Official 2013 Sony W802A series LED TVs (KDL-xxW802A) --- 47" and 55" --- Owner's Thread - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1198 Old 04-16-2014, 11:40 PM
Member
 
capoceo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all been busy but I just wanted to share some more info on our sets. From what I found out from a tech pro in led production that those panels can be fixed if you have experience with taking apart the panels.
It does not take much experience either. Just carefully undoing the frame and adding simple black electric tape of some sort around the metal frame on the inner part so that it completely applies pressure all around the screen. If you notice the screen is abit loose to the point you can see the led lights just by looking down when you push the screen in without any real pressure which shouldn't be but it is.
Sony really needed to fix these issues and never got to they just wanted our cash so that they can produce the other tv sets we cant actually afford so that is not cool.
Obviously do this at your own risk but I suggest if you do dismantle do so in a clean dust free environment and record everything step by step so you do not forget where which piece or what screw goes where.
So have faith in yourself since you cant have it with Sony.
capoceo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1198 Old 04-17-2014, 04:02 AM
Member
 
xbr4pixels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's the problem jim with the led/lcd technology theres always at least some minor clouding no perfection exists at least from the tons I have owned/seen online/in stores etc,but GL hope you find one you find perfect.I got a 55 802a with that 2 me is as near perfect as I have ever seen.I do agree with you though they all should be perfect considering they are a quality brand and not exactly cheap.
xbr4pixels is offline  
post #1173 of 1198 Old 04-17-2014, 04:05 AM
Member
 
xbr4pixels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also not sure if you ever mounted any on a wall but my 55 on a 10 degree angle on the wall shows no clouding on the stand it came with showed minor clouding.Not sure it wall mount evened out pressure which I read uneven pressure on outer screen against the actual pixels is what causes clouding.
xbr4pixels is offline  
post #1174 of 1198 Old 04-23-2014, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr P510 View Post

Another "Update" to this TV.
I really wish Sony would issue some patch notes for those interested.

There seems to be some brief notes here... http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=KDL55W802A&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

PSN = Hatcher14
Hatcher is online now  
post #1175 of 1198 Old 04-30-2014, 07:11 AM
Newbie
 
Experiencex70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello 

 

 

Now forgive me for saying this after seeing a lot of people dislike the Soap Opera effect on many TV's but I recently purchased the KDL-55W802A from best buy. When I saw the TV in the store the picture looked amazing with the demo videos that were playing on the TV with a USB drive. I believe they were playing a scene from a TV show called Blacklist which the picture look as if was shot with a video camera. I know about the 24fps but when I setup my TV at home some reason I cant get that same effect they had in Best Buy. My question is I use a western digital media box that streams 720p and 1080p videos I've backed up from my Blu ray collection seeing I dont own a Blu ray player anymore accept on my computer. What kinda source is my TV looking for to display my picture smooth and clear? Do I need to connect a Blu ray player for that quality or does the X-Reality Pro feature helps with any source of video?

 

So if you can please give me some suggestions on how to make my TV display the best Soap Opera effect with whatever I need to do?

 

Thanks for any help on this

 

 

Chris

Experiencex70 is offline  
post #1176 of 1198 Old 04-30-2014, 11:57 PM
Newbie
 
Sicamore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
go to the picture settings and set motionflow to standard or smooth.
Experiencex70 likes this.
Sicamore is offline  
post #1177 of 1198 Old 05-01-2014, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
Experiencex70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for answering.

 

 

I checked those settings all the time but it seems to only work with certain movies or how they are incoded maybe? I watched a movie that was 720p Video ..............: 1280x690
Bitrate ............: ~5954 kbps (x264 High@L4.1) the picture quality was just how Best Buy was playing one of their demos. Tried asking them but as everyone knows Best Buy employees arent the smartest technicial people. Guess Im trying to get the best picture display like I saw and decided to purchase with this TV. Overall its a great TV I might just have to buy a Blu Ray player to find out if any improvement but if Best Buy was using a USB drive I wouldnt think I need too.

Experiencex70 is offline  
post #1178 of 1198 Old 05-01-2014, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
Chicho Garcy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sicamore View Post

go to the picture settings and set motionflow to standard or smooth.

Standard mode is better. Smooth is too much... soap opera. Too "plastic".
Is there any way to make the frame dimming effect permanent? It kicks in and out all the time in some movies, Sony should give us the option to set it as a permanent mode.
Chicho Garcy is offline  
post #1179 of 1198 Old 05-01-2014, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Might be better off putting it in Cinema Picture Mode + Cinema scene select then ,cranking up the backlight + contrast/picture to max, set brightness around 54-60 or so , color temp neutral or whatever you prefer maybe 50~60 on the color saturation , Hugh at 0 + or - 5 depending on the source try to turn the frame dimming and LED motion /motion flow OFF or not higher than STD on smoothing . Sharpness at 14-18 unless too much edge noise then try 5
unlike most sets and contrary to popular wisdom ,Sony's seem to like some sharpness ........ Oh reg noise and mpeg noise OFF .......... usually

Oh! ...... first turn OFF any ECO Power Saving options ,Dynamic back lights /light sensors etc in the ECO Settings Menu . Go into Screen menu turn OFF Auto Display Area
then turn 4:3 default OFF then set Display area to Full pixel ,Cine Motion at Auto , do all the above for all the inputs you are using that should get you in the ball park !

oh ......5800Kbps from Netflix is 1080P super HD they can look pretty good if your stream isn't too noisy

Try up scaling or sending 1080i (for cable /Sat ) or otherwise 1080P from the source to your set that's usually the best way .YMMV
if using a PC feed it Via HDMI or at the least DVI-D to HDMI .


IF in Other than Cinema mode there are advanced settings you can try, play ,with the live color see what U like then contrast enhancer either (usually OFF ) or LOW /MED .Black corr. Off or Low ,Clear white OFF Advanced settings are grayed out in Cinema mode + Cinema Scene Select but that's OK the best picture and most accurate colors usually are in Cinema modes with a little help !

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is offline  
post #1180 of 1198 Old 05-01-2014, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
Experiencex70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post

Might be better off putting it in Cinema Picture Mode + Cinema scene select then ,cranking up the backlight + contrast/picture to max, set brightness around 54-60 or so , color temp neutral or whatever you prefer maybe 50~60 on the color saturation , Hugh at 0 + or - 5 depending on the source try to turn the frame dimming and LED motion /motion flow OFF or not higher than STD on smoothing . Sharpness at 14-18 unless too much edge noise then try 5
unlike most sets and contrary to popular wisdom ,Sony's seem to like some sharpness ........ Oh reg noise and mpeg noise OFF .......... usually

Oh! ...... first turn OFF any ECO Power Saving options ,Dynamic back lights /light sensors etc in the ECO Settings Menu . Go into Screen menu turn OFF Auto Display Area
then turn 4:3 default OFF then set Display area to Full pixel ,Cine Motion at Auto , do all the above for all the inputs you are using that should get you in the ball park !

oh ......5800Kbps from Netflix is 1080P super HD they can look pretty good if your stream isn't too noisy

Try up scaling or sending 1080i (for cable /Sat ) or otherwise 1080P from the source to your set that's usually the best way .YMMV
if using a PC feed it Via HDMI or at the least DVI-D to HDMI .


IF in Other than Cinema mode there are advanced settings you can try, play ,with the live color see what U like then contrast enhancer either (usually OFF ) or LOW /MED .Black corr. Off or Low ,Clear white OFF Advanced settings are grayed out in Cinema mode + Cinema Scene Select but that's OK the best picture and most accurate colors usually are in Cinema modes with a little help !

Thanks man this really helps me go in the right direction. Will try a lot of these settings over the weekend and post back to let you know how it went.

Experiencex70 is offline  
post #1181 of 1198 Old 05-02-2014, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
marcsmith0127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 55w802a for my ps4.I'm having trouble adjusting my setting to display my games in the best possible way.

I have setting such as:

sharpness, detail enhancer, edge enhancee, advanced contrast enhancer,
marcsmith0127 is offline  
post #1182 of 1198 Old 05-02-2014, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
marcsmith0127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
reality creation,motion flow. Should my color temperature be set to warm? My contrast at 0?
marcsmith0127 is offline  
post #1183 of 1198 Old 05-02-2014, 02:10 PM
Newbie
 
marcsmith0127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about backlight, brightness, color?
marcsmith0127 is offline  
post #1184 of 1198 Old 05-02-2014, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 2,686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcsmith0127 View Post

I just bought the 55w802a for my ps4.I'm having trouble adjusting my setting to display my games in the best possible way.

I have setting such as:

sharpness, detail enhancer, edge enhancee, advanced contrast enhancer,

Put it in Standard picture mode in settings menu + set Scene select to Game mode or Cinema mode in options menu then max out Picture/contrast and Back light in these modes (Game or Cinema scene turns off picture enhancements and motion enhancement overhead you don't want on games

Turn off Motion smoothing or no more than standard Turn of LED Motion./Frame Dimming , Color temp should be neutral or see what you like

Cinema mode will usually provide the most accurate color without over saturation.

Look at the settings in post 1179 above pay particular attention to screen/pixel settings in screen menu these settings should get you in the ball park Turn off ECO power saver and auto sensor in eco menu .

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. "can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is offline  
post #1185 of 1198 Old 05-03-2014, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
marcsmith0127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you! I put my TV in cinema mode. Sharpness at 55. What about smooth gradation? This is currently set to low. Motionflow is set to standard. And should I still set Cinemotion to auto? And reality creation is set to off. Should I turn on noise reduction for gaming, or just leave this off too? Thank you for your help! I really appreciate it!
marcsmith0127 is offline  
post #1186 of 1198 Old 05-03-2014, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
marcsmith0127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would your recommend 0 sharpness for gaming? I think 50 is the "zero" preset for my bravia.
marcsmith0127 is offline  
post #1187 of 1198 Old 05-03-2014, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
marcsmith0127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And I've read that color temperature should be 6500k... whatever that means. Is that generally a warmer color temperature?
marcsmith0127 is offline  
post #1188 of 1198 Old 05-03-2014, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
Sicamore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
for gaming and general use i like cnet's settings: http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-593017/sony-kdl-55w802a-picture-settings/

i turn on motionflow to smooth since i like the effect for games eventhough a few artifacts can sometimes appear around moving objects and this feature obviously adds lag. i also have a second setting based on motionflow clear plus which has a bit less lag where the only thing i change is set backlight and picture to max to counter the dimness.

i know that scene gaming is the best for lag but my eyes are sensitive to motion blur and it's just too fuzzy for me especially with fast moving games.
Sicamore is offline  
post #1189 of 1198 Old 05-03-2014, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
marcsmith0127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Sicamore. I just adjusted my cinema 2 preset to the recommended settings on cnet. I'll test it later and post an update. I also turned motion flow to smooth. Hopefully that helps a little with Need for Speed?
marcsmith0127 is offline  
post #1190 of 1198 Old 05-04-2014, 06:43 AM
Newbie
 
marcsmith0127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those settings work perfect. I do use a back light of 5 though, and I manually adjust brightness on the TV itself instead of in the game menus. Sharpness at 48, color at 47, picture/ contrast at 81. All extras off, contrast enhancer at medium. Standard brightness at 51. It really looks good. I decided to avoid motion flow... Hopefully game developers sick with 60fps for next Gen rootless and that should help with blurring for fast action games.
marcsmith0127 is offline  
post #1191 of 1198 Old 05-22-2014, 09:13 PM
Newbie
 
Golden9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, do you guys recommend this tv for Sports(mainly soccer) and movies?
Golden9 is offline  
post #1192 of 1198 Old 06-06-2014, 04:15 AM
Member
 
ggggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All my Sony TV just show the video resolution of the HDMI source, but not the frame rate .. like 720p/1080i/p... my last one is a W809A.

Hope anyone could tell me to get the frame rate displayed as well = 1080p24/30/50/60 ... Can it be done with the service menue ???

Life is to short -> no risk no fun
ggggg is offline  
post #1193 of 1198 Old 06-18-2014, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
Bong7R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gaming TV Sony KDL-50W800B or Sony KDL-47W802A

Which of these TV would be better for gaming? I will be mostly using it for Xbox, sports and local show. Not much for movies, some Netflix. The Sony KDL-50W800B will be an open box for about $845 and the Sony KDL-47W802A is a display model for $850. I am also posting this on the W800B thread. Thank you for your help.
Bong7R is offline  
post #1194 of 1198 Old 06-24-2014, 08:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey gang,

I am having an issue with all of my non-cable/DVR box HDMI hookups on this model.

My PS3 and Sony Blu-Ray player are losing signal repeatedly on the KDL55W802A, when connected via the HDMI ports.

Anyone else encountered this?
Titans13 is offline  
post #1195 of 1198 Old 07-21-2014, 02:09 PM
Member
 
S_G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just an FYI, for those still in the market for the 55 inch, I've seen it brand new at Tigerdirect for $999.
S_G7 is offline  
post #1196 of 1198 Old 07-22-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_G7 View Post
Just an FYI, for those still in the market for the 55 inch, I've seen it brand new at Tigerdirect for $999.
Tiger direct us bizarre, almost 3 week deliverey by truck for a tv i odered.way to long
dreadnok89 is offline  
post #1197 of 1198 Old 07-23-2014, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
legobrickplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a 55W802A and the TV is good, but it restarts by itself periodically. Sometimes it restarts, stays on for 10 seconds and restarts again, it just keeps on cycling on and off. The "fix" is i unplug the TV and plug it back in, it works most of the time if i unplug and plug it back in. Any users having this issue and is there a fix? Software is updated.
legobrickplayer is offline  
post #1198 of 1198 Old 07-31-2014, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by legobrickplayer View Post
I have a 55W802A and the TV is good, but it restarts by itself periodically. Sometimes it restarts, stays on for 10 seconds and restarts again, it just keeps on cycling on and off. The "fix" is i unplug the TV and plug it back in, it works most of the time if i unplug and plug it back in. Any users having this issue and is there a fix? Software is updated.
I had the 55W802A for almost a year and the HDMI ports just stopped working. It was under warranty, but instead of replacing the HDMI board, Sony swapped out my TV for the same model, but a refurbished one. The 2nd day I had it, I turned it on, it said it was checking the external speakers and that message was on the screen for about 15 seconds too long. Then the TV rebooted itself, but it has been okay since (but only been 3 days total so far.)

I never had this issue on my first 55W802A, so if yours is rebooting, I would see if it is under warranty and call Sony. I can't think of any settings or configurations that would cause that.

Its a shame, because it is a great TV, especially for gaming.
SKhyron is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Bravia Kdl 47w802a 47 Class Full Hd 3d Led Lcd Internet Tv , Sony Kdl 55w802a 55 Class Full Hd 3d Led Lcd Internet Tv , Sony Bravia 40inch Led Tv 3d Support Bravia Hx750 Kdl 40hx750
Gear in this thread - Hx750 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off