OFFICIAL Samsung Smart TV "Evolution Kit" Thread - Page 65 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1921 of 1946 Old 01-15-2015, 05:03 AM
Senior Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by castana View Post
Hi poppgene,
Sorry for my daring for this but since I have a problem with my Samsung ES-7500 and my SEK-2000( the TV does not detect the EVO kit) and like I have seen in this forum that you have the same TV and EVO KIT and it works fine for you, for it, Could you help me with that?
Thanks in advance
Alejandro
First step is to make sure that your firmware is updated to the latest version. If you have the SEK-1000 installed remove it before checking for firmware updates and updating the firmware.
Second unplug the power cord from the wall and leave the TV unplugged for a few minutes. Remove the rubber protective cover on the SEK-2000 and the paper covering the upgrade slot on the back of the TV.
Next to install the upgrade kit, I first put the hooks on one side into the two slots. Then I line up the SEK-2000 with the connection on the TV and firmly push the SEK-2000 into place making sure the connection is secure.
I connect the Ethernet dongle to the side of the SEK-2000 and connect it to my Ethernet jack and then plug the power cord back into the wall receptacle. Turn the TV on and if the SEK-2000 should be recognized by your TV.


Make sure that you have the correct version for your part of the world. A kit from Europe won't work in a set manufactured for North America.
poppagene is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1922 of 1946 Old 01-15-2015, 05:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,756
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubascotland View Post
I've already had the SEK-2000 replaced but the TV still reboots. I think perhaps the EVO kit has damaged the board in the TV. I'm waiting for Samsung to sort it out.
....or the reboots are unrelated to the SEK-2000.

I had a few on my F8500 and I don't even have an evo kit of any kind. (4 in maybe 2 months)

There were some settings I've changed to remedy the problem but its too early to tell.

Giving this a little more thought, this may have started about the time there was a firmware update.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #1923 of 1946 Old 01-15-2015, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
castana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi poppagene,
First, thanks for your fast answer.
On the other hand, I did what I told me?
Update the firmware (1056 version) and turned off the TV and shiched off the power TV and then add the SEK-2000 to my TV and then I shich/turn on my TV again and unfortunate, my TV did not detect the EVO Kit.
I am sure myself that the TV/EVO Kit model is the correct because both was bought in USA(UN46ES7500FXZA and SEK-2000/ZA), for it, Do you think that EVO kit is defective?
Thanks again for your help
Best Regards
Alejandro
castana is offline  
post #1924 of 1946 Old 01-15-2015, 06:12 AM
Newbie
 
castana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi poppagene,
First, thanks for your fast answer.
On the other hand, I did what I told me?
Update the firmware (1056 version) and turned off the TV and shiched off the power TV and then add the SEK-2000 to my TV and then I shich/turn on my TV again and unfortunate, my TV did not detect the EVO Kit.
I am sure myself that the TV/EVO Kit model is the correct because both was bought in USA(UN46ES7500FXZA and SEK-2000/ZA), for it, Do you think that EVO kit is defective?
Thanks again for your help
Best Regards
Alejandro
Ps. sorry for my little english

Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
First step is to make sure that your firmware is updated to the latest version. If you have the SEK-1000 installed remove it before checking for firmware updates and updating the firmware.
Second unplug the power cord from the wall and leave the TV unplugged for a few minutes. Remove the rubber protective cover on the SEK-2000 and the paper covering the upgrade slot on the back of the TV.
Next to install the upgrade kit, I first put the hooks on one side into the two slots. Then I line up the SEK-2000 with the connection on the TV and firmly push the SEK-2000 into place making sure the connection is secure.
I connect the Ethernet dongle to the side of the SEK-2000 and connect it to my Ethernet jack and then plug the power cord back into the wall receptacle. Turn the TV on and if the SEK-2000 should be recognized by your TV.


Make sure that you have the correct version for your part of the world. A kit from Europe won't work in a set manufactured for North America.
castana is offline  
post #1925 of 1946 Old 01-15-2015, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by castana View Post
Hi poppagene,
First, thanks for your fast answer.
On the other hand, I did what I told me?
Update the firmware (1056 version) and turned off the TV and shiched off the power TV and then add the SEK-2000 to my TV and then I shich/turn on my TV again and unfortunate, my TV did not detect the EVO Kit.
I am sure myself that the TV/EVO Kit model is the correct because both was bought in USA(UN46ES7500FXZA and SEK-2000/ZA), for it, Do you think that EVO kit is defective?
Thanks again for your help
Best Regards
Alejandro
Ps. sorry for my little english
Probably either the evoluition kit or the TV is defective. If you have an SEK-1000 that works with your TV, then it is fairly clear cut that it's the SEK-2000 that is defective. Otherwise, you might examine the slot on the back of the tv and the connector on the back of the kit. If no damage is visible, then it's probably the SEK-2000. Judging by some of the replies in this thread, the quality control on these was poor and many have reported problems. Even though mine installs just fine, after 8 months of use, it started causing the tv to spontaneously reboot while I'm watching tv. I'm going through what is proving to be a difficult return process to get my unit replaced.
poppagene is offline  
post #1926 of 1946 Old 01-15-2015, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
castana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Probably either the evoluition kit or the TV is defective. If you have an SEK-1000 that works with your TV, then it is fairly clear cut that it's the SEK-2000 that is defective. Otherwise, you might examine the slot on the back of the tv and the connector on the back of the kit. If no damage is visible, then it's probably the SEK-2000. Judging by some of the replies in this thread, the quality control on these was poor and many have reported problems. Even though mine installs just fine, after 8 months of use, it started causing the tv to spontaneously reboot while I'm watching tv. I'm going through what is proving to be a difficult return process to get my unit replaced.
Hi again,
Thanks for your advice. I will look both devices but I think that the EVO KIT is defective because I looked the TV and it seems is fine.
Good luck with your problem and hope you can fix it soon !
Regards
Alejandro
castana is offline  
post #1927 of 1946 Old 01-15-2015, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,233
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Upon close examination of the Evolution Kit, does it appear they've actually used Gold Contacts, or did they go cheap and now there's an issue of oxidization of the contacts, or possibly dissimiliar metals between the TV contacts and those of the kit, making things worse?
p5browne is offline  
post #1928 of 1946 Old 01-17-2015, 03:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The network cable adapter going into the EK-2000 is absolute garbage, every month I get a 'Network cable has been disconnected' message getting spammed and I need to fiddle around with the damn cable.
myst4ry is online now  
post #1929 of 1946 Old 01-17-2015, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by myst4ry View Post
The network cable adapter going into the EK-2000 is absolute garbage, every month I get a 'Network cable has been disconnected' message getting spammed and I need to fiddle around with the damn cable.
I used to get those all the time. I never had to fiddle with the cable, I just checked the network connection through the menu and the connection to the internet was confirmed so no fiddling required. Try that next time before messing with the cable.
poppagene is offline  
post #1930 of 1946 Old 01-20-2015, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
I used to get those all the time. I never had to fiddle with the cable, I just checked the network connection through the menu and the connection to the internet was confirmed so no fiddling required. Try that next time before messing with the cable.
When I tried playing with settings, the pop-up message would close the settings menu. So I'd have to rush and try to switch it to wifi before the pop-up came up again. I found that fiddling with the cable was the only fix.
myst4ry is online now  
post #1931 of 1946 Old 02-05-2015, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
msarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone. My wife and I have a 51" 2012 E7000. Lately we have been having a ton of problems with netflix or amazon freezing up, usually leading to hard resets. It has gotten to the point where my wife has started just using her laptop instead, which kind of defeats the point of the TV. So, I'm looking at the evo kits.

I can get a sek-1000 for about $40, or a sek-2000 for about 150. I'm leaning towards the 2000 just because it should give the latest and greatest feature set.

The e7000 didn't include voice control or motion control, but I keep seeing these features popping up when people talk about the SEK2000. So, does using the SEK2000 add these features to tvs that don't have the front facing camera or a microphone? Does the "wii like remote" work via the IR sensor on the TV, or will I just have to use normal D-Pad functionality? I know the remote has a mic on it as well... I'd hate to have a button that literally does nothing on my remote but it's livable.

So, outside of those technical questions, those who have bought it as an upgrade from stock, was it worth it? Does it fix the freezing issues with netflix and amazon?
msarro is offline  
post #1932 of 1946 Old 02-05-2015, 12:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,756
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 254
msarro,

Have you been keeping the firmware updated?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #1933 of 1946 Old 02-05-2015, 02:00 PM
Newbie
 
msarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
msarro,

Have you been keeping the firmware updated?
Yup, I have. I've also done a complete factory restore and upgrade to the most current firmware multiple times. Nothing seems to make those two apps stable.
msarro is offline  
post #1934 of 1946 Old 02-05-2015, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
thebignewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I have the ES8000 and got the first Evo kit, the sek-1000 in 2013 for $180. All I can tell that it did was change the look of the Smarthub menus, and I got a new touch remote (which broke, and the old one didn't work anymore so I bought a Harmony). It does replace the TV's chipset with the one in the Evo Kit so it that's the problem it should fix it. If it isn't it won't. I'd probably get the cheap one. If I had it to do over I wouldn't have done it but you have a problem I didn't have.The other thing you can do is use the app from peripheral. For instance VuDu, the movie rental app doesn't want to connect using the TV smarthub so I use my BD player for that. I have Apple TV and can use that for HBO Go. I try not to use the Smarthub.

Samsung ES8000 65", Evo Kit installed, Yamaha AVR with Paradigm speakers, iMac, iPad, Apple TV and HTC One phone.
thebignewt is online now  
post #1935 of 1946 Old 02-06-2015, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SEK-2000 and HDMI 2.0 support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
no
Are you sure?

In the SEK-2000 Product guide i read the following:

(Related to 3D Mode settings)
There are 3 extra 3D modes added with SEK-2000:
(old modes V/H SBS)
- Vertical Line
- Horizontal Line
- Frame
And following note is added:
The (Frame) setting can only be selected when the computer's resolution is set to 1920x1080 and the frequency to 60Hz.

So this seems HDMI 2.0 specs?
Does the SEC-2000 add's a HDMI port?
















iSeeker is offline  
post #1936 of 1946 Old 02-06-2015, 05:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
SEK-2000 features (other than smarthub)

From the SEK-2000 product guide, I deduct that the following features are included:
  • Screen mirroring (e.g. miracast - with android mobile)
  • Multi Room Link (so link TV audio to M3/M5/M7 Samsung multi-room speakers and hub)
  • New 3D modes: V/H line, pixel and Frame
    E.g. support for 1980x1080 60Hz Frame switch results in the possibility to stream true (none-interl.) 3D HD streaming (large improvement over 1980x720 SBS options)
Am I correct in the above statements, or is this TV device dependent? (E.g. i have a EU/46ES7000 )
It would indicate that SEK-2000 also adds a considerable amount of mediaplayer options for E (2012) TV models
However, I'm not sure this works for all TV models.
(I have EU46E7000)
iSeeker is offline  
post #1937 of 1946 Old 02-06-2015, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeeker View Post
Are you sure?

Does the SEC-2000 add's a HDMI port?


The SEK-2000 does not add an HDMI port.
poppagene is offline  
post #1938 of 1946 Old 02-06-2015, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mf26 View Post
Some of my most recent Samsung purchases have lead me to believe their products are pretty much in Beta for the first 6 months of their release.

I recently sold my SEK-2000, the final factor being I'd noticed it was still running the old BBC iPlayer without the monthly series catchup, yet the ES8000 has had the newer version for sometime now.

I may well settle for the SEK-4000 in 2016 what with it supposedly being the last supported model for the ES8000, however so far I think EK kits are too expensive for what they offer in return.
I read somewhere that they wont be supporting Tizen on older models. Not sure what they define as old - but I would be amazed if they release an Evo kit that gives us Tizen...
ijhammo is offline  
post #1939 of 1946 Old 02-06-2015, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by myst4ry View Post
When I tried playing with settings, the pop-up message would close the settings menu. So I'd have to rush and try to switch it to wifi before the pop-up came up again. I found that fiddling with the cable was the only fix.
Just installed my SEK2000 on my F7000 and the ethernet port on it is totally dead. Nothing, nada, zip.... I only bought it as we also have an H7000 and the wife prefers the SmartHub on that (the quick menu bar and the new smart remote a soooo much better)

Anyone else had ethernet issues? I cant get wifi with it either and cant find the wifi region setting at all in the service menu.. sigh Weirdly the network still seems to work with the ethernet plugged in the original ethernet port?!?!
ijhammo is offline  
post #1940 of 1946 Old 02-06-2015, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ijhammo View Post
Just installed my SEK2000 on my F7000 and the ethernet port on it is totally dead. Nothing, nada, zip.... I only bought it as we also have an H7000 and the wife prefers the SmartHub on that (the quick menu bar and the new smart remote a soooo much better)

Anyone else had ethernet issues? I cant get wifi with it either and cant find the wifi region setting at all in the service menu.. sigh Weirdly the network still seems to work with the ethernet plugged in the original ethernet port?!?!
As for the wired ethernet, the dongle doesn;t work with 2013 tvs:

From the set up guide:

2012 TV: To use a wired network on a TV that has an Evolution
Kit attached, disconnect the LAN cable from the TV, and then
connect it to the Kit using the LAN Cable Adapter.

2013 TV: To use a wired network, connect the LAN cable
to the TV
.
Which is exactly how yours is working now.
poppagene is offline  
post #1941 of 1946 Old 02-06-2015, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,233
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Members must remember - an EVO KIT only brings your TV about halfway to being the next year's Model. NOT ALL, or ALMOST ALL! Half.
p5browne is offline  
post #1942 of 1946 Old 02-07-2015, 08:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
As for the wired ethernet, the dongle doesn;t work with 2013 tvs:

From the set up guide:

2012 TV: To use a wired network on a TV that has an Evolution
Kit attached, disconnect the LAN cable from the TV, and then
connect it to the Kit using the LAN Cable Adapter.

2013 TV: To use a wired network, connect the LAN cable
to the TV
.
Which is exactly how yours is working now.
Lol, thanks. Looks like I didn't RTFM properly The quick start guide showed the ethernet moving from the TV to the EK, didnt notice the 2012/3013 bit.
ijhammo is offline  
post #1943 of 1946 Unread 02-23-2015, 05:26 PM
Member
 
DavidBulluss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi. Just a quick progress report on my Australian ES8000 with the SK-2000. Just as comment only.
I had the ES8000 for 12 months before adding the SK-1000. While I had no technical issues with the SK-1000 and initially loved the different interface, I moved to the SK-2000 after a further 12 months or so. Woe, I love it! I have been using it for 5 months now and really like the interface and the small remote control. My only comment is that I miss the old program guide and find the new one very slow to load. Apart from that absolutely no technical issues and an excellent interface.

Cheers all, David
markus46 likes this.
DavidBulluss is offline  
post #1944 of 1946 Unread Yesterday, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,233
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Move over Evolution Forum Posters, you're about to get new Posters from the 2014 TV set Members.
DavidBulluss likes this.
p5browne is offline  
post #1945 of 1946 Unread Today, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Move over Evolution Forum Posters, you're about to get new Posters from the 2014 TV set Members.
Even with my 2012 TV, I'm looking forward to the 2015 evolution kit with tizen.
poppagene is offline  
post #1946 of 1946 Unread Today, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have Samsung UE40ES7000 from 2012. and I want to upgrade him. And now interested for Evolution Kit but I do not know what to buy. Will SEK-2000 work on my tv or I must buy SEK-1000 for him.Can someone explain me what is best to buy.
Thx..
idjundje is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 46 Led Smart Tv , Samsung , Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46es8000 Led Hdtv , Samsung 75 Inch Led Smart 3d Hdtv Un75es9000
Gear in this thread - Un75es9000 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off