Official 2013 Sony R550A series TVs (KDL-xxR550A) --- 50", 60", and 70" - Page 52 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 04:38 AM
Member
 
wmassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Alexandria VA
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

I have the 70 inch - trying to improve the black levels. Is there anyway to create and save 2 custom picture settings - one for day and the other for nighttime viewing and call them up easily? What is the best setting for a very bright room?

wmassie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 06:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 566

What I'm finding peculiar is that there are settings that seem to change the sensitivity to changes in red & green.

 

One batch of settings will be half the time perfect with faces and half the time with glowing lavendar lips and tongue.  (Depending on the channel).

 

Another batch of settings will be 90% of the time perfect with faces and 10% of the time completely botch the lips and tongue thing.


No @#$%tard zone.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #1533 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 06:45 AM
Member
 
gimmesomemore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm eagerly awaiting my replacement 70" set. Current set has clouding/flash lighting that I cannot live with, as it shows up on the bottom of letterboxed content. cI want to love this model, and hope that my second set does not disappoint. Any current users experiencing similar issues? Hoping its just a bad unit and not a widespread problem.check out the pic
gimmesomemore is offline  
post #1534 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Do the R550's switch your settings when you go to watch 3D content? I just read that the Vizio switch to vivid whenever 3D is detected, you then have switch it back to what you really want. That will annoy me to no end, I want to calibrate it and forget it, I don't want to have to keep switch color modes all the time. My wife will hate it as well, she doesn't want to have to do settings, just turn on and go.

PSN ID: RollTide1017
rolltide1017 is online now  
post #1535 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post

Do the R550's switch your settings when you go to watch 3D content? I just read that the Vizio switch to vivid whenever 3D is detected, you then have switch it back to what you really want. That will annoy me to no end, I want to calibrate it and forget it, I don't want to have to keep switch color modes all the time. My wife will hate it as well, she doesn't want to have to do settings, just turn on and go.

many 3D sets brighten when in 3D mode to compensate for the tinted glasses. With most, including the Sony iirc, the picture settings for 3D can be adjusted separately, but only while the set is actually in 3D mode. This lets you save preferred settings for both 2D and 3D and the set will automatically switch between those "sets of settings" when appropriate. On my LG I have the backlight setting at 80 for 3D and about 35 for 2D, other settings are pretty much the same for both modes.

The 2D settings for most sets are just too dim when using the tinted 3D glasses so this is actually a good thing, although it does mean having to set up different settings one time for 3D.

I don't know if the Vizio is actually forcing Vivid when in 3D or just auto-brightening. I do know most other brands don't force any particular "pic mode" when in 3D, they just brighten up.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #1536 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bama29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post

What I'm finding peculiar is that there are settings that seem to change the sensitivity tochanges in red & green.

One batch of settings will be half the time perfect with faces and half the time with glowing lavendar lips and tongue.  (Depending on the channel).

Another batch of settings will be 90% of the time perfect with faces and 10% of the time completely botch the lips and tongue thing.

What you are describing drives me nuts as well. It is all about the source. What is even more frustrating is that a source Like CBS or NBC does not remain consistent even from show to show. I guess the best you can do is adjust your set to look properly using something like Digital Video Essentials, AVS709, Disney WOW, or Spears and Munsil disks and then sit back and enjoy the view...
Bama29 is offline  
post #1537 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
mp06011999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmesomemore View Post

...

Mine has that too, but not that bad. I've contemplated exchanging it, but given that the Vizio was FAR worse and so is your's, I figure I better stick with what I got. I tried taking pics to post like you did, but can't get them to come out right.

I have a little clouding in the upper left and a spot almost dead center. None viewable except in an all black screen. I believe this is indicative of LCD.

The Vizio I tried had definitive spots all around the frame.

Oh, and if my window blinds are open (bright room) you can't see the clouding at all.
mp06011999 is offline  
post #1538 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Ace King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So would it be safe to assume that the R550A models have clouding issues? I understand all LED-LCD TVs are susceptible to this problem, but in general is Samsung better with clouding? Thanks.
Ace King is offline  
post #1539 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bama29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace King View Post

So would it be safe to assume that the R550A models have clouding issues? I understand all LED-LCD TVs are susceptible to this problem, but in general is Samsung better with clouding? Thanks.

No. Clouding problems in the R550 are the exception rather than the rule... My 70" has no discernible clouding at any ambient light level with the settings I normally watch with. If you place the set on eye searing back light levels, then yes you can make the set show some clouds but certainly not any more than the normal LCD/LED.
Bama29 is offline  
post #1540 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post

Do the R550's switch your settings when you go to watch 3D content? I just read that the Vizio switch to vivid whenever 3D is detected, you then have switch it back to what you really want. That will annoy me to no end, I want to calibrate it and forget it, I don't want to have to keep switch color modes all the time. My wife will hate it as well, she doesn't want to have to do settings, just turn on and go.

many 3D sets brighten when in 3D mode to compensate for the tinted glasses.

 

Yeah, more specifically though: each eye is actually throwing away half the scanlines, hence half the total lightoutput.  Frankly, I'm still not completely sure what the Sony model for this one is yet....I forgot to check.


No @#$%tard zone.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #1541 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace King View Post

So would it be safe to assume that the R550A models have clouding issues? I understand all LED-LCD TVs are susceptible to this problem, but in general is Samsung better with clouding? Thanks.

 

Trying to pin down just WHAT a "Samsung" is can be a little tough.  At least in the past, they've had an extensive panel lottery that many seem to think was the worst in the industry.


No @#$%tard zone.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #1542 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Ace King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to share my experience, I bought the 70-inch R550A from Walmart online for $2199 on June 30th. Yesterday, SEKO (Walmart's carrier) came to my house to deliver the TV, but when I went outside to look at the package, the box was badly damaged. It had one corner smashed in, and about 1/5th of the box was ripped open, and you could see the inside packing material was broken in few places, too. I refused the delivery and sent it back. I can't believe they would even attempt to deliver such a package. I've contacted Walmart and they are sending me a replacement. The ETA is about two weeks out. I will post my unpacking and setup experience with some pics when it gets here. Hopefully the TV will survive the delivery. Walmart is slow.
Ace King is offline  
post #1543 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 12:22 PM
Member
 
gimmesomemore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The sad thing is the backlight is turned down, on this Sony. I am really hoping the next unit is great and this is just an anomaly. Other than the clouding, I am very pleased with the set. While it's true that some light clouding is probably inherent in the LCD/LED technology, I find this amount to be completely unacceptable. I have 2 sammy LED's, a sammy LCD, a Sharp LCD, a Toshiba LCD, and a no-name LCD (no I'm not crazy, I have a house and cottage to fill with panels! !), and none have clouding that is discernible. Oddly enough, my 5 year old Sharp had some banding when I first bought it. You could only faintly see the bands in a blank screen, but somehow it seems to have evened out over the years and I cannot see it at all now! Will report back once I have picked up the replacement unit this weekend.
gimmesomemore is offline  
post #1544 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 01:32 PM
Member
 
letsgetitstarted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
quick question guys, i just hooked up a new genie from direct tv to my new tv.

what settings should we have as far as on the direct tv options? only check 1080p? or also check 1080i?

also native should be left on or off?

who would do the better job of up converting?

i have it all hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V675 7.2 Channel Network 3D AV Receiver with Airplay in case this matters?


thanks guys!!
letsgetitstarted is offline  
post #1545 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 566

Alright.  Hmmmm....

 

In the settings file, I've noticed that everyone prefers "CineMotion" to be "Auto 2".

 

Is the CineMotion setting a 24fps only issue?  It seems to apply to cable tv, but I'm beginning to wonder if I'm getting a psycho-somatic response here because "Auto 1" seems to work best.


No @#$%tard zone.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #1546 of 4220 Old 07-11-2013, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 566

By the way, in the settings file, if you hate the thick diagonal lines that google likes to draw through the cells I want to be un-editable, then please feel free to turn off your viewing of "protected ranges".

 

You can do this by navigating to "View -> Protected Ranges"


No @#$%tard zone.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #1547 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 03:53 AM
Senior Member
 
HGN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunny Central Florida
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Putting Cinemotion in Auto1 gives the Soap Opera Effect to filmed content. It truly does smooth out motion, and IMHO does it really well. Most feel too well, I suppose as most forums like this seem to decry the Soap Opera Effect.

I actually mostly leave it set to Auto1, but like to play around with it. As I watch an old movie or filmed TV show and put it on, it makes the program seem like it was shot live or on videotape, as the motion is so smooth. I've found a few applications where this effect enhances the presentation: one is with the old DARK SHADOWS movies. As that series was shot daily on videotape, the film always looked "funny" being on film. Now I can use the Soap Opera Effect and make the old movie look like the TV series.

Another application that works well is any material that's supposed to represent live-TV - like scenes in THE CHINA SYNDROME, for example. Seeing these with the SOE enhances their reality appearance. Bottom line is that it;s nice that we can turn it on and off. In fact, a dedicated button on a remote would really be nice.

Harry
HGN2001 is offline  
post #1548 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 07:00 AM
Member
 
frisko4one5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question guys,

Do any of you notice a slight line on each sides of the tv by the bezel that are like maybe a centimeter wide where the picture doesn't completely meet the edge? Is that normal of the tv?
frisko4one5 is offline  
post #1549 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
HGN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunny Central Florida
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by frisko4one5 View Post

Question guys,

Do any of you notice a slight line on each sides of the tv by the bezel that are like maybe a centimeter wide where the picture doesn't completely meet the edge? Is that normal of the tv?

It's not on mine...
HGN2001 is offline  
post #1550 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bama29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by frisko4one5 View Post

Question guys,

Do any of you notice a slight line on each sides of the tv by the bezel that are like maybe a centimeter wide where the picture doesn't completely meet the edge? Is that normal of the tv?

Not on mine. You might check the source. I have my set adjusted in the Display Area to show "Full Pixel" as well. (Full Pixel Displays pictures in their original size)
Bama29 is offline  
post #1551 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama29 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by frisko4one5 View Post

Question guys,

Do any of you notice a slight line on each sides of the tv by the bezel that are like maybe a centimeter wide where the picture doesn't completely meet the edge? Is that normal of the tv?

Not on mine. You might check the source. I have my set adjusted in the Display Area to show "Full Pixel" as well. (Full Pixel Displays pictures in their original size)

 

Hmmm....  There is no aspect ratio conversion that would result in only a centimeter wide pillar boxing that I can think of (anyone else heard of that: a centimeter pillar box?).  Even an auto-corrected 4:3 showing a crocked 16:9 corrected back up to 16:9 by (say) FIOS trying to make everything HD before sent to the TV.

 

I agree: do check that your various devices aren't trying to pre-stretch anything in an odd way, but I suspect you might have an overly aggressive mask applied to the panel.  Frankly, I'm afraid to check mine, because when I checked my last set I discovered that along the bottom I had an ever so slight blowing upward from the bottom and after that it was all I could see.  Maybe they're trying to squash edge bleed effects.  But that was along the top and bottom.

 

Wish I could help more.


No @#$%tard zone.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #1552 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
mp06011999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by frisko4one5 View Post

Question guys,

Do any of you notice a slight line on each sides of the tv by the bezel that are like maybe a centimeter wide where the picture doesn't completely meet the edge? Is that normal of the tv?

Okay don't laugh but.... At first I thought I had that as well and then noticed that it was actually light from the window bouncing off the tiny inside edge of the frame.
mp06011999 is offline  
post #1553 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 09:24 AM
Member
 
letsgetitstarted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any one have recommendations on additional 3d glasses?

also, who here is running direct tv genie with their tv? need help on the settings of the genie.

thanks
letsgetitstarted is offline  
post #1554 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Does Cinemotion settings effect TV broadcasts as well as DVD's?
andy sullivan is online now  
post #1555 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
pjampala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone had any lucking using Exfat formatter harddrive on r550's?
pjampala is offline  
post #1556 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
HGN2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunny Central Florida
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post

Does Cinemotion settings effect TV broadcasts as well as DVD's?

Yes, if the material is film-based (or 24fps material). I tuned into a CBS showing of CRIMINAL MINDS the other night and was fooling around with the Cinemotion settings. When I set it to Auto1, the show looked like it was produced on videotape.

Cinemotion will not have as pronounced an effect on live TV such as reality shows or news broadcasts.

Harry
HGN2001 is offline  
post #1557 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 01:09 PM
Member
 
eddiegorniakjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
7-12-13 Sony on ebay has the 70" sony for $2124.99.
eddiegorniakjr is offline  
post #1558 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
The owners manual recommends 2 so that's where I set it. I always do what I'm told. Right dear?
andy sullivan is online now  
post #1559 of 4220 Old 07-12-2013, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mp06011999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I added a switch to the mix so that I could run everything through the Darbee. That means that I am most definitely constantly tweaking the picture settings now that EVERYTHING is on one HMDI input. No more having each source having its own baseline.

There is no AVR in the mix - just some bedside wireless speakers (his & hers). Oh wait, I mean hers and hers. Sorry dear. lol
mp06011999 is offline  
post #1560 of 4220 Old 07-13-2013, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
CLK AMG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Control For HDMI does not work with FAT PS3. frown.gif
CLK AMG is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Kdl 60r550a 60 Inch 120hz 1080p Led Hdtv Black , Sony Bravia Kdl 50r550a 50 Class Full Hd 3d Led Lcd Internet Tv , Sony Kdl 70r550a 70 Inch Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off