Official Vizio M-Series Razor Mxx1i thread - Page 346 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10351 of 10487 Old 03-01-2015, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
waylo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by indept View Post
I got lucky & had my router go belly up around christmas. I replaced the router but never got around to reconnecting my M551D-A2. Based on what I see here I won't until I hear any updates are safe but 1 work around if you use the apps is get a blu ray player with the apps & use them through it.
Or a Roku, or a FireTV, or an AppleTV, etc...

Literally any other option is better than the built-in apps on the TV which run pretty damn slow. Once I get the updated firmware to rid me of this awful 1.60, I'm disconnecting my TV from the internet and never looking back.
steve1022 and netkrazed like this.
waylo88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10352 of 10487 Old 03-04-2015, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 48
'Lightning' struck, as my brother stops by and gifted me a P502ui-B1E (50")! Wow!

We boxed up the M401i-A3 and he took that back.

First quick impression - Wow! While I do not have the top tier ISP speed, I did manage to get a 'stuttering' peek at some 4K video...

WoW! Such detail! I did view a Test video that I think was 'half' 4K and it streamed ok. Looks great!

I saw that during my P502's 2nd time-only power up, it received a new firmware update (1.1.1.9).



I'm off to the P-Series Owner's Thread. I hope you all that have the 1.60xx update problem - that Vizio comes through with a fix.

I didn't know until now that there is a Vizio 1.60 Defective Firmware Thread. I'm curious to read that, myself.

Thanks to ya all! This thread/Forum has been a nice help. I'll probably run into some of you that were/are here in this thread.



Bye!




.

- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Soon to be installed. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer. ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague), My Philips 19PFL3403D TV is dead. My brother: Has the Android-driven Sony 75X850C TV & now has ownership of the 2013 M401i-A3.
CleCakYngMfd is online now  
post #10353 of 10487 Old 03-05-2015, 11:59 PM
Member
 
EyElouPeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Did anyone ever post a positive aspect of the 1.60 update or was it all bad for all models that got it?
I've only read about the added menu changes in 1.34 (I don't have with 1.25)
EyElouPeS is offline  
post #10354 of 10487 Old 03-06-2015, 04:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by EyElouPeS View Post

Did anyone ever post a positive aspect of the 1.60 update
or was it all bad for all models that got it?



Did you read the Vizio 1.60 Defective Firmware Thread? I believe that info is in there. I did a quick read of it and some 'later' versions of a board worked ok and the earlier ones appear to require a board change.

There appears to be no way to go 'back' with an earlier firmware. It either works, or 'breaks' the TV.

Don't quote me on this - read the thread to be sure.



.

mhobart likes this.

- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Soon to be installed. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer. ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague), My Philips 19PFL3403D TV is dead. My brother: Has the Android-driven Sony 75X850C TV & now has ownership of the 2013 M401i-A3.
CleCakYngMfd is online now  
post #10355 of 10487 Old 03-06-2015, 06:21 AM
Senior Member
 
waylo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by EyElouPeS View Post
Did anyone ever post a positive aspect of the 1.60 update or was it all bad for all models that got it?
I've only read about the added menu changes in 1.34 (I don't have with 1.25)
It's adds the option to change the gamma on the TV. That's a nice positive, but it's instantly outweighed by the fact that smart dimming is now broken.
GusGus748s likes this.
waylo88 is offline  
post #10356 of 10487 Old 03-06-2015, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 636
I wouldn't recommend to update to 1.60. My M60 was replaced twice after that, and then replaced by a P60 because Vizio wasn't sure what was going on. So, I would stay away from updating until the issues are fixed. Vizio finally send me a refund two days ago. I am hoping it gets here today or tomorrow.
GusGus748s is offline  
post #10357 of 10487 Old 03-06-2015, 05:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Not worth calling Vizio if the warranty is up. I am done with this brand. My M701d-A3r developed a dark right half of the screen at 15 months. They informed me it is un-repairable. I figure this tv has cost me $170 a month for 15 months and now it can't be fixed? I have no problem getting burned by a warranty and having to pay for a repair, but to throw the unit away? I'm done with them. Good luck with yours!
Margaritian is offline  
post #10358 of 10487 Old 03-06-2015, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Sams and Costco give you an extra year warranty so if purchased at one of those retailers you're still covered. MANY credit cards also give you extended warranty on major purchases. Make sure you check all your options.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Margaritian View Post
Not worth calling Vizio if the warranty is up. I am done with this brand. My M701d-A3r developed a dark right half of the screen at 15 months. They informed me it is un-repairable. I figure this tv has cost me $170 a month for 15 months and now it can't be fixed? I have no problem getting burned by a warranty and having to pay for a repair, but to throw the unit away? I'm done with them. Good luck with yours!
rakstr is online now  
post #10359 of 10487 Old 03-11-2015, 12:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Why Am I STILL having to go into settings and toggle smart dimming!!! F'ing POS Vizio ... Really??????
waylo88 and netkrazed like this.
falconman515 is offline  
post #10360 of 10487 Old 03-13-2015, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Supposed to be a new firmware rolling out
laserjock II is offline  
post #10361 of 10487 Old 03-15-2015, 05:19 PM
Member
 
enigma7820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Where did you hear a new firware is rolling out
enigma7820 is offline  
post #10362 of 10487 Old 03-15-2015, 07:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma7820 View Post
Where did you hear a new firware is rolling out
Tech support email and the 1.60 firmware complaint thread.
laserjock II is offline  
post #10363 of 10487 Old 03-15-2015, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma7820 View Post
Where did you hear a new firware is rolling out
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lcd-flat-panel-displays/1864985-vizio-1-60-defective-firmware-update-victims-post-here.html
laserjock II is offline  
post #10364 of 10487 Old 03-18-2015, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
ivorygate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, what is the point of the Yahoo Screen app on my Vizio M401i-A3 if I can't watch the new season of Community through it? Why can't anything ever just work.
ivorygate is offline  
post #10365 of 10487 Old 03-18-2015, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 61
And I was on the phone with Costco Concierge and Vizio yesterday as a follow up to the call I had a couple weeks ago where they promised to contact engineering to ask
  1. Are there in fact only some boards the 1.60 physically damaged
  2. Is there a firmware update being prepared to fix this (assuming the board isn't damaged)

The responses were
  1. We don't know
  2. No

Having been through this before on other Vizio sets, all that means is, well, nothing.

I'm going to wait a few more weeks and if there are confirmed reports of new firmware on the M-Series, If not, I'll have the board(s) replaced so I have enough time left under warranty to get a new set should that not fix things.

BTW - there is a report in the referenced thread to an update to the E-Series but only one and not on the 2013 M-Series.

Fortunately I got my 65 off the net before it got the update. The others al happened over a couple evenings

Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
Tech support email and the 1.60 firmware complaint thread.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	004.jpg
Views:	263
Size:	149.2 KB
ID:	611649   Click image for larger version

Name:	005.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	171.7 KB
ID:	611657   Click image for larger version

Name:	006.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	174.7 KB
ID:	611665   Click image for larger version

Name:	007.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	174.2 KB
ID:	611673  

Last edited by rakstr; 03-18-2015 at 06:59 PM.
rakstr is online now  
post #10366 of 10487 Old 03-23-2015, 01:15 PM
Member
 
enigma7820's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Called vizio again today about m551d they don't have anymore so they offered me a non 3d model i said thats not fair so im getting a full refund
enigma7820 is offline  
post #10367 of 10487 Old 03-27-2015, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
lotohnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma7820 View Post
Called vizio again today about m551d they don't have anymore so they offered me a non 3d model i said thats not fair so im getting a full refund
So you're basically getting the TV for free after a couple years use? That's not a bad deal, even with the messed up firmware.

Another symptom I started having after the last update is my remote is draining the batteries. I'm having to replace the batteries weekly with hardly any use. Fortunately I'm using rechargeables, but it shouldn't be like that. And it wasn't until this latest update.
lotohnz is offline  
post #10368 of 10487 Old 03-29-2015, 12:30 PM
Member
 
HITNRUNXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Issues, Customer Support, and a Refund

(Disclaimer: I have lost my terminology knowledge, so please forgive me if I use the wrong terms, or fail to properly identify issues with a common term.)

So I purchased my M65 almost two years ago. I loved it.

I loved it all the way up until a couple months ago, when it suddenly started having issues.

First, I noticed some vertical lines appear. They were very hard to notice during regular watching, but they stood out when the picture was panning side to side. Then they got worse, and were noticeable whenever there was a large patch of solid color on the screen. A solid white screen. A person's face. A football field. Then I started noticing similar horizontal lines forming.

Next, bright colors seemed to create a bit of a halo around them. If there was, say, a bright white 6" sphere in the middle of a black screen, the screen seemed to dimly light up in about a 15" sphere. The middle 6" would have kind of a sharp line where it ended, but then it would look cloudy around that sphere. Imagine looking at the moon on a clear night versus looking at the moon through a thin cloud.

About the same time as this, there seemed to be little beams of light shining on the screen every foot or so around the bezel.

Lastly, the shadows started to kind of... echo? So there would be a shadow across something and then a few inches away from it, there would be a fainter exact duplicate of that shadow.

All of these issues started within about a two week period, and seemed to get worse every day.

So I called Costco. They had issues finding my purchase. Somehow, even though I bought it under my membership, and it showed up for me under my membership, it was not linked to my membership in their system. So it took a while for them to track it down by order number and get it linked to my account. I purchased it 20 months ago, and Costco (for those that don't know) doubles the manufacturers warranty to two years. So I was just under the wire. Then she had me go through the "Scripted stuff we have to make you do before we can escalate it to Vizio." This included a variety of settings and input tests, along with eventually resetting everything to factory default. Then she escalated me to Vizio.

Vizio verified some settings, and then had me photograph the issue and upload the photos to him. He said it looked like the panel was failing. This started a series of good news/bad news events.

Good News: I'm covered by warranty.
Bad News: They can't fix it.

Good News: They can replace my 2013 model with the 2014 model.
Bad News: I would lose the 3D ability that I paid extra for.

Good News: I wouldn't be without a TV, as the would deliver and set up the new one before taking away the old one.
Bad News: The "new" one would actually be refurbished and I would only get the rest of my existing warranty on it (about 3.5 months).

I wasn't wild about losing the 3D, as I did pay more for it, and it would just be wasted money at this point. I also wasn't wild about the fact that my TV lasted less than 2 years, and I would be exchanging it for something with less than 4 months warranty left.

Good News: They will give me a full refund.
Bad News: They can't cut the check for the refund until my TV has been picked up and taken back to their warehouse, and the serial number verified. This is a 2-week process. Then add me getting the check, ordering a replacement, and waiting for the replacement to arrive, we are looking at about 3 weeks without a TV.

Good News: They know this process is antiquated, and are working to improve it in the near future.
Bad News: Not near enough in the future to help me out any.

He recommended a P-Series, as it is supposed to be highly sought after by gamers, as it supposedly has some of the best latency on the market.

Good News: The refund would cover an upgrade to the P-Series TV.
Bad News: They couldn't just do that in the background themselves and ship me a P-Series... I have to wait on the check, and then order a P-Series.

He did actually try to argue for that with his supervisor, but was turned down.

Good News: I would be getting 4K!
Bad News: Still losing 3D.

I decided that while we liked the 3D option, and owned several 3D movies, we didn't use it that often anymore, so this was a fair trade-off. The 4K resolution should be a little more "future proof" than the 3D, which is still kind of a "gimmick."

The shipping company took over a week to pick up my TV. Now it has been another week. I am looking at probably 3-5 more business days before a check, and then probably another week to get a new TV delivered. I am going through withdrawals after week 1.

So in traditional Vizio Good News/Bad News:
Good News: Costco and Vizio were both very easy to work with, and while I am doing without a TV for 2-4 weeks, I will be getting a brand new one, with another 2 years of warranty... So for my original cost, I will be at least 4 years of TV coverage. I would be happy to continue business with them.
Bad News: I hope a 20-month lifespan isn't the norm on Vizio TVs. I really expect to get more like 5-years out of a $2K purchase.
HITNRUNXX is offline  
post #10369 of 10487 Old 03-29-2015, 01:45 PM
Member
 
HITNRUNXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HITNRUNXX View Post
Good News: They will give me a full refund.
Bad News: They can't cut the check for the refund until my TV has been picked up and taken back to their warehouse, and the serial number verified. This is a 2-week process. Then add me getting the check, ordering a replacement, and waiting for the replacement to arrive, we are looking at about 3 weeks without a TV.
Well, I just called Vizio for an update (They have been terrible about communicating... As in, I have not gotten a SINGLE update from them on anything). They said they don't know why he told me it was a 2-week total process, because the process is "about 26 business days."

This means instead of getting my refund sometime this week (the process started on March 18th, and this was the start of the 2-weeks, according to the Vizio person I spoke with) it looks like it might be as much as another MONTH from now... Or 6 weeks total.

This is really frustrating.
HITNRUNXX is offline  
post #10370 of 10487 Old 03-29-2015, 02:00 PM
Member
 
tvforavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the f/w v1.60 will be rolled to 2014 TV models and what's in it besides the fix?

Thanks
tvforavs is offline  
post #10371 of 10487 Old 03-29-2015, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
waylo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvforavs View Post
Does anyone know if the f/w v1.60 will be rolled to 2014 TV models and what's in it besides the fix?

Thanks
I'd imagine it's being rolled out to both 2013 and 2014 models considering, from what I've seen, they're both affected by the smart dimming bug.

As for whats all in the new firmware, I've got no clue.
waylo88 is offline  
post #10372 of 10487 Old 04-01-2015, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Is it 'safe' to buy a new 2014 M series set? Is it possible a new set would come with the defective firm ware?


There are some pretty good prices right now on the 2014 models. Otherwise I'm considering a 2015 E series.


Thanks.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #10373 of 10487 Old 04-01-2015, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
waylo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I highly doubt any currently manufactured sets that are on store shelves or in warehouses have the buggy 1.60 firmware installed. They're likely all 1.34.
waylo88 is offline  
post #10374 of 10487 Old 04-03-2015, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
HaydAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Please post your current model and calibration settings. I have the m401i-a3 running 1.60.10-004.0080. I am sure any of the 1.60 software version could input as I believe that is what most of us have at the moment.
HaydAddict is offline  
post #10375 of 10487 Old 04-04-2015, 07:01 PM
Member
 
andy A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Our M401i-A3 updated last night V1.60.10-018.0080
andy A is offline  
post #10376 of 10487 Old 04-10-2015, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
CleCakYngMfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 48
V1.60.10-018.0080 for the M401i-A3? Well, I called my brother to quickly bring back the boxed TV from his place, so I can "WoW" 'calibrate' it and leave it linked to the InterNet in the hopes I get this latest firmware.

I was working on the M401 this week and my oh my. I did not realize how overly 'Warm' the Color Temps are with firmware 1.34xx. The 'Normal' Temp looks like a pretty good Light Sepia Mode.

First thing, before I did the settings with the WoW disc, was to set the GrayScale by eye, but not using the 'Normal' Color Temp. I used 'Cool' and stepped through the 11-Point White Balance Settings, using the White Ramp Test Pattern as my guide.

One thing about the 11-Point White Balance Settings with the M401 and my new P502ui-B1E. In adjusting each bar, some of the Red or Green or Blue Gain Settings can affect one or several bars away from the target bar that's being adjusted.

After I finally got all 11 GrayScale Bars looking gray as close as I can by eye, I must say this is the best this M401 has ever looked, and indeed - I do favor the images from the IPS Panel vs the P50's VA Panel. I'm not sure what or if anything is 'wrong' with the P50's GrayScale (firmware?), but it does not match the WoW's disc Gamma chart.


Apr 7/8/9, 2015 - M401i-A3 WoW Disc Calibration (Firmware 1.34.44.0080)


I chose the Vivid Picture Mode (A Cool Temperature Setting), then
Saved it to a new name. You may start out and Name a new Custom
Setting from one of the factory Presets (such as Calibrated Dark or
Vivid - which uses the 'Cool' Temperature Setting), then change the
Color Temperature to Cool. This will be closer to what 'Normal' would be.

Now, here's the other settings:

I set Auto-Brightness to OFF and Adjusted the BackLight to 100.
This gives me a certain brightness level adjustment range using the
Auto-Brightness at Low, Medium, High, or OFF.

You may wish to use a lower BackLight setting, but for very bright room
lighting, you'll probably want to set the BackLight to 100.

I set Sharpness to 0, Black Detail to Low, Dimming ON (ON or OFF during use).


ADVANCED PICTURE Settings:
Code:

         Black Detail: Low 
        Smart Dimming: On 

  Reduce Signal Noise: Off - 
                            | (Leave these off, especially 'Block' for best facial detail.) 
   Reduce Block Noise: Off - 

            Film Mode: Auto 

       Picture Size: (For maximum, undistorted HD resolution, do not adjust this default setting.) 


My 11-Point White Balance Modified Settings:

I first played Disney's Blu-Ray, WoW Disc to set Brightness, Contrast, and Color.

Results:

Code:

Brightness: 47 
  Contrast: 50 (52 and higher, over-drives bright whites - with some distorting colors and clipping.) 
     Color: 42 


The following is for 1.34xx Firmware only (assuming 1.60xx is 'Color Temperature' fixed)...

I made a little OffSet and Gain Adjustment:


Code:


        Red    Green   Blue 
OffSet:  5       0      -5 

  Gain:  5       0      -5 


(Note: I'll be trying the 11-Point WBS again soon, with the OffSets and Gains set back to zero.)


To show the Ramp Test Pattern:

1. From the Color Tuner menu, use the Arrow buttons to
highlight Color Tuner, and then press the Left/Right Arrow
buttons until the Ramp Test Pattern menu is displayed.

2. Use the Arrow buttons on the remote to highlight
the 'White' color for the Ramp Test Pattern.


The 11-Point White Balance Modified
Settings for Firmware 1.34.xx:


3. Use the Up Arrow button to highlight Ramp Test Pattern, and
then press the Left/Right Arrow buttons until the 11 Point
White Balance menu is displayed.

Press the Down Arrow Button.

4. Use the Left/Right Arrow Buttons on the remote to highlight a Color
Value you wish to adjust. Now, press the OK button and use the Left/Right
Arrow buttons to adjust the value.

5. When you are finished scanning to a value you like, press the OK
button to save that value.

6. Use the Left/Right Arrow Buttons on the remote to highlight the Gain
Percentage value. Press the OK button and use the Left/Right
Arrow Buttons to go to the next Gain Percentage value. Press the OK
button...

Now repeat step 4, 5, and 6 until all values are adjusted to your liking -
which your last adjustment ends with Step 5 and then press the BACK Button
one or more times as needed or use the EXIT button.


Code:


%Gain     Red     Green    Blue 
   5       0        0        0 
  10      -15       0       20 
  20      -15       0       30 
  30      - 9       0       28 
  40      -10       3       30 
  50        0       5        0 
  60        0     - 2      -15 
  70      - 4     -10       15 
  80        0       0        0 
  90       50     -50       50 
 100       50     -50       50 

Try the above to see if you can get close to Gray across all 11 Ramp Test Bars. Your numbers may be similar or quite different from above to get each bar looking a reasonable gray from white down to black.

Using the Disney Blu-Ray WoW Disc, I set/confirmed Brightness, Contrast, Color, and Tint:

My Results:

Code:


 Brightness: 47 (If Re-adjusting for content, remember to set this calibrated setting back.) 
   Contrast: 50 (Suggested to not Re-adjust at any time after a calibrated number is found.) 
      Color: 42 (
Code:
If Re-adjusting for content, remember to set this calibrated setting back.) 
       Tint:  0 (Adjust By Content, if needed. Usually a small range: -3 to +3) 

Mostly, the above is 'set it and forget it'.  
 


If you are never going to calibrate with tools, other than a Test Pattern DVD or Blu-Ray Disc, you can do
this by eye.

Again, you can try the above setup to have a better GrayScale than what firmware 1.34xx has now.

After doing the above or similar, and you do not like what you see, you can always go back to the default settings. No harm done.

.

This pic is taken with a 'cheap' cellphone - it's pretty close to what is actually looks like by eye:





.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ramp Bar Test Pattern - Eye-Adjusted M401i-A3_50pc.jpg
Views:	801
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	659377  

- Pj

The CalMAN Tutorial Kit - Soon to be installed. I own a Vizio P-Series - 2014 P502ui-B1E (50") TV with Firmware: 1.2.23-UHD. Win7Pro & FireFox 39.0.0, Desktop Computer. ClearStream-4 Antenna, a dying DTX9950 Converter Box (See www.BadCaps.Net and Capacitor Plague), My Philips 19PFL3403D TV is dead. My brother: Has the Android-driven Sony 75X850C TV & now has ownership of the 2013 M401i-A3.
CleCakYngMfd is online now  
post #10377 of 10487 Old 04-15-2015, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
HaydAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What I did is went in to menu>system>system information>perform service check. Then I left it on for a few hours, turned it off for a few hours, and it updated on bootup.
HaydAddict is offline  
post #10378 of 10487 Old 04-15-2015, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 61
What model TV and what firmware
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaydAddict View Post
What I did is went in to menu>system>system information>perform service check. Then I left it on for a few hours, turned it off for a few hours, and it updated on bootup.
rakstr is online now  
post #10379 of 10487 Old 04-15-2015, 06:48 AM
Newbie
 
HaydAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakstr View Post
What model TV and what firmware
M401i-A3 on 1.34.44.0080
HaydAddict is offline  
post #10380 of 10487 Old 04-15-2015, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 61
1.34 is the "previous" version.

The current update going out for this set is shown in the attachment

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaydAddict View Post
M401i-A3 on 1.34.44.0080
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1029.JPG
Views:	109
Size:	123.3 KB
ID:	667834  
rakstr is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
sony dhg-hdd250 , Vizio 32 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio 55 Inch Class Theater 3d Edge Lit Razor Led Lcd Hdtv M3d550sl , vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv , Vizio M471i A2 47 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M551d A2r 55 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M601d A3r 60 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M651d A2r 65 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M701d A3r 70 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M801d A3 80 Inch 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off