Official 2013 Sony W802A series LED TVs (KDL-xxW802A) --- 47" and 55" --- Owner's Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 1202 Old 10-24-2013, 06:54 AM
Newbie
 
mtamborra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by neXo View Post


Actually it is 42" according to my local store's website.

Our variant is a 800a whilst in the U.S it is 802a

http://www.jbhifi.com.au/tv-lcd-led-plasma/sony/42-inch-w800a-full-hd-3d-smart-led-tv-sku-407652/

 

I couldn't find your TV in the "input lag database"

 

http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/

 

But I did find some reviews on it from owners and they seem to say it has no lag issues with gaming, see below link

 

http://www.jbhifionline.com.au/plasma-lcd-tvs/tvs-led-lcd-42-50/sony-bravia-kdl42w800a-42-full-hd-3d-smart-led-lcd-tv/685017

mtamborra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 1202 Old 10-25-2013, 02:11 AM
Newbie
 
neXo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtamborra View Post

I couldn't find your TV in the "input lag database"

http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/

But I did find some reviews on it from owners and they seem to say it has no lag issues with gaming, see below link

http://www.jbhifionline.com.au/plasma-lcd-tvs/tvs-led-lcd-42-50/sony-bravia-kdl42w800a-42-full-hd-3d-smart-led-lcd-tv/685017

Thank you for that.. I actually took the plunge this morning and bought the set hopefully will arrive tomorrow smile.gif

I was under the impression that the 800a is the 802a equivalent? Is the 802a really 6ms input lag or 16?
neXo is offline  
post #903 of 1202 Old 10-26-2013, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
mtamborra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I can't get this TV to output sound to my stereo/speakers.  I don't see RCA out anywhere.  I tried with the optical cable but no sound.  I also tried headphone jack to RCA in on the stereo.  I set it to audio out in headphone mode and set the main to "audio system"...no matter what I try I cannot get it to output sound externally.  

 

I also pulled an ipod to RCA in on my stereo receiver to make sure it worked and it does.

 

My cable box is connected to the TV via HDMI, I also tried netflix 5.1 sound movies and still no output

 

I'm sure I'm doing something wrong.

 

Here is my stereo, it is kind of old and it says it has "digital optical output" which makes no sense, shouldn't it be an input? why would you do optical out from a receiver to something else, doesnt everything go IN to the receiver?  So I have a feeling optical cable is not an option with this current setup, but shouldn't i atleast be able to get sound through RCA cables?  I'm not sure where the RCA outputs are, I only see video 1 (the typical red/yellow/white) and component video, red/blue/green white/red....and that headphone jack

 

http://reviews.cnet.com/audio-shelf-systems/sony-mhc-rxd7av-mini/4507-6721_7-31292578.html

 

I think the TV sound is actually better than what reviews have said, but I still want to be able to output it through my speakers.  It hsould just be simple RCA out from the TV to RCA in on the stereo right?  Please help

mtamborra is offline  
post #904 of 1202 Old 10-26-2013, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
mtamborra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So I got the sound to work from stereo with headphone out jack to RCA in on the stereo but its only putting sound out of the left side, anyway to get it to do it for the right side?  Its a simple cable that does out from headphone jack into the red and white inputs in the stereo, but it seems to be forced in some kind of mono mode

mtamborra is offline  
post #905 of 1202 Old 10-26-2013, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
mtamborra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

figure it out by hitting some DSP button on my stereo remote, ty for reading, think i should look into a new sound system but tapped out from this TV atm, lol

mtamborra is offline  
post #906 of 1202 Old 10-26-2013, 10:34 AM
Newbie
 
mtamborra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Picture mode questions:

 

As far as scene select goes (cinema, game, auto, etc), are these over-ridden by the other picture settings (custom/standard/vivid)?

 

I'm kinda of confused as how to set scenes for different input and how to for example select cinema 2 instead of cinema one, scene select doesnt' list that or custom mode

mtamborra is offline  
post #907 of 1202 Old 10-26-2013, 06:47 PM
Newbie
 
neXo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was under the impression that the 800a is the 802a equivalent? Is the 802a really 6ms input lag or 16?
neXo is offline  
post #908 of 1202 Old 10-27-2013, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
mtamborra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicmafia View Post

PS The built in speakers sound like complete muddy crap out of the box so for those of you who don't have external speakers, you may want to tweak the equalizer settings drastically. Out of the box it's so muddy in the mid-range that I could hardly understand what anyone was saying, everything was just drowned out and middy but after much tweaking, it actually sounds pretty good now and I can hear crisp dialog even at lower volumes.


SOUND:

Standard
Booster Off

Equalizer:

100Hz +5
200Hz -2
500Hz -4
1K -2
5K +6
10K +8

 

 

Thanks so much!  I tried watching a movie with the default settings and could barely hear the voices.  I tweaked the sound the way you have here (not thinking it would do much) and WOW, it made a big difference, and voices sound great now.  THANK YOU!

mtamborra is offline  
post #909 of 1202 Old 10-27-2013, 05:18 PM
Member
 
j-rod21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Epic for vids. Epic.

Once I got the 55", i noticed that Call of Duty BO2 is avai in 3d! It's a new experience bro. That and Assassin's Creed 3. Both are worth checking out. And yea, instant response in the Sony. I had the Viz M60 but returned it after playing a FPS on it. You will not be bummed.
j-rod21 is offline  
post #910 of 1202 Old 10-27-2013, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
neXo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the 800a (our Aus model same as 802a) and I'm quite blown away by the PQ.

I also have a 65" D8000 Samsung smartTV and the picture is on par if not slightly better regarding PQ and from quick testing of m2ts demo samples seems better with motion. Dialled in some settings from a user on here I find it a bit dark in a well lit room but I'm sure they're mostly for night time viewing. I will have to play around a little more.

My daughter is watching Madagascar 3 on it atm and it looks great.

Any mt2s demo's I can download that are sport orientated available on the net? Would like to check out football (soccer) mostly. If anyone can help I'll greatly appreciate it
neXo is offline  
post #911 of 1202 Old 10-28-2013, 04:50 PM
Member
 
rich2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I guess this is a tip for people who want to get somewhat of an acceptable black level out of this thing. Set the "Scene Select Sync" to ON, when you are on Cinema mode. It seems to do the same thing as Light Sensor, but you don't loose color and contrast.

With this setting, the set looks pretty much identical to my 7 year old Sony KDL40V2500

I guess I am bitter because I spent over $1000 and the tv doesn't really look any better than what I had.

I'm starting to think the ST60 might have been the better choice. I didn't realize how important black levels are to me.
rich2k4 is offline  
post #912 of 1202 Old 10-28-2013, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
neXo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The panel I have I find the blacks are nearly as good as my D8000..Maybe I was lucky and got a good panel.. I got no ghosting or clouding what so ever either unlike my d8000 I went through 9 of them before I got one that is 100%
neXo is offline  
post #913 of 1202 Old 10-30-2013, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
testgenesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, got this TV the other day and im new to tv's alltogether but especially new to sony's and some of the terminoligy in the settings, got a few questions id really appreciate if someone could help me out with

1) Is this a native or "true" 120hz set? Or is it only in 120hz "mode" when i have motionflow on? And when its off its just 60hz

2) For the backlighting ive read for some sony's the best setting is actually to put it down to 0 and put power saving to low, is this accurate? currently i have the BL set to 3

3) I see in the pro settings i can select between "Full" and "Limited" color spaces. So right now i have it set to Limited for my cable box (right?) and full for my PC, PS3 and 360 (Which i have all set to full in the settings) As long as i have full set on the device as well as the TV, this is a better option than limited right?

4) For this LED motion mode or whatever its called, I dont have this option in my TV. I only see light sensor and gamma and all the other options under advanced. Any reason why this could be? A setting i have? Or some strange kind of Defect?

Thanks all, hope someone could help me out
testgenesis is offline  
post #914 of 1202 Old 10-31-2013, 05:07 PM
Member
 
CanonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Got this TV (again) and it has a dead pixel and 4 flashing blocks of pixels on the left side in a row, which appeared after I tried flashing the screen to get rid of the dead pixel.

If I return it I'll have to wait a few days to get a replacement. Overall not impressed.

Also, how do I update the TV?
CanonFo is offline  
post #915 of 1202 Old 11-01-2013, 06:51 PM
Member
 
CanonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Are there any LEDS with better black levels / off-angle viewing, or are they all pretty much this bad?
CanonFo is offline  
post #916 of 1202 Old 11-03-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanonFo View Post

Are there any LEDS with better black levels / off-angle viewing, or are they all pretty much this bad?

Sounds like you should've gotten a plasma if those were your expectations.
Cla55clown is online now  
post #917 of 1202 Old 11-03-2013, 04:18 PM
Member
 
CanonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The screen looks blue off angle and the blacks are very greyish head on. It didn't look that way in the store.

Color is off on this TV too, comparing next to my Dell Ultrasharp 2709w. Any dark image needs to blend blacks together for a big blob.
CanonFo is offline  
post #918 of 1202 Old 11-04-2013, 10:13 PM
Newbie
 
neXo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys can someone please share their optimal settings for viewing sport? Champions league games are on tomorrow on FTA here in Australia in 1080i but I need some settings. The default ones look quite bad
neXo is offline  
post #919 of 1202 Old 11-05-2013, 02:54 AM
Member
 
Sehej Rana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anybody facing problem of light leaking/clouding at the corners on this set?
Sehej Rana is offline  
post #920 of 1202 Old 11-05-2013, 03:01 PM
Member
 
userdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the digitaltrends review
Our other main concern with the W802A was its performance in the dark. Without digital assistance, the panel’s edge-lights create a noticeable glow, displaying flares at the corners that invade the image. We were able to temper these issues by activating the TV’s “Advanced Contrast Enhancer,” which created much deeper blacks



I think it is a very common issue with this technology
userdude is offline  
post #921 of 1202 Old 11-06-2013, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Egersett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey y'all, I'm looking at getting a new HDTV of some sort, previously had an old Vizio E-Series and thinking of upgrading to the W802A. I've looked at a decent amount of TV's including the Sammy 7100 but am curious what your thoughts are on this TV in particular - 55W802A. It's stuck out to me so far, but is the picture fairly decent at least? I hear complaints about light bleeding out the sides and some black level issues… I'm generally a sucker for a good picture, but granted I was satisfied and used to my old 4ish year old Vizio, so it should be a step up right? Ha.
Egersett is offline  
post #922 of 1202 Old 11-13-2013, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Ben Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey all....wanted an opinion on this tv.. I am a big gamer and want a good tv i currently have a Toshiba REGZA 46SV670U and was looking to upgrade for my new xbox one that im getting in a few weeks. I already tried the panasonic s60 well that was way too dim for my games so i took it back and got the VIZIO m series well that tv sucked it had had a really bad screen door effect and the light bleed from the corners of the tv was really bad. Why do they not make full array led's anymore? My old toshiba never had any of these problems. So i wanted some opinions from people that own the tv. The guy at my local electronics store said its by far the best picture in the store. Which was the tv i was leaning twords to begin with. So im almost positive im gonna pick this tv up next month when i have enough money to afford it cause its a little out of my price range but i will pay more for a better tv if i have to. Just looking for some opinions guys. And if any of you don't like the tv can u suggest a better one.smile.gif

Thanks everyone smile.gif
Ben Thompson is offline  
post #923 of 1202 Old 11-13-2013, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
scohen158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ben,

I've had mine for two months approximately. I enjoy the television and think it's a great all around TV blacks could be a touch better but has great response time for gaming I like the passive 3D. It's also great for sports and movies overall.

Two months in I have no regrets. I'm sure the 900 is better but not a fan of active 3D.

If you get it let me know how you like it.
scohen158 is offline  
post #924 of 1202 Old 11-13-2013, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Ben Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks scohen158... And i was curious do you need to have certain features off to have the low input lag of 18ms or whatever it is... I was :)Just wondering i didn't even buy the tv yet smile.gif
Ben Thompson is offline  
post #925 of 1202 Old 11-16-2013, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Ben Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
/\ /\ /\ no one has an answer to my question? I've been scouring the internet and cant find answer if anyone could answer it would be very helpful.

Seems this thread is dead frown.gif not sure if thats a good sign for this tv or not.

Thanks
Ben Thompson is offline  
post #926 of 1202 Old 11-16-2013, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
scohen158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Thompson View Post

/\ /\ /\ no one has an answer to my question? I've been scouring the internet and cant find answer if anyone could answer it would be very helpful.

Seems this thread is dead frown.gif not sure if thats a good sign for this tv or not.

Thanks
pretty sure you need game mode on I feel like one of the reviews explained how to get to the 6ms input lag I may be wrong on the number.
scohen158 is offline  
post #927 of 1202 Old 11-16-2013, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Ben Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is was really wondering was in game mode, do you get the horrible flashlighting effect cause it turns off things like dynamic contrast and such.
Ben Thompson is offline  
post #928 of 1202 Old 11-18-2013, 06:41 PM
Newbie
 
steves87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys. 1st post. Thinking about picking up this tv. Recently bought a ps4 and it no longer supports being able to watch video files off a USB.

So my question is, does this tv allow that? And if so which formats?

Cheers, thanks.
steves87 is offline  
post #929 of 1202 Old 11-19-2013, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Spelbreker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hate game mode to be honest, it makes the overal picture quality worse.http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-33199_7-57558145-221/what-is-game-mode/
So i'm wondering how many details would i lose when using the game mode option on this hdtv when i decide to buy it. Does it match the other picture settings or are the differences visible. Another question is about the brightness can you actually turn the automatic brightness limiter off or isn't that possible. And how white looks white on this tv, is it equal to the Samsung led tv's.
Spelbreker is offline  
post #930 of 1202 Old 11-19-2013, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
neXo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I run game mode on the ps4 and the colours are amazing once you calibrate it properly.

Once you get it I'll give you the settings I have
neXo is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Kdl 47w802a 47 Class Full Hd 3d Led Lcd Internet Tv , Sony Kdl 55w802a 55 Class Full Hd 3d Led Lcd Internet Tv , Sony Bravia 40inch Led Tv 3d Support Bravia Hx750 Kdl 40hx750
Gear in this thread - Hx750 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off