Official Sony KDL-55W900A Owners Thread - Page 88 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 4997 Old 01-04-2014, 07:23 AM
Newbie
 
Garnett215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnoellAlex View Post

Hmm maybe you have another setting on that is affecting the availability of full pixel...I had to get help setting it to full pixel, so I wouldn't know smile.gif

Post your settings for the screen settings, and maybe someone who knows their stuff will be kind enough to help you out.

Nothing special:

SCENE: Cinema
PICTURE: Cinema 1
BACKLIGHT: 6
CONSTRAST: 87
BRIGHTNESS: 48
COLOUR: 58
HUE: 0
COLOR TEMPERATURE: Warm 1
SHARPNESS: 50
NOISE REDUCTION: Auto
MPEG NOISE REDUCTION: Off
DOT NOISE REDUCTION: Auto
REALITY CREATION: Manual
VIDEO AREA DETECTION: off
RESOLUTION: 30
NOISE FILTERING: max
SMOOTH GRADIATION: Low
MOTIONFLOW: Standard
FILM MODE: Auto

ADVANCED SETTINGS
BLACK CORRECTOR: Off
ADV. CONTRAST ENHANCER: Off
GAMMA: -2
LED DYNAMIC CONTROL: Low
AUTO LIGHT LIMITER: Off
CLEAR WHITE: Low
LIVE COLOUR: High
WHITE BALANCE- Custom
DETAIL ENHANCER Off
EDGE ENHANCER Off
SKIN NEUTRALISER Off

Under "Screen" my settings are as fllowed:

Setting Memory: Current
Wide Mode: Full
Auto Wide: off
4:3- Grayed out
Auto Display Area: Off
Display Area: Normal (with no option to change to full)
Screen Position
Garnett215 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 4997 Old 01-04-2014, 11:41 PM
Member
 
dardano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garnett215 View Post


nope the option isn't there. I have "normal" +1 and -1.

 

Have you updated you TV firmware to the latest version ?

Maybe that's the issue why you don't see "full pixel"

dardano is offline  
post #2613 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 03:19 AM
Newbie
 
Garnett215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dardano View Post

Have you updated you TV firmware to the latest version ?
Maybe that's the issue why you don't see "full pixel"

Yeah I've checked. My version number is PKG4.001AAA.

I finally got it working by restoring factory default. I'm getting a new set anyway, so I figured why not.
Garnett215 is offline  
post #2614 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 04:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 192
The whole screen uniformity issue would keep me from buying one as it seems that a lot of people are having to exchange 2 or 3 times to get a good screen.

Is that a forum illusion or do most people get good screens on the first try?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #2615 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
DarthAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I needed two sets to get a good one. The first set had one dead sub pixel (green). On my second set there were no dead pixels and the darkness on the edges was also less prominent. It almost isn't noticeable at all on my second set. On my first set you could easily see it. So, if you are not satisfied with the set you have return it until you get one you are.
DarthAVS is offline  
post #2616 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 01:09 PM
Member
 
cringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by delfincek View Post

@Cringer: Hiya
how this distortion looks like? I do not have any distortion at resolution set to 70 for HTPC only the picture becomes more defined and sharp without noise or white edges. It is just perfect setting making balance between the smoothness and shaprness. I just have Riddick (2013) on now where there is a lot of dark scenes and have a superb picture. I just wonder if there is any differences between the American and European model of this same Sony TV set. I noticed at least that there is some minior differences of the naming of some settings in the menu.

best, d.

 

This is in Cimema 2 with defaults, except for warm 1 and the reality creation adjustment.

cringer is offline  
post #2617 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 03:22 PM
Member
 
cringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Strangelove View Post

Anyone else having trouble claiming their netflix and hulu plus free year with this tv? I try to submit it through the app on the tv and all i ever get is "please try again later" for days now

This worked for me today.

cringer is offline  
post #2618 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
Mar-Vell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you update the firmware? I've been going through the menus but can't seem to find that.
Mar-Vell is offline  
post #2619 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 05:18 PM
Newbie
 
Mar-Vell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, found it under 'Product Support'!
Mar-Vell is offline  
post #2620 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thinking of upgrading my Samsung D6000 to this since I hear the input lag is low as well as great picture. Anyone know how long they will be available ?
Danediz is offline  
post #2621 of 4997 Old 01-05-2014, 11:34 PM
Member
 
delfincek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by cringer View Post

This is in Cimema 2 with defaults, except for warm 1 and the reality creation adjustment.


Hiya Cringer
Oh my... These are some serious artifacts on these settings. I wonder more and more that there are some technical differences between USA and EU made Sony W9XX. I can also max out Resolution and not have any artifacts. Maybe just a little bit more of these fine small grain so I settled with Resolution on 70 and Sharpness on 65 for Cinema 1.

best, d.
delfincek is offline  
post #2622 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 02:36 AM
Member
 
KnoellAlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have the Xbox 360 on a separate input than the X1/TV and was wondering if anyone could share their settings? I believe most people suggest game mode? What about the more detailed settings though? Or do you just leave it at default on game mode?

KnoellAlex is offline  
post #2623 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 03:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is it possible to create a "sticky" with all the different settings since the search thread feature is not working?

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #2624 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 05:19 AM
Member
 
cringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by delfincek View Post


Hiya Cringer
Oh my... These are some serious artifacts on these settings. I wonder more and more that there are some technical differences between USA and EU made Sony W9XX. I can also max out Resolution and not have any artifacts. Maybe just a little bit more of these fine small grain so I settled with Resolution on 70 and Sharpness on 65 for Cinema 1.

best, d.

I can run it with any resolution in General, or Auto, but not Cinema.  Not sure if there is a conflicting setting or not.

 

Where is the EU version made?  US is made in Mexico.

cringer is offline  
post #2625 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 05:40 AM
Member
 
delfincek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Hiya cringer,
Hmmm, I think that probably American and EU model has a little bit different firmware. I just noticed this already when I saw recommended settings of some users, where names of some settings in the configuration menu differs. So I'm certain now that Resolution in American Sony TV works a little bit differently that in EU version, at least it has a little bit different steps.

EU version of Sony KDL-55W905A is made in Slovakia. What is interesting is also that I had a demo of 4 different Sony KDL-55W905A in 4 different locations and I did not saw any big uniformity issues with the screens. Some photos and stories that were posted here in this thread, by some users, really put you a fear in your bones to have a second thought and consider to purchase this set or not.

wish you best,
Davor.
delfincek is offline  
post #2626 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 09:51 AM
Member
 
YDR05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Polkton, Onkyork
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I had a question about the returns process. There are many people doing multiple returns, is it free all the time?

amazon, sonydirect, bestbuy, frys all of them cover return shipping and the shipping for the next one (and may be third!)?
YDR05 is offline  
post #2627 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Danediz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Amazon is free if there is a defect
Danediz is offline  
post #2628 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 64
How do you think Sony will evolve the W9 this year? Do you think they will make a version thats full array??
I cant wait to see what Sony has up their sleeve for 2014 besides 4K. Or Sony could make all their 55 inch and above 4K only?
helvetica bold is offline  
post #2629 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
*UFO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

How do you think Sony will evolve the W9 this year? Do you think they will make a version thats full array??
I cant wait to see what Sony has up their sleeve for 2014 besides 4K. Or Sony could make all their 55 inch and above 4K only?

So far only Vizio has full array sets. We have yet to see what Sony and Samsung are going to bring to the table. Sharp and LG are out in my book though, especially when a "budget brand" is making higher quality sets than "premium" brands.
*UFO* is offline  
post #2630 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Dr Strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was looking at an extended warranty for this TV bought from Amazon. Can I still buy the Squaretrade from Costco or do I need to buy it from Amazon instead. I thought the Costco squaretrade option only applies to TV's bought from Costco or Costco.com
Dr Strangelove is offline  
post #2631 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Dr Strangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGZ28 View Post

Just got mine to work tonight. It's almost not worth the effort but the $95 Netfix credit is sweet.

Thanks just got mine working as well
Dr Strangelove is offline  
post #2632 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
xara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi!

Happy w9 owner here...smile.gif
Is there a way to setup a shortcut in the remote control to access, for example, Scene Selection?
xara is offline  
post #2633 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Pretty much what I expected Sony announced 3 lines of 4k TVs but
the W9 successor is...

W950B
It looks pretty much the same tech wise.

http://snyna-ashprd-live.gsipartners.com/WFS/SNYUS/en_US/-/USD/54.6-diag-w950b-ultimate-led-hdtv-zid27-KDL55W950B/cat-ProductChannelAssignments-catid-SNYUSAssignments


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
helvetica bold is offline  
post #2634 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

Pretty much what I expected Sony announced 3 lines of 4k TVs but
the W9 successor is...

W950B
It looks pretty much the same tech wise.

http://snyna-ashprd-live.gsipartners.com/WFS/SNYUS/en_US/-/USD/54.6-diag-w950b-ultimate-led-hdtv-zid27-KDL55W950B/cat-ProductChannelAssignments-catid-SNYUSAssignments


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Damn that's an ugly design and no it don't look really that much different tech wise from the W900. I was hoping Sony would go back to the monolithic design but that looks to be dead and forgotton. And by what I am seeing with the 2014 tv line up there is no chance of me replacing my HX850 any time soon which is alright by me.
steve1971 is offline  
post #2635 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint Louis. MO
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

Nope no full array sets from Sony this year. Full Array LED may be a thing of the past with them.

Their flagship this year will be Full array offered in only 65 and 85 inches. It will probably be insanely expensive!!!
http://store.sony.com/gsi/webstore/WFS/SNYNA-SNYUS-Site/en_US/-/USD/ViewProduct-Start?SKU=27-XBR65X950B
Sonyboy is offline  
post #2636 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 64
The only bullet point on the w950B that raised an eyebrow is
" Dynamic Edge LED with XDR for 2x brightness range"
But the contrast ratio looks to be the same as the W900a
It looks like Sony didn't change the tech just the frame design.
helvetica bold is offline  
post #2637 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonyboy View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post

Nope no full array sets from Sony this year. Full Array LED may be a thing of the past with them.

Their flagship this year will be Full array offered in only 65 and 85 inches. It will probably be insanely expensive!!!
http://store.sony.com/gsi/webstore/WFS/SNYNA-SNYUS-Site/en_US/-/USD/ViewProduct-Start?SKU=27-XBR65X950B


Just saw that Sonyboy. My mistake.
steve1971 is offline  
post #2638 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Pokey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orange Co; SoCal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobert99 View Post

Hi guys,

Just bought this TV today and am noticing a rainbow effect caused by CFL ceiling lights about 7 ft in front of the TV. This is obvious to myself and other viewers during dark scenes. Is this a problem with the TV? Anyone else have this issue? 

Thanks

I would recommend an LED light kit that you can affix to the rear of the panel. I bought one and this totally eliminates reflections and makes watching TV easier as well. Just Google and you'll find a few different options. I like the option sold by bar lighting. Check'em out.
Pokey77 is offline  
post #2639 of 4997 Old 01-06-2014, 07:55 PM
Member
 
Pokey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orange Co; SoCal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lex1c0n View Post



Home >> Settings >> Picture & Display >> Screen >> Auto Display Area: OFF >> Display Area: FULL PIXEL



Always better to do 1:1 pixel reproduction I don't understand why so many TV's are set to cut part of the screen off in default. Hope this helps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dardano View Post

Great Tip ! Made the change here also !

Thanks
Fred

Me too!!
helvetica bold likes this.
Pokey77 is offline  
post #2640 of 4997 Old 01-07-2014, 05:28 AM
Member
 
cringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by helvetica bold View Post

The only bullet point on the w950B that raised an eyebrow is
" Dynamic Edge LED with XDR for 2x brightness range"
But the contrast ratio looks to be the same as the W900a
It looks like Sony didn't change the tech just the frame design.

 

Something I noticed is there are no 1080 sets that do Motionflow XR over 480.  It seems a step down compared to the current W9 series.

cringer is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Bravia 55 Inch Led Tv 3d Support Bravia Hx850 Kdl 55hx850 , Sony Xbr 55hx950 Bravia Led Hdtv , Sony Kdl 55w900a 55 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off