Official 2013 LG xxLA7400 Owner's Thread. - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1288 Old 03-13-2014, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
James Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington, DC metropolitan area
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEgli View Post

Occasional flashing (Local Dimming enabled), and some Dirty Screen Effect, and some very hard to see flashlighting on each lower corner. . . .

Thanks JP for all of your help.  Have you narrowed down the causes for the flashing yet?  Have you had any luck with turning off Local Dimming?

You're welcome.

I'm fairly certain the flashing is due to the local dimming. Even putting the local dimming on low causes it. Higher settings seem to make it worse. If you don't like the flashing, turn local dimming completely off. I can't claim that you will never get the flashing with local dimming off, but it should be very rare.

When my screen is completely black, I notice glowing in the corners, but which corner seems to depend on what angle I'm viewing the TV from. The glow seems to be in the far corners. So, if I'm sitting on the right side of the couch, I see the glow in the left corners. If I'm sitting on the left side of the couch, I see the glow in the right corners. If I'm slouching, I see more glow up top. If I'm sitting upright, top and bottom have equal amounts. I don't think this qualifies as true flashlighting. It's more like light reflection. It's not something that affects actual video content. I recommend checking to see if your "flashlighting" is really specific to one part of the screen or if it's just a result of your viewing angle.
James Parsons is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1288 Old 03-13-2014, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
James Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington, DC metropolitan area
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Parsons View Post

Then I press a button on the LG remote to display a virtual remote on the TV screen.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting5920 View Post

????? out of what the 7 buttons on the LG remote - what button is this please - I would like to set my AVR to do this too!
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Parsons View Post

I count 16 buttons on the LG LA7400's Magic Remote. It's the button labeled "123/Q.MENU". To display a virtual remote that works with the Blu-ray player, you need the TV and Blu-ray player to have HDMI-CEC (a.k.a. Anynet+, a.k.a. SimpLink) enabled, or you have to have the LG TV's "Universal Control" set to recognize the make and model of your Blu-ray player.

(The steps for getting the LG Magic Remote to work the an AVR is similar, but unfortunately it can't operate a Blu-ray player and an AVR simultaneously.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting5920 View Post

Thank-you James - I will try this tonight!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting5920 View Post

fail

Sting, what happens on your TV when you press the Magic Remote's 123/Q.MENU button?
Sting5920 likes this.
James Parsons is offline  
post #1173 of 1288 Old 03-14-2014, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Sting5920's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Parsons View Post






Sting, what happens on your TV when you press the Magic Remote's 123/Q.MENU button?


I select the input - the LG finds the AVR - I can select the Denon brand from the drop down list - the next screen has 6 choices for control type because the TV didn't find the AVR model - none of the 6 work

 

Maybe Ill call LG this evening for help - Thank you for your concern but AVR does so much and I appear to not to be able not to access more than the terrific sound I have watching OTA TV and the DVR. Maybe thats enough - It Depends!


HDTV: LG 47LA7400
Blu-Ray Player: BP530 3D Surround
Keyboard: Logitech K400R
OTA only - Antenna: Ebay junk - [works great]
AV Receiver: Denon AVR 1713 5.1 3D
Center Speaker: Cambridge Audio S50
Front Left Right: Cambridge Audio S70
Surround: Acoustimass® 5 Series II system
Sub-woofer:  Yamaha

Sting5920 is offline  
post #1174 of 1288 Old 03-14-2014, 05:12 AM
Member
 
Sting5920's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13

I have a new project I  may have to post a pic of - I scored an ancient pump organ to build into my tv stand. Thinking the Center speaker will go up top and the AVR will go where the keyboard was [ or maybe below on a new shelf ] and I can use the keyboard cover to hid the infrastructure when I only want to  see the TV.

 

Still designing in my head but that piece fits well with the other old stuff in the room and the TV [ and all its support staff] now sticks out way too much


HDTV: LG 47LA7400
Blu-Ray Player: BP530 3D Surround
Keyboard: Logitech K400R
OTA only - Antenna: Ebay junk - [works great]
AV Receiver: Denon AVR 1713 5.1 3D
Center Speaker: Cambridge Audio S50
Front Left Right: Cambridge Audio S70
Surround: Acoustimass® 5 Series II system
Sub-woofer:  Yamaha

Sting5920 is offline  
post #1175 of 1288 Old 03-14-2014, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
James Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington, DC metropolitan area
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting5920 View Post


I select the input - the LG finds the AVR - I can select the Denon brand from the drop down list - the next screen has 6 choices for control type because the TV didn't find the AVR model - none of the 6 work

When setting up the Universal Control, try pressing the virtual power button several times for each of the 6 remote options. I find it often doesn't work on the first try even when I've got the correct remote selected. Also make sure no furniture (like a coffee table) is blocking the line of sight between the Magic Remote and the AVR.

Another option is to turn on HDMI-CEC in both the TV and the AVR. On the LG TV, it's called "SimpLink". On the Denon AVR it's called "HDMI Control". Look in your Denon manual to see how to turn on the "HDMI control function". Be warned though: Another user, Winterwolfes, encountered problems when using CEC with the LA7400 and his Denon AVR-1712.
Sting5920 likes this.
James Parsons is offline  
post #1176 of 1288 Old 03-22-2014, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
Kenway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Experiencing a odd phenomenon with 55LA7400, once in a month or sometimes even two, when I turn my TV off it turns on by itself just after that. It's so rare that I'm beginning to wonder if this actually happening. It's something to worry about or just a simple bug?

 

There is no way that LG will see this "problem".

 

Sorry for my English, it's not my mother tounge

Kenway is offline  
post #1177 of 1288 Old 03-22-2014, 01:38 PM
Member
 
dark41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenway View Post

when I turn my TV off it turns on by itself just after that.

If it's under warranty I'd have it looked into.
dark41 is offline  
post #1178 of 1288 Old 03-22-2014, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Kenway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

It happens just once in nearly two months time, there is no chance that LG will be able to see it. Technician would have to set up a camp outside my house for two months and test TV with me 24/7.

Kenway is offline  
post #1179 of 1288 Old 03-23-2014, 12:46 AM
Senior Member
 
James Parsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington, DC metropolitan area
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenway View Post

Experiencing a odd phenomenon with 55LA7400, once in a month or sometimes even two, when I turn my TV off it turns on by itself just after that. It's so rare that I'm beginning to wonder if this actually happening. It's something to worry about or just a simple bug?

How soon after you turn it off does it turn back on again? Does it wait a little while? If so, that's very odd.

If it turns back on right away, the TV may be receiving a duplicate power button signal. How are you turning off the TV? Are you using the LG Magic Remote, a universal remote, or the power button on the TV?
James Parsons is offline  
post #1180 of 1288 Old 03-23-2014, 06:19 AM
Newbie
 
Kenway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for replying.

 

It turns back on right away and I'm using Magic Remote.

 

First time this happened I thought i just didn't press power button because it happened behind my back. I have this TV since 4 months and it only happened twice, so it's very rare.

Kenway is offline  
post #1181 of 1288 Old 03-26-2014, 08:20 AM
Member
 
tshrimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenway View Post

Experiencing a odd phenomenon with 55LA7400, once in a month or sometimes even two, when I turn my TV off it turns on by itself just after that. It's so rare that I'm beginning to wonder if this actually happening. It's something to worry about or just a simple bug?

There is no way that LG will see this "problem".

Sorry for my English, it's not my mother tounge

Had the same issue with LCD TV many years ago. It was a hardware issue and it continued to get worse. And changed ... it would turn off and on all by itself. After some time it finally went out. If you are still under warranty I would call LG. Good luck, and hope you get everything working.

P.S. Your English is very good.
dark41 likes this.
tshrimp is offline  
post #1182 of 1288 Old 04-02-2014, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
serg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

have any solitions to activate time machine?

serg1 is offline  
post #1183 of 1288 Old 04-08-2014, 03:44 PM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just picked up this set in 55"after going through 2 vizio m551d-a2r sets. Night and day as far as black levels and flash lighting clouding goes. Screen uniformity is good and have no issues at all. Same price as the vizio too. More complicated than the vizio only because of the features but great none the less.
dark41 likes this.
dioptric is offline  
post #1184 of 1288 Old 04-09-2014, 01:50 AM
Newbie
 
ZuZ85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Great community!

 

Coming from a Sony background, I am loving this display, just a little annoyance that I am sure you guys have faced. There seems to be a very slight lip sync delay. The sound seems to be shallow and a few milliseconds off. I tried playing around with the settings, but to no avail.

 

Any idea on how to fix that?

ZuZ85 is offline  
post #1185 of 1288 Old 04-09-2014, 10:52 AM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No lip sync issues here.
But on a different note....
If you really want to test out the display quality of this set, please do yourself a favor and pop in Rango! The quality of this tv will truly be revealed. Near flawless masterpiece of cinematic display and beauty! Just amazing!
dioptric is offline  
post #1186 of 1288 Old 04-09-2014, 04:51 PM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Having trouble inputting the 20pt calibration. How do I do this for each setting?

Edit: nvm. Figured it out
dioptric is offline  
post #1187 of 1288 Old 04-09-2014, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
Ryox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioptric View Post

No lip sync issues here.
But on a different note....
If you really want to test out the display quality of this set, please do yourself a favor and pop in Rango! The quality of this tv will truly be revealed. Near flawless masterpiece of cinematic display and beauty! Just amazing!

Animation content looks amazing on this set.
Ryox is offline  
post #1188 of 1288 Old 04-09-2014, 10:12 PM
Member
 
dark41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryox View Post

Animation content looks amazing on this set.

Agreed. I just watched the HD versions of the Toy Story movies again - like seeing them for the first time. smile.gif
dark41 is offline  
post #1189 of 1288 Old 04-11-2014, 04:49 AM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it possible to reset ALL data in the TV. What I mean is do a complete factory reset/restore of everything?
dioptric is offline  
post #1190 of 1288 Old 04-11-2014, 09:30 AM
Member
 
dark41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioptric View Post

Is it possible to reset ALL data in the TV. What I mean is do a complete factory reset/restore of everything?

I believe [Settings, Option, Factory Reset] will reset everything except the software updates.
dioptric likes this.
dark41 is offline  
post #1191 of 1288 Old 04-11-2014, 12:52 PM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark41 View Post

I believe [Settings, Option, Factory Reset] will reset everything except the software updates.

Thank you. Wanted a fresh start
dioptric is offline  
post #1192 of 1288 Old 04-14-2014, 06:08 AM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This tv does xvycc color mode right?
dioptric is offline  
post #1193 of 1288 Old 04-14-2014, 08:49 AM
Member
 
dark41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioptric View Post

This tv does xvycc color mode right?

I assume so. If you go to "Connections" and hover over the "HDMI Inputs info box", it states that the set has HDMI 1.4 (which enabled 3D content). HDMI 1.3 and 1080 resolution are necessary to have xvYCC enabled. So this set exceeds the requirements:

http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/electronics-computers/tvs-services/tvs/lcd-and-plasma-tvs-ratings/models/specs/lg-55la7400-99048224.htm
dark41 is offline  
post #1194 of 1288 Old 04-14-2014, 10:36 AM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark41 View Post

I assume so. If you go to "Connections" and hover over the "HDMI Inputs info box", it states that the set has HDMI 1.4 (which enabled 3D content). HDMI 1.3 and 1080 resolution are necessary to have xvYCC enabled. So this set exceeds the requirements:

http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/electronics-computers/tvs-services/tvs/lcd-and-plasma-tvs-ratings/models/specs/lg-55la7400-99048224.htm
ok. Thank you
dioptric is offline  
post #1195 of 1288 Old 04-14-2014, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How do you activate xvYCC on this set? I don't see any options for it like in past LG models.
maddog510 is offline  
post #1196 of 1288 Old 04-14-2014, 11:15 AM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post

How do you activate xvYCC on this set? I don't see any options for it like in past LG models.
I am beginning to think it is done automatically. But that's just Imo
dioptric is offline  
post #1197 of 1288 Old 04-14-2014, 03:01 PM
Newbie
 
Ryox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post

How do you activate xvYCC on this set? I don't see any options for it like in past LG models.

You really don't need it unless you want to see AVCHD videos that you recorded.
Ryox is offline  
post #1198 of 1288 Old 04-16-2014, 07:50 AM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also what is the difference (if any) between the 3d formats (sensio, sbs, etc) and is there any benefit to either? Sorry if it was asked already. Trying to get more depth in 3d while maintaining full screen width.
dioptric is offline  
post #1199 of 1288 Old 04-17-2014, 12:00 AM
Member
 
dark41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioptric View Post

Also what is the difference (if any) between the 3d formats (sensio, sbs, etc) and is there any benefit to either? Sorry if it was asked already. Trying to get more depth in 3d while maintaining full screen width.

I'm no expert on these technologies, but I believe that most 3d options are compressed, meaning less resolution for each eye and lower quality.

SBS/TOB cut the resolution roughly in half for each eye. I believe there are also audio drawbacks to SBS (using only front speakers for surround sound).

Sensio is a patented Visio technology and available on limited manufacturer's sets who have signed on with Visio. I don't know if our sets provide a Sensio option or not. I only use 2D to 3D conversion or SBS as I only have the 7400 speakers, so no need for better audio. Sensio provides full 1080p resolution to both eyes and has no sound drawbacks that I'm aware of. However, to enjoy the benefits of Sensio the source must be created with it and the TV must have the option for it.

Bottom line is that you have nothing to lose by using Sensio all the time (either the source was made with it and quality will be better, or source wasn't made with it and quality won't be less than SBS).

I've seen no difference between the various 3D settings on our set when the source is SBS or converted from 2D. Your eyes may pick up things that mine can't.

Google is your friend smile.gif

http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=60800
dark41 is offline  
post #1200 of 1288 Old 04-17-2014, 04:28 AM
Member
 
dioptric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark41 View Post

I'm no expert on these technologies, but I believe that most 3d options are compressed, meaning less resolution for each eye and lower quality.

SBS/TOB cut the resolution roughly in half for each eye. I believe there are also audio drawbacks to SBS (using only front speakers for surround sound).

Sensio is a patented Visio technology and available on limited manufacturer's sets who have signed on with Visio. I don't know if our sets provide a Sensio option or not. I only use 2D to 3D conversion or SBS as I only have the 7400 speakers, so no need for better audio. Sensio provides full 1080p resolution to both eyes and has no sound drawbacks that I'm aware of. However, to enjoy the benefits of Sensio the source must be created with it and the TV must have the option for it.

Bottom line is that you have nothing to lose by using Sensio all the time (either the source was made with it and quality will be better, or source wasn't made with it and quality won't be less than SBS).

I've seen no difference between the various 3D settings on our set when the source is SBS or converted from 2D. Your eyes may pick up things that mine can't.

Google is your friend smile.gif

http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=60800
Thank you. I was trying to figure out if one format would give me more depth in 3d over the other.. Coming from a vizio m551d-a2r and their 3d has more depth IMHO. Not saying lg is bad, just wanted more depth.
dioptric is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg 55la7400 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Smarttv , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm8600 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off