Official Sony KDL-55W900A Owners Thread - Page 145 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
georaldc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Sony's warranty cover open box and/or display units purchased? A nearby Best Buy has 1 display unit for below 1200 that I've been eyeing for a couple of days now
georaldc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by georaldc View Post

Does Sony's warranty cover open box and/or display units purchased? A nearby Best Buy has 1 display unit for below 1200 that I've been eyeing for a couple of days now


I don't know if they do or not. You could certainly give Sony a call and see if they do.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4323 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 04:45 PM
Member
 
Tritonheat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdavie3 View Post

Thanks Tritonheat20, I've been watching hockey in Hd for years on my Panasonic plasma and am really looking for tips on calibration, etc. do you turn off Motionflow for instance?

That I have turned off. As a matter of fact, pretty much all those extra settings are either off, or set to low..... Sometimes you have to just do a trial-and-error before you get it just the way YOU like it. Some of the settings posted in this thread are a good start. Try some of those, and work from there. Good luck.
Tritonheat20 is offline  
post #4324 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 04:58 PM
Member
 
Tritonheat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdavie3 View Post

Thanks Tritonheat20, I've been watching hockey in Hd for years on my Panasonic plasma and am really looking for tips on calibration, etc. do you turn off Motionflow for instance?

Okay, here's perfect example. The Bruins / Red Wings game is on right now on NBCSN, and looks nice and bright, and very clear. Last night on the this same channel, the Sharks and the Kings game on a west coast feed was on, and was kind of dark and some-what blurry. It was watchable, but the two broadcasts looked completely different. That's why I believe the picture for hockey depends on where the feed(s) are coming from. So it's hard to gauge and get good picture set-ups on this set watching hockey.
Tritonheat20 is offline  
post #4325 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 09:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
ptysell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tritonheat20 View Post

Okay, here's perfect example. The Bruins / Red Wings game is on right now on NBCSN, and looks nice and bright, and very clear. Last night on the this same channel, the Sharks and the Kings game on a west coast feed was on, and was kind of dark and some-what blurry. It was watchable, but the two broadcasts looked completely different. That's why I believe the picture for hockey depends on where the feed(s) are coming from. So it's hard to gauge and get good picture set-ups on this set watching hockey.

Anything 'live' will differ every single time.
Every single game you watch will be different as each location/crew handles color correction/lighting/ect. differently.
ptysell is offline  
post #4326 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Tritonheat20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptysell View Post

Anything 'live' will differ every single time.
Every single game you watch will be different as each location/crew handles color correction/lighting/ect. differently.

Couldn't agree more. That's why I replied to that other poster who was looking for settings while watching hockey games. Just have to find the curve on some channels. Have to say All the games on Directv's NFL Ticket look awesome in HD though.
Tritonheat20 is offline  
post #4327 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 09:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
digimat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by georaldc View Post

Does Sony's warranty cover open box and/or display units purchased? A nearby Best Buy has 1 display unit for below 1200 that I've been eyeing for a couple of days now

Yes, same warranty applies.
steve1971 likes this.
digimat is offline  
post #4328 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 09:26 PM
Newbie
 
darkwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by georaldc View Post

Does Sony's warranty cover open box and/or display units purchased? A nearby Best Buy has 1 display unit for below 1200 that I've been eyeing for a couple of days now

I had a chat with a support rep today, yes it is covered under Sony, but he said that it starts from the original purchased date, so if someone bought it before then it starts then; as for the Display unit, I would check the manufacturer date, if the panel is not to par and you are within the year, you can get support from Sony.
steve1971 likes this.
darkwizard is offline  
post #4329 of 4914 Old 04-18-2014, 09:58 PM
Member
 
sdavie3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tritonheat20 View Post

Couldn't agree more. That's why I replied to that other poster who was looking for settings while watching hockey games. Just have to find the curve on some channels. Have to say All the games on Directv's NFL Ticket look awesome in HD though.

The "Sports" setting in Scene Select seems to work pretty well for hockey, despite the different lighting and other conditions from the various broadcast outlets. But the color just isn't as sharp generally as it is on my Panasonic plasma for other sports (baseball so far).
sdavie3 is offline  
post #4330 of 4914 Old 04-19-2014, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
Ron3636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Hi all, just stopping by to tell my happy lil story.

 

This past xmas I got my hands on a w802a but had to return it a couple of times due to some DLNA issues.

 

I decided to get a refund and select a different tv but my return period was up so I call sony.

 

I tell sony of my situation and inform them that I wish to have a refund or an exchange for another (working) model.

 

I was told that the tv must be serviced and that I would get a call from a repair tec.

 

I told sony that I was done with this tv due to the fact that I have returned the tv 2 times and all 3 have suffered the same symptoms.. The call gets escalated. 

 

The next department tells me that before any exchange or refund that a repair tec must see the tv first. I agree and was told I would get a call from a repair tec in the next few days.

 

A few days pass and sony calls, but not from the repair tec, from the last department I had spoken with.

 

I am informed that they were in contact with the repair department and that the part my tv needs is not available and when it will be available is unsure.

 

I now am a bit upset as I was never going to have the tv serviced and I am unsure how they know what part my tv needs without ever seeing it.

 

The rep goes on to say that they will be sending me out another w802a. I stop him dead in his tracks and re-explain my situation, saying I will only except a full refund or another model.

 

I am then put on hold for about 20 mins. and when he returns I am offered 2 different models to choose from, the kdl-55w900a or the kdl-55w800b. 

 

I choose the w900a and I am awaiting delivery  this thursday, 6 days from when I except their offer. Sony also gives me an additional 2 years to my warranty.

 

This is a summarized version of my story as I made countless calls, dealing with many reps and managers over a 6 week period.   

Ron3636 is offline  
post #4331 of 4914 Old 04-19-2014, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron3636 View Post

Hi all, just stopping by to tell my happy lil story.

This past xmas I got my hands on a w802a but had to return it a couple of times due to some DLNA issues.

I decided to get a refund and select a different tv but my return period was up so I call sony.

I tell sony of my situation and inform them that I wish to have a refund or an exchange for another (working) model.

I was told that the tv must be serviced and that I would get a call from a repair tec.

I told sony that I was done with this tv due to the fact that I have returned the tv 2 times and all 3 have suffered the same symptoms.. The call gets escalated. 

The next department tells me that before any exchange or refund that a repair tec must see the tv first. I agree and was told I would get a call from a repair tec in the next few days.

A few days pass and sony calls, but not from the repair tec, from the last department I had spoken with.

I am informed that they were in contact with the repair department and that the part my tv needs is not available and when it will be available is unsure.

I now am a bit upset as I was never going to have the tv serviced and I am unsure how they know what part my tv needs without ever seeing it.

The rep goes on to say that they will be sending me out another w802a. I stop him dead in his tracks and re-explain my situation, saying I will only except a full refund or another model.

I am then put on hold for about 20 mins. and when he returns I am offered 2 different models to choose from, the kdl-55w900a or the kdl-55w800b. 

I choose the w900a and I am awaiting delivery  this thursday, 6 days from when I except their offer. Sony also gives me an additional 2 years to my warranty.

This is a summarized version of my story as I made countless calls, dealing with many reps and managers over a 6 week period.   


Well I am positve you're going to love the W900. Its an excellent tv. One of Sonys very best.
Ron3636 likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4332 of 4914 Old 04-19-2014, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
Ron3636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post


Well I am positve you're going to love the W900. Its an excellent tv. One of Sonys very best.

Thats what I have been reading and I am very excited to get it. Overall I was pleased with the w802a, so I can only imagine how much better this 1 will be.

 

Has anyone had any issues with this tv disconnecting from a nas or media server?

 

Also, does this tv come with the 1 touch nfc remote or do I need to order 1?

Ron3636 is offline  
post #4333 of 4914 Old 04-19-2014, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron3636 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

Well I am positve you're going to love the W900. Its an excellent tv. One of Sonys very best.
Thats what I have been reading and I am very excited to get it. Overall I was pleased with the w802a, so I can only imagine how much better this 1 will be.

Has anyone had any issues with this tv disconnecting from a nas or media server?

Also, does this tv come with the 1 touch nfc remote or do I need to order 1?


It comes with a remote enabled with nfc. As for hooking it up to a media server? I don't have my set hooked up to any servers so I cant answer that question. I know I use the built in wifi for streaming, updates, ect but that's about it.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4334 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 09:18 AM
Member
 
ph00p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron3636 View Post


Has anyone had any issues with this tv disconnecting from a nas or media server?


I used my PC as a media server and I haven't had a single problem. The NFC ONLY works on Xperia phones as far as I've read my Nexus 7 picks up the interaction but only the tag and not the transfering of video, but maybe I'm doing something wrong.
ph00p is offline  
post #4335 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baron2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 34
is there a replacement model this year for the 55w900a, if so what is the model number?

Thanks

Ive got some stuff
baron2 is offline  
post #4336 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 10:35 AM
Member
 
snehal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

I recently purchased w950a

 

Can someone please tell me what's the difference between these two ???

http://www.sony-asia.com/quickcomparison/kdl-55w950a+in5/kdl-55w900a+me6

 

Note: Its not 950b

 

Its lot slimmer -- check the gallery

Full Specs:

http://www.sony-asia.com/product/kdl-55w950a

 

 

Thanks...

snehal is offline  
post #4337 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 10:38 AM
Member
 
snehal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15

I recently purchased: 55w950a

Note: its not 950b

 

Can somebody tell me what the difference between 950a & 900a

 

The only thing I can tell is its lot slimmer....

I dont know what technical difference  in specifications both the models have...

snehal is offline  
post #4338 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 10:58 AM
Member
 
PureHazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by snehal View Post

I recently purchased: 55w950a
Note: its not 950b

Can somebody tell me what the difference between 950a & 900a

The only thing I can tell is its lot slimmer....
I dont know what technical difference  in specifications both the models have...

I thought the W950A is the Asian version of the W900A.
PureHazard is offline  
post #4339 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 11:33 AM
Newbie
 
fredrikreiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi!.. new here.

 

Just got a 55" w905 a couple of weeks ago, very happy with it. Does anyone have it connected to a Sonos playbar? I´m mostly playing mkv through the media player in the tv. And my computer is running serviio. Does the optical passthrough DTS to the soundbar or not? Worried not getting sound from my DTS movies (which sonos doesn´t support).... So, is Sonos playbar a good choice with the w905? 

fredrikreiman is offline  
post #4340 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 12:45 PM
Member
 
snehal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
please help... its urgent
snehal is offline  
post #4341 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 12:48 PM
Member
 
snehal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by PureHazard View Post

I thought the W950A is the Asian version of the W900A.

I am just concerned about the performance of these two... Are they similar ?
Also when I checked through diagnostic menu ( i --> 5 --> Vol- --> power ) it shows the following:

03006 725 03093

am worried that i got a demo piece.

please help and clear my doubts.
snehal is offline  
post #4342 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 01:05 PM
Member
 
mrwiseguy85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14

Just curious for those who have purchased open box W900a's with missing remotes - how did you go about getting a replacement?  Did you go the official route or opt for a universal?  Still eying an open box at my local Best Buy but evaluating my options.  Thanks.

mrwiseguy85 is offline  
post #4343 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
wth718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by snehal View Post

I am just concerned about the performance of these two... Are they similar ?
Also when I checked through diagnostic menu ( i --> 5 --> Vol- --> power ) it shows the following:

03006 725 03093

am worried that i got a demo piece.

please help and clear my doubts.

The performance will be identical. the 950a is the Asian version of the 900a. 950b is a new set, and by the reviews I've seen, is not as good as the 900/950a.
wth718 is online now  
post #4344 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 03:47 PM
Member
 
newtophoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone able to share some audio settings? Also, what is the difference between game standard and original? I know these have probably answered before, but there are so many pages to sift through. And lastly, PS4 should be set to full and XONE to limited?
newtophoto is offline  
post #4345 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
snehal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wth718 View Post


The performance will be identical. the 950a is the Asian version of the 900a. 950b is a new set, and by the reviews I've seen, is not as good as the 900/950a.

 

w950a
I also noticed its a monolithic design.

Does it have the same local dimming / full array dimming as its very slim compared to 900a

 

Any professionals here who knows the full specs of w950a ?

 

Also please explain these numbers, I got it from the diagnostic menu after pressing i, 5, Vol -, Power

03006 725 03093

 

I just used it for 2 weeks...

 

 

Thanks.

snehal is offline  
post #4346 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 08:32 PM
Member
 
ph00p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just got an update on my set, any ideas what might have been changed/fixed/added?
My tv's software is now at PKG4.411AAA
ph00p is offline  
post #4347 of 4914 Old 04-21-2014, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Beermaestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A quick question. How to I get the TV to come up in in some mode other than TV tuner? I know it used to but I haven't been able to get back to that.
Jack
Beermaestro is offline  
post #4348 of 4914 Old 04-22-2014, 04:40 AM
Member
 
snakzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

Yep the Norton setting are for Blu ray movie watching and regular tv watching. They are excellent settings. For gaming though? The settings may be different I dont know. Cant help you there since I aint a gamer.

Where can I find these settings? smile.gif
snakzz is offline  
post #4349 of 4914 Old 04-22-2014, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph00p View Post

I just got an update on my set, any ideas what might have been changed/fixed/added?
My tv's software is now at PKG4.411AAA


Yep mine got the update this morning. No word on Sony.com what this ones for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snakzz View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

Yep the Norton setting are for Blu ray movie watching and regular tv watching. They are excellent settings. For gaming though? The settings may be different I dont know. Cant help you there since I aint a gamer.

Where can I find these settings? smile.gif


SoundandVision.com

Go to LED Tv Reviews and you find them there. Need any help let me know.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4350 of 4914 Old 04-22-2014, 05:40 AM
Member
 
snakzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

Yep mine got the update this morning. No word on Sony.com what this ones for.
SoundandVision.com

Go to LED Tv Reviews and you find them there. Need any help let me know.

Is it:

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-593595/sony-kdl-55w900a-picture-settings/

or

http://www.soundandvision.com/content/sony-kdl-55w900a-3d-lcd-hdtv

? biggrin.gif
snakzz is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Bravia 55 Inch Led Tv 3d Support Bravia Hx850 Kdl 55hx850 , Sony Xbr 55hx950 Bravia Led Hdtv , Sony Kdl 55w900a 55 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off