OFFICIAL Samsung Smart TV "Evolution Kit" Thread - Page 46 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > OFFICIAL Samsung Smart TV "Evolution Kit" Thread

LCD Flat Panel Displays

Watcher12's Avatar Watcher12
03:47 PM Liked: 18
post #1351 of 1897
01-07-2014 | Posts: 196
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamermwm View Post

All they mentioned at CES was the future evolution kits for their 4K tv's they will be releasing. But if they don't support their recent tv's with them (as they said they would) they will have a lot of unhappy customers

I read over on CNET that Samsung said they were going to release new plasma sets later this year. Maybe they're waiting for the specs and features on those to be final until they announce the Evo kit for the 2013 sets? At least that's what I'm hoping. If they don't release an Evo kit for the F8500, well, yeah, might be the last Samsung product I ever buy.
DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
04:40 PM Liked: 769
post #1352 of 1897
01-07-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013

offcourse they are.. till 2015 for ES series.. since it not new technology , it doesn't belong on CES


upstate-avfan-da's Avatar upstate-avfan-da
07:13 PM Liked: 19
post #1353 of 1897
01-07-2014 | Posts: 625
Joined: May 2011
IMO they need to announce the new One Connect for the F9000. Being that they have all the new UHD coming out and getting spotlight at CES, we need our HDMI 2.0 timeline! I care less about "upgraded" voice and gesture controls.... were there really a lot of people clamoring to control the tv with a finger vs palm?
DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
05:05 AM Liked: 769
post #1354 of 1897
01-08-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by upstate-avfan-da View Post

IMO they need to announce the new One Connect for the F9000. Being that they have all the new UHD coming out and getting spotlight at CES, we need our HDMI 2.0 timeline! I care less about "upgraded" voice and gesture controls.... were there really a lot of people clamoring to control the tv with a finger vs palm?

yup the new evolutionkit going to have finger and voice control and this new api from samsung (http://www.samsungdforum.com/Guide/ref00011/index.html one of the parts of api) with which you can control the whole house.  hdmi2.0 would be great but i dont see that happen on my es series tv. ima have to get a new one with 4k and hmdi2.0 when they're affordable lol


OugaBooga's Avatar OugaBooga
04:59 AM Liked: 14
post #1355 of 1897
01-10-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamermwm View Post

All they mentioned at CES was the future evolution kits for their 4K tv's they will be releasing. But if they don't support their recent tv's with them (as they said they would) they will have a lot of unhappy customers
U can count me as 1 of those customers that won't be getting a sammy for a long time if thy come with another bs evo kit or none @ all.
i am still peeved they LIED back in 2012 that the evo kit would add picture quality.......well we know that was a LIE, wonder if their 5yr upgrade cycle was a LIE TOO !!!
still love my TV but i HATE being LIED TO !!!
DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
06:30 AM Liked: 769
post #1356 of 1897
01-10-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013

the 2013 evo-kit made a lot of difference in speed and a little in picture quality coz of the new filters&driver used. it's fair to say you cannot expect that it would upgrade or improve the screen you have to something better. if you would clean the windows it looks better but it doesn't have all of a sudden a new window then.


Deltadog's Avatar Deltadog
12:58 PM Liked: 10
post #1357 of 1897
01-11-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2014

If I install the Samsung Evolution Kit on my 2012 Samsung LED TV  I understand the calibration settings will be reset to factory defaults.   If I re-enter all my custom calibration settings into the TV after installing the Evolution Kit will that be good enough or do I need to get the TV professionally calibrated again after the Evolution Kit Upgrade?


Mavinwow's Avatar Mavinwow
01:28 PM Liked: 145
post #1358 of 1897
01-11-2014 | Posts: 720
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deltadog View Post

If I install the Samsung Evolution Kit on my 2012 Samsung LED TV  I understand the calibration settings will be reset to factory defaults.   If I re-enter all my custom calibration settings into the TV after installing the Evolution Kit will that be good enough or do I need to get the TV professionally calibrated again after the Evolution Kit Upgrade?

My setting did not change much before/after the EK, and would not waste your money paying for another calibration to be done.
Dulkadir's Avatar Dulkadir
04:10 AM Liked: 10
post #1359 of 1897
01-12-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2014

Hi all,

 

I recently purchased SEK-1000 and I have 46ES8000.

 

When installing SEK, according to manual I update the TV by online before installing SEK. But TV said there was no new update at this time, the firmware version was 100x I don't remember the x. Then I followed steps below;

. I installed SEK,after installing the firmware became 1007, I try updating online, but there was no new one.

. Everything was OK, but the bluetooh connection between Smart touch control and the tv.

. When you turn on the tv, bluetooh connection has established, but after a few minutes connection is lost, and when I try pairing, it says "not available"

.I contacted call center, he want me to upgrade latest firmware that is v2011 for ES8000. 

. So, I uninstalled SEK after backuping as relatedmenu item said, and update the TV to 2011 by USB.

.And before reinstalling SEK again, I try smart touch control with the tv, that was OK, no problem occurred in lots f hours. 

. So I re installed the SEK. After all automatic re installing process has passed, I checked the firmware version, that was again 1007, and now bluetooth connection still losses.

 

Beside, when you look at the latest firmware version in the web it looks 1005. Where is the 1007 version come from, I don't undertand.

 

As a result my main problem is failure of bluetooth connection when use SEK. Without SEK it works though.

 

Any idea would be appricated, thanks


cseck's Avatar cseck
07:00 PM Liked: 10
post #1360 of 1897
01-12-2014 | Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2013

I have the same problem as u with the bluetooth plus i now have the problem of the motion control stop working after a minute or so and when i go too the options menu the motion control option is greyed out, if u manage too sort ur bluetooth problem out please let me know how u did it or if anybody else can help with my problems please let me know...


DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
07:04 PM Liked: 769
post #1361 of 1897
01-12-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013

yeah i had that too once that my voice control and motion control was greyed out, restart the tv helped there. also bluetooth problems.. i took the batteries out of the old touch remote and replaced the batteries of the little black receiver thing , it seemed to help. nevertheless it seems we need a new firmware fixing those issues.


cseck's Avatar cseck
07:19 PM Liked: 10
post #1362 of 1897
01-12-2014 | Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2013

i've tried restarting the tv and the motion control works for about a minute or so then it stops working and then the option is greyed out again and i've also changed the batteries in the smart controller and the ir blaster but it didn't help and now i don't know what else i can do. I even spoke too samsung and they said i could take it back too the shop where i got it and get a replacement but i told them that i purchased it from ebay and they said there is nothing they could do about it then even tho it's still under warranty which i thought sucked. 


DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
01:33 AM Liked: 769
post #1363 of 1897
01-13-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013

well i don't think its faulty device , it's firmware related and ur not the only one with this problem. u tried factory reset or redoing the setup of the ir-blaster and remote ?


cseck's Avatar cseck
06:12 AM Liked: 10
post #1364 of 1897
01-13-2014 | Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2013

Yep tried factory reset and re-doing the ir blaster but still the same...


bigraytk's Avatar bigraytk
07:05 PM Liked: 10
post #1365 of 1897
01-13-2014 | Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2012
New 2014 EVOKIT gouge: http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subaction=showfull&id=1389286758 .
poppagene's Avatar poppagene
01:54 PM Liked: 15
post #1366 of 1897
01-14-2014 | Posts: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigraytk View Post

New 2014 EVOKIT gouge: http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subaction=showfull&id=1389286758 .

How is it possible to turn our sets into Ultra HD with a OneConnect version of an evolution kit?
DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
03:00 PM Liked: 769
post #1367 of 1897
01-14-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigraytk View Post

New 2014 EVOKIT gouge: http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subaction=showfull&id=1389286758 .

How is it possible to turn our sets into Ultra HD with a OneConnect version of an evolution kit?

if you would have read the whole thing , you would find that there are 2 evo-kits and the ultra hd version is for a ultra-hdtv , the normal version is for a normal hdtv


OugaBooga's Avatar OugaBooga
07:57 AM Liked: 14
post #1368 of 1897
01-15-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Mar 2010
new Evolution Kit adds primarily 2014 Smart TV platform ( similar to 2013) , a faster Quad Core Pro processor and the new Multiscreen feature. The new motion-enabled remote control is also included.

In addition (some only relevant for OneConnect):
HDMI 2.0
HEVC decoding up to 4K in 60 fps .
HDCP 2.2 (copy protection)
MHL 3.0 (connect a tablet to playback 4K content on TV)
USB 3.0

I like that it adds Multiscreen feature but i want the remote from the 2013 evo frown.gif
I hope the hdmi 2.0, MHL 3, & usb 3 are for the FULL HD tv's like ours 2012/2013 models.

This evo kit looks better then last yrs but REALLY hoping as an ES8000 owner this gives me hdmi 2.0 cause that would help with 3D gaming on PC smile.gif

can't wait for more info on this, damn i HATE waiting........end of may is when it's sold ?
I wonder how many of the current evo owners feel upgrading to 2k14 kit ?
another 300$ in canada i assume like last yr or maybe more ? lol
DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
09:43 AM Liked: 769
post #1369 of 1897
01-15-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013

i think for hdtv one would just have the new 2014 platform and faster processor , the rest requires connections not available on ES series.


rckrz6's Avatar rckrz6
11:14 AM Liked: 12
post #1370 of 1897
01-15-2014 | Posts: 208
Joined: Dec 2008
If anything I feel like input lag has increased.. maybe ill put the kit out and feel it out again
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaJoJo View Post

there is a little , but not enough to satisfy your needs.

Fisherjim's Avatar Fisherjim
01:47 PM Liked: 10
post #1371 of 1897
01-15-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dulkadir View Post
 

Hi all,

 

I recently purchased SEK-1000 and I have 46ES8000.

 

When installing SEK, according to manual I update the TV by online before installing SEK. But TV said there was no new update at this time, the firmware version was 100x I don't remember the x. Then I followed steps below;

. I installed SEK,after installing the firmware became 1007, I try updating online, but there was no new one.

. Everything was OK, but the bluetooh connection between Smart touch control and the tv.

. When you turn on the tv, bluetooh connection has established, but after a few minutes connection is lost, and when I try pairing, it says "not available"

.I contacted call center, he want me to upgrade latest firmware that is v2011 for ES8000. 

. So, I uninstalled SEK after backuping as relatedmenu item said, and update the TV to 2011 by USB.

.And before reinstalling SEK again, I try smart touch control with the tv, that was OK, no problem occurred in lots f hours. 

. So I re installed the SEK. After all automatic re installing process has passed, I checked the firmware version, that was again 1007, and now bluetooth connection still losses.

 

Beside, when you look at the latest firmware version in the web it looks 1005. Where is the 1007 version come from, I don't undertand.

 

As a result my main problem is failure of bluetooth connection when use SEK. Without SEK it works though.

 

Any idea would be appricated, thanks

 

 

 

 

I bought a 40" ES8000 in Dec 2012, and everything worked lovely, I bought the Evolution kit in Sept 2013 but in November things started to go wrong.

 

TV would switch off after 15mins and turn back on again.

Ir blaster kept un-pairing.

New remote stopped working.

Internet would be intermittent.

 

I took the Evo kit off numerous times and re-set the TV, downloaded the software re-fitted the Evo kit updated to 1007.2 everything back to normal.

Next day various or all faults recurred.

 

Samsung spent 1Hour and 18mins on the phone with me trying to sort out, but basically nothing worked so the sent an approved service agent round.

 

They have a "magic" remote which can access all sorts of hidden menus and settings which showed my TV has six faults due to a failing Bluetooth module, and a failing Wi-Fi module which are causing these problems, nothing to do with the Evo kit.

 

The parts are apparently very inexpensive, and Samsung are replacing them FOC on Friday, I only hope it does the trick as I am at my wits end!

 

The diagnostic menus can be accessed by various sequences of  button presses on the normal remote control and I have found reference to this on YouTube, though you need to be vary careful as altering certain settings will render the TV inoperable.

 

Hope this is of some help.


Otto Pylot's Avatar Otto Pylot
01:55 PM Liked: 272
post #1372 of 1897
01-15-2014 | Posts: 7,602
Joined: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by OugaBooga View Post


This evo kit looks better then last yrs but REALLY hoping as an ES8000 owner this gives me hdmi 2.0 cause that would help with 3D gaming on PC smile.gif

How would an HDMI 2.0 input help with gaming if you don't have an HDMI 2.0 source to feed it? That is unless your PC graphics card has fully compliant HDMI 2.0 chipset. HDMI hardware spec 1.4 is more than capable of handling 3D.
OugaBooga's Avatar OugaBooga
01:15 AM Liked: 14
post #1373 of 1897
01-16-2014 | Posts: 255
Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

How would an HDMI 2.0 input help with gaming if you don't have an HDMI 2.0 source to feed it? That is unless your PC graphics card has fully compliant HDMI 2.0 chipset. HDMI hardware spec 1.4 is more than capable of handling 3D.

I remember reading on TriDef 3D forums something bout we're not able to do 3D "checker box" i think that was the mode @ 1080p full 60fps cause the current hdmi bandwidth isn't wide enuff to support it till hdmi 2.0.........well, something like that.
Just hoping a evo kit would allow my TV to be upgraded to hdmi 2.0 if possible...........anyhow i need to read up some on what exactly they were talking about.
If u have any info on our tv's be upgraded to hdmi 2.0 simply with an evo kit would be appreciated. smile.gif

Last game i played in 3D was batman & that waslast yr in january.
DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
09:26 AM Liked: 769
post #1374 of 1897
01-16-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by OugaBooga View PostQuote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
How would an HDMI 2.0 input help with gaming if you don't have an HDMI 2.0 source to feed it? That is unless your PC graphics card has fully compliant HDMI 2.0 chipset. HDMI hardware spec 1.4 is more than capable of handling 3D.
I remember reading on TriDef 3D forums something bout we're not able to do 3D "checker box" i think that was the mode @ 1080p full 60fps cause the current hdmi bandwidth isn't wide enuff to support it till hdmi 2.0.........well, something like that.
Just hoping a evo kit would allow my TV to be upgraded to hdmi 2.0 if possible...........anyhow i need to read up some on what exactly they were talking about.
If u have any info on our tv's be upgraded to hdmi 2.0 simply with an evo kit would be appreciated. smile.gif
Last game i played in 3D was batman & that waslast yr in january.

then again the question: how would hmdi2.0 help with gaming if the pc graphics does not support it ? all 3D content is half the resolution of 1080P and most is at 24P (23.976 fps) and some at 60i (30 fps). i don't see why you would run a 3D checkerbox ? hdmi2.0 is for 4k resolutions and 3D in full 1080p. fyi not even a ps4 does 3D in full 1080P @60i fps and even then it would be @ 24P


Watcher12's Avatar Watcher12
02:43 PM Liked: 18
post #1375 of 1897
01-16-2014 | Posts: 196
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaJoJo View Post

then again the question: how would hmdi2.0 help with gaming if the pc graphics does not support it ? all 3D content is half the resolution of 1080P and most is at 24P (23.976 fps) and some at 60i (30 fps). i don't see why you would run a 3D checkerbox ? hdmi2.0 is for 4k resolutions and 3D in full 1080p. fyi not even a ps4 does 3D in full 1080P @60i fps and even then it would be @ 24P

All modern graphics cards have DisplayPort which supports 3D 2 60fps. All one would need is a DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 cable or adapter.
DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
03:04 PM Liked: 769
post #1376 of 1897
01-16-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher12 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaJoJo View Post

then again the question: how would hmdi2.0 help with gaming if the pc graphics does not support it ? all 3D content is half the resolution of 1080P and most is at 24P (23.976 fps) and some at 60i (30 fps). i don't see why you would run a 3D checkerbox ? hdmi2.0 is for 4k resolutions and 3D in full 1080p. fyi not even a ps4 does 3D in full 1080P @60i fps and even then it would be @ 24P

All modern graphics cards have DisplayPort which supports 3D 2 60fps. All one would need is a DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 cable or adapter.

if you have displayport 1.2 yes, but not with tridef drivers. nvidia cards only do 1080p @48hz so you would need a AMD . HMDI1.4 specs also support 1080p 60hz 3D, no need for HDMI2.0. there are only upper range samsung 3D tv that actually support it, even without HMDI2.0.


Watcher12's Avatar Watcher12
03:14 PM Liked: 18
post #1377 of 1897
01-16-2014 | Posts: 196
Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaJoJo View Post

if you have displayport 1.2 yes, but not with tridef drivers. nvidia cards only do 1080p @48hz so you would need a AMD . HMDI1.4 specs also support 1080p 60hz 3D, no need for HDMI2.0. there are only upper range samsung 3D tv that actually support it, even without HMDI2.0.

I've got AMD and Tridef. Cannot do 3D at 60hz with HDMI 1.4, though. The spec is 30hz per eye which, when doubled, comes out to 60hz. But its not the true 60hz per eye that we really want. If 60hz can be done now with an AMD card and a 3D monitor over DisplayPort then I don't see why it wouldn't work with HDMI 2.0 via the Evo Kit. At least, that's what I'm hoping. smile.gif
thebignewt's Avatar thebignewt
04:24 PM Liked: 36
post #1378 of 1897
01-16-2014 | Posts: 561
Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisherjim View Post

I bought a 40" ES8000 in Dec 2012, and everything worked lovely, I bought the Evolution kit in Sept 2013 but in November things started to go wrong.

TV would switch off after 15mins and turn back on again.
Ir blaster kept un-pairing.
New remote stopped working.
Internet would be intermittent.

I took the Evo kit off numerous times and re-set the TV, downloaded the software re-fitted the Evo kit updated to 1007.2 everything back to normal.
Next day various or all faults recurred.

Samsung spent 1Hour and 18mins on the phone with me trying to sort out, but basically nothing worked so the sent an approved service agent round.

They have a "magic" remote which can access all sorts of hidden menus and settings which showed my TV has six faults due to a failing Bluetooth module, and a failing Wi-Fi module which are causing these problems, nothing to do with the Evo kit.

The parts are apparently very inexpensive, and Samsung are replacing them FOC on Friday, I only hope it does the trick as I am at my wits end!

The diagnostic menus can be accessed by various sequences of  button presses on the normal remote control and I have found reference to this on YouTube, though you need to be vary careful as altering certain settings will render the TV inoperable.

Hope this is of some help.
Mine has done some of those things, mostly unpairing the IR Blaster. I go throught the ititial Setup and when I try to pair the IR Blaster nothing happens when I press the button on the bottom (new bats). Then I'll just leave the thing alone and the remote changes channels. One thing it doesn't do anymore is let me see the Guide for my cable STB, it used to show what was on all the channels which I liked. I also have the Evo Kit but the menus work fine on that. I'm wondering if it's something with the TV itself.
DaJoJo's Avatar DaJoJo
04:25 PM Liked: 769
post #1379 of 1897
01-16-2014 | Posts: 2,098
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher12 View Post
I've got AMD and Tridef. Cannot do 3D at 60hz with HDMI 1.4, though. The spec is 30hz per eye which, when doubled, comes out to 60hz. But its not the true 60hz per eye that we really want. If 60hz can be done now with an AMD card and a 3D monitor over DisplayPort then I don't see why it wouldn't work with HDMI 2.0 via the Evo Kit. At least, that's what I'm hoping. smile.gif

you would need a samsung tv that supports it, a few do. most displayport to hdmi adapters are 1.3 spec. you would need a active adapter with hdmi1.4 , the right hdmi cable and a tv that supports it. if im not mistaken a dual dvi would also be able to support it. i hope for the best but i would seriously doubt it that a evokit can give us hmdi2.0 spec as it uses the internal hmdi ports, unless it is a separate unit like with the uhdtv.


golferphil's Avatar golferphil
04:52 PM Liked: 12
post #1380 of 1897
01-16-2014 | Posts: 12
Joined: Dec 2011
I read the first few pages and the last few pages of this thread . So, please correct me if I am wrong here. These evolution kits are basically hardware updates to the core processor(s) that run the smart part of the "smart" TV (i.e. web browsing, apps, etc), but not much else that couldn't be pushed via an update over the web? I mean filters, apps, etc are all software and since the tv is connected to the net they could be downloaded. Sounds like a decent deal for older sets with slower/less processors, but really a no-op to any recent TV's
Tags: Samsung 46 Led Smart Tv , Samsung , Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46es8000 Led Hdtv , Samsung 75 Inch Led Smart 3d Hdtv Un75es9000

Gear in this thread
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3