Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 10:13 AM
Member
 
sony1717's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Adgrimes- looks pretty darn good. Good uniformity. Let's hope this holds true for the 60, 65 and 75....
sony1717 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 10:56 AM
Member
 
znutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Tell that to my F8000's Internet connection..... ?????

When I received the F8000 a week ago today I hooked it up and it loaded the latest FW revision which was well after 19Mar. I'm only reporting what the display says now.

I'm wondering if it displays the primary number only? For instance, you may have 1015.2 installed after the setup update, but the version displayed is still 1015? Maybe it changes for primary numbers and not decimals otherwise it would show 1015.0 or 1015.1...
znutz is offline  
post #273 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

It says both 1015 and no newer version available.

Mine says the same thing in software update...1015

but in contact samsung it reads...1015.2
Pickstv is offline  
post #274 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickstv View Post

Mine says the same thing in software update...1015

but in contact samsung it reads...1015.2

Contact Samsung, yeah, never looked at that. Mine says 1015.2 as well.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #275 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
adgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Contact Samsung, yeah, never looked at that. Mine says 1015.2 as well.

I will check that too. When i first installed it said I wasn't up to date and asked if i wanted to. I said NO and turned off auto-update. Yet it was telling me I AM up to date.
adgrimes is offline  
post #276 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 01:23 PM
Member
 
znutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Contact Samsung, yeah, never looked at that. Mine says 1015.2 as well.

Pickstv and Buzzard, looks like you both are running 1015.2, could you confirm that you haven't noticed any stuttering at all?

I have noticed just a little but haven't updated to 1015.2. It's possible Samsung may have actually fixed the issue with that update. Their site does claim improved PQ and performance with the update. I was hesitant to do so but if it fixes any stuttering I'm going to install 1015.2
znutz is offline  
post #277 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 01:35 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
F8000 Owners

For more detail information about YOUR set..

Menu> Support> Contact Samsung, Product Information

Just in case you have not looked there yet!
Pickstv is offline  
post #278 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
sh00ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
running 1015.2 on mine.
sh00ter is offline  
post #279 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 02:18 PM
Member
 
znutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can folks running 1015.2 confirm no stuttering, dimming, or clouding/backlighting issues?
znutz is offline  
post #280 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by znutz View Post

Pickstv and Buzzard, looks like you both are running 1015.2, could you confirm that you haven't noticed any stuttering at all?

I have noticed just a little but haven't updated to 1015.2. It's possible Samsung may have actually fixed the issue with that update. Their site does claim improved PQ and performance with the update. I was hesitant to do so but if it fixes any stuttering I'm going to install 1015.2

znutz,

So far, I have not seen stuttering from any input source. Could you give a little more detail in what you are seeing?
Pickstv is offline  
post #281 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eagle_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by znutz View Post

Pickstv and Buzzard, looks like you both are running 1015.2, could you confirm that you haven't noticed any stuttering at all?

I have noticed just a little but haven't updated to 1015.2. It's possible Samsung may have actually fixed the issue with that update. Their site does claim improved PQ and performance with the update. I was hesitant to do so but if it fixes any stuttering I'm going to install 1015.2

I think it would be wise for everyone to keep in mind that Samsung always claims "improved PQ and performance" for every update - they just copy-paste the same stuff for every update. Because they're not truly open with their customers as to what their updates actually do, it leads to everyone trying to guess if they can see any changes or not between updates. This can often lead to many false bits of information around these threads that update #__.__ "improved" this or that. I know Samsung doesn't give anybody much choice other than to guess what they've done between updates, but just try to keep in mind that every time an update comes out, everybody starts looking to see if anything has changed. Often, nothing noticeable has, but the mere expectation that something has changed is often enough to spark such announcements as suddenly blacks are better than ever, or clouding has mysteriously vanished since the last update.

Stuttering with AMP is especially tricky because sources can affect this, and these Samsung sets have had the stuttering AMP issue for years - I saw D series sets with the stuttering AMP issues. I was really hoping the quad-core processor would finally solve that issue, and it may have, but I will be very relieved and surprised if it actually has.
eagle_2 is offline  
post #282 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 03:31 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickstv View Post

grhopper,

Been playing around in the menu and found another way to name the inputs.

Menu> System> Device Manger> Universal Remote Setup> Start

From here you can name each input to what ever you desire.

try this when i get home from work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Caveat: Settings don't transfer well from one display to another....

...but it seems like many like to try anyway so here are Day and Night calibration settings.

First of all, I enabled Cal-Day and Night in the Service menu. If this interests you ask and I'll provide a mini tutorial.

Night Calibration - 32.1 Foot Lamberts max light output

Turn off everything that says Auto to Off Except Film Auto2 in Picture Options

Movie Mode
Backlight 7
Contrast 90
Brightness 45
Sharpness 0
Color 50
Tint 50/50
Picture Size - Screen Fit

Advanced Mode - off, off 0, and off
Color Space - Custom
R R44 G0 B4
G 15 52 0
B 0 8 45
Y 54 53 0
C 10 50 51
M 43 7 43

White Balance 23 23 25 16 25 27

10p White Balance
1 0 -1 -3
2 1 0 -1
3 2 2 0
4 1 2 1
5 2 2 0
6 0 0 0
7 0 0 0
8 -2 -2 -2
9 0 0 0
10 0 0 0

Gamma -1

Picture Options
Color Temp Warm2
Dig Clean View - off
Mpeg - off
Film - Auto 2
Auto Motion Plus - Custom - Blur 10 - Judder 5 - LED Clear Motion Off
Smart LED Off
Cinema Black Off

Apply Picture Source - Current Source



thanks for this

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Day Calibration 51.5 Foot Lamberts Max Light Output

I used Cal-Day - The F8000 cross posts the CMS and the 10p White Balance so only the 2 point White Balance is new for the meter required settings

Backlight 12
Contrast 90
Brightness 46
Sharp 0
Color 50
Tint 50/50

White Balance 24 26 26 16 25 27

Gamma 0

Everything else is the same.



thanks.. hope to see some 3D setting from you.
Lwood is offline  
post #283 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwood View Post

try this when i get home from work.
thanks for this
thanks.. hope to see some 3D setting from you.

It's already in here.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1463286/official-samsung-unxxf8000-owners-thread/210#post_23145036

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #284 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Buzz,

Was wondering if you are planning to do a set of calibration numbers for Standard and Natural mode settings? It would be great to have these numbers for best possible picture in each mode.

Thanks
Pickstv is offline  
post #285 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 07:26 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
buzzard767

in all your setting you have under
Picture Size, you have screen fit
why is that??

i have picture size16:9
if i change it to screen fit. My screen gets smaller. i have black boarders all around.
Lwood is offline  
post #286 of 7420 Old 04-02-2013, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwood View Post

buzzard767

in all your setting you have under
Picture Size, you have screen fit
why is that??

i have picture size16:9
if i change it to screen fit. My screen gets smaller. i have black boarders all around.




There goes the neighborhood. eek.gifrolleyes.gifbiggrin.gif

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #287 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 10:55 AM
Member
 
CraigerCSM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Deleted
CraigerCSM is offline  
post #288 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
xfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys think this hanger will work with the UN65F8000?
http://www.amazon.com/Mount-It-Ultra-Slim-Wall-Mount/dp/B003N5CARU/ref=pd_cp_e_0#productDetails
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003M83OXM/ref=cm_cd_asin_lnk

Or I should get a proper mount like this:
http://www.monoprice.com/mobile/Product/Details/5918?mainCategoryId=108&categoryId=10828&subCategoryId=1082812

I currently have then UN55F8000 and in the manual it says:
40-46 inch is 200x200 VESA
55-60 inch is 55-60 400x400 VESA

Does anyone know what the 65 inch VESA standard is? Maybe on the ES model one?
Thanks
xfibre is offline  
post #289 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
SiGGy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle_2 View Post

I cannot believe that another year has gone by and these sets still appear to have stuttering issues. Maybe if they'd stop working on voice and hand-waving features they could focus on fixing issues that have ben around for years like the AMP stuttering. I thought for sure the quad-core processor would put an end to the stuttering.

The ARM based quad core is an APPS processor. Meaning it's used for applications such as the samsung smart hub/hulu/skype/netflix. Video processing is done in another chip.

-SiGGy
SiGGy is online now  
post #290 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickstv View Post

Buzz,

Was wondering if you are planning to do a set of calibration numbers for Standard and Natural mode settings? It would be great to have these numbers for best possible picture in each mode.

Thanks

Standard has the full CMS and 2 point WB controls so that would calibrate just fine. Natural doesn't have the cal goodies thus would be a waste of time. I wasn't really planning on it though as I already have Day, Night, and 3D. Where do you want to go from there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwood View Post

buzzard767

in all your setting you have under
Picture Size, you have screen fit
why is that??

i have picture size16:9
if i change it to screen fit. My screen gets smaller. i have black boarders all around.

Screen Fit is 1 to 1 pixel mapping and ensures full resolution. 16 x 9 can cause overscan and you lose resolution.
Lwood likes this.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #291 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 04:54 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by znutz View Post

Update 4/1/2013:

After watching for a few days, I have noticed two drawbacks with the 55F8000:

1. TV compensates for light and dark areas and you can notice dimming or brightening while watching. I have tried turning all of the "auto" settings off and do still notice it. It is silly since the intention for this feature is to improve picture quality, however, if you notice it happening it can be distracting.

you could disable that option in the system menu . it under the power save options . eco something i am at work i really dont remember exactly where its at.

2. The image stutters every so often. I noticed it once and turned the auto motion plus settings off but still noticed it. It is certainly the TV processing the image and isn't intended by the source itself. Has happened on two different sources as well, both satellite and blu-ray.

i haven't experiences any stuttering. at all. i have had the 2 firmwares
12, and 15, i have not upgraded to 15.2


Has any other owner experienced this? Both of these seem like they can be fixed in a firmware update. I am considering upgrading my firmware from 1015 to 1015.2 Anyone else upgraded yet? Curious if these issues are with my set only.
Lwood is offline  
post #292 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Standard has the full CMS and 2 point WB controls so that would calibrate just fine. Natural doesn't have the cal goodies thus would be a waste of time. I wasn't really planning on it though as I already have Day, Night, and 3D. Where do you want to go from there?
Screen Fit is 1 to 1 pixel mapping and ensures full resolution. 16 x 9 can cause overscan and you lose resolution.

thanks for the info. buzzard
Lwood is offline  
post #293 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 06:06 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Standard has the full CMS and 2 point WB controls so that would calibrate just fine. Natural doesn't have the cal goodies thus would be a waste of time. I wasn't really planning on it though as I already have Day, Night, and 3D. Where do you want to go from there?

Buzz,

If you get bored sometimes and would not mine doing the numbers for Standard Mode, some of us is still a little hesitant about going into the service menu. With these cal numbers and the ones you have already posted for Movie Mode, would that be almost like having Cal Day and Cal Night?

Thanks
Pickstv is offline  
post #294 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
adgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickstv View Post

Buzz,

If you get bored sometimes and would not mine doing the numbers for Standard Mode, some of us is still a little hesitant about going into the service menu. With these cal numbers and the ones you have already posted for Movie Mode, would that be almost like having Cal Day and Cal Night?

Thanks
I'm definetly hesistant. Unless there is a master reset you can do in case you need to do a warranty claim.

It sure would be nice if GrHopper linked up all of Buzz's settings on the first post for people as this is what most are using as a reference to begin tweaking their colors.


I still haven't figured out how to put PC mode on, what do I need to do??
adgrimes is offline  
post #295 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eagle_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiGGy View Post

The ARM based quad core is an APPS processor. Meaning it's used for applications such as the samsung smart hub/hulu/skype/netflix. Video processing is done in another chip.

I didn't know that. So then the chip that handles the AMP isn't a quad-core? Since there's been so much discussion over several years about the AMP stutter, you would think they would throw some attention towards it, no? Couldn't they beef up the chip that handles AMP processing, much like they beefed up the quad-core? Maybe it's not the power of the processor that's responsible, rather then the processing itself? I always felt the stutter was due to it struggling to keep up with the 1080p frame interpolation, which must be very intensive processing, so I always thought a more powerful chip would help chew through the stuttering during the interpolation.
eagle_2 is offline  
post #296 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eagle_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 99
"1. TV compensates for light and dark areas and you can notice dimming or brightening while watching. I have tried turning all of the "auto" settings off and do still notice it. It is silly since the intention for this feature is to improve picture quality, however, if you notice it happening it can be distracting."

you could disable that option in the system menu . it under the power save options . eco something i am at work i really dont remember exactly where its at.


Not true - read my post in the flagship models thread - after some experimenting tonight in Best Buy, it is obvious to me that there is some forced auto-dimming in Standard mode that cannot be disabled, no matter what is turned off in the menus. This includes ECO, Smart LED, and all other settings.
eagle_2 is offline  
post #297 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by adgrimes View Post

I'm definetly hesistant. Unless there is a master reset you can do in case you need to do a warranty claim.

It sure would be nice if GrHopper linked up all of Buzz's settings on the first post for people as this is what most are using as a reference to begin tweaking their colors.


I still haven't figured out how to put PC mode on, what do I need to do??

I added a couple of links to the first post. PM me with any other posts that should be linked.

From what I understand, there is not a dedicated PC mode like the game mode. You have to trick the TV into a PC mode by changing the input label to PC. See this post for steps to change the HDMI input label.
adgrimes likes this.
grhopper is offline  
post #298 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Deleted
Pickstv is offline  
post #299 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
OugaBooga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
SO DAMN CLOSE to punching LED...NOT today...NOT enuff emotion engine !!!!

SEK-2000/ZA....Any GOOD ?
OugaBooga is offline  
post #300 of 7420 Old 04-03-2013, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
KakimotoRift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Where Displays Are
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
samsung is going down hill man. don't bother with samsung tvs anymore. their customer support is useless. their panels are also getting worse. if I were you. change to LG camp or some other brands. I have lost faith in samsung products. their viewing angle is the worst. who would sit straight for hours. with slight change of viewing position can result contrast lost. samsung video processing also appear sluggish. image quality is too soft compare to other brands. bumping sharpness wont help, it will only make things worse as image becomes too artificial. their subpixels is the problem. I know this can save their cost in manufacturing.

KakiC●l○r® Calibration w/ Calman

---------------------------------------------------------------

Current Setup:

*LG 55" LH95/LHX

-Semi-Gloss Coating

-Direct Backlit SlimLED w/ Local Dimming

-3360 LEDs w/ 240 Zones

*LG 42" LM7600

-Gloss Coating

-Edge-lit LED w/ Local Dimming

KakimotoRift is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Westinghouse Ld 3235 32 Inch Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Samsung 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv Un55f8000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off