Official Vizio M-Series Razor Mxx1i thread - Page 355 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 264Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10621 of 10635 Old 11-08-2016, 12:25 PM
Member
 
morpheus647's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just got a firmware update for the first time in forever. M601d-A3R, just updated to firmware version 2.0.6a.0090. Anyone have any ideas what is in this firmware? I couldn't find anything on the Vizio site.
morpheus647 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10622 of 10635 Old 11-08-2016, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by morpheus647 View Post
I just got a firmware update for the first time in forever. M601d-A3R, just updated to firmware version 2.0.6a.0090. Anyone have any ideas what is in this firmware? I couldn't find anything on the Vizio site.
Call Vizio and ask them, then post what they tell you on here.

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
post #10623 of 10635 Old 11-11-2016, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Globespy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by morpheus647 View Post
I just got a firmware update for the first time in forever. M601d-A3R, just updated to firmware version 2.0.6a.0090. Anyone have any ideas what is in this firmware? I couldn't find anything on the Vizio site.
Got the same update on my M701d-a3. Looks the same as before, cave tell anything changed?
Anyone know what it's about?
Globespy is offline  
 
post #10624 of 10635 Old 11-15-2016, 12:19 PM
Member
 
tvforavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
M321i-A2 - V2.0.6a.0888_123

Just got this update on my M321i-A2 - V2.0.6a.0888_123

Asked Vizio support and got this...

Code:
That update primary goal was for some system improvements but they didn't specify exactly what in the system that was. It also did some changes to the Yahoo Platform for future Yahoo apps. Again, they did not specify what apps those would affect.
tvforavs is offline  
post #10625 of 10635 Old 11-15-2016, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
dvdchance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carteret, Middlesex County, NJ
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvforavs View Post
Just got this update on my M321i-A2 - V2.0.6a.0888_123

Asked Vizio support and got this...

Code:
That update primary goal was for some system improvements but they didn't specify exactly what in the system that was. It also did some changes to the Yahoo Platform for future Yahoo apps. Again, they did not specify what apps those would affect.
I thought Yahoo was discontinuing support for their TV platform?
dvdchance is offline  
post #10626 of 10635 Old 11-15-2016, 09:30 PM
Member
 
tvforavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdchance View Post
I thought Yahoo was discontinuing support for their TV platform?
Don't know what your sources are but I doubt it considering the change Vizio did and maybe Verizon wants to keep it?
tvforavs is offline  
post #10627 of 10635 Old 12-14-2016, 06:51 AM
Member
 
DarthDoxie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylo88 View Post
The ol' "we're working on a fix" line. I remember hearing that back when they put out a firmware that busted Smart Dimming. It took them easily 5-6 months to get a new firmware out to fix it, and that was for a relatively huge issue.

Their TV's are great, but man, Vizios firmwares are utter trash. It's also idiotic that you can't manually revert.
This is why I'll never buy another Vizio product, I went through the busted Smart Dimming debacle and waiting 6 months for a FW fix. Browsing through the P-series thread I see similar issues with FW. I'm just waiting on OLED technology to mature a little and Sony's entrance into OLED looks promising as well.

Denon 1613 -- BIC America F12 Sub -- SVS Prime LCR

I find your lack of schadenfreude disturbing.
DarthDoxie is offline  
post #10628 of 10635 Old 12-14-2016, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
dvdchance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carteret, Middlesex County, NJ
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthDoxie View Post
This is why I'll never buy another Vizio product, I went through the busted Smart Dimming debacle and waiting 6 months for a FW fix. Browsing through the P-series thread I see similar issues with FW. I'm just waiting on OLED technology to mature a little and Sony's entrance into OLED looks promising as well.
The problem Vizio is having now, IMHO, is their big advantage in prior years was they offered the best quality to value in the market. I don't think thats the case anymore. Look at the street prices for the latest Samsung KS8000 series for instance. Thats what I chose and I must say its a fantastic total package. Looks, picture refinement. Build quality may or may not wind up being an issue with these sets, time will tell but isn't that the case with any brand these days?

Especially with the latest 2016 models, I think they made a big misread with regards to having all of their smart apps be tablet based. I know I for one don't want to be tethered to looking on a 7inch screen to choose content for a 65inch TV. Just seems like a silly idea to me. Also removing the internal tuner seems foolish as well. Then trying to promote it as a feature. I saw an aside that they have lost a little market share this year so my opinion must be shared by others.

I still have 3 Vizios in use at my house so I will always consider them going forward, but they need to refocus on what made them successful. Quality to value.
dvdchance is offline  
post #10629 of 10635 Old 12-17-2016, 05:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Random stuttering/lag on m601d-ar3

I've had my m601d-ar3 for 3+ years now, and lately I'm noticing a new issue (I've already reset the tv).

I'm certain of the exact word to use, but the best I can thing of is stuttering/lag/decreased FPS seemingly at random.

It is occurs with various devices (Apple TV, DirectTV box), with different HDMI cables/inputs. It does not seem to happen consistently between TV channels, or Apple TV apps.

For example at times it could play as normal on Comedy Central, the next I'll have the issue. Or perhaps I'll watch Mad Men on Netflix with no issues, then I'll watch the Crown and the issue will appear (Oddly enough it ALWAYS happens with The Crown...not sure what that means).

Has anyone else experienced this issue? I searched the thread for "stutter" but nothing seemed to quite match up.

Thanks!
cumberlandgap is offline  
post #10630 of 10635 Old 12-22-2016, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Diode1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Another new firmware update

Today they just push my M551d-A2R firmware
V2.0.13.0888_125
Still don't know what may have been added or changed
Diode1 is offline  
post #10631 of 10635 Old 12-23-2016, 09:34 AM
Member
 
DoctorVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cumberlandgap View Post
I've had my m601d-ar3 for 3+ years now, and lately I'm noticing a new issue (I've already reset the tv).

I'm certain of the exact word to use, but the best I can thing of is stuttering/lag/decreased FPS seemingly at random.

It is occurs with various devices (Apple TV, DirectTV box), with different HDMI cables/inputs. It does not seem to happen consistently between TV channels, or Apple TV apps.

For example at times it could play as normal on Comedy Central, the next I'll have the issue. Or perhaps I'll watch Mad Men on Netflix with no issues, then I'll watch the Crown and the issue will appear (Oddly enough it ALWAYS happens with The Crown...not sure what that means).

Has anyone else experienced this issue? I searched the thread for "stutter" but nothing seemed to quite match up.

Thanks!
I have experienced something like what you describe on my m60. However, I have only seen it on a few Hallmark Channel movies. Absolutely no issues with DVDs, Blu-Rays or streamed content. I attribute the problem to DirecTV.
DoctorVideo is offline  
post #10632 of 10635 Old 12-23-2016, 09:35 AM
Member
 
DoctorVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode1 View Post
Today they just push my M551d-A2R firmware
V2.0.13.0888_125
Still don't know what may have been added or changed
I got it too. Haven't noticed anything different.
DoctorVideo is offline  
post #10633 of 10635 Old 12-30-2016, 09:59 PM
Member
 
tvforavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
M321i-A2 - V2.0.13.0888_123

I noticed that my TV firmware was updated. Chatted with the support and I got this information.

Code:
The update added some system improvements but did not say what those were but did state the update also was applied to update the VIA dock for potential future updated apps that was needed.
Maybe the TV gonna get some revised and/or new VIA apps in the near future

I now suspect that Vizio maybe moving to another platform if Yahoo Store is going away?

Last edited by tvforavs; 12-30-2016 at 10:08 PM.
tvforavs is offline  
post #10634 of 10635 Old 12-30-2016, 10:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 119
SOMEBODY CALL VIZIO and ask what the updated firmware did! I can't.

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
post #10635 of 10635 Old 12-30-2016, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
waylo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 61
All this time, all these updates, and stretching 4:3 content is still broken.
waylo88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
sony dhg-hdd250 , Vizio 32 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio 55 Inch Class Theater 3d Edge Lit Razor Led Lcd Hdtv M3d550sl , vizio m401i-a3 40" hdtv , Vizio M471i A2 47 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M551d A2r 55 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M601d A3r 60 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M651d A2r 65 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M701d A3r 70 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Vizio M801d A3 80 Inch 3d Led Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off