Vizio E601i-a3 Repair - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 101 Old 06-18-2015, 08:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Mission: Save Vizio E601i-A3E

Please help me keep this expensive device out of the landfill...6 mo. out of warranty...panel thought to be OK.

Symptoms prior to failure:
1. The picture kept flashing to black screen and then right back to normal. It would do this intermittently.

2. After replacing cables, trying various input combinations, etc., it seemed to be operating correctly. All of a sudden while playing, it made a loud sound sort of like 4th of July sparklers on steroids. It also "popped" somewhere in this process. The TV was immediately turned off, and then there was no power anywhere. No indicator lights, nothing.

Attempts to restore to date:

1. I opened the set and inspected the IPS. No bulging caps, no suspicious looking tracks or damage on the board. I then moved to the Main board. Nothing visible. All connections looked good, but I disconnected and carefully reseated them to be sure. Did the same for the T-Con board. Same result. Since there was no power anywhere, I decided to get a replacement IPS. I tested it and the readings were the same as the old board.

After I installed the new IPS, I noticed the Back Light LED's blinked on and off about the same as the picture did prior to the shut-down. This suggests to me that this issue is not signal related, but a problem with the LED control. Below are the readings taken on the power distribution strip on the IPS. The only thing that seems abnormal is the 12V to The T-Con. (it never displayed voltage present on terms. 14 & 15 with either IPS)

Term: #: Voltage Reading Description on TB Notes
1 3.3VDC 3.3V All readings taken with cables to Main Bd.
2 3.43VDC AC-Det and T-Con Bd. connected.
3 3.26VDC PS-On
4 12.2VDC Au-12V
5 Grd. Grd.
6 Grd. Grd.
7 Grd. Grd.
8 12.2VDC 12V Reg
9 12.2VDC 12V Reg
10 1.76VDC BL-Err 3.32VDC when off.
11 .006VDC LED-On 3.00VDC when on.
12 2.63VDC LED-Br 2.75VDC when on.
13 .037VDC NC
14 .015VDC 12V T-Con
15 .003VDC T-Con-On

2. While the picture flashed off and on, the sound remained constant until the "melt-down" when it went away with everything else. I shouldn't say melt-down, b/c there was no smoke, no smell of charred components, etc. nor any other indication of a significant energy release.

3. Another clue...The on/off button on the TV did not work, when pressed into service for testing. I carefully checked to see that the ribbon cable was correctly connected on the Main board.

4. All the P/N's, tags, and other forms of ID matched for the replacement IPS. My main board has a P/N that doesn't appear on ShopJimmy's Site, but maybe the listed replacement is the right one. I contacted them for assistance in ordering the correct parts for my needs, and I got an explanation for why they couldn't help me that was more involved than if they just told me what I needed. Not the right answer to someone who is trying to buy your parts.
So, I'm here hoping someone will share their knowledge and make my day. (Wife seriously looking for a hero here!)

Thanks so much to anyone willing to help.
'olWC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 101 Old 06-18-2015, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Correction

The previous post did not honor the column spacing for the IPS voltage readings. View the results as 4 separate columns and it will make more sense.
Thanks.
'olWC is offline  
post #93 of 101 Old 06-18-2015, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
indept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deptford,Nj.
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 82
You do know that these tv's had a video chip issue and Vizio extended the warranty for them. Try calling Vizio and see if yours is still covered.
indept is offline  
post #94 of 101 Old 06-18-2015, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Indept...I think mine may be too new to qualify (Jan 2014) but it is certainly worth a try. I will post the result. Thanks for your help.
'olWC is offline  
post #95 of 101 Old 06-22-2015, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys just curious is that fuse serviceable on that power board? I ask because my VIZIO E601I-A3 will not turn on anymore after a strong thunderstorm. I had it plugged into a surge protector and turned off while the storm was going but I guess that did no good. Im hoping the lightning only popped that fuse on the lower left of the power board.

Thanks,
1QWK96GT is offline  
post #96 of 101 Old 06-28-2015, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Vizio e601i-a3 tv: Was watching Netflix app, Lightening struck near house but not even super close. Was plugged into a power strip. Picture went black, still has sound. Unpluged tv 15 mins & hold the power button & then plug in & power on with button on tv I have a picture, only for 20-30 mins.I have to repeat to get picture again. Internet, all inputs, all apps, & speakers work. Picture perfect when on. Does not make any weird sounds when picture stops displaying.
RaechelR is offline  
post #97 of 101 Old 06-28-2015, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Also *if* it is the T-Con board can I put the universal RUNTK5261TPZG in it? All the websites say this is now the universal replacement for the E601i-A3 It doesn't need programming put on it right?
RaechelR is offline  
post #98 of 101 Old 08-30-2015, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
tjmethod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I have the same E601i-a3 new in November of last year (2014) and about 2 months ago after turning it on about 20-30 minutes later, it starts making a loud scratchy, fuzz sound then shuts down after a couple seconds, unlike your problem of the video going out with sound still remaining on. I am confused since I've read another forum where they say that same issue is the main board and yet another forum suggesting it is the power supply board. I did see your issue being a little different was T-con board. Without randomly replacing boards, from the symptom I've described, can you speculate what board it might be?
Thanks,
TJ
tjmethod is offline  
post #99 of 101 Old 09-06-2015, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
tjmethod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyguy108 View Post
The answer to the first question is no! You must lay the TV face down on either a bed or a flat surface with a smooth cloth under the screen to protect the screen from scratches. The whole stand must come off not just the base but also the post in order to remove the back. The answer to question two is a little complicated, since I ordered the replacement boards the price on the main board has increased! I paid just under $100 for the main board with a discount coupon from "retailmenot". I paid just under $50 for the controller board also with a discount coupon. The boards were purchased from "shopjimmy.com" who IMO is the best to do bussiness with. The boards also come with a 180 day free replacement warranty so you know they have been inspected and tested before they send it out. So far they have treated me better than Vizio I have to say. Do you own the E601i-a3 TV?
I spoke to a shopjimmy agent thinking the power board for this same tv that I recieved from them would be new or refurbished, tested since the board arrived with the fuze removed. The agent told me they are used and are not tested.
tjmethod is offline  
post #100 of 101 Old 10-05-2015, 09:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need an opinion before I buy parts...

I know this thread is old but I thought I would attempt to wake it up and try to get an opinion anyways.

So far, by reading the thread it doesn't seem like anyone is having exactly the same problem I am.

There was no thunderstorm or any event that I can link this issue to but my TV will power off on its own at random times. Sometimes its within seconds of powering on, sometimes it will work for an hour or so. Everything is normal when it happens. It doesn't make any weird sounds, and there is nothing wrong with the picture. It just acts like some one shut it off. The TV was purchased in mid 2013 (not sure exactly when) so it is well past its warranty and I will attempt the repair myself when I figure out what to repair/replace

I'm not sure if I should replace the power supply board or the main board or both?

Any opinion will help, this is really frustrating.
Holt3130 is offline  
post #101 of 101 Old 12-05-2015, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help would be super appreciated.!!

I have this exact model, I had a vertical blue line always present coming from the top of the screen a couple inches long. I opened up the tv just the re-seat the connectors to the t-con board to make sure all of them were good. this all started when i was cleaning my TV and it was moving a little bit when i was wiping it, so i figured I may and loosened something in the process causing that blue line to appear. When I put it back together not only was the blue line still there but now my whole screen is full of vertical lines in all different colors and is now unwatchable (i should have just left it alone). I tried re-doing this process twice more to make sure all the connections were perfect, and it got worse again and then stayed the same on the last re-try. Think it is a bad TCON board? Why would it get worse when re-seating the connections to the board in the first place? Could the delicate ribbons and their connectors be faulty where they attach down on the bottom? I ordered a new board, but I'm skeptical because I don't think it would get worse from me messing with it just a little bit. Any input would be appreciated!!!!

-Joe
Jlnkeno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
visio tv repairs , Vizio E601i A3 60 Inch Led Lcd Hdtv , Vizio Vx32l Hdtv 32 Inch Widescreen Lcd Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off