WTF is going on with my sound/LG tv!?!? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-18-2013, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svt2nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where to start, lol. Ok, I have a lg32lb75 tv that i had hooked up to an xbox and two different cable type boxes - both by hdmi. i then had audio out with red/white component (i think it's called) cable to a cheap old panasonic home theatre in a box. as far as i remember, i had to turn down the volume on the tv and just had it coming out of the panasonic system, but i'm not 100% sure that the sound worked out of the tv speakers. so i have the tv working fine, sound coming out of the home theatre in a box type thing. as of the other day i got a panasonic viera tv, so i unplugged the LG tv and replaced it with the panasonic, everything works fine. fast forward a week and i've decided to go ahead and setup my lg32lb75 in my bedroom but no matter what i use i can't get sound out of the TV, just picture. I've plugged in my blackberry playbook to the tv, picture no sound. same with the a dvd player i tried hooked up via component. i even went as far as carrying it to another room and unhook our optical tv box in that room that i know is working and hooked it up to the tv both with coax and then with component, both gave picture and no sound. so that's a few differen't sources and i'm not getting sound on any of them. i've tried all sorts of different hdmi ports and component ports, turned the tv on and off, checked settings to make sure the speakers were turned on, made sure it's not muted, made sure the tv is turned up, went through all the audio settings and nothing. What is going on here? I guess my next step is to put the LG tv back in the new tv's place and hook it up to see if i was able to get sound out of the tv before and not just the home theatre system. if that's the case

TLDR version (too long didn't read): tv worked with home theatre in a box for sound hooked up with various methods (cable boxes/dvd player/xbox/tablet connected). tv on it's own hooked up with various devices without the home theatre in the box is giving me no sound. Why?
svt2nv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-18-2013, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svt2nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright, I just hooked up the tv over it's previous years of use and i'm actually not getting sound out of the TV speakers, just out of the panasonic home theatre system. So for whatever reason i need separate speakers and I assume an amp as well? I wish I had speakers to test without and amp but i'm going to assume it needs the amp. I have no idea why it's like this but if it's not fixable (yes i have tv speakers turned on) then what is the cheapest route i can go? something like the following( is there a built in amp/power source)?

http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/van/ele/3527747511.html
svt2nv is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-18-2013, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
GaryWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
A soundbar is definitely an option, and it will sound A LOT better than your TV speakers anyways. I can't think of anything that would blow or otherwise cause the TV Speakers to break.

The soundbar would sound better anyways even if you can get it to work.
GaryWA is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-18-2013, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svt2nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It just adds so much more hassle and mess to what i wanted to be a super minimal/simple bedroom wall mount. not only that but all the soundbars i've seen around usually about 2-3 inches wider than the tv itself, which looks a bit weird IMO. It's been so long since I had set up my old setup that I had just thought my tv's volume was turned down. weird. if a home theatre in a box works via red/white component then i'd assume a soundbar will work as well, since they're self powered?
svt2nv is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-20-2013, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svt2nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
will this work? i assume if it needs to be connected to a power outlet than it's got an internal amp?

http://plug-in.bestbuy.ca/t5/Visit-the-Plug-in-Blog/Review-Insignia-Speaker-Bar-NS-SB212-Enhance-your-TV/ba-p/46010
svt2nv is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-21-2013, 12:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
svt2nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump?
svt2nv is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-21-2013, 03:04 AM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Have you turned off the tv speakers in the menu, under audio, tv speakers ?
ausdavep is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off