Official 2013 Sharp LC-XXLE857 Series Thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2014, 09:43 AM
Member
 
HTCPBuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just have to ask what cable service do you have??
I have the 857U (70" ) and have Dish,, just love the picture and sound is thru 7.1 surround stereo, ( yahama). I do have a problem with one channel ( can't remember which one now,,) but only the one,, sound is off a little..make sure you use HDMI #2 or one of the other ones,, do not use #1,, ( I don't have this problem,, but some do with #1).. GL
HTCPBuff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2014, 12:47 AM
Senior Member
 
powertoburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Marino, CA, USA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
My 60" set is almost nearing a year of ownership and I had a cloudy set - while browsing Netflix Saturday night was deciding what to watch my tv rebooted - when it came back up most of the cloudy spots disappeared - I immediately checked the backlight level and it was still at 0 STD. All other picture settings remained the same. Anyone have an idea of what may have happened?

This could not of happened at a better time - I was debating on purchasing a 70" Sony set but it get bad reviews for 3D so definitely sticking with the Sharp since the 3D is super on it. Just wishing it was a larger set but the more I debate about it - it seems gaining 9.5 inch of screen is not significantly larger that I would notice at home - just in the showroom. I think @ home I would definitely notice an 80" set. But, can better deal with the 60" 857 now that the major annoying cloudy spots are gone.
powertoburn is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 07:10 PM
Member
 
HDTV Ready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Flashing Fault Code - Factory Reset?

I have a lc70le857u (purchased 4/2013), tonight when I tried to turn it on I am getting a flashing pattern from the power indicator light and the display stays off. When the TV is unplugged and then plugged back in, the power indicator light on the TV is normal solid for a couple minutes, then brightly flashes 2 long/slow followed by 5 short/quick, then repeats pattern.

Any guidance would be appreciated, thanks!

- Dan
HDTV Ready is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 10:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Anyone have experience with Professional Calibration using the Service Menu from BB?? I would like to know your experience realizing fully that it all depends on the Tech I get AS WELL AS the Lighting in my room.

thanks.
AVSF458 is online now  
Old 09-11-2014, 10:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skajjen View Post
Sorry for the delay, but my honeymoon got in the way!
 
Got a new replacement tv after only 4 days after it was cleared that it was a dead/stuck pixel in the first set. (Great service from the scandinavian distributor)
No more defective pixels and now I'm really happy with the black levels!
Can see some clouding but think a wipe with an soft cloth will solve that.
 
So now the set is mounted to the wall and i have nothing to complain about! =)
 

That is a unique AV CAbinet/Shelves. Can you share how they are made or where you bought them

Are those Ascend Towers or Salk Songtowers as your Front speakers??
AVSF458 is online now  
Old 09-16-2014, 05:30 PM
Member
 
rayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I lowered my 70LE857 backlight setting from -8 to -14 and it appears while watching football that the blur has increased when the ball is thrown. Does the backlight effect motion blur? My 240HZ setting is unchanged.
Thanks for any input.
rayven is offline  
Old 09-17-2014, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 3
does anyone else have issues with netflix on the Sharp LC80LE8857U. The sound sucks on mine. No 5.1 and it is so low and flat with no bass and I have a great SUB.
AVSF458 is online now  
Old 09-18-2014, 11:36 AM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayven View Post
I lowered my 70LE857 backlight setting from -8 to -14 and it appears while watching football that the blur has increased when the ball is thrown. Does the backlight effect motion blur? My 240HZ setting is unchanged.
Thanks for any input.
A change in backlight doesn't really affect anything other than the overall light output of the TV. For watching sports, I recommend you turn Motion Enhancement off.


How come you have your backlight set so low, by the way? What are your other settings/mode? After calibration, my backlight is at -4 as the lowest possible, and I only set it to that when I watch with no ambient light. I mostly have it at STD (0) and sometimes set it to +10 during the day.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
Old 09-18-2014, 11:40 AM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVSF458 View Post
does anyone else have issues with netflix on the Sharp LC80LE8857U. The sound sucks on mine. No 5.1 and it is so low and flat with no bass and I have a great SUB.
I get 5.1 DD from the Netflix app on the TV. This is through my receiver connected via HDMI and using ARC (Audio Return Channel). Make sure the TV is set to Bitstream instead of PCM.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
Old 09-18-2014, 06:10 PM
Member
 
rayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
A change in backlight doesn't really affect anything other than the overall light output of the TV. For watching sports, I recommend you turn Motion Enhancement off.


How come you have your backlight set so low, by the way? What are your other settings/mode? After calibration, my backlight is at -4 as the lowest possible, and I only set it to that when I watch with no ambient light. I mostly have it at STD (0) and sometimes set it to +10 during the day.
I watch in low light levels and previously had a plasma so I'm agreeable to watch at lower backlight levels to achieve darker blacks. I use the standard setting with brightness at -2, sharpness at 3, advanced contrast on, 240hz setting, and the remaining settings at 0. I have not had a calibration yet.


Thanks for the input!
rayven is offline  
Old 10-13-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
rayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
VBB, finally turned off Motion Enhancement which solved the blur. It darkened the picture so I brought my backlight to -8 and brightness to 0. The picture is awesome and football looks better than on the plasma I had.


Thanks for the suggestion!
rayven is offline  
Old 10-13-2014, 09:27 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Glad it worked for you!

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
ecue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MidWest
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
purple spots LC-60LE857

Well hey all, I'm looking to know just what happened a few days ago with
my LC-60LE857 only 9 nomths old. First I'm on Comcast cable SD not HD and
I've never hooked the TV to the Internet.
My set shows a couple of purplish spots from the bottom right corner up
towards the middle. I've searched the web for any insight in to this problem
and only found one at-
h<>p://answers.sharpusa.com/answers/8303/product/LC60LE857U/lc60le857u-questions-answers/questions.htm?sort=recenta
Which describes the same problem but, with no fix or solution, only to contact Sharp.
I'm in hopes that someone here can suggest some ideals as to troubleshooting, a fix,
or how to get the best responce and remedy from Sharp.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20141128_050642.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	132.6 KB
ID:	392418   Click image for larger version

Name:	20141128_050503.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	182.2 KB
ID:	392426   Click image for larger version

Name:	20141128_050555.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	245.9 KB
ID:	392434   Click image for larger version

Name:	20141128_002716.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	145.3 KB
ID:	392442   Click image for larger version

Name:	20141128_010456.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	250.8 KB
ID:	392450  

ecue is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 04:36 PM
Newbie
 
ecue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MidWest
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Correction - its a LC-60LE857U
I had forgot the U.
ecue is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 04:37 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecue View Post
Well hey all, I'm looking to know just what happened a few days ago with
my LC-60LE857 only 9 nomths old. First I'm on Comcast cable SD not HD and
I've never hooked the TV to the Internet.
My set shows a couple of purplish spots from the bottom right corner up
towards the middle. I've searched the web for any insight in to this problem
and only found one at-
h<>p://answers.sharpusa.com/answers/8303/product/LC60LE857U/lc60le857u-questions-answers/questions.htm?sort=recenta
Which describes the same problem but, with no fix or solution, only to contact Sharp.
I'm in hopes that someone here can suggest some ideals as to troubleshooting, a fix,
or how to get the best responce and remedy from Sharp.



Does it do that on every input/with every source? Have you tried a factory reset? Good thing is, you're still within the warranty period.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 05:26 PM
Newbie
 
ecue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MidWest
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Does it do that on every input/with every source? Have you tried a factory reset? Good thing is, you're still within the warranty period.
Hi Henry,


I was hoping you'd offer something since your
the one to go to or answer a lot on here.


I've only used the cable input and I've not done a Factory rest yet. Didn't want to loose my setting I had decided on.


I'll try both tomorrow, do you think a movie from the usb port would be ok. Don't have DVD player anymore.


You personally have any dealings with Sharp on service or returns? It's a BestBuy purchase
you think they are factory repair authorized?


Thanks ahead for your answers and your questions. ecue


PS. sorry for the bad pictures that's SD for you. You know some shows don't hardly show
the Purple Spots then again some you can't look passed them.
ecue is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 06:24 PM
VBB
Advanced Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecue View Post
Hi Henry,


I was hoping you'd offer something since your
the one to go to or answer a lot on here.


I've only used the cable input and I've not done a Factory rest yet. Didn't want to loose my setting I had decided on.


I'll try both tomorrow, do you think a movie from the usb port would be ok. Don't have DVD player anymore.


You personally have any dealings with Sharp on service or returns? It's a BestBuy purchase
you think they are factory repair authorized?


Thanks ahead for your answers and your questions. ecue


PS. sorry for the bad pictures that's SD for you. You know some shows don't hardly show
the Purple Spots then again some you can't look passed them.

The 70LE857U is my first ever Sharp set, and so far I haven't had any issues with it. I don't think there is any point in contacting Best Buy about the warranty, because they would just point you to Sharp, since you're still within the 1 year period. Did you buy an extended warranty through Best Buy?


Definitely try a different input if you can. USB should be fine. Hook it up to the Internet and watch something on YouTube. Also write down all your settings and do a factory reset under Initial Setup -> Reset.

Henry
Sharp LC-70LE857U
Onkyo HT-RC360
Mede8er MED600X3D

DarbeeVision Darblet DVP-5000

Synology DS1813+

X-Rite i1Display Pro

VBB is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
ecue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MidWest
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Does it do that on every input/with every source? Have you tried a factory reset? Good thing is, you're still within the warranty period.
WOW went looking again on the web but, didn't put my model number in the search just- "Sharp purple spot on screen". Came up with a lot more to look at. Went to a .consumeraffairs.com site were out of 109 only rated Overall Satisfaction Rating of one star. Then to top it off I ran across this guy from -
Anonymous of Anywhere, NT on Sept. 16, 2014


I used to work for Sharp (in the tv department) and we were always told to tell people that their problem was not a common issue when really the problems that customers would call in about were repetitive. I always wanted to tell the people that would call in after purchasing a brand new Sharp tv to take it back to the store NOW because it will not last and you'll have problems with it sooner than you think! You see, Sharp is a Japanese company that sells overpriced products by putting cheap (non-lasting) parts into their tvs to make them work for only a short time, forcing you to buy new. YOU'RE GETTING RIPPED OFF! I wouldn't recommend Sharp to anyone!
I've heard many complaints about the customer service as well and it's true. They aren't trained well at all. In fact, I felt like I was just trained to basically lie to the customer and perform some bogus troubleshooting that NEVER helped to solve the issue. I could go on all day about why buying a Sharp product is a bad idea but the point is, save your money! Yes, the picture is beautiful but the sound quality is horrible. You need a sound bar just to hear the tv clearly. Trust me, there is nothing good about this company or their products!


Really makes me hate the brand and the position I'm in now.
Well update you later as I read more on my situation/problem/remedy as issues arise.


Thanks all...
ecue is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
ecue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MidWest
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Does it do that on every input/with every source? Have you tried a factory reset? Good thing is, you're still within the warranty period.

"First off I'm not bashing Sharp", I'm reporting some things already in print from the web. If it helps someone make a PRE decision in stead of a POST regret thought, then be it. Sharp only has to blame their self for their business practices and support of products.

Same site as the 109 complaints from earlier, I came across some more interesting information. See this-


Shay of Houston, TX on Sept. 4, 2014


I hold my electrical engineer postgraduate degree from a top US university. I have studied the same OPC 2-long-5short flickering problem with my LC60LE847U TV for a long time. So my comment is objective. Sharp has a big financial problem in last 5 years and as a result, their board team decided to exchange 10% of their shares with Foxconn for better integration and management. The Foxconn team basically designed Sharp TV with the LCD panel from Sharp factory in Japan, and branded it as a Sharp TV. Foxconn team, in their continuous pursuit of profit margin, outsourced the power supply board to their friends call Delta.
Now do you remember why your laptop monitor has the backlight issues when it just passed warranty period? The same thing happens to your Sharp TV. These power supply team from Delta is the same company and people who designed your laptop monitor power system. They know their product mean time between failure is just little bit longer than the required 12 month warranty period. But so what? They don't care and they are only paid by Foxconn with that much money to keep it running for 12 months.
The net result is that your Sharp TV is more like your cheap $x00 laptop, and won't last any more longer than the required warranty period. If you are not happy about it, you have the choice to either buy the extended warranty or walk away from Sharp. Delta team are now so experienced with such a nasty and dirty game that they can control your Sharp TV life within months period by choosing different brands of electrolyte capacitors, ICs, power regulators, and LED backlight bulbs etc.


To bad a this comes to me after I'm an owner and have a set with problems but, I'm still within my warranty period - but what kind of a future to a short lived refurbished unit can I see. I think a Duracell battery would last longer than my currant set or a refurb one from this brand.
Thanks all...
ecue is offline  
 

Tags
Sharp He Lc 70le857u 70 Inch 3d Smart Led Tv , Sharp 80 Inch Full Hd Aquos Led Smart Tv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off