what settings should I use for my vizio 42 inch 3d smart tv? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-02-2013, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
For the best picture quality. Vivid mode sucks
Kascnef82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-02-2013, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Vivid Mode is not for home use. It is for store demos in very bright ceiling lighting and is much to bright for the home. You have to try the different modes and realize that the setings are set and saved separately for each mode and input connections Not two installations have users with the same eye characteristics, day and night time lighting conditions, Input devices such as TV STBs, DVD players, or local broadcast characteristics. For this reason there are no standard settings. I have a different mode set up for each of the following from cable company STB. Movies, live 720p sports, live 1080i sports and live in a studio programs.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-04-2013, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I agree. Vivid mode reveals halos and grain not present in normal mode. Smooth motion makes everything look like a soap opera so I turn it off. The internet apps suck.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-04-2013, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kascnef82 View Post

For the best picture quality. Vivid mode sucks

Set your own pq using a calibration disk such as the free AVS HD709 disk or commercial ones like Wow, DVE, etc.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-05-2013, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Some movies from disney and sony have calibration menus.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-05-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kascnef82 View Post

Some movies from disney and sony have calibration menus.

Which does absolutely nothing for your television but tweak it to that particular movie. Performing Accurate Picture Adjustments with a cal disk sets your tv to be close to rec.709 standards which is then used by any material that you run thru your tv (movies, tv, etc). Source material then being the only factor that you have no control over.
Otto Pylot is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off