Official Vizio M-Series Razor Mxx1i thread - Page 338 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10111 of 10129 Old Today, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I'm not trying to diminish anyone's pain here because it's always the most important thing when it's happening to you!!!! I think Vizio's method of rolling out firmware updates is very poor but it's been no secret for quite some time now! I've had an "expensive" calibration thrown out the door within weeks of the calibration because of Vizio's firmware changes.

I think some of the point may be that there are a handful of complaints spread out over a number of models so when Vizio says they don't have that complaint you need to take this "diversity" into account. And no, I'm not making excuses, just highlighting that there is no "mass problem" here. I think it was posted that 6 people have complained on this thread and just in the past few posts we can see 2 of them are on different sets. Again, personal pain is always the only pain but, ....

The two "Mxx2i-B" series sets in the past few posts are from a different generation (I believe) and not necessarily the same issue. Not sure all these discussions can necessarily be lumped together. This is after-all the Mxx1i thread, not 2i! Perhaps my 1D sets should not be part of this discussion either. People have tried to start model specific threads but they haven't taken off. Given both Sam's and Costco and a LOT of other big box stores sell these sets, there are a LOT of them out there.

For instance my TVs are

M651D-A2 (11/22/2013) - Still on 1.34
M701D-A3 (11/22/2013) - 1.60, appears to work fine
M401I-A3 (1/30/2014) - 1.60, appears to work fine
M471I-A2 (4/27/2014) - 1.60, appears to work fine

So I'll leave a final thought. I remember when the first generation sets came out and there were some units in some models that had "the buzz" as backlight was turned up. It was a problem and I think Vizio tried to respond. I had one set repaired in house and returned one myself. However, that problem turned into an abuse of the Sams and Costco return policy which actually led to the use of that policy as a "free upgrade path" which led to the destruction of that policy to the current 90 day limit, which is still awesome. It saved me when Vizio failed to roll out the 1.09 update for the WiFi remote. I was able to work out an extension with my local Costco manager (that he worked out with Vizio) that if I didn't have my update by a certain date, he would exchange my TV beyond the 90 day limit. I did that through rational discussion with the manager and the fact I'm a pretty darn good spender there. It boiled down to I could retunr the set now (within the 90 day limit) or I would be willing to work with Vizio up to a certain point given I could still make the exchange (not return). This gave him incentive to work with his management at Costco corporate and eventually Vizio.
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper99ta View Post
Yes - but I'm unclear what you are asking/meaning?

Last edited by rakstr; Today at 08:28 AM.
rakstr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10112 of 10129 Old Today, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper99ta View Post
Yes - but I'm unclear what you are asking/meaning?
I think Laserjock is referring to the fact that those models are Full Array Local Dimming (FALD) and more than likely will see an improvement with the Active Zone/Local Dimming on. What exactly is wrong with your set after the firmware update? Is it messing that up for you too? If I had a FALD set I would leave the Active Zone function on for deeper blacks.

With edge-lit sets you have the conundrum... "deeper blacks" or "flashlighting" and now some are experiencing a sort of excess "bloom" effect. The bloom effect and Smart Dimming being set to on after a power cycle is the issue for is 2013 series edge-lit TV's.

What are you experincing with your 2014 FALD sets? Blooming could be the only logical thing I can think of as the Acitve Zone function being set to on after a power cycle (while if you set it to off and it comes back on it is broken) it should greatly improve your image quality. So is that what you are talking about or is it a colors being off, SOE, or cadence bug?

Are there any other issues? I want plan on discussing this with a contact at Vizio with a list of all known issues across all the sets with 1.60.
PlayNice is offline  
post #10113 of 10129 Old Today, 08:50 AM
Member
 
viper99ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My set since the update goes black in many scenes. I was scared last night when I started watching The Hobbit Desolation of Smaug as I've used the opening 15 minutes as a reference scene for a while so I've seen it probably 20x. I was scared because suddenly it was going black all over. I thought something was wrong with my TV or the Blue Ray player until I realized I had an update on Sunday and I started reading the AVS forums for similar complaints on 1.60 firmware.

I apologize as this is a mxx1i thread and I have a mxx2i FLAD. As rakstr pointed out people have tried to start model specific threads but they haven't taken off so I ended up posting here.

I will go home and play with settings as well as try the Spears and Munsil CD again and perhaps adjust gamma from default 1.8 to 2.1 or so.

Regardless, I think this firmware messed up the mxx2i models as well.

You asked what else is wrong. The picture quality is just not as good as it was prior to the update regardless of what picture mode I try. Colors are off.

Last edited by viper99ta; Today at 08:53 AM. Reason: more issues explained
viper99ta is online now  
post #10114 of 10129 Old Today, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper99ta View Post
My set since the update goes black in many scenes. I was scared last night when I started watching The Hobbit Desolation of Smaug as I've used the opening 15 minutes as a reference scene for a while so I've seen it probably 20x. I was scared because suddenly it was going black all over. I thought something was wrong with my TV or the Blue Ray player until I realized I had an update on Sunday and I started reading the AVS forums for similar complaints on 1.60 firmware.

I apologize as this is a mxx1i thread and I have a mxx2i FLAD. As rakstr pointed out people have tried to start model specific threads but they haven't taken off so I ended up posting here.

I will go home and play with settings as well as try the Spears and Munsil CD again and perhaps adjust gamma from default 1.8 to 2.1 or so.

Regardless, I think this firmware messed up the mxx2i models as well.

You asked what else is wrong. The picture quality is just not as good as it was prior to the update regardless of what picture mode I try. Colors are off.
That's odd about the colors, off how so? Are you using factory presets is so Calibrated and Calibrated Dark are your best bet. The rest have horrid issues.

Now on the "going black" what does this mean exactly? A very dark image or completely black?
PlayNice is offline  
post #10115 of 10129 Old Today, 09:15 AM
Member
 
viper99ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll go with Calibrated and play from there. I have the next two days off to do shopping etc. so I have some time to play.

On the black, it starts at the edges and comes in or just blacks out over a portion of the screen.

I'l take pics and post for comparison tonight/tomorrow. At work now.

Appreciate your help.
viper99ta is online now  
post #10116 of 10129 Unread Today, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I've found Calibrated Dark to be a great starting point!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper99ta View Post
I'll go with Calibrated and play from there. I have the next two days off to do shopping etc. so I have some time to play.

On the black, it starts at the edges and comes in or just blacks out over a portion of the screen.

I'l take pics and post for comparison tonight/tomorrow. At work now.

Appreciate your help.
rakstr is online now  
post #10117 of 10129 Unread Today, 09:27 AM
Member
 
viper99ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also for reference, the black is not happening on cable. It IS happening on the built in Netflix app and my Sony blue ray player. Odd as all 3 use the same picture mode.
viper99ta is online now  
post #10118 of 10129 Unread Today, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
Did you try saving your changes to a new custom profile?
Yep, saved as a new custom profile, but still have to toggle the Smart Dimming setting after each power cycle. Maybe I should just figure out a macro for my Harmony remote to do it for me. Vizio's response was to do a factory reset, and they closed the ticket. I haven't tried it yet, but from other posts, I'm pretty sure it won't work. Here's the thing, I showed my wife the issue, and she barely noticed, but to me it's obvious. I wonder if most people just don't notice that it's happening.

Side note, I have always issues with lip synch being slightly off even with adjustment (no soundbar, just internal speaker). At any rate, it seems to be fixed now. Has anyone else has the issue or noticed the improvement since the update? (at least one thing was fixed)
rmiller242 is online now  
post #10119 of 10129 Unread Today, 10:12 AM
Member
 
verncat05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the M651D-A2R and received the 1.60 update recently. I have read through this thread and all of the issues but I must honestly say that I do not have a "smart dimming" setting anywhere in any of the menus. Is "smart dimming" the same as "active LED zones"? If so, why does every set not have the same settings, or why are they not called the same thing? I guess I am seriously confused by the convoluted postings. It should not be suprising to anyone that Vizio isn't paying any attention to this thread, as it is just a bunch of unrelated sounding posts and issues.

Without some sort of organization and standardization of information here, no one should expect them to even give it a thought. Just my thoughts...
verncat05 is online now  
post #10120 of 10129 Unread Today, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
waylo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by verncat05 View Post
I have the M651D-A2R and received the 1.60 update recently. I have read through this thread and all of the issues but I must honestly say that I do not have a "smart dimming" setting anywhere in any of the menus. Is "smart dimming" the same as "active LED zones"? If so, why does every set not have the same settings, or why are they not called the same thing? I guess I am seriously confused by the convoluted postings. It should not be suprising to anyone that Vizio isn't paying any attention to this thread, as it is just a bunch of unrelated sounding posts and issues.

Without some sort of organization and standardization of information here, no one should expect them to even give it a thought. Just my thoughts...

2013 M Series is an edge-lit LED set with Smart Dimming. 2014 M Series is Full Array Local Dimming with Active LED Zones. This is the thread for the 2013 M Series, thus the reason most refer to Smart Dimming. So yes, it is organized.
waylo88 is online now  
post #10121 of 10129 Unread Today, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlayNice View Post
I think Laserjock is referring to the fact that those models are Full Array Local Dimming (FALD) and more than likely will see an improvement with the Active Zone/Local Dimming on. What exactly is wrong with your set after the firmware update? Is it messing that up for you too? If I had a FALD set I would leave the Active Zone function on for deeper blacks.

With edge-lit sets you have the conundrum... "deeper blacks" or "flashlighting" and now some are experiencing a sort of excess "bloom" effect. The bloom effect and Smart Dimming being set to on after a power cycle is the issue for is 2013 series edge-lit TV's.

What are you experincing with your 2014 FALD sets? Blooming could be the only logical thing I can think of as the Acitve Zone function being set to on after a power cycle (while if you set it to off and it comes back on it is broken) it should greatly improve your image quality.
Yeah, just wanting people to realize they are in the 2013 thread an the 2014 sets are a different beast.

Bad coincidence that firmware is at the same rev level.

PS,
Thanks Playnice for posting new cal settings.
I'll give them a try later and see how they look.
laserjock II is offline  
post #10122 of 10129 Unread Today, 12:04 PM
Member
 
verncat05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo88 View Post
2013 M Series is an edge-lit LED set with Smart Dimming. 2014 M Series is Full Array Local Dimming with Active LED Zones. This is the thread for the 2013 M Series, thus the reason most refer to Smart Dimming. So yes, it is organized.
Umm, I guess I will type this again.

I have a 2013 Vizio 65", model M651d-A2r. I do not have a setting for "smart dimming". I do, however, have a setting for "active LED zones". Unless I somehow got a Vizio model that is mis-identified, which I think is highly unlikely as it was purchased in Feb of 2014, prior to the 2014 models coming out, then there is a disparity of information in this thread.

I am in the right thread. I do not, though, have a "smart dimming" setting and instead have an "active LED zones" setting.
verncat05 is online now  
post #10123 of 10129 Unread Today, 01:42 PM
Member
 
netkrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by verncat05;300031w38
Umm, I guess I will type this again.

I have a 2013 Vizio 65", model M651d-A2r. I do not have a setting for "smart dimming". I do, however, have a setting for "active LED zones". Unless I somehow got a Vizio model that is mis-identified, which I think is highly unlikely as it was purchased in Feb of 2014, prior to the 2014 models coming out, then there is a disparity of information in this thread.

I am in the right thread. I do not, though, have a "smart dimming" setting and instead have an "active LED zones" setting.
Well, based on Vizio's manual, you should have a 'smart dimming' option in your menu based on page 23.

http://www.vizio.com/documents/downl...M_M551dA2R.pdf

Since yours is a Full Array, maybe that setting was changed with a firmware update??

And as far as disparity....I dont see any. The terms are performing VERY similar functions (..but I could be corrected ) and it does appear at one point your model did have this. I hope that Vizo doesnt have a mindset like yours and ignore the issue....if they do, a future update could brick a lot of sets.

Last edited by netkrazed; Today at 01:47 PM.
netkrazed is online now  
post #10124 of 10129 Unread Today, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo88 View Post
2013 M Series is an edge-lit LED set with Smart Dimming. 2014 M Series is Full Array Local Dimming with Active LED Zones. This is the thread for the 2013 M Series, thus the reason most refer to Smart Dimming. So yes, it is organized.
Yes, I apologize. The root of the confusion is likely my fault, I have a newer 2014 M with Active LED Zones. However, its exhibiting the exact same problem as those with those in the 2013 M series. I posted here because of my own ignorance thinking they were the same and that I'm experiencing the same issue of the Smart Dimming/Active LED Zone parameter resetting to default on restart of the panel.

Its interesting that the problem is the same, even though we have different displays.
Robin Halabicki is online now  
post #10125 of 10129 Unread Today, 02:12 PM
Member
 
verncat05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by netkrazed View Post
Well, based on Vizio's manual, you should have a 'smart dimming' option in your menu based on page 23.

http://www.vizio.com/documents/downl...M_M551dA2R.pdf

Since yours is a Full Array, maybe that setting was changed with a firmware update??

And as far as disparity....I dont see any. The terms are performing VERY similar functions (..but I could be corrected ) and it does appear at one point your model did have this. I hope that Vizo doesnt have a mindset like yours and ignore the issue....if they do, a future update could brick a lot of sets.
First, you linked to the 55" manual...Second, when exactly did I say that I had the mindset to ignore the issue? I was simply stating an observation. I have the 2013 model, yet I do not have that setting. I also understand that the terms perform very similar functions, but that is not the point. If one person claims they have an active LED zone issue, yet the next person states it's a smart dimming option and even someone else calls it something different, where is the uniformity? If people really expect Vizio to read through this thread and determine the problem, then it should read like everyone has the same exact problem, not ones that sound "similar" to each other. That is all I am trying to point out. There is a disparity in the way that the issue is being posted here. Sorry if pointing out that out ruffles feathers, but if the exact same terms and issue is not being describes, you cannot expect Vizio to recognize that from differing terms, as they already seem predisposed to not acknowledging the issue in the first place.
verncat05 is online now  
post #10126 of 10129 Unread Today, 02:14 PM
Member
 
verncat05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Halabicki View Post
Yes, I apologize. The root of the confusion is likely my fault, I have a newer 2014 M with Active LED Zones. However, its exhibiting the exact same problem as those with those in the 2013 M series. I posted here because of my own ignorance thinking they were the same and that I'm experiencing the same issue of the Smart Dimming/Active LED Zone parameter resetting to default on restart of the panel.

Its interesting that the problem is the same, even though we have different displays.
I am also part of the confusion, as I am supposed to have "smart dimming", since I have a 2013 M-series, yet my particular set does not, it has "active LED zones" instead. I do not understand how this is supposed to make sense at all if there is no continuity between like model numbers with the same firmware...
verncat05 is online now  
post #10127 of 10129 Unread Today, 02:22 PM
Member
 
netkrazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ummm..the manual is for m501d-a2, m551d-a2, AND m651d-a2. Which one do you state you have....on yeah, the m651d-a2. Before commenting, why not look at the doc, since it does cover three models.

And Vizio doesnt have to browse through the posts, just the last 2 pages or so....which include video and screenshots. No ruffled feathers, but you did say "Without some sort of organization and standardization of information here, no one should expect them to even give it a thought.", which aludes to being ignored.
waylo88 likes this.
netkrazed is online now  
post #10128 of 10129 Unread Today, 02:41 PM
Member
 
Crakaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my set m422i-b1 is being replaced by vizio because of the blemish issue.
Crakaveli is online now  
post #10129 of 10129 Unread Today, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 35
From my M651d-A2 purchased 11/22/2013 and still on 1.34
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0913.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	203.6 KB
ID:	428082   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0912.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	121.9 KB
ID:	428090  
rakstr is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
sony dhg-hdd250 , Vizio 32 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio 55 Inch Class Theater 3d Edge Lit Razor Led Lcd Hdtv M3d550sl , vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv , Vizio M471i A2 47 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M551d A2r 55 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M601d A3r 60 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M651d A2r 65 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M701d A3r 70 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M801d A3 80 Inch 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off