Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread - Page 106 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3151 of 7589 Old 10-08-2013, 07:01 AM
Member
 
oreb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
No. You have nothing to worry about with the bars. It's not at all like plasma with IR.

Although, I've seen LCD computer monitors with burn in. But that was due to the sun beaming on the display everydat for months on end.
oreb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3152 of 7589 Old 10-08-2013, 07:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by mroadster158 View Post

Appreciate the thought. I have seen how you got blasted on other posts. You are just offering useful info and it is welcomed. My problem no one near me has a 75f6400 on display, only the 7100 and 8000. I would have to try it with a 65F6400 if I can find one. Thanks.

Thanks smile.gif

Wow that's a bummer that no one has it on display. Hmm. Then you get into issues as to how consistent the line quality is from one size to another, panel sourcing, etc. Where are you located? Maybe an owner in the 6400 thread would let you have a look at their's. Sorry can't be more help.

Btw your handle makes me long for my old M3's...both long since traded in for family mobiles.

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #3153 of 7589 Old 10-08-2013, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr_Kn0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone,

Please forgive me if this was covered somewhere in this thread already (please direct me to the post(s) if that was the case). Please also forgive my ignorance if the question I have is a simple one.

What I wanted to know was how important is it to have 1080/24p enabled for my movie content. Because this TV is a 240hz display, does it still use 3:2 pulldown when receiving a 1080/60p signal? Right now I feed my TV 1080/60p content....I'm wondering if I should change that or not (where applicable)?
Dr_Kn0w is offline  
post #3154 of 7589 Old 10-08-2013, 05:08 PM
Member
 
bulgolgiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aberod777 View Post

Fyi everybody I just picked my my un55f8000, got it price matched for 1895.00

How did you get best buy to price match? What retailer did you use for price?

I've gone to about 5 in my area and none will match any price other than official Samsung retailers which have their prices locked.

Also about how far is your viewing distance? I'm about 10.5 ft away and am deciding bw a 55" and 60".
bulgolgiman is online now  
post #3155 of 7589 Old 10-09-2013, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulgolgiman View Post


Also about how far is your viewing distance? I'm about 10.5 ft away and am deciding bw a 55" and 60".

I'd be deciding between a 60" and 65" at 10.5 feet. I have a 65" at 11 feet and wouldn't really want anything smaller. 55" will be pretty small at that distance IMO.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #3156 of 7589 Old 10-09-2013, 06:52 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What up with the Input lag dudes ... noone knows ? ... i feel like gettin ignored ... is that Input lag fixed or what ?
Philip Dilla is offline  
post #3157 of 7589 Old 10-09-2013, 08:09 AM
Member
 
phoenixone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Dilla View Post

What up with the Input lag dudes ... noone knows ? ... i feel like gettin ignored ... is that Input lag fixed or what ?

There were quite a few posts a few threads back regarding how the recent updates mostly corrected and reduced input lag. Some are saying they're not experiencing any lag, some say it's barely noticeable. But it seems everyone agrees that games are now playable on the F8000.

I Hope this helps.
Godzilla1964 likes this.
phoenixone is offline  
post #3158 of 7589 Old 10-09-2013, 08:18 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thx dude
Philip Dilla is offline  
post #3159 of 7589 Old 10-09-2013, 08:31 AM
Member
 
phoenixone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Dilla View Post

thx dude


biggrin.gif
phoenixone is offline  
post #3160 of 7589 Old 10-09-2013, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
The Walking Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a Samsung UN65F8000BFXZA less than a month ago. I love the television! I have DirecTv, and I have been watching it using default settings right out of the box. I've noticed that on certain channels while watching certain shows, there appears to be occasional pauses or hesitations. For example, I seem to notice it more often while watching Sons of Anarchy on FXHD than while watching Homeland on ShowtimeHD. Are there settings I can adjust on the television to reduce or eliminate these pauses or is this a problem related to DirecTv.
The Walking Dude is offline  
post #3161 of 7589 Old 10-09-2013, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
airian9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Walking Dude View Post

I purchased a Samsung UN65F8000BFXZA less than a month ago. I love the television! I have DirecTv, and I have been watching it using default settings right out of the box. I've noticed that on certain channels while watching certain shows, there appears to be occasional pauses or hesitations. For example, I seem to notice it more often while watching Sons of Anarchy on FXHD than while watching Homeland on ShowtimeHD. Are there settings I can adjust on the television to reduce or eliminate these pauses or is this a problem related to DirecTv.

Try adjusting your Auto Motion Plus settings to Clear or none. I have Directv and use clear and don't notice any of these issues 99% of the time.
airian9 is offline  
post #3162 of 7589 Old 10-09-2013, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
The Walking Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by airian9 View Post

Try adjusting your Auto Motion Plus settings to Clear or none. I have Directv and use clear and don't notice any of these issues 99% of the time.
Okay, let me give that a try.
The Walking Dude is offline  
post #3163 of 7589 Old 10-10-2013, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Godzilla1964's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: OKC
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixone View Post

There were quite a few posts a few threads back regarding how the recent updates mostly corrected and reduced input lag. Some are saying they're not experiencing any lag, some say it's barely noticeable. But it seems everyone agrees that games are now playable on the F8000.

I Hope this helps.

Nice and patient reply. You get the proverbial "thumbs up" and a nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize !!
phoenixone likes this.
Godzilla1964 is offline  
post #3164 of 7589 Old 10-10-2013, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
Lowcrawl37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a 55es8000. I have had this for a while but i was wondering about the major differences or anything about the picture quality and so forth between the F8000 and the ES8000? I am interested in purchasing the F8000.....anyone who has input and knowledge of the two would be appreciated. Also does anyone know when the next years model is coming out....early 2014 maybe, not the 4k version but the next 8000 series.

Lowcrawl37 is offline  
post #3165 of 7589 Old 10-10-2013, 09:33 AM
Member
 
phoenixone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godzilla1964 View Post

Nice and patient reply. You get the proverbial "thumbs up" and a nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize !!

LOL! This made me laugh. Thanks!biggrin.gif
phoenixone is offline  
post #3166 of 7589 Old 10-12-2013, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
matrix79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello, since the last update to 1110.2 (46f8000 europe) i'm unable to use the 3d function on my PS3.  I tried everything: Reset TV, reset PS3, other Hdmi cables, connect the ps3 direct to the TV.  The most strange part is that when i connect my ps3 to my TV i get no image on most HDMI ports.  Only the HDMI ARC port works without 3d capability.  When i try to connect another device to my HDMI ports (my mede8er mediaplayer) everything works fine...

I tried the trick to reset the screen settings of my ps3 (press power 5 sec), i also tried the screen settings (hdmi auto).

What can i do more to test what the problem is?  

matrix79 is offline  
post #3167 of 7589 Old 10-13-2013, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr_Kn0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Kn0w View Post

Hi Everyone,

Please forgive me if this was covered somewhere in this thread already (please direct me to the post(s) if that was the case). Please also forgive my ignorance if the question I have is a simple one.

What I wanted to know was how important is it to have 1080/24p enabled for my movie content. Because this TV is a 240hz display, does it still use 3:2 pulldown when receiving a 1080/60p signal? Right now I feed my TV 1080/60p content....I'm wondering if I should change that or not (where applicable)?


Anyone?
Dr_Kn0w is offline  
post #3168 of 7589 Old 10-14-2013, 12:24 PM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Kn0w View Post

Hi Everyone,

Please forgive me if this was covered somewhere in this thread already (please direct me to the post(s) if that was the case). Please also forgive my ignorance if the question I have is a simple one.

What I wanted to know was how important is it to have 1080/24p enabled for my movie content. Because this TV is a 240hz display, does it still use 3:2 pulldown when receiving a 1080/60p signal? Right now I feed my TV 1080/60p content....I'm wondering if I should change that or not (where applicable)?

Devices that can send 24 fps, like blue ray players, should be set to output that to the TV. Your TV can read this signal and do the right thing. The TV will show that you're receiving 24fps in the info box in the top left corner of the screen when the actual movie begins. Note that usually movie previews on the disc, and special features, are not shot in 24fps and their input signal signal will show in the box before they start to play.
dfp is offline  
post #3169 of 7589 Old 10-15-2013, 04:29 PM
Newbie
 
JPizzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi all,

So, I set my movie setting to cnet's ratings and took a picture of some light bleed that i noticed.  Am I being nit picky or is this an acceptable/expected amount of light bleed.

 

Thanks

 

JP

 

JPizzzle is offline  
post #3170 of 7589 Old 10-15-2013, 04:45 PM
Member
 
oreb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Not bad at all.
JPizzzle likes this.
oreb is offline  
post #3171 of 7589 Old 10-16-2013, 01:25 AM
Senior Member
 
adgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPizzzle View Post

Hi all,
So, I set my movie setting to cnet's ratings and took a picture of some light bleed that i noticed.  Am I being nit picky or is this an acceptable/expected amount of light bleed.

Thanks

JP


I'd check with actual content you will be watching, measuring it off no signal will show the worst trait possible IMO. That TV doesn't look horrible to me on my phone.
adgrimes is offline  
post #3172 of 7589 Old 10-16-2013, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
OriginalGrumps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

[possibly still posted to the wrong forum]

 

I have delayed entering the 21st century (and perhaps the 20th) by not buying a large flat screen TV. My trusty old CRT (yep, remember those) blew a few days back and this time I cannot repair it. For main movie viewing I have a Panasonic projector, but would like to supplement this with a 40" (or thereabouts) LCD TV. Could possibly stretch to 42", but the space available is limited and I do not want to mount it high up on the wall.

 

I've done quite some reading online and paid some visits to the high street for lengthy discussions and demos. The choice seems to come down to the Samsung UE40F8000 and the Sony KDL-40W905A. From the viewing I've done, they're both superb. I'm favouring the Samsung with its camera, freesat, and touch remote. Would I use these features much? Probably not.

 

But, I've also read reviews suggesting the the Samsung can suffer (if that's the right term) slight judder on scene changes and fast movement. The most recently posted review I read however, said that there was no 2D judder. I wonder if newer firmware has fixed this issue, and also wonder if any AVS members have comments about this problem.

 

Thanks for your time. Cheers.

OriginalGrumps is offline  
post #3173 of 7589 Old 10-16-2013, 10:36 AM
Member
 
bulgolgiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the f8000 sets still suffer from input lag, especially when gaming/game mode or had updates/settings fixed this ?
bulgolgiman is online now  
post #3174 of 7589 Old 10-16-2013, 12:04 PM
Member
 
BALDheadedGRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone noticed that their set is exactly level on the stand? The top of my screen is perfectly level but if i put a level on the back the top part is leaning about 1/4 inch back.
Ive tried loosening the stand screws but it hasn't helped.
BALDheadedGRL is offline  
post #3175 of 7589 Old 10-16-2013, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Jim1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BALDheadedGRL View Post

has anyone noticed that their set is exactly level on the stand? The top of my screen is perfectly level but if i put a level on the back the top part is leaning about 1/4 inch back.
Ive tried loosening the stand screws but it hasn't helped.

Mine does the same thing,it must have something to do with the way the stand is made...
Jim1961 is offline  
post #3176 of 7589 Old 10-16-2013, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
It`s designed that way.

DO NOT LOSSEN the SCREWS anymore , there was thread sealant on the screws to prevent them from backing out !!!!! wink.gif

Scan this thread , I did a write up about this issue , as it has been brought up in the past !!

Later biggrin.gif

Gary 
BALDheadedGRL likes this.
jedi29 is online now  
post #3177 of 7589 Old 10-16-2013, 03:22 PM
Member
 
BALDheadedGRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Gary, I've read up to page 40 looking for things, found your post.

It also makes the camera pretty useless when sitting down.
Since it's really only my head in the shot and I have to raise my hand all the way up in order for motion to recognize my hand..

but it makes sense if its a way to ensure the screen from tilting forward on its own.
BALDheadedGRL is offline  
post #3178 of 7589 Old 10-17-2013, 01:24 AM
Newbie
 
genza93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


So I just got a un60f8000 and I noticed some flash lighting. Let me know what you guys think. It's also very noticeable in the corners when I turn the tv on. I uploaded pictures my first led tv so don't know if this is bad or just led tv in general.
genza93 is offline  
post #3179 of 7589 Old 10-17-2013, 04:40 AM
Member
 
blacknyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulgolgiman View Post

Does the f8000 sets still suffer from input lag, especially when gaming/game mode or had updates/settings fixed this ?


fixed...in game mode
blacknyc is offline  
post #3180 of 7589 Old 10-17-2013, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I'm afraid of the answer, but I'll ask anyway.

For this set, is it normal for the screen to look brighter or even washed out if you get too close or watch at an extreme angle? From afar this looks great, but as soon as I get up and move closer, it starts to wash out.
Tom Imp is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Westinghouse Ld 3235 32 Inch Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Samsung 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv Un55f8000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off