Official Sony KDL-55W900A Owners Thread - Page 154 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4591 of 5099 Old 05-10-2014, 10:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I have a bit depth question.. Most if not all video on Blu Ray is 8 bit. I'm also assuming video games are as well. So will up converting to 12 bit (W9 is a 12 bit panel)
by way of deep color on a Blu Ray or game system degrade the image in any way?
helvetica bold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4592 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 05:11 AM
Member
 
l...h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

I have a bit depth question.. Most if not all video on Blu Ray is 8 bit. I'm also assuming video games are as well. So will up converting to 12 bit (W9 is a 12 bit panel)
by way of deep color on a Blu Ray or game system degrade the image in any way?

I don't know the answer to your question, but I have read here in the past that the w900a will show on some equipment to be 12 bit, but it is really only a 10 bit panel. The posts were some time ago in this thread, and there was confirmation from Sony.

Hope this helps.

"TV... is there anything it doesn't know?" - Homer Simpson
l...h is offline  
post #4593 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Wow I'm surprised the W9 is a 10 bit panel because I have seen content on mine with 12 bit on the display. Reason I ask is the sony 6200 blu ray player will go up to 16 bit!
helvetica bold is offline  
post #4594 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 05:47 AM
Member
 
l...h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

Wow I'm surprised the W9 is a 10 bit panel because I have seen content on mine with 12 bit on the display. Reason I ask is the sony 6200 blu ray player will go up to 16 bit!

I thought the same thing for the same reason, but then someone provided some specs (or a link to some specs) from Sony saying it was 10 bit. I'd search for you but I'm getting ready for a Mother's day brunch I'm hosting.
helvetica bold likes this.

"TV... is there anything it doesn't know?" - Homer Simpson
l...h is offline  
post #4595 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 02:07 PM
Member
 
iamluvinlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boston, Ma
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Every time I turn on PS4 it says 12 bit

------------
IAM
iamluvinlife is offline  
post #4596 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Every time I watch a Blu ray movie my W9 display's 12 bit. Tomorrow I am going to have to ask my insider at Sony if its a 12 bit panel or 10 bit. I need some clarification for myself on that. That being said I went out and bought another Pioneer AV Receiver yesterday and its a perfect pair with my W9. It has all the current video and audio codec's I am looking for except for 4K which I don't have any use for. So a new W9, new AVR and now its onto new speakers. biggrin.gif
helvetica bold likes this.

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4597 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 05:13 PM
Member
 
l...h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

Every time I watch a Blu ray movie my W9 display's 12 bit. Tomorrow I am going to have to ask my insider at Sony if its a 12 bit panel or 10 bit. I need some clarification for myself on that. That being said I went out and bought another Pioneer AV Receiver yesterday and its a perfect pair with my W9. It has all the current video and audio codec's I am looking for except for 4K which I don't have any use for. So a new W9, new AVR and now its onto new speakers. biggrin.gif

Don't forget Oppo 103D. PQ from all sources is #1 on my list, and all the reviews say it's worth the $500.
steve1971 likes this.

"TV... is there anything it doesn't know?" - Homer Simpson
l...h is offline  
post #4598 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by l...h View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

Every time I watch a Blu ray movie my W9 display's 12 bit. Tomorrow I am going to have to ask my insider at Sony if its a 12 bit panel or 10 bit. I need some clarification for myself on that. That being said I went out and bought another Pioneer AV Receiver yesterday and its a perfect pair with my W9. It has all the current video and audio codec's I am looking for except for 4K which I don't have any use for. So a new W9, new AVR and now its onto new speakers. biggrin.gif

Don't forget Oppo 103D. PQ from all sources is #1 on my list, and all the reviews say it's worth the $500.


The Oppo is out of my price range for now at least. My Sony BDP-S5100 is doing the job just fine...at least for now that is! Lol

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4599 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Pokey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orange Co; SoCal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by l...h View Post

Don't forget Oppo 103D. PQ from all sources is #1 on my list, and all the reviews say it's worth the $500.
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

The Oppo is out of my price range for now at least. My Sony BDP-S5100 is doing the job just fine...at least for now that is! Lol

I have the W900a paired with a Oppo 105 for source and can speak to the excellent PQ that it provides. If you use the analog outputs, it would be superior to the 103. Otherwise, the 105 and 103 are the same in PQ. It is definitely worth springing for. Of course, this is IMHO. Your mileage may also vary!
steve1971 likes this.
Pokey77 is offline  
post #4600 of 5099 Old 05-11-2014, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey77 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by l...h View Post

Don't forget Oppo 103D. PQ from all sources is #1 on my list, and all the reviews say it's worth the $500.
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

The Oppo is out of my price range for now at least. My Sony BDP-S5100 is doing the job just fine...at least for now that is! Lol

I have the W900a paired with a Oppo 105 for source and can speak to the excellent PQ that it provides. If you use the analog outputs, it would be superior to the 103. Otherwise, the 105 and 103 are the same in PQ. It is definitely worth springing for. Of course, this is IMHO. Your mileage may also vary!


Trust me Pokey I know all about the Oppo Blu ray players and if I had the cash one would be on my list! Its a must have Blu ray player for me but right now its called wishful thinking. frown.gif

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4601 of 5099 Old 05-12-2014, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kennedale, Tx
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 33
My Sony S5100 is set to auto for color bit, video processing is set to bypass on my receiver, and my W900A always shows 12 bit. It's my understanding that for a panel to be able to display the wide x.y.color source it has to be at least 12 bit? and both my S5100 and W900A have the x.y.color setting set to auto/on.
helvetica bold likes this.

Sony 55W900A
Sony S5100 Blu-ray
Yamaha Aventage A1030
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-62 II
Klipsch RS-52 II
Klipsch RB-51 II (Front Preference)
SVS PB-2000
CaptinCrunch is offline  
post #4602 of 5099 Old 05-12-2014, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 64
The only way i could get x.v.Color to work on the W9 via PS4 is set it to on (x.v.Color NOT auto). I used the Spears & Munsil 2nd edition disk.
The test pattern was crushed when the W9 xv Color option was set to auto. However when i set it to on it looked fine.
helvetica bold is offline  
post #4603 of 5099 Old 05-12-2014, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
For those interested I called my Sony insider this morning and he confirmed the W900 does have a 12 bit panel. Makes me love this tv even more. smile.gif
helvetica bold likes this.

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4604 of 5099 Old 05-12-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
l...h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

For those interested I called my Sony insider this morning and he confirmed the W900 does have a 12 bit panel. Makes me love this tv even more. smile.gif

Steve,

Thanks for the update. I want to believe these are 12 bit panels as much as anybody else, so I'm happy to hear your friend at Sony said it is.

I wonder why Sony wouldn't advertise it as such, or even state it in the specs, since it would be a clear technological advantage over the vast majority of their competition? Like it being 240hz, triluminous, motionflow, etc.

"TV... is there anything it doesn't know?" - Homer Simpson
l...h is offline  
post #4605 of 5099 Old 05-12-2014, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Thanks Steve! No wonder why Sony originally priced the W9 at $3200! There's some very expensive and impressive tech inside our beloved TV. biggrin.gif
helvetica bold is offline  
post #4606 of 5099 Old 05-12-2014, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by l...h View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

For those interested I called my Sony insider this morning and he confirmed the W900 does have a 12 bit panel. Makes me love this tv even more. smile.gif

Steve,

Thanks for the update. I want to believe these are 12 bit panels as much as anybody else, so I'm happy to hear your friend at Sony said it is.

I wonder why Sony wouldn't advertise it as such, or even state it in the specs, since it would be a clear technological advantage over the vast majority of their competition? Like it being 240hz, triluminous, motionflow, etc.


I wonder that as well I...h and I even asked my Sony insider that very same question and all he said is that was up to the marketing dept to lay out the spec's and so fourth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

Thanks Steve! No wonder why Sony originally priced the W9 at $3200! There's some very expensive and impressive tech inside our beloved TV. biggrin.gif

Your right Helvetica that is why the W9 was $3200 when it first was released. Quantum Dot, Triluminous, 12 bit/Deep Black Panel ect. An amazing tv that Sony was to damn stupid to follow up on with a suitable successor.

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4607 of 5099 Old 05-12-2014, 05:45 PM
Member
 
Didee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptinCrunch View Post

It's my understanding that for a panel to be able to display the wide x.y.color source it has to be at least 12 bit?
No. x.v.color is basically nailed down in 8bit colorspace already. The Rec601/Rec.709 video standard is laid so that the chroma channels of YUV are only using the 16-240 range (translates to 0-255 RGB), and if you're using the 1-15 and 241-255 bits, while signalling x.v.color, you get x.v.color (resulting, theoretically, in "negative" RGB values).

I wouldn't bet too much money on the W905 having a 12bit panel, my guess is "rather not". The physical panel bitdepth most probably is just 8bit (as usual for consumer HW, the *true* high-bitters are just too expensive!), and any higher "working" bitdepth is created panel-internally via FRC. Then, if the panel's FRC extends the physical 8bit to either 10bit or 12bit, that is mostly a "software thing".

BTW, the bits that the TV is showing on "info" is just the bitdepth of the received input signal -- and in this context, the working part is the "SBM" setting in the W905's input signals settings, which is responsibe for dithering higher-bitdepth-sources down to the working space bitdepth of the TV's signal processor chain. Moreover, there basically are not any sources of *truly* higher bitdepth than 8bit. Surely not for video sources, surely not for last-gen game consoles, and (most probably) also not for the current next-gen consoles. The sources for us mere mortals are present in nothing but 8bit, and if the TV receives anything higher than that, then some external device has taken a 8bit source and artificially up-sampled it to a higher bitdepth. Which, in turn, the W905 effectively would also do on its own, via his own signal processing, if you feed a plain 8bit signal to it.

Compare to the 4k-TV situation. If you feed a 1080p source to the TV, it will show "1080p" as info, and upscale it internally to 4k. However ... when an external device is playing a 1080p source, and the external device is scaling to 4k, then the TV will show "2160p" for info. Hooray, the TV signals 2160p, I am king! - Albeit it being pretty much irrelevant if the TV scales 1080p to 2160p, or if an external device does the scaling. The source data is just 1080p, no matter which device does the upscaling.
delfincek likes this.
Didee is offline  
post #4608 of 5099 Old 05-12-2014, 09:34 PM
Member
 
furry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So I've been toying with getting the Sharp 60SQ15U or possibly upgrading to the larger size w850A thats on sale, I'm looking at the Sharp for the extra size and also the ability to do upscaling to 4K. I was blown away by the 4K samples at bestbuy and the Sharps were quite nice looking so they seem like a good compromise. But I came home and started to play some 4K videos from youtube and ....they're amazing looking, not on par with the 4K samples in the store but really quite fantastic. I guess it all comes down to the quality of the content that's going into the TV? I also noticed this with Blurays, some look ok while other news ones (Enders Game) just look fantastic. Watching these 4K videos made me question how much better the Sharp's additional resolution will actually be...
furry is offline  
post #4609 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by furry View Post

So I've been toying with getting the Sharp 60SQ15U or possibly upgrading to the larger size w850A thats on sale, I'm looking at the Sharp for the extra size and also the ability to do upscaling to 4K. I was blown away by the 4K samples at bestbuy and the Sharps were quite nice looking so they seem like a good compromise. But I came home and started to play some 4K videos from youtube and ....they're amazing looking, not on par with the 4K samples in the store but really quite fantastic. I guess it all comes down to the quality of the content that's going into the TV? I also noticed this with Blurays, some look ok while other news ones (Enders Game) just look fantastic. Watching these 4K videos made me question how much better the Sharp's additional resolution will actually be...


furry your post should be posted in the Sharp or W850A thread. That being said 4K don't impress me. Never has and never will and it's a waste to plunk down hundred's of dollars on a 4K tv when 4K material is scarce. I could have bought a Sony 4K set but after comparing it to the W900 I passed. Now down the road if I end up buying a 4K projector with a big screen that will be different because to me to truly see the benefit's of 4K you need a projection system and nothing else will do in my opinion.

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4610 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Didee View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptinCrunch View Post

It's my understanding that for a panel to be able to display the wide x.y.color source it has to be at least 12 bit?
No. x.v.color is basically nailed down in 8bit colorspace already. The Rec601/Rec.709 video standard is laid so that the chroma channels of YUV are only using the 16-240 range (translates to 0-255 RGB), and if you're using the 1-15 and 241-255 bits, while signalling x.v.color, you get x.v.color (resulting, theoretically, in "negative" RGB values).

I wouldn't bet too much money on the W905 having a 12bit panel, my guess is "rather not". The physical panel bitdepth most probably is just 8bit (as usual for consumer HW, the *true* high-bitters are just too expensive!), and any higher "working" bitdepth is created panel-internally via FRC. Then, if the panel's FRC extends the physical 8bit to either 10bit or 12bit, that is mostly a "software thing".

BTW, the bits that the TV is showing on "info" is just the bitdepth of the received input signal -- and in this context, the working part is the "SBM" setting in the W905's input signals settings, which is responsibe for dithering higher-bitdepth-sources down to the working space bitdepth of the TV's signal processor chain. Moreover, there basically are not any sources of *truly* higher bitdepth than 8bit. Surely not for video sources, surely not for last-gen game consoles, and (most probably) also not for the current next-gen consoles. The sources for us mere mortals are present in nothing but 8bit, and if the TV receives anything higher than that, then some external device has taken a 8bit source and artificially up-sampled it to a higher bitdepth. Which, in turn, the W905 effectively would also do on its own, via his own signal processing, if you feed a plain 8bit signal to it.

Compare to the 4k-TV situation. If you feed a 1080p source to the TV, it will show "1080p" as info, and upscale it internally to 4k. However ... when an external device is playing a 1080p source, and the external device is scaling to 4k, then the TV will show "2160p" for info. Hooray, the TV signals 2160p, I am king! - Albeit it being pretty much irrelevant if the TV scales 1080p to 2160p, or if an external device does the scaling. The source data is just 1080p, no matter which device does the upscaling.


Didee the W905 is pretty much them same tv as the W900. So if the W900 has a 12 bit panel, which I had confirmed it has, then I don't see why the W905 don't as well. Now the W905 is the European version of the W9 so maybe Sony didn't make it with a 12 bit panel? I don't know but it would be pretty stupid if they didn't.

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4611 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 10:16 AM
Member
 
Didee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Oh, I didn't mean to imply the W900A and W905A would have different panels. It's just that I'm not always aware if it's avforums or avsforum which I am posting at. biggrin.gif

Well, okay. Minutes ago I actually did a feature test to check out the panel's gradation capabilities ...

Hereby I retract my former assumption, and now agree: the panel used in the W90xA does indeed render with 12bit gradation precision. smile.gif
(By means of FRC, anyway.)

Still, with the usual sources (as DVD, BD, TV reception, and gaming), it still doesn't matter much if the original 8bit signal gets to the TV as an 8bit signal, or if external devices blow the 8 bits up to 10, 12 or whatever bitdepth.
steve1971 likes this.
Didee is offline  
post #4612 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 11:29 AM
Member
 
delfincek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Didee, I'm interested what is the methodology for your last feature testing through gradation capabilities? Are you able to explain?

best, d.
delfincek is offline  
post #4613 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by delfincek View Post

Didee, I'm interested what is the methodology for your last feature testing through gradation capabilities? Are you able to explain?

best, d.


I'm interested as well.

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4614 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
Samiad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yesterday I received my new W900a that I ordered from Sony last week - it arrived brand new (0 hours usage, only 7 power cycles) - build date was Oct 2013 though. No problems with it.
steve1971 likes this.
Samiad is offline  
post #4615 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samiad View Post

Yesterday I received my new W900a that I ordered from Sony last week - it arrived brand new (0 hours usage, only 7 power cycles) - build date was Oct 2013 though. No problems with it.


Judging by the build date of your tv it means Sony may be nearing the end of the line for the W9.

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4616 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
Immortal_Tek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
yeah i received mine yesterday with Oct '13 build date zero hours

text looks weird on this set if you're not looking at it straight on. i guess it's the 3D but that is supposed to be off right unless i'm feeding it a 3D source right? i'm gonna have to play some black ops this weekend to really test her out.
Immortal_Tek is offline  
post #4617 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
georaldc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know how to adjust picture settings with the netflix app? For some reason, options don't work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Immortal_Tek View Post

yeah i received mine yesterday with Oct '13 build date zero hours

text looks weird on this set if you're not looking at it straight on. i guess it's the 3D but that is supposed to be off right unless i'm feeding it a 3D source right? i'm gonna have to play some black ops this weekend to really test her out.
IIRC, try playing around with the Reality Creation setting. Disabling it makes text look much better for my PC (when plugged to the TV)
georaldc is offline  
post #4618 of 5099 Old 05-13-2014, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bull3964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
For Netflix, edit the "Common" settings memory for whatever picture mode you are on when watching something else. I found the Netflix app uses whatever picture mode you were on when you entered the app, just the "Common" memory.
bull3964 is offline  
post #4619 of 5099 Old 05-14-2014, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Immortal_Tek View Post

yeah i received mine yesterday with Oct '13 build date zero hours

text looks weird on this set if you're not looking at it straight on. i guess it's the 3D but that is supposed to be off right unless i'm feeding it a 3D source right? i'm gonna have to play some black ops this weekend to really test her out.


Yes you have to have 3D off unless you are feeding the tv a 3D source.

Sony Bravia KDL-55W900A LED/3D TV.

Sony 5.2-Channel 4K A/V HD Receiver - STRDH540.
Center Channel Speaker: Tivoli Signature Series.
Tower Speakers: Sony SS-MF315's.
Surrounds: Pioneer Satellite Speakers.
steve1971 is offline  
post #4620 of 5099 Old 05-14-2014, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
mick712's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Just snagged the last w900 at a local sony store.  Wanted to ask if extended warranty is worth it.  I didn't get it as of yet.  Also, where and which hdmi cables should I get.  Lastly, I will be asking for advice in regards to optimal settings, but what should i set once the tv arrives.  Thanks, much appreciated.

steve1971 likes this.
mick712 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Bravia 55 Inch Led Tv 3d Support Bravia Hx850 Kdl 55hx850 , Sony Xbr 55hx950 Bravia Led Hdtv , Sony Kdl 55w900a 55 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off