Official 2013 Sony R550A series TVs (KDL-xxR550A) --- 50", 60", and 70" - Page 118 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3511 of 4268 Old 01-03-2014, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
HellfireHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up the 70" of this from Best Buy in Kelowna, BC yesterday. I am upgrading from a 32" CRT and it's my first LED LCD to boot! Pretty happy with it so far.

I got it mostly for gaming and TV and will be hooking up my PS3 and Xbox One to it this weekend. (We watch most of our movies downstairs on an Epson 8500UB PJ against a 137" screen.) Also looking forward to trying out the 3D. My kids should get a pretty good kick out of that I think.

I've read through a ton of this thread and am well aware of the clouding and flashlighting issues but in my limited amount of watching last night and this morning I haven't noticed anything too significant. What's the best way to test this out? Are there some slides available somewhere that would help? I do have the Disney WOW disc... is there a particular test on it that would be good to use?
HellfireHD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3512 of 4268 Old 01-03-2014, 12:22 PM
Member
 
e268's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do not try to find trouble. If you cannot see anything wrong, leave it alone. That is what I did with my 60in.
e268 is offline  
post #3513 of 4268 Old 01-03-2014, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bama29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by e268 View Post

Do not try to find trouble. If you cannot see anything wrong, leave it alone. That is what I did with my 60in.

+1, Great advice!
Bama29 is offline  
post #3514 of 4268 Old 01-03-2014, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
bowlopho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by e268 View Post

Do not try to find trouble. If you cannot see anything wrong, leave it alone. That is what I did with my 60in.

until 30days / 1 year later, you finally notice it and it's out of return/warranty period.
HellfireHD likes this.
bowlopho is offline  
post #3515 of 4268 Old 01-03-2014, 05:15 PM
Senior Member
 
HGN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunny Central Florida
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Here's something to not do:

I've had Sony televisions for a lot of years, and as each one has moved on to that great TV room in the sky, I've kept a number of their remote controls. Today I picked up an older one just to turn down the volume on the 60R550a, which worked fine. As I looked over the old remote's buttons I saw [Menu] which worked fine for opening the TV's menu, and there were the four-square arrow buttons to navigate with.

In the place where our current remotes have their [Return] function, this remote has a [Reset] button, which I hit as an attempt to navigate out of the menu function.

OOPS: it did a total RESET of all of my picture settings, and put the TV into "STORE/TORCH" mode - with no warnings!

I had to go through Initial Setup to get back to the "Home" setting, and then begin the task of fixing all of the various inputs' settings. While I was doing that, the image on the set looked darker than I remembered it being, but I thought it was some kind of illusion. It wasn't. I'd forgotten to check the "Eco" settings, which were also reset to turn the Light Sensor on. Thankfully I remembered to look in there. I'm probably not finished with all of the inputs' settings either - it takes a while to realize which ones still need setting.

Harry
tgm1024 likes this.
HGN2001 is offline  
post #3516 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 666

Apparently my Samsung Galaxy Note II doesn't yet support Miracast.  A website I saw said that it's because it miracast is supported in Android 4.2.1 and the Galaxy Note II (unrooted) is currently 4.1.2.

 

Huh.

 

Anyone have a Galaxy S3 or Note 2 and get anything to work?  The Samsung Allshare seems like a goofy kludge requiring a dongle.


WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #3517 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
sukh77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
 

Apparently my Samsung Galaxy Note II doesn't yet support Miracast.  A website I saw said that it's because it miracast is supported in Android 4.2.1 and the Galaxy Note II (unrooted) is currently 4.1.2.

 

Huh.

 

Anyone have a Galaxy S3 or Note 2 and get anything to work?  The Samsung Allshare seems like a goofy kludge requiring a dongle.

I have a s3 and tried it.  S3 can see the TV, but when I try to connect it gets disconnected and says device not registered.


Sony KDL-70R550A

Sony STR-DN1030

sukh77 is offline  
post #3518 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukh77 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
 

Apparently my Samsung Galaxy Note II doesn't yet support Miracast.  A website I saw said that it's because it miracast is supported in Android 4.2.1 and the Galaxy Note II (unrooted) is currently 4.1.2.

 

Huh.

 

Anyone have a Galaxy S3 or Note 2 and get anything to work?  The Samsung Allshare seems like a goofy kludge requiring a dongle.

I have a s3 and tried it.  S3 can see the TV, but when I try to connect it gets disconnected and says device not registered.

 

What android version is your S3?


WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #3519 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 09:58 AM
Member
 
sukh77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

my android is 4.3.

Before this I also tried running latest version CM rom.


Sony KDL-70R550A

Sony STR-DN1030

sukh77 is offline  
post #3520 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

Apparently my Samsung Galaxy Note II doesn't yet support Miracast.  A website I saw said that it's because it miracast is supported in Android 4.2.1 and the Galaxy Note II (unrooted) is currently 4.1.2.

Huh.

Anyone have a Galaxy S3 or Note 2 and get anything to work?  The Samsung Allshare seems like a goofy kludge requiring a dongle.
I have been trying to get Miracast to work with my Nexus 5 and Panasonic VT60. Both are suppose to support this and they both see each other but then get stuck on connecting. I complete the setup using wifi direct then there is another setting in the display setting of Android that needs to be turned on which I have done as well. I am curious if anyone with any TV or phone has successfully got Miracast to work.

I also tried it with a Moto X and no luck. Both running Kit-Kat.
eric3316 is offline  
post #3521 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
bowlopho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I read somewhere that sony only tested it working and is compatible with Sony Xperia.
bowlopho is offline  
post #3522 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 11:16 AM
Member
 
DrLcMama0202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowlopho View Post

I read somewhere that sony only tested it working and is compatible with Sony Xperia.
There has to be some android level workaround.
DrLcMama0202 is offline  
post #3523 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hey guys, I updated the firmware and cannot find the deal for the free 6 months of netflix & Hulu. Someone mentioned that there is a phone number I can call?
johnBlanker is offline  
post #3524 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripper64 View Post


Yeah, my 70" looked like that. I posted pics of mine a couple pages back. I returned it. Couldn't live with it. I have a 60" that has a big white blob and it drives me crazy every time I watch the tv. I hate it and honestly wish I just returned it and kept shopping for one with less clouding.

I picked up one of those Antec bias light strips as this will help with the perceived contrast. The lighter the room the less you will notice it. It's BS is what it is. These manufacturers are getting away with it because most people don't notice it, or don't care.

Ok, enough of that.

A couple threads back a bunch of guys were talking about rubbing the screen to make the blobs less noticeable. And many of them said it worked. Read their posts to try and duplicate their technique.
johnBlanker is offline  
post #3525 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Ripper64's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post

Yeah, my 70" looked like that. I posted pics of mine a couple pages back. I returned it. Couldn't live with it. I have a 60" that has a big white blob and it drives me crazy every time I watch the tv. I hate it and honestly wish I just returned it and kept shopping for one with less clouding.

I picked up one of those Antec bias light strips as this will help with the perceived contrast. The lighter the room the less you will notice it. It's BS is what it is. These manufacturers are getting away with it because most people don't notice it, or don't care.

Ok, enough of that.

A couple threads back a bunch of guys were talking about rubbing the screen to make the blobs less noticeable. And many of them said it worked. Read their posts to try and duplicate their technique.


I tried the rubbing thing and it didn't work for me. I have clouding, blob's, and a minimum dozen white spots on my TV. Hopefully they will replace it. I was thinking of trying the light strips.
Ripper64 is offline  
post #3526 of 4268 Old 01-04-2014, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just having a light on in the room helps.
johnBlanker is offline  
post #3527 of 4268 Old 01-05-2014, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post

Just having a light on in the room helps.

It sure does but mines really starting to bother me during evening viewing. I've had a 55" LED that had just a tad, and it was on the bottom corner and bareable. This one has puffy light spots on the left and all across the top of the screen. Still in my return period. Thinking of going to best buy and sticking a USB in their floor model with clear HD black so I can compare.

Would love to get one that's just at "acceptable" levels.

Sony KDL-70R550A
Denon x4000 (omg)
Klipsch RF-62IIs
Klipsch RC-62II
Klipsch RS-41IIs
SVS PC12-NSD + Klipsch RW12d
Teremei is offline  
post #3528 of 4268 Old 01-05-2014, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Be careful, BB has only 15 day return policy if you don't spend that much $ in the year. They are being trained to be aggressive and refuse returns as much as they can. Don't forget those metal plugs that go on the stand! I did and they refused my 70" return. I'm in NY though.

Even though the floor model might look ok, the one you end up getting could be worse. I had 45 days to return my tv and even that wasn't enough to know if it was going to bother me in the long run. For me, I only notice the cloud when the screen goes to black, which is usually only during opening/closing credits. Movies do fade to black in the middle quite often too. I don't see it with content on the screen. Do I hate it? Yes. I am not in love with my tv, it's just a tv. I'm going to wait until new technology comes out where I don't have to go fishing for an acceptable tv. And I probably won't feel bad about getting rid of this sony. These are "budget" Sony models and I have been all over the other manufactures avs threads on here and they all have this problem. The Samsungs are plagued with this thing called the "Ice wing".

fwiw, take a look at my 70" that I got. Looked just like yours. The clouding was noticeable with anything on the screen. I couldn't deal with that.

My local BJ's has a 90 day return policy and no questions asked return policy. Unfortunately have to pick up a 50" for upstairs. Contrary to what I said above.
johnBlanker is offline  
post #3529 of 4268 Old 01-05-2014, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 118
At first I only saw it when it faded to black "off/switching" but now I am seeing it during content. During Rise of the Guardians and Sade concert blu ray. There is a light blob on the left side. I understand where you are coming from and I sense they are being aggressively trained not to take returns because they seem more hostile in my returns than they used to be.

I just hate spending $1950 + tax for my dream living room large passive 3D to have this bothersome area that I can not unsee. BTW I am reward zone elite so I have 45 days to return. It would be almost impossible to spot problems in the brightly lit store. I have a USB with different shades of grey/black and even I have a hard time seeing that "spot" with just HD color images.

What will likely happens is I will grope and whine and end up keeping what I have and buying 2 or 3 LED bias lights and put them on the top, left, and right back edge of the screen so as to help make those problem spots "disappear" when viewing at night. It is probably the easiest solution. It might just have to be something I accept til better tech becomes cheaper if I want to have a large 3D passive TV in my upstairs. Still feel bummed that there are people who will just luck into "winning the panel lottery" with a near perfect one without going through the agonizing I am.

Sony KDL-70R550A
Denon x4000 (omg)
Klipsch RF-62IIs
Klipsch RC-62II
Klipsch RS-41IIs
SVS PC12-NSD + Klipsch RW12d
Teremei is offline  
post #3530 of 4268 Old 01-05-2014, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post

Hey guys, I updated the firmware and cannot find the deal for the free 6 months of netflix & Hulu. Someone mentioned that there is a phone number I can call?
bump
johnBlanker is offline  
post #3531 of 4268 Old 01-06-2014, 04:48 AM
Member
 
shawnb44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

I just bought the 60 inch version of this tv (r520-non 3d). There is something strange I noticed after watching a blu ray movie. At the end of the movie when credits are rolling there is quite a bit of stuttering, what's the deal with that? Btw, I hooked up my computer to the tv and watched the blu ray movie "beyond the pines". Is it because when you hook up your pc via hdmi, you can only get up to 60hz?
shawnb44 is offline  
post #3532 of 4268 Old 01-06-2014, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
Adudas0817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm a little late to the party, but here is my bias lighting for the 60" 550

Adudas0817 is offline  
post #3533 of 4268 Old 01-06-2014, 06:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Teremei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 118
wow that really lights up the wall. Which one is it? I was thinking of getting just one on amazon but was thinking it wouldn't be enough. After seeing that maybe it will.

How do you like it? Does the light on the wall annoy you while you are watching tv?

Sony KDL-70R550A
Denon x4000 (omg)
Klipsch RF-62IIs
Klipsch RC-62II
Klipsch RS-41IIs
SVS PC12-NSD + Klipsch RW12d
Teremei is offline  
post #3534 of 4268 Old 01-06-2014, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post

Hey guys, I updated the firmware and cannot find the deal for the free 6 months of netflix & Hulu. Someone mentioned that there is a phone number I can call?
bump

 

Try calling sony support.  This is one technical issue that (probably) isn't beyond them.


WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #3535 of 4268 Old 01-06-2014, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
pvm25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Call Sony support. You will find number from Settings/Setup/Contact Sony. I am not home so can't give you exact path. It happened to me as well. Sony has removed promotional app from recent firmware update. There is third party company who is sending promotional code directly to your email once you register the TV. I got mine that way. 

pvm25 is offline  
post #3536 of 4268 Old 01-06-2014, 10:17 AM
Member
 
e268's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I registered my 550A to day, and received a coupon code from Sony. Can this be used for 1 year of free Neflix?
e268 is offline  
post #3537 of 4268 Old 01-06-2014, 10:22 AM
Member
 
sukh77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by e268 View Post

I registered my 550A to day, and received a coupon code from Sony. Can this be used for 1 year of free Neflix?

Did the coupon not include how long it was valid for?


Sony KDL-70R550A

Sony STR-DN1030

sukh77 is offline  
post #3538 of 4268 Old 01-06-2014, 09:13 PM
Newbie
 
Adudas0817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teremei View Post

wow that really lights up the wall. Which one is it? I was thinking of getting just one on amazon but was thinking it wouldn't be enough. After seeing that maybe it will.

How do you like it? Does the light on the wall annoy you while you are watching tv?

I bought this one from amazon - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00390GFJS/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

It works really well, and I like how much it lights up the wall.  I usually don't have any lights on in my living room so the brightness also allows me to see drinks on the coffee table.

Adudas0817 is offline  
post #3539 of 4268 Old 01-07-2014, 03:52 AM
Member
 
aviecena2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLcMama0202 View Post


There has to be some android level workaround.

Dude, for Miracast

R550A only support XPeria devices whereas for W series,I believe it support all android smartphone

I tested miracast on 60R550A and 55W804A(or 802 at your side) with Samsung Note 2,v4.3

As expected R550A fail to connect (similar symptom as other users). Phone detect TV but registration fail

For W804A,it work well

aviecena2020 is offline  
post #3540 of 4268 Old 01-08-2014, 05:46 AM
Newbie
 
lamouchr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowlopho View Post


I did it with my iPhone directly to the tv. Similar to how you do it with chromecast

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by pvm25 View Post
 

Using Chromecast? or something else?..I haven't played with all the settings yet. I know TV supports Miracast but I am not even sure if my Gaaxy S3 or my wife's iPhone 5 is Miracast enabled devices.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowlopho View Post


I did it with my iPhone directly to the tv. Similar to how you do it with chromecast

 

Can you please let me know how you did this? Trying with the iphone with no success.

lamouchr is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Kdl 60r550a 60 Inch 120hz 1080p Led Hdtv Black , Sony Bravia Kdl 50r550a 50 Class Full Hd 3d Led Lcd Internet Tv , Sony Kdl 70r550a 70 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - 50r550a by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off