Official 2013 Sony W802A series LED TVs (KDL-xxW802A) --- 47" and 55" --- Owner's Thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 03:03 PM
Member
 
HfxHiFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: East Coast, Canada
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantaloup View Post


I haven't used it myself but ARC is supposed to be supported on HDMI input 1. You will need to connect your device to that port.

Thanks for the info Cantaloup

Ill give it a try when I get home


XBL GamerTag - Hali Hoodlum
HfxHiFi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 04:17 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18

I have myTV connected to my sound bar, Sony HT-CT150 and whenever I turn up the volume, the volume also increases on the TV speakers! The setting is on Audio System, but I just can't shake off the TV volume whenever I turn up the volume on my soundbar. They both work together!

Any tips on disabling it?


Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim

KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #993 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Cantaloup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristinaAlexis6 View Post

I have myTV connected to my sound bar, Sony HT-CT150 and whenever I turn up the volume, the volume also increases on the TV speakers! The setting is on Audio System, but I just can't shake off the TV volume whenever I turn up the volume on my soundbar. They both work together!
Any tips on disabling it?

How are you connecting the TV to the sound bar (HDMI, optical, headphone jack)? Does it do that for all inputs or only TV?
Cantaloup is offline  
post #994 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 06:57 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantaloup View Post


How are you connecting the TV to the sound bar (HDMI, optical, headphone jack)? Does it do that for all inputs or only TV?


I always use an HDMI. It also did it when I was watching cable, thats hooked up to basic cables and I still get the volume working both ways.


Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim

KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #995 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Cantaloup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristinaAlexis6 View Post


I always use an HDMI. It also did it when I was watching cable, thats hooked up to basic cables and I still get the volume working both ways.

First make sure you are connecting the ARC port on the TV (HDMI 1) to the ARC port on the sound bar (TV OUT). If that is OK, I would check into the settings on the sound bar related to ARC and Bravia Sync. Turning these off or on may fix the issue. It's hard to know exactly what needs to be done without having the same setup and being able to experiment with the settings.
Cantaloup is offline  
post #996 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 08:32 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantaloup View Post


First make sure you are connecting the ARC port on the TV (HDMI 1) to the ARC port on the sound bar (TV OUT). If that is OK, I would check into the settings on the sound bar related to ARC and Bravia Sync. Turning these off or on may fix the issue. It's hard to know exactly what needs to be done without having the same setup and being able to experiment with the settings.


wanna know something weird? I switched the speakers to TV Speakers, and then I adjusted the volume with my other remote (sound bar) and it worked! I no longer see the TV speakers going up in Volume, just my soundbar volume. I think it's fixed?


Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim

KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #997 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 08:58 PM
Member
 
HfxHiFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: East Coast, Canada
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

So I tried just using the HDMI alone for sound, but I couldnt get anything..had to plug the optical back in and sound works fine, I was wondering could it be the side HDMI #2 with the HML, or def need to be HDMI #1 ?


XBL GamerTag - Hali Hoodlum
HfxHiFi is offline  
post #998 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 09:23 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HfxHiFi View Post
 

So I tried just using the HDMI alone for sound, but I couldnt get anything..had to plug the optical back in and sound works fine, I was wondering could it be the side HDMI #2 with the HML, or def need to be HDMI #1 ?


That's a lil weird, cos my current HDMI is plugged into 2 as well. I never tried 1, I chose 2 cos that's the way my last TV was set up.


Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim

KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #999 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristinaAlexis6 View Post


That's a lil weird, cos my current HDMI is plugged into 2 as well. I never tried 1, I chose 2 cos that's the way my last TV was set up.

I see your enjoying your new TV , miss Bubblebutt Godess. tongue.gif
AVfile likes this.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #1000 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 10:22 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post


I see your enjoying your new TV , miss Bubblebutt Godess. tongue.gif


yep, definitely :) You sound like a man know knows how to treat a lady :)

AVfile likes this.

Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim

KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #1001 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 10:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristinaAlexis6 View Post


yep, definitely smile.gif You sound like a man know knows how to treat a lady smile.gif


Your making me blush , gracias.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #1002 of 1202 Old 12-13-2013, 11:23 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latinoheat View Post


Your making me blush , gracias.


sure, anytime! :)~


Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim

KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #1003 of 1202 Old 12-14-2013, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
neXo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys any calibrated Settings for HD FTA sports? More so football (soccer)?

Would be really appreciated
neXo is offline  
post #1004 of 1202 Old 12-15-2013, 12:08 AM
Member
 
Sehej Rana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok! here is a quick update just got my replacement set from Sony yesterday after waiting for almost a month. The good news being that my 47" W802 set was replaced by the 47"W850 the difference being that the latter has triluminos technology.
Sehej Rana is offline  
post #1005 of 1202 Old 12-15-2013, 01:32 AM
Newbie
 
Iron Curtains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys there seems to be a dead or stuck pixel on the top left of my screen.... it is so small but it bugs me now especially that I have noticed it. Anyone have a way to test on the 802a if it is stuck or indeed dead?

I am technically within the return period at best buy ( i have 45 days with elite plus), but I would rather not deal with it

Edit: Looking at it more, it definitely looks dead. And from what I understand sony doesnt replace one pixel? it has to be 3 or more? Fml.... I really hate exchanging it at best buy after almost 30 days .
Iron Curtains is offline  
post #1006 of 1202 Old 12-15-2013, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Sasquatch321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Curtains View Post

Guys there seems to be a dead or stuck pixel on the top left of my screen.... it is so small but it bugs me now especially that I have noticed it. Anyone have a way to test on the 802a if it is stuck or indeed dead?

I am technically within the return period at best buy ( i have 45 days with elite plus), but I would rather not deal with it

Edit: Looking at it more, it definitely looks dead. And from what I understand sony doesnt replace one pixel? it has to be 3 or more? Fml.... I really hate exchanging it at best buy after almost 30 days .

It is completely normal to have a dead pixel or two.

Gamertag: Elder Sasquatch
Sasquatch321 is offline  
post #1007 of 1202 Old 12-16-2013, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Kurtangletn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm pretty tempted to return my Samsung F5300 Plasma for a 47 W802, mainly because of the ABL issues with hockey/hockey video games.

Seems like a lot of people have quality control issues? I really hate returning stuff, especially TVs. Is it really that big of an issue?

Secondly, the low input lag is probably the most appealing, but I'm a bit nervous about the motion coming from Plasmas the past 3 years with exceptional motion. I don't think I'm particularly sensitive to blur but any artifacts or black outlines, etc kill me. Is there any kind of issues like that? Also what options are available for motion with game mode on and how do those impact it?

Is the flicker all that noticeable with motionflow?
Kurtangletn is offline  
post #1008 of 1202 Old 12-16-2013, 10:02 AM
Member
 
rich2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
that will probably be a mistake. The 802's black levels are horrible. Even when compared to other LED's.
rich2k4 is offline  
post #1009 of 1202 Old 12-17-2013, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Kurtangletn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich2k4 View Post

that will probably be a mistake. The 802's black levels are horrible. Even when compared to other LED's.

Really? It's an IPS panel I take it? Suggest any alternatives around the same price?

I'd say a good 2/3rds of my viewing will be sports (mainly hockey) and video games, so while black levels are nice on some games it's largely not that huge of an issue. In fact with a lot of that white levels are even more important, and the flashing and ABL issues on the other sets is really distracting. The rest of my viewing is largely casual TV watching and Netflix. I might sit down and seriously watch a Blu-Ray once every few months.

I'm mostly concerned about motion, I don't think I care as much about blurred details as much as I care about inverse ghosting and a lot of judder.
Kurtangletn is offline  
post #1010 of 1202 Old 12-17-2013, 10:12 PM
Member
 
CanonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
New update. What did it change or add?
CanonFo is offline  
post #1011 of 1202 Old 12-18-2013, 03:14 PM
Newbie
 
rkodey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanonFo View Post

New update. What did it change or add?

Updates are posted here: http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=KDL55W802A&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

Release Date: 12/05/2013
Version: PKG4.000AAA
This software update (version PKG4.000AAA) provides the following benefits:

Improvements over version PKG3.901AAA:
Improved performance and stability of the Internet features

Benefits provided by previous updates and included in version PKG4.000AAA:
Improves stability of the sound output with a Blu-ray Disc™ player using an HDMI connection
rkodey is offline  
post #1012 of 1202 Old 12-19-2013, 08:18 PM
Member
 
CanonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquatch321 View Post



It is completely normal to have a dead pixel or two.

 


I had to exchange a bunch of times and my latest one still has a dead pixel.

Damnit. DAMNIT!
CanonFo is offline  
post #1013 of 1202 Old 12-19-2013, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanonFo View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquatch321 View Post



It is completely normal to have a dead pixel or two.

 


I had to exchange a bunch of times and my latest one still has a dead pixel.

Damnit. DAMNIT!



WOW!

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52Sub - Klipsch Sub 12Surrounds - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360 HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboardVideo processor - Darbee
Latinoheat is offline  
post #1014 of 1202 Old 12-20-2013, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
mystblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ordering this TV today!  it will be replacing a Toshiba 47HL167 - which is a great TV - still works great just a bit bulky think it came out in 2007.  I been thinking about getting the samsung f7500 or 8000 series until I say this guy from Sony.  Saving 800 or so, as I won't even use half the features the samsung has and as low input lag and gaming the number 1 on my list.  I do a lot of my gaming on my computer as well, and the thought of hooking up my PC via a hdmi cable seemed like an option I would want every now and then as well.

 

 

What the TV will be doing mostly is playing console games and watch sports,  I doubt I will ever watch a movie on it or HD tv for that matter other than sports.  We have our living room tv for that as I plan to be back to upgrade that one to hopefully a best in class plasma.  

mystblade is offline  
post #1015 of 1202 Old 12-22-2013, 06:57 PM
Member
 
CanonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How's the 3D on the w900a compared to this? It's active which sucks.... but is it more comfortable than an ST60 for instance?
CanonFo is offline  
post #1016 of 1202 Old 12-22-2013, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
*UFO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanonFo View Post

How's the 3D on the w900a compared to this? It's active which sucks.... but is it more comfortable than an ST60 for instance?

I have had both the w802a and w900a, and the w802a has the best 3d I have ever seen. It is very comfortable to watch and looks sharp and bright. I cant however say the same about my w900a. I got a headache within 10 minuets of watching 3d on it and then never used 3d again frown.gif
*UFO* is offline  
post #1017 of 1202 Old 12-23-2013, 06:54 AM
Member
 
aviecena2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

has anyone tried screen mirroring function & any comment on this features performance?

does it compatible with all smartphone devices or only sony smartphone?

aviecena2020 is offline  
post #1018 of 1202 Old 12-23-2013, 02:42 PM
Member
 
CanonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by *UFO* View Post



I have had both the w802a and w900a, and the w802a has the best 3d I have ever seen. It is very comfortable to watch and looks sharp and bright. I cant however say the same about my w900a. I got a headache within 10 minuets of watching 3d on it and then never used 3d again frown.gif

 


So the w900a isn't worth the extra money for someone who uses 3D maybe 30% of the time?
CanonFo is offline  
post #1019 of 1202 Old 12-23-2013, 02:57 PM
Member
 
turnbowm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanonFo View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by *UFO* View Post



I have had both the w802a and w900a, and the w802a has the best 3d I have ever seen. It is very comfortable to watch and looks sharp and bright. I cant however say the same about my w900a. I got a headache within 10 minuets of watching 3d on it and then never used 3d again frown.gif

 


So the w900a isn't worth the extra money for someone who uses 3D maybe 30% of the time?

Some people just can't deal with active 3D, but I have no problem with it on the W900A. As always, YMMV.
turnbowm is offline  
post #1020 of 1202 Old 12-24-2013, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
rkodey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My W802A just got another firmware update.
http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=KDL55W802A&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

Release Date: 12/19/2013
Version: PKG4.001AAA

Improvements over version PKG4.000AAA:
- Improved performance and stability of the Internet features
- Provides HDMI® 2.0 compatibility (Applies to 4K models only)
- Supports 4K 60p (3840X2160p (50/59.94/60Hz) YCbCr 4:2:0 8bit, 4096X2160p (50/59.94/60Hz) YCbCr 4:2:0 8bit)

Benefits provided by previous updates and included in version PKG4.001AAA:
- Improves stability of the sound output with a Blu-ray Disc™ player using an HDMI connection
rkodey is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Kdl 47w802a 47 Class Full Hd 3d Led Lcd Internet Tv , Sony Kdl 55w802a 55 Class Full Hd 3d Led Lcd Internet Tv , Sony Bravia 40inch Led Tv 3d Support Bravia Hx750 Kdl 40hx750
Gear in this thread - Hx750 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off