Official Vizio M-Series Razor Mxx1i thread - Page 305 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9121 of 9975 Old 06-18-2014, 10:55 PM
Member
 
akcorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just put in my order for the M652i-B2. Tentative delivery date is Mid-July. I'll shoot over a brief review when I get it!
akcorr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9122 of 9975 Old 06-19-2014, 06:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Any time the source resolution changes the TV will display the info at the top center. I have my AVR concert everything to 1080P before it gets to the set.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Eagle View Post
ETA: By the way, I've also experienced the TV flashing the input display info at the top of the screen for no apparent reason, usually when I change channels to a non-HD cable channel.
rakstr is offline  
post #9123 of 9975 Old 06-19-2014, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
Iron Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
Any time the source resolution changes the TV will display the info at the top center. I have my AVR concert everything to 1080P before it gets to the set.
I was thinking that was the case, but wasn't sure. Thanks for your response on that issue. It was a minor thing anyway, and not something that bothers me like the custom picture settings bug.
Iron Eagle is offline  
post #9124 of 9975 Old 06-19-2014, 11:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by akcorr View Post
Just put in my order for the M652i-B2. Tentative delivery date is Mid-July. I'll shoot over a brief review when I get it!
akcorr- Very exciting! Where did you order from? Do you or anyone have any insight on when the new M-series 80" is coming out? I have been anxiously holding out since the announcment.

Thx.
cbick12 is offline  
post #9125 of 9975 Old 06-19-2014, 02:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
But the set did very poorly in the color space tests (substantially "clipping" the colored boxes within boxes so they were not independently discernible and clear banding of the color gradient instead of a smooth spectrum).
.
This seems to be a somewhat common problem with LCD sets. I have seen it many times. What I do is cut back on the chroma, brightness and/or contract so that the panel isn't being driven as hard (so to speak). There is a compromise between fixing that issue and winding yup with a somewhat washed out video.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #9126 of 9975 Old 06-19-2014, 02:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 160
This reseting of custom settings, is this limited to certain sizes? I didn't see others posting this until today.

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #9127 of 9975 Old 06-19-2014, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
ursa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Norwood, MA USA
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 78
My Final Calibration

It's been a while and during the interim I've purchased some new equipment and did a final calibration. I've been using these for several months and am satisfied I've wrung out all that this Vizio can deliver. Unfortunately this is only for Firmware V1.09 or lower. If Vizio ever updates the rest of us I'll do another calibration with that Firmware but until then this is what I have.
These should also work fine in Game mode or any other mode...

Good Luck,
Ursa
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Final Final Calibration settings 029.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	126.8 KB
ID:	127146   Click image for larger version

Name:	Final Final Calibration settings 030.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	125.8 KB
ID:	127154   Click image for larger version

Name:	Final Final Calibration settings 031.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	85.9 KB
ID:	127162  
lotohnz likes this.
ursa99 is offline  
post #9128 of 9975 Old 06-19-2014, 10:23 PM
Newbie
 
Iron Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post
This reseting of custom settings, is this limited to certain sizes? I didn't see others posting this until today.
I'm new here, so I'm not sure if size has anything to do with it or not. I own the M701D-A3R. It came with the 1.25 firmware version installed, and I believe that's what others have said is causing the issue.
Iron Eagle is offline  
post #9129 of 9975 Old 06-19-2014, 10:48 PM
Newbie
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Eagle View Post
Wish I'd known this about two weeks ago when I ordered my M70. I got it 5 days ago and I was excited about everything right up to the point when I realized that my custom picture settings kept reverting back to defaults. This happens when the TV is turned on or off, or when I change to a non-HD cable channel, or when I switch inputs on my A/V receiver. Just like you, I have to change a setting(color, contrast, etc.) to get the custom settings to kick in. The TV shipped with version 1.25 firmware.

I know you've been waiting much longer on an update than I have, and I feel your pain, but do you have any idea if there is in fact another update that's "supposed to" be coming? If not, then I'm going to have to seriously consider getting this TV swapped out. I'm not paying over $2000 for a TV that won't even keep custom picture settings. That's ridiculous!

ETA: By the way, I've also experienced the TV flashing the input display info at the top of the screen for no apparent reason, usually when I change channels to a non-HD cable channel.
1.30 firmware has been out for several weeks now.
jcrox is offline  
post #9130 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 03:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Joel Solid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Temecula California
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox View Post
1.30 firmware has been out for several weeks now.
I came home to new firmware for my M701D-A3. My new firmware is V1.34.27.0090.

What annoys me about these large changes is getting my TV dialed back in. I had it exactly how I wanted it. Now with the new "professional picture" vs. good old fashion gains and offsets I'm having a lot of issues.

I would rollback the firmware if I could..

Has anyone gotten great results with the newest firmware?

Please share if you have.
Joel Solid is offline  
post #9131 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 04:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Has anyone tried to block the web address from Vizio where these updates come from?
When the TV is in use, does it accept the update then or is that the only time it can or will update?

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is online now  
post #9132 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Citivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Solid View Post
I came home to new firmware for my M701D-A3. My new firmware is V1.34.27.0090.

What annoys me about these large changes is getting my TV dialed back in. I had it exactly how I wanted it. Now with the new "professional picture" vs. good old fashion gains and offsets I'm having a lot of issues.

I would rollback the firmware if I could..

Has anyone gotten great results with the newest firmware?

Please share if you have.
This is why it's so odd that they don't make the firmware upgrades user optional pulls instead of company-imposed pushes. A bunch of people have been complaining they weren't getting the new firmware despite the downside of it resetting customized settings. And then there are those like you who were happy where they had it. There was a simple and novel solution for Vizio -- let each user decide.
Joel Solid likes this.
Citivas is offline  
post #9133 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 06:29 AM
Member
 
akcorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbick12 View Post
akcorr- Very exciting! Where did you order from? Do you or anyone have any insight on when the new M-series 80" is coming out? I have been anxiously holding out since the announcment.

Thx.
The date now got narrowed down to the 17th of July. I put through the order through Amazon to take advantage of the free shipping via my Prime membership. I was initially going to order it through the official VIZIO site since it doesn't say the set is not available but I didn't want to fork over the 100 dollar shipping charge. If you really want the 80" I would attempt to order through VIZIO directly!
akcorr is offline  
post #9134 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Grooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Villages, Fl
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 168
My 701D-A3R is still on v 1.08 12 0000. I have an always on hard wire connection. I wonder how they determine when and who gets updates?
Tom Grooms is offline  
post #9135 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox View Post
1.30 firmware has been out for several weeks now.
It is not clear what the current versions of the software is for the different models. It could easily be different for each model. v1.30 appears to be the latest for the 50". I do not understand the rationale (if any) at Vizio for not making the information readily available. These are your own customers, after all, not some enemy.
mhobart is offline  
post #9136 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Ronzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhobart View Post
It is not clear what the current versions of the software is for the different models. It could easily be different for each model. v1.30 appears to be the latest for the 50". I do not understand the rationale (if any) at Vizio for not making the information readily available. These are your own customers, after all, not some enemy.

I'm not being an apologist for Vizio -- I want control of software updates, too -- but I can see a couple of rationales for this position:
  • Much like with smartphone update rollouts, Vizio wants to:
    • Reduce the load on their servers supporting the update.
    • Minimize the damage if the new firmware has problems.
  • Allowing customers to determine if they will accept the new firmware results in many versions of legacy firmware in the embedded base, all of which would have to be supported.
    • Requires more support specialists.
    • Requires SMARTER support specialists, capable of transiting from one firmware version to another on successive calls.
    • Requires maintenance of more firmware-related support specialist scripts.
  • Requires maintenance of more firmware updates from a coding perspective.
Given more time, I could come up with more reasons. But I think the ones mentioned suffice.


Vizio is in business to make a profit. Customer service and customer satisfaction are a means to that end, not the end in itself. I think most of us, as consumers, tend to forget that.
Ronzo3 is offline  
post #9137 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
Iron Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Grooms View Post
My 701D-A3R is still on v 1.08 12 0000. I have an always on hard wire connection. I wonder how they determine when and who gets updates?
I also have an always on hard wire connection. Of course, mine has the 1.25 firmware. Now I'm wishing I'd bought a slightly older model with an earlier version, because this custom settings issue is really pissing me off.

ETA: I did an online support chat with Vizio and they "claim" they know about this issue and are working on a fix, but offered no idea of when it's coming.

Last edited by Iron Eagle; 06-20-2014 at 11:15 AM. Reason: Adding information.
Iron Eagle is offline  
post #9138 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Citivas View Post
This is why it's so odd that they don't make the firmware upgrades user optional pulls instead of company-imposed pushes. A bunch of people have been complaining they weren't getting the new firmware despite the downside of it resetting customized settings. And then there are those like you who were happy where they had it. There was a simple and novel solution for Vizio -- let each user decide.
Nor do they provide information about what has changed in a particular update. I guess I have been spoiled by the Oppo blu-ray players and their support.
mhobart is offline  
post #9139 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronzo3 View Post
I'm not being an apologist for Vizio -- I want control of software updates, too -- but I can see a couple of rationales for this position:
  • Much like with smartphone update rollouts, Vizio wants to:
    • Reduce the load on their servers supporting the update.
    • Minimize the damage if the new firmware has problems.
  • Allowing customers to determine if they will accept the new firmware results in many versions of legacy firmware in the embedded base, all of which would have to be supported.
    • Requires more support specialists.
    • Requires SMARTER support specialists, capable of transiting from one firmware version to another on successive calls.
    • Requires maintenance of more firmware-related support specialist scripts.
  • Requires maintenance of more firmware updates from a coding perspective.
Given more time, I could come up with more reasons. But I think the ones mentioned suffice.


Vizio is in business to make a profit. Customer service and customer satisfaction are a means to that end, not the end in itself. I think most of us, as consumers, tend to forget that.
Many companies provide information about the latest updates for particular models, what is contained in the various updates, and allow user downloads of updates without harming their profitability. In fact providing useful information has a tendency to enhance a company's reputation and user loyalty.
mhobart is offline  
post #9140 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by akcorr View Post
The date now got narrowed down to the 17th of July. I put through the order through Amazon to take advantage of the free shipping via my Prime membership. I was initially going to order it through the official VIZIO site since it doesn't say the set is not available but I didn't want to fork over the 100 dollar shipping charge. If you really want the 80" I would attempt to order through VIZIO directly!
I didn't see the M652i-B2 or the M802 on the vizio site...I did see your new M on Amazon and the July ship dates are encouraging. Did you read somewhere that the M802 is to be out on that same July 17th date? I am quite literally salivating!
cbick12 is offline  
post #9141 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Ronzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhobart View Post
Many companies provide information about the latest updates for particular models, what is contained in the various updates, and allow user downloads of updates without harming their profitability. In fact providing useful information has a tendency to enhance a company's reputation and user loyalty.
My point was related more towards those who wanted the option to refuse the upgrade. I agree with your position, once the upgrade has been shown to be stable. Adding more people to the latest release reduces legacy firmware concerns.


And yes, I agree that the upgrade's effects and fixes should be documented on Vizio's website.
Ronzo3 is offline  
post #9142 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronzo3 View Post
My point was related more towards those who wanted the option to refuse the upgrade. I agree with your position, once the upgrade has been shown to be stable. Adding more people to the latest release reduces legacy firmware concerns.


And yes, I agree that the upgrade's effects and fixes should be documented on Vizio's website.
I agree that users should have the option of declining a particular upgrade, and agree that upgrades should be done when shown to be stable. I have submitted a comment to Vizio support about their firmware upgrade policy, though I did not specifically mention the "decline" option. Perhaps if enough customers complain to Vizio support they may change their policies.
mhobart is offline  
post #9143 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
sid369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Eagle View Post
I also have an always on hard wire connection. Of course, mine has the 1.25 firmware. Now I'm wishing I'd bought a slightly older model with an earlier version, because this custom settings issue is really pissing me off.

ETA: I did an online support chat with Vizio and they "claim" they know about this issue and are working on a fix, but offered no idea of when it's coming.
i have my M80 and its on 1.25, I read somewhere here that a wired internet connection is needed for the software update. however, I don't see an option to connect it to the ethernet. I have plugged my ethernet wires coming out of the ether port on the wall and into the back of the tv. but when I go to the network under menu, the wired connection is greyed out and says disconnected, but wifi is connecting fine.

I also have a vizio 5.1 sound bar, do i set it to cpm or bitstream to get 5.1 out of it?
sid369 is offline  
post #9144 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
lotohnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronzo3 View Post
I'm not being an apologist for Vizio -- I want control of software updates, too -- but I can see a couple of rationales for this position:
  • Much like with smartphone update rollouts, Vizio wants to:
    • Reduce the load on their servers supporting the update.
    • Minimize the damage if the new firmware has problems.
  • Allowing customers to determine if they will accept the new firmware results in many versions of legacy firmware in the embedded base, all of which would have to be supported.
    • Requires more support specialists.
    • Requires SMARTER support specialists, capable of transiting from one firmware version to another on successive calls.
    • Requires maintenance of more firmware-related support specialist scripts.
  • Requires maintenance of more firmware updates from a coding perspective.
Given more time, I could come up with more reasons. But I think the ones mentioned suffice.

Vizio is in business to make a profit. Customer service and customer satisfaction are a means to that end, not the end in itself. I think most of us, as consumers, tend to forget that.
But that's exactly what you have now, hundreds if not thousands of M series owners stuck, literally stuck, on legacy firmware, some at least 2 firmware updates behind. If there's a problem with the older firmware you're stuck with it indefinitely. The fragmentation of installed firmware among users is exacerbated by not allowing users to update to current firmware.

And because of the fragmentation most of the support specialists have no idea what the current firmware is, or when another one is due. In fact, most of the customer service issues could be solved if they would just let all support reps across the board know what the hell is going on. I had to wait two months through 3 calls just to have a rep suggest I use Google DNS, just to get the apps to work. That should have been an easy fix. I can't imagine how 4k early adopters are going to deal with such shoddy tech support through Vizio.

And I'm basically a satisfied customer here. I love this tv even though it has it's quirks. In fact if this tv wasn't such a great tv, especially for the price, I would have lost patience with the random bugginess long ago. But I have to think twice about recommending buying a Vizio to my friends because their firmware distribution and customer service is so inexplicably bad. Which is ironic because designing and building a great tv should be a lot harder than providing timely, stable firmware updates and decent customer support. It basically gives the impression that once they have your money they really don't give a damn. Hardly a great way to build customer loyalty.

/rant
mhobart likes this.

Last edited by lotohnz; 06-20-2014 at 01:48 PM.
lotohnz is offline  
post #9145 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
55 Inch users should get update soon. My chat just now...

Me: Hello, I am trying to learn what the latest firmware is for my TV. The serial number is 34LWJJOJEP00586.
Just a moment...
Jacob:
Thank you. Here at VIZIO we pride ourselves in providing best in class U.S. based support. I’m happy to assist you today.
Me: Hello.
Jacob: The current version for your M551D-A2R, TV would either be 1.09 (current) or 1.34 (upcoming as of 6/19).
Me: Okay thanks, I am on 1.09 currently. Saw some people on a forum I frequent had received a new update for some of the other models.
Will it be pushed automatically or is there a way for me to manually update?
Jacob: Pushed automatically.
Me: Okay thank you for your assistance Jacob.
Jacob: You're welcome! Is there anything else I can assist you with today?
lotohnz likes this.
Padinn is online now  
post #9146 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padinn View Post
55 Inch users should get update soon. My chat just now...

Me: Hello, I am trying to learn what the latest firmware is for my TV. The serial number is 34LWJJOJEP00586.
Just a moment...
Jacob:
Thank you. Here at VIZIO we pride ourselves in providing best in class U.S. based support. I’m happy to assist you today.
Me: Hello.
Jacob: The current version for your M551D-A2R, TV would either be 1.09 (current) or 1.34 (upcoming as of 6/19).
Me: Okay thanks, I am on 1.09 currently. Saw some people on a forum I frequent had received a new update for some of the other models.
Will it be pushed automatically or is there a way for me to manually update?
Jacob: Pushed automatically.
Me: Okay thank you for your assistance Jacob.
Jacob: You're welcome! Is there anything else I can assist you with today?
Ok, the support techs DO know the versions for the different models and the projected release date, Vizio just isn't willing to post that info on their website for some reason. For users of that model let's hope they actually stick to that schedule (started pushing it yesterday).
mhobart is offline  
post #9147 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Padinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhobart View Post
Ok, the support techs DO know the versions for the different models and the projected release date, Vizio just isn't willing to post that info on their website for some reason. For users of that model let's hope they actually stick to that schedule (started pushing it yesterday).
Yup. Unfortunately you still have no idea when it shows up. Took me around 4 months to get 1.09 after it began pushing.
Padinn is online now  
post #9148 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 07:03 PM
Member
 
ducpiloti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
FALD test clip


I did find slight blooming but overall for the pricepoint the performance is fantastic! PQ is absolutely superb for a set in this price range. The only thing I am concerned is the reliability but I have the Squaretrade warranty for 5 years that I bought from Costco for just $90 more...peace of mind for not that much more Costco rocks!
ducpiloti is offline  
post #9149 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padinn View Post
Yup. Unfortunately you still have no idea when it shows up. Took me around 4 months to get 1.09 after it began pushing.
I got a reply from someone who handled their customer service email stating that he had passed along my comments about the firmware update procedure. Having worked in tech support myself, I hope that is the case and not just blowing smoke.
lotohnz likes this.
mhobart is offline  
post #9150 of 9975 Old 06-20-2014, 07:31 PM
Newbie
 
firemedix911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK fellas I've researched back and forth here and other sites but can't find the answer to this. Just got my M801D about 10 days ago. Very happy with my investment, still getting used to the image after coming from a Panny Plasma. But it's ok.
On to my problem. I can't get any audio from the TV thru my Surround Sound speakers when playing the TV apps. I can't figure out why. (take it easy on my I'm a newb) Here's How I'm set up.

Hopper onto Xbox one HDMI in. Xbox One HDMI out onto Yamaha RX-V377 HDMI 1 and From Yamaha HMDI out onto TV HDMI 1(ARC) port. Everything works great, and everything turns on and off but whenever I try to use the TV apps like Netflix it doesn't produce any sound out of the Surround Sound Speakers. Frustrating. Am I gonna have to install a Digital out from the TV on to the AV receiver?

Thanks.
firemedix911 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
sony dhg-hdd250 , Vizio 32 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio 55 Inch Class Theater 3d Edge Lit Razor Led Lcd Hdtv M3d550sl , vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv , Vizio M471i A2 47 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M551d A2r 55 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M601d A3r 60 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M651d A2r 65 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M701d A3r 70 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M801d A3 80 Inch 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off