Official 2013 LG xxLA7400 Owner's Thread. - Page 45 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 1329 Old 03-04-2015, 12:17 PM
Member
 
wfiveash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfiveash View Post
Recently I noticed that LG issued an update to their “LG TV Remote” iPhone app which was very buggy and made the app basically non-functional. More recently it looks like LG removed that app from the iTunes App Store. Anyone know what is up with this app?

BTW, luckily I was able to restore the previous, working version of the app via Time Machine (and I’ve since realized that iTunes moves the previous versions of updated apps to the trash which allows recovery from a bad update as long as one isn’t too quick to “empty” the trash).
Ah, I see that app has returned (and been updated to fix the connection issue).
wfiveash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 1329 Old 03-19-2015, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Sting5920's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting5920 View Post
Thank- you - I didn't think of ebay just ordered one for 32.99 and Ill make sure it works then put it away and use my keyboard for daily control - that will save the propitiatory control
As promised - if not a bit "Tardy" = The new remote works wonderfully. Yes it has a few odd figures as some of the characters are [non-english] I ordered two more and they arrived today in good condition. These will be put away for future use.

Kind Regards
Sting
dark41 likes this.

HDTV: LG 47LA7400
Blu-Ray Player: BP530 3D Surround
Keyboard: Logitech K400R
OTA only - Antenna: Ebay junk - [works great]
AV Receiver: Denon AVR 1713 5.1 3D
Center Speaker: Cambridge Audio S50
Front Left Right: Cambridge Audio S70
Surround: Acoustimass® 5 Series II system
Sub-woofer:  Yamaha

Sting5920 is offline  
post #1323 of 1329 Old 03-27-2015, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
splattered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Since one of the latest updates I've been experiencing some funky issues with this television...


Some strange side menu was coming up on the left of the screen and I was having difficulty getting it to go away. Somehow the TV got kicked over into Demo/Store mode and I had to go in and manually change it back. I think it's stopped doing that now?


My video settings appear to be switching over to vivid on their own and I have to change it back to Game every time I use it now. Every time I turn the TV on or change the source it keeps flipping back to Vivid video. Not sure about the sound, I pay less attention to that I guess? Should probably check when I get home from work.


The brightness of the TV keeps dimming on me while playing games when it is in Game mode. Brightness settings shouldn't be changing on their own should they? I will pause and go into different menus and I come back to the game and boom it kicks over into the correct brightness again. Then a few minutes later it will slowly dim until it is dark and difficult to see again. Frustrating.


Anyone else experiencing anything like this with the latest firmware updates?
splattered is offline  
post #1324 of 1329 Old 03-27-2015, 06:46 PM
Member
 
dark41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Short answer; no.

Longer answer; I'd try resetting to factory defaults, turning it off, and then turning it back on and redoing my settings to see if they stick. If not, I'd be contacting LG's support. Might ask if poltergeists are covered by their warranty.

Hope you get it sorted.
dark41 is offline  
post #1325 of 1329 Old 03-27-2015, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
splattered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So uhhh yeah.


considering that everything else had been changed/set to defaults/etc


Checked video settings again and Eco mode was set to Auto.

Changed it to Off and that probably fixed it (Duh)


Haven't checked it yet. Will take a look at it again in the morning to see if anything resets again.
splattered is offline  
post #1326 of 1329 Old 03-28-2015, 01:35 AM
Member
 
dark41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by splattered View Post
considering that everything else had been changed/set to defaults/etc

Checked video settings again and Eco mode was set to Auto.

Changed it to Off and that probably fixed it (Duh)

Haven't checked it yet. Will take a look at it again in the morning to see if anything resets again.
I was thinking about the "factory reset" under options, but hopefully you've found the culprit. Now that you've mentioned Eco Mode, I've found quite a few posts by people with similar problems and Eco Mode being responsible. Making a note to never use Eco Mode.
dark41 is offline  
post #1327 of 1329 Old 05-16-2015, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does anybody use the built in apps on the tv such as Netflix or Vudu? The picture looks real soft as if it's not 1080p. The graphics look soft as well. Looks more like 480p.
maddog510 is offline  
post #1328 of 1329 Old 05-17-2015, 01:01 AM
Member
 
dark41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post
Does anybody use the built in apps on the tv such as Netflix or Vudu? The picture looks real soft as if it's not 1080p. The graphics look soft as well. Looks more like 480p.
I see no difference between using my TV for Netflix and watching it through my browser, so doubt your TV configuration is the problem.


Online HD streaming is at best a crap shoot, and at worst impossible. Your connection speed, how many connections are sharing your modem, time of day, internet traffic in your area, how your modem and ISP connection handle continuous large data transfers, and whether your ISP throttles your connection while streaming are only a few of the potential problems making it a painful experience. And not all Netflix media is available in HD.


There's plenty of guides on the internet about optimizing your gear and connection, such as this:
http://www.digitaltrends.com/home-th...ng-hd-netflix/


This is where the problems start; Netflix transfers about 1GB/hour of data for standard resolutions, 3GB/hour for HD (720p), and 7GB/hour for Ultra HD (1080p equivalent). Netflix usage is listed here:
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/87


Not many consumer grade modems can handle 7GB/hour data transfers for extended periods of time, and that applies to many ISPs' connections too (you may need to manually reboot your modem every few days or so, and have your ISP reset your connection occasionally). I paid a lot for a good (Draytek) modem, which helped considerably, but I'm still borderline for Ultra HD speeds at just under 10 Mbps.


Haven't used Vudu, but Netflix bandwidth requirements are ridiculous. Considering I can watch NFL games in full HD on NFL Game Pass at their highest setting of 400 Kbps (totalling 4.32 GB of data transfer for 24 hours), Netflix has a long ways to go to become a mature HD source. Good luck!
dark41 is offline  
post #1329 of 1329 Old 05-17-2015, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark41 View Post
I see no difference between using my TV for Netflix and watching it through my browser, so doubt your TV configuration is the problem.


Online HD streaming is at best a crap shoot, and at worst impossible. Your connection speed, how many connections are sharing your modem, time of day, internet traffic in your area, how your modem and ISP connection handle continuous large data transfers, and whether your ISP throttles your connection while streaming are only a few of the potential problems making it a painful experience. And not all Netflix media is available in HD.


There's plenty of guides on the internet about optimizing your gear and connection, such as this:
http://www.digitaltrends.com/home-th...ng-hd-netflix/


This is where the problems start; Netflix transfers about 1GB/hour of data for standard resolutions, 3GB/hour for HD (720p), and 7GB/hour for Ultra HD (1080p equivalent). Netflix usage is listed here:
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/87


Not many consumer grade modems can handle 7GB/hour data transfers for extended periods of time, and that applies to many ISPs' connections too (you may need to manually reboot your modem every few days or so, and have your ISP reset your connection occasionally). I paid a lot for a good (Draytek) modem, which helped considerably, but I'm still borderline for Ultra HD speeds at just under 10 Mbps.


Haven't used Vudu, but Netflix bandwidth requirements are ridiculous. Considering I can watch NFL games in full HD on NFL Game Pass at their highest setting of 400 Kbps (totalling 4.32 GB of data transfer for 24 hours), Netflix has a long ways to go to become a mature HD source. Good luck!
My roku 3 has a better image than the built in apps on the tv. I used my tv to watch Vudu because the stereo I have my roku connected to doesn't decode Dolby Digital Plus & the roku won't downstream it to legacy Dolby Digital.
maddog510 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg 55la7400 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Smarttv , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm8600 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg Cinema Screen 55lm7600 55 Inch Cinema 3d 1080p 240 Hz Led Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off