown.gif

not really, all TVs with a refresh rate higher than 60Hz work this way
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-25-2012, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,534
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloHelloHello View Post

Wow that is just crap frown.gif

As PlasmaPZ80U said, not really. It's always helpful to learn as much as you can about the new technologies so that you don't have any surprises like this. You probably don't see any SOE either because TruMotion is turned off.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-25-2012, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Luke M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 28
As far as I know, zero 120hz TVs can accept a 120Hz input. Even the most expensive ones can't. One thing getting in the way is that standard HDMI can't do it. You would need high speed HDMI, or DL-DVI, or DisplayPort.
Luke M is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-25-2012, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,534
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Nowadays using anything less than a Certified High Speed HDMI cable for the HDMI 1.4 hardware spec would be silly. Most, if not all new tv's comply with the 1.4 hardware spec.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-26-2012, 12:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HelloHelloHello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

As PlasmaPZ80U said, not really. It's always helpful to learn as much as you can about the new technologies so that you don't have any surprises like this. You probably don't see any SOE either because TruMotion is turned off.

No, it's defintiely on.
HelloHelloHello is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-26-2012, 07:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A 120 Hz TV displays 120 images per second. See:

http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/soap-opera-effect-motion-interpolation

Also the INFO button on most HDTVs displays the resolution that the TV is receiving and not the resolution that the TV is displaying
walford is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-26-2012, 07:07 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloHelloHello View Post

No, it's defintiely on.
I think everyone is saying that signals into the TV are 60Hz, and the TV itself doubles the frame rate internally to 120Hz. Trumotion then allows you to increase the adjustment to eliminate blur... turning it up all the way should lead to the soap opera effect. I do recall reading that certain LG models were advertised as having Trumotion but it wasn't implemented in the firmware. Possibly firmware updates provided it for owners. The best thing you could do is to read the LG thread for your model and see what you can find out there.
dfp is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-26-2012, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfp View Post

I think everyone is saying that signals into the TV are 60Hz, and the TV itself doubles the frame rate internally to 120Hz. Trumotion then allows you to increase the adjustment to eliminate blur... turning it up all the way should lead to the soap opera effect. I do recall reading that certain LG models were advertised as having Trumotion but it wasn't implemented in the firmware. Possibly firmware updates provided it for owners. The best thing you could do is to read the LG thread for your model and see what you can find out there.

This. And the fact that your computer says it can go up to 70hz is not necessarily what the tv can accept. As stated above, tv's normally will only accept a 60hz (or 24hz in some cases) signal. If the tv specs say it's a 120hz set, then it is.
sitlet is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off