Official Sony KDL-55W900A Owners Thread - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 4889 Old 01-23-2014, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Toggleswitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet! BB online wouldn't match frys since we don't have them down south (per their protocal). But I got my local store to. Thanks to everyone for getting the word out about the frys deal!
Toggleswitch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 4889 Old 01-23-2014, 07:11 PM
Member
 
l...h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Doh, all the BB stores here closed early because of weather! I called my Magnolia rep and he said take a screen shot and they should be able to match it for me and credit my acct tomorrow. We'll see.

"TV... is there anything it doesn't know?" - Homer Simpson
l...h is offline  
post #2973 of 4889 Old 01-23-2014, 08:39 PM
Member
 
Toggleswitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope it works my for ya man. Let us know how it goes. I'm replacing my sony kds-55a3000 that I have had for 6 years. Tired of buying bulbs and starting to have light engine issues. Hoping to be impressed.
Toggleswitch is offline  
post #2974 of 4889 Old 01-23-2014, 08:52 PM
Member
 
johnalexgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mule65 View Post

They should match it IF they have it. Tell them other BB and Amazon customers got the match.
I was price matched for the 1699 price they said because they already price matched me they cant price me againf or the 1599 lol at best buy is that even real thats so messed up so they said no what do i do
johnalexgarcia is offline  
post #2975 of 4889 Old 01-23-2014, 09:16 PM
Member
 
TechoGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toggleswitch View Post

Hope it works my for ya man. Let us know how it goes. I'm replacing my sony kds-55a3000 that I have had for 6 years. Tired of buying bulbs and starting to have light engine issues. Hoping to be impressed.

Yes, don't you hate those bulbs? I'm in the same situation coming from an 8 year old Grand Wega 50WE655 that I recently replaced the bulb in and it's getting dark already. I told myself I would not buy another Sony after my experience with the Wega but the positive reviews has me close to pulling the trigger on the W900 (and the recent sales). I also figure it will be a perfect match for my PS4 and PS3. The Vizio P series has also caught my eye but I would not want to miss this TV while waiting for more info on the Vizio.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using Tapatalk
TechoGeek is offline  
post #2976 of 4889 Old 01-23-2014, 09:26 PM
Senior Member
 
DRN94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 71
The P Series from Vizio actually appears to be VERY impressive. True 120hz input, 4K, low input lag, AND full array backlit? Sounds very promising! Also appears to be comparable to my two 23" true 120hz gaming monitors in terms of gaming performance. 43 dimming zones isn't very much though. Sounds like there will be blooming. But overall, very impressed by the premise of the Vizio P series.
DRN94 is offline  
post #2977 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 01:27 AM
Newbie
 
hmp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

It took me couple tries to price match with Frys from amazon. I'm so excited for this TV.

I haven't had a TV for about 4 years and finally decided to get this one.

Could you guys advise me on what are the things that I need to check/look for once the TV gets here?

I'm not an expert on TV so it is kind of confusing.

Also, did you guys buy the extended warranty?

 

Thanks!

hmp12 is offline  
post #2978 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 02:00 AM
Member
 
cahn2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got mine today. They only had one left at the closest best buy. Price matched Fry's 1599. Other than the old 60hz lcds, I have never seen a led/LCD with such low input lag. If you are a competitive gamer then this is what you want. I also have a panny s30 which is also very good but this feels even better. I got some clouding in lower left corner but only notice it on completely black scenes. Not sure if I should exchange
cahn2621 is offline  
post #2979 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 03:52 AM
Newbie
 
frankiek3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joysmahal View Post

The price is starting to fall!

Fry's has it for $1599
Amazon has it for $1789

Thanks, you saved me another $100. Amazon price matched again for me yesterday.
frankiek3 is offline  
post #2980 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 07:25 AM
Member
 
Toggleswitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cahn2621 View Post

Got mine today. They only had one left at the closest best buy. Price matched Fry's 1599. Other than the old 60hz lcds, I have never seen a led/LCD with such low input lag. If you are a competitive gamer then this is what you want. I also have a panny s30 which is also very good but this feels even better. I got some clouding in lower left corner but only notice it on completely black scenes. Not sure if I should exchange

I think I read a couple posts saying that it went away over time. I also would like a few tips on what issues to look for that might require an exchange within my 15 day window.
Toggleswitch is offline  
post #2981 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
mule65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankiek3 View Post

Thanks, you saved me another $100. Amazon price matched again for me yesterday.

Amazon matched the lowered price at Frys two times on the same purchase?

UPDATE: Just checked Frys.com and the sale price is GONE -- Listed at $2999 eek.gif
mule65 is offline  
post #2982 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 09:50 AM
Member
 
cahn2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I noticed most seem to use the Cinema Scene mode and then one of his corresponding picture modes (Cinema 1 or 2). Don't you guys think that is too dim? Does anyone use the General scene mode and then the vivid picture mode?
cahn2621 is offline  
post #2983 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 09:51 AM
Member
 
nixorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cahn2621 View Post

I noticed most seem to use the Cinema Scene mode and then one of his corresponding picture modes (Cinema 1 or 2). Don't you guys think that is too dim? Does anyone use the General scene mode and then the vivid picture mode?

turn off all eco modes. settings>preferences>eco

nixorz is offline  
post #2984 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 10:05 AM
Member
 
cahn2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixorz View Post

turn off all eco modes. settings>preferences>eco

That was the first thing I did. Although, at first I had trouble finding it and then realized you have to hit the "HOME" button on the remote to get to it. Still, Cinema scene mode does not get nearly as bright as the General scene mode with vivid picture mode.
cahn2621 is offline  
post #2985 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 10:10 AM
Member
 
nixorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cahn2621 View Post


That was the first thing I did. Although, at first I had trouble finding it and then realized you have to hit the "HOME" button on the remote to get to it. Still, Cinema scene mode does not get nearly as bright as the General scene mode with vivid picture mode.

try these settings from the link and the setting below

http://www.soundandvision.com/content/sony-kdl-55w900a-3d-lcd-hdtv-settings

 

Viewing mode: Cinema 1
Backlight 4
Contrast 90
Brightness: 50
Color: 50
Hue: 0
Color temperature Warm2
Sharpness 50
Noise reduction Off
Dot noise reduction Off
Reality Creation Off
Smooth gradation Low
Motionflow True Cinema
Film mode Auto
Black corrector Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer Off
Gamma -1
LED Dynamic Control Off
Auto Light Limiter Off
Clear White Off
Live Color Off
Detail Enhancer Off
Edge enhancer Off
R Gain -1
G Gain -5
B Gain 0
R Bias 0
G Bias -1
B Bias 0
Eco (light sensor) Off
nixorz is offline  
post #2986 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 10:17 AM
Member
 
cahn2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixorz View Post

try these settings from the link and the setting below
http://www.soundandvision.com/content/sony-kdl-55w900a-3d-lcd-hdtv-settings

Viewing mode: Cinema 1
Backlight 4
Contrast 90
Brightness: 50
Color: 50
Hue: 0
Color temperature Warm2
Sharpness 50
Noise reduction Off
Dot noise reduction Off
Reality Creation Off
Smooth gradation Low
Motionflow True Cinema
Film mode Auto
Black corrector Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer Off
Gamma -1
LED Dynamic Control Off
Auto Light Limiter Off
Clear White Off
Live Color Off
Detail Enhancer Off
Edge enhancer Off
R Gain -1
G Gain -5
B Gain 0
R Bias 0
G Bias -1
B Bias 0
Eco (light sensor) Off

I will give it a try after work, but have you even tried the General scene mode and then the vivid picture mode?
cahn2621 is offline  
post #2987 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 10:25 AM
Member
 
cahn2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it worth updating the firmware?
cahn2621 is offline  
post #2988 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 11:05 AM
Member
 
billmcdougal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nixorz View Post

try these settings from the link and the setting below
http://www.soundandvision.com/content/sony-kdl-55w900a-3d-lcd-hdtv-settings

Viewing mode: Cinema 1
Backlight 4
Contrast 90
Brightness: 50
Color: 50
Hue: 0
Color temperature Warm2
Sharpness 50
Noise reduction Off
Dot noise reduction Off
Reality Creation Off
Smooth gradation Low
Motionflow True Cinema
Film mode Auto
Black corrector Off
Adv. Contrast Enhancer Off
Gamma -1
LED Dynamic Control Off
Auto Light Limiter Off
Clear White Off
Live Color Off
Detail Enhancer Off
Edge enhancer Off
R Gain -1
G Gain -5
B Gain 0
R Bias 0
G Bias -1
B Bias 0
Eco (light sensor) Off

I've seen a lot of settings similar to this, but wouldn't such a low backlight setting, combined with -2 gamma result in a dim picture?
billmcdougal is offline  
post #2989 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kennedale, Tx
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by cahn2621 View Post

Is it worth updating the firmware?

Yes! I always try to make sure I have the latest firmware not only for my TV but also for my BR player and digital receiver

Sony 55W900A
Sony S5100 Blu-ray
Yamaha Aventage A1030
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-62 II
Klipsch RS-52 II
Klipsch RB-51 II (Front Preference)
SVS PB-2000
CaptinCrunch is offline  
post #2990 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by cahn2621 View Post

I will give it a try after work, but have you even tried the General scene mode and then the vivid picture mode?

Keep in mind a lot of us are trying to hit a specific video spec with the settings. People are going to Cinema because that's the setting out of the box that's closest to Rec.709. So, that may result in a picture that might lack "pop" or "vibrancy" at first glance, but it is the closest to what the source was designed around and the best approximation of film.

The biggest reason you are probably thinking it looks dim is the change of the color temp to WARM2. That makes the white balance significantly more yellow and the warming of the picture tends to make it look dimmer as a result. However, it's usually closer to the recommended spec of 6500k. I know, out of the box, Cinema 1 was pretty close to 5700k for an 80% grey white balance measurement. So, a bit warmer than the spec. If you changed the color temp from Warm 2 to Warm 1, it jumped to over 7300k. I didn't even measure Neutral or Cool as those would have been way way bluer than you would normally want for film.

After I calibrated the 2pt white balance with Calman5 Tutorial and the C3 meter, the TV then read 6443 for the white balance which is pretty spot on and the gamma curve was mostly correct. But, if you compare it to any of the other General or Vivid presets, you would likely think it dim by comparison. However, it does have an amazing amount of dynamic range without crushing blacks or clipping whites like some of the other settings do.

Ultimately, it's up to you what you want your TV to look like. It's just that most of use aren't using those other presets because they are changing the picture quality to something other than what was originally intended by the director of what we are watching.
mikevm likes this.
bull3964 is offline  
post #2991 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
wth718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by cahn2621 View Post

I noticed most seem to use the Cinema Scene mode and then one of his corresponding picture modes (Cinema 1 or 2). Don't you guys think that is too dim? Does anyone use the General scene mode and then the vivid picture mode?

Vivid mode will give you the brightest picture, yes. But Cinema 2 is measured to be the closest to the standard you should be aiming for. You can make adjustments at the margins, depending on personal preference and viewing environment. But if you want your set to display what the director intended, then Warm 2 is the best starting point. If you have never been exposed to it, it can seem dark or too red, but it just takes some getting used to.
wth718 is offline  
post #2992 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 59
For reference, these are what my settings came out to after I did my calibration.

Backlight 6
Contrast 85
Brightness 51
Color 55
Hue R1

Gamma -2

R Gain -7
G Gain -3
B Gain 0
R Bias -1
G Bias -1
B Bias -1

It's important to note though that the white balance especially is going to vary from TV to TV since no two panels are exactly the same.
bull3964 is offline  
post #2993 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 11:42 AM
Member
 
cahn2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post

Keep in mind a lot of us are trying to hit a specific video spec with the settings. People are going to Cinema because that's the setting out of the box that's closest to Rec.709. So, that may result in a picture that might lack "pop" or "vibrancy" at first glance, but it is the closest to what the source was designed around and the best approximation of film.

The biggest reason you are probably thinking it looks dim is the change of the color temp to WARM2. That makes the white balance significantly more yellow and the warming of the picture tends to make it look dimmer as a result. However, it's usually closer to the recommended spec of 6500k. I know, out of the box, Cinema 1 was pretty close to 5700k for an 80% grey white balance measurement. So, a bit warmer than the spec. If you changed the color temp from Warm 2 to Warm 1, it jumped to over 7300k. I didn't even measure Neutral or Cool as those would have been way way bluer than you would normally want for film.

After I calibrated the 2pt white balance with Calman5 Tutorial and the C3 meter, the TV then read 6443 for the white balance which is pretty spot on and the gamma curve was mostly correct. But, if you compare it to any of the other General or Vivid presets, you would likely think it dim by comparison. However, it does have an amazing amount of dynamic range without crushing blacks or clipping whites like some of the other settings do.

Ultimately, it's up to you what you want your TV to look like. It's just that most of use aren't using those other presets because they are changing the picture quality to something other than what was originally intended by the director of what we are watching.

Got it, and yeah I thought about the director's original intentions. But no one explained it like you just did. If I could select best answer I would.
cahn2621 is offline  
post #2994 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 11:44 AM
Member
 
cahn2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull3964 View Post

For reference, these are what my settings came out to after I did my calibration.

Backlight 6
Contrast 85
Brightness 51
Color 55
Hue R1

Gamma -2

R Gain -7
G Gain -3
B Gain 0
R Bias -1
G Bias -1
B Bias -1

It's important to note though that the white balance especially is going to vary from TV to TV since no two panels are exactly the same.

Was just about to ask you. Will give these a try as well. I get what you mean about the crushing blacks on the vivid picture mode.
cahn2621 is offline  
post #2995 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 12:02 PM
Member
 
cahn2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The only ECO settings (light sensor, idle time etc) I found were the ones via the home button and not with the picture adjustments (brightness, backlight). Is that right or am I missing something else?
cahn2621 is offline  
post #2996 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 03:00 PM
Member
 
l...h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Bull3964'
Were you set at Cinema1 Warm2 with those settings?
Thanks!

"TV... is there anything it doesn't know?" - Homer Simpson
l...h is offline  
post #2997 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 03:02 PM
Member
 
mjcxp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
JR.com has it for $1599. Amazon will price match it and it is eligible for the 2% cash back.
b.holicki and TechoGeek like this.
mjcxp is offline  
post #2998 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by l...h View Post

Bull3964'
Were you set at Cinema1 Warm2 with those settings?
Thanks!

Yup, Cinema1 Warm2.
bull3964 is offline  
post #2999 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
jromes23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I just have to say you guys are awesome.  Between the Frys deal and now the JR deal and Amazon price matching it...it's like you gave me $400.  Not only that but the knowledge you all have that helped me decide on this awesome TV, I really appreciate it.  With the sappy stuff out of the way....Regarding the ECO settings, am I the only one that received it with it already turned off to begin with? 

mule65 likes this.
jromes23 is offline  
post #3000 of 4889 Old 01-24-2014, 05:18 PM
Member
 
l...h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Thanks, gonna try them tonight.

"TV... is there anything it doesn't know?" - Homer Simpson
l...h is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Bravia 55 Inch Led Tv 3d Support Bravia Hx850 Kdl 55hx850 , Sony Xbr 55hx950 Bravia Led Hdtv , Sony Kdl 55w900a 55 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off