Samsung UN7000 HDMI inputs are dead - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-19-2013, 09:37 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,624
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 773
I have a 55 inch Samsung 7000 series LCD in my office that is approx 2 years old

Over the weekend there was a major power failure: when I powered the display on this morning, no HDMI input worked: the component video input still works

I tried all 4 HDMI inputs: I know the sources work

any ideas?

TIA

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-20-2013, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,624
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 773
bump

anyone?

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-20-2013, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
thiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How to troubleshoot the HDMI (from the service manual for a 2010 'C' model 7000 series.







Alternatively, you can replace the Main board.
thiao is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-21-2013, 02:57 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,624
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Thanks for the info: that is what I thought

also noticed the Ethernet connection is dead : and when I power it up on an HDMI input the panel resets itself

The panel is 3 years old and came with a one year warranty so I will use the component video input for a while until I decide what to do: I don't think I want to put any money in it for repairs...

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-21-2013, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
thiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You're very welcome.

Repair at the component level is a PITA and requires specialized skills/equipment and component availability.

A replacement main board for your set, from the usual sources, would run around $100 and very much a DIY project.

There is also also the remote possibility, that the power failure corrupted the eProm firmware or a setting.

However, I never recommend entering the service menu, unless you have the procedures/settings in the service manual on hand.

Note: broken HDMI, Ethernet and eProm firmware, all point to the main board.
thiao is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off