Vizio screen shot.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-10-2013, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mrcaptainbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The dog bone 'accidentally' flew into the Vizio screen and now it looks like it has a bullet hole in it. I doubt JB Weld will do any good. Is it possible for me to replace the screen? The old tv's with the picture tube were no problem, but I have yet to delve into the 'new' stuff.
mrcaptainbob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-10-2013, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
indept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deptford,Nj.
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 57
OUCH eek.gif
indept is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-12-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mrcaptainbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, ouch is as fine a descriptor as anything I've come up with so far!!biggrin.gif Are new panels available for these kinds of tv's?
mrcaptainbob is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-13-2013, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Is it possible for me to replace the screen?

It' absolutely possible, however it's normally not worth it. Since you didn't post a model number, we can't tell you exactly. However you are not going to have an easy time finding a brand new screen, and if you do, it will likely cost 300-400 dollars.
sitlet is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-16-2013, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mrcaptainbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, Sitlet. The info is:
Model: Vizio VL470M
Part: 102 400 800 22
Serial: LUKEHBK3800286
Thanks for the help.
mrcaptainbob is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-18-2013, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mrcaptainbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where can I scare up a new screen?
mrcaptainbob is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-19-2013, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Ebay.
sitlet is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-20-2013, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mrcaptainbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Sitlet. I followed your suggestion and found quite a few 470's there. But there always seems to be different characters before or after the 470. Do I need to match the exact model number? That is, VL470M ? Or is 470 M close enough?
mrcaptainbob is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-21-2013, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm not too familiar with those models. However, I would assume 470 M is the same as VL470M.
sitlet is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio , Lcd Hdtv

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off