Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread - Page 157 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4681 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
sideout99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Culver City, Ca.
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post


Great pics!

How do you get the camera to catch the tv so good? Whenever I try to capture something the tv content is moving so i don't get very clear picture.

Nothing special.  My phone is an HTC One.  Some came out blurry.  Not sure what the shutter speed is.  I think it is supposed to have and adjustment for shutter speed, as well as ISO settings.  Unfortunately they are not on my phone camera app.  Waiting for HTC to fix with a software update.  Be waiting over a month  Grrrrrrrrr  Decided to wait, not return the phone.

sideout99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4682 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
hemertje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
SamsungF8000calibrations.xlsx 34k .xlsx file
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

Great!

Looking forward to seeing the similarities and differences.

I have been very happy with Buzz settings from the first page of this thread. smile.gif

i made a sheet with comparisons of the collected calibration settings, see the attachment

can someone explain the differences in general?
Attached Files
File Type: xlsx SamsungF8000calibrations.xlsx (33.6 KB, 84 views)
HPQ likes this.
hemertje is offline  
post #4683 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
sideout99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Culver City, Ca.
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemertje View Post

SamsungF8000calibrations.xlsx 34k .xlsx file
i made a sheet with comparisons of the collected calibration settings, see the attachment

can someone explain the differences in general?

Could you save a version as xls, oposed to xlsx ?

sideout99 is offline  
post #4684 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:15 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
i converted it.

SamsungF8000calibrations.xls 62k .xls file
Attached Files
File Type: xls SamsungF8000calibrations.xls (61.5 KB, 45 views)

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #4685 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:16 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemertje View Post

SamsungF8000calibrations.xlsx 34k .xlsx file
i made a sheet with comparisons of the collected calibration settings, see the attachment

can someone explain the differences in general?

Thanks. You took a lot of time to gather the details. Thanks once again! Much appreciate it. Nice to see everything in one place.

I will have to take a look.. At work now but will look later today. smile.gif

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #4686 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Chigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrooveRite View Post

It really is, lol!! My brother just lost this fight with his wife. He had his sights set on the F8000 65" and she killed his hopes! She said that they have a working TV (Sammy 46" 2009) already! No need for a new one. They just don't understand, lol rolleyes.gif

My wife was pretty apathetic about a TV upgrade initially. After I returned the F6300, I had to wait about 2 months before the finances (read: wife) would allow the upgrade to the 60" F8000. In the meantime, we swithced back to our old 46" A-series, and she hated the smaller screen! I guess it's like a drug; you just gotta get 'em hooked. Now if only we could devise a way for your brother to do the same...
Chigo is offline  
post #4687 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:18 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Anyone that does not think the update to OLED is worth it picture wise has not seen one, now financial costs of the OLED's are a different topic.

There is no disagreement that OLED gives great picture that is for sure!

It is the price tag when folks stop looking at OLED! smile.gif

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #4688 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:21 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chigo View Post

My wife was pretty apathetic about a TV upgrade initially. After I returned the F6300, I had to wait about 2 months before the finances (read: wife) would allow the upgrade to the 60" F8000. In the meantime, we swithced back to our old 46" A-series, and she hated the smaller screen! I guess it's like a drug; you just gotta get 'em hooked. Now if only we could devise a way for your brother to do the same...

lol.

My wife was willing to allow me to get the upgrade since our old one (55 inch Mitsubishi Rear Pro) was nearing it's death bed after 14 good years of service. So, when we were finally making the decision, I decided to go for the 75 inch because if I went with something smaller, there would be no way, I could upgrade to a bigger one till that new tv died.. So, it is either the 75 inch now or never. Glad I took the 75 inch.. Love it! smile.gif

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #4689 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
sideout99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Culver City, Ca.
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

i converted it.

SamsungF8000calibrations.xls 62k .xls file

Thanks, HPQ

sideout99 is offline  
post #4690 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Chigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

lol.

My wife was willing to allow me to get the upgrade since our old one (55 inch Mitsubishi Rear Pro) was nearing it's death bed after 14 good years of service. So, when we were finally making the decision, I decided to go for the 75 inch because if I went with something smaller, there would be no way, I could upgrade to a bigger one till that new tv died.. So, it is either the 75 inch now or never. Glad I took the 75 inch.. Love it! smile.gif

Good idea! That way you will have no regrets. No one (well, no guy at least) ever said "this TV is too big." 14 years is a great return on investment for a TV. If you start getting upgrade-itis before this set dies a natural death, you may just have to loosen the screws holding it onto the base smile.gif
Chigo is offline  
post #4691 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 12:58 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chigo View Post

Good idea! That way you will have no regrets. No one (well, no guy at least) ever said "this TV is too big." 14 years is a great return on investment for a TV. If you start getting upgrade-itis before this set dies a natural death, you may just have to loosen the screws holding it onto the base smile.gif

I hope this one lasts as long as the Mitsubishi.. The Manufacturers just don't make them like those anymore.. (build quality that is).. lol..

Let's see.

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #4692 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
lol24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle_2 View Post

Cinavia is awful and this is a legitimate concern. That said, I don't think we have to worry about that with this set, unless you use the tv itself to play your media. If that's the case, it can certainly become an issue if they force it in an update.

I use my Mede8er media player to play all my media. Both the audio and video are going straight to my receiver from the media player via HDMI, From there the receiver passes the video to my F8000 over HDMI. So my audio never touches the tv. It goes from the media player to the receiver, and into my speakers. The tv just displays the video. Actually the tv gets the audio too, but I turn the tv audio off for movies and just use my surround speakers. So even if the tv is using Cinavia, my media player doesn't (and won't), so the audio will not be affected by the tv, even if it has Cinavia enabled.

Like I said, if I used the tv to play media files directly, then that would likely become an issue with Cinavia, but if you use a non-Cinavia media player and allow your receiver to handle the audio, I can't see how Cinavia would have any effect. Cinavia works by detecting the Cinavia encoding on the audio signal being sent, and then cutting out the audio if it detects that it's not "legitimate". From what I understand, Cinavia has to be triggered by the "player" - either a PS3, or a blu-ray player, or the tv itself if you're using it as a player. If your'e using a non-Cinavia player, even if it sends it to a Cinavia tv, it shouldn't matter, because the player doesn't support it so it won't get triggered.

If I'm wrong about any of this please correct me. This is how I understand it to work, but I have never run into a Cinavia issue, so I can't say first-hand what would happen , especially since our tv doesn't currently support it.

The HT-E5550 is a blu-ray player, and so as you said you're screwed as far as that goes because as far as I understand all blu-ray players are now using Cinavia. But that doesn't hold true for media players. Just make sure you get one that doesn't have any plans to implement it (avoid Sony). I highly recommend the Mede8er as a media player - it's an amazing player for the price - the best I've ever owned.

Hi thanks for the reply.
I'm watching movies from my ext. hdd directly to f8000, that's why I was concerned about future fw updates,
and my home cinema with cinavia is connected to tv and I'm getting sound on all speakers so I think
cinavia will be triggered only when you are watching movies on cinavia media players like bluray player
that already have cinavia builted in or downloaded in future updates.
Thx for recommendation. smile.gif
lol24 is offline  
post #4693 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
sideout99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Culver City, Ca.
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemertje View Post

SamsungF8000calibrations.xlsx 34k .xlsx file
i made a sheet with comparisons of the collected calibration settings, see the attachment

can someone explain the differences in general?

I forgot to say thanks, hemertje, for compiling the spreadsheet.  I will have to "digest" it some.

Explain the differences...  Hmmm...  I might say try some of the various settings and see the affect they have on the picture and which are most to your liking.

Also, in the menus, when you moved to a particular settings it gives you a brief description of what it does.

sideout99 is offline  
post #4694 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
wkwhittenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have my A/V sources (cable box, Xbox 360, Xbox One, laptop) connected to my UN60F8000 through my Pioneer Elite SC-75 receiver. I have noticed that whenever I switch inputs on the receiver, I lose the picture for several seconds. I have no loss in audio, just picture. I don't know if this is an issue with the receiver or the TV. Has anyone else experienced this and is there a fix for this?

 

Thanks

wkwhittenberg is offline  
post #4695 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 01:19 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Question.. After you make a change in the setting on the TV, it is automatically saved, right when you exit the menu?

If power goes out at the house and then power returns, the settings should stay, correct?

I didn't see any save button per say so thought to ask.

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #4696 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 01:23 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkwhittenberg View Post

I have my A/V sources (cable box, Xbox 360, Xbox One, laptop) connected to my UN60F8000 through my Pioneer Elite SC-75 receiver. I have noticed that whenever I switch inputs on the receiver, I lose the picture for several seconds. I have no loss in audio, just picture. I don't know if this is an issue with the receiver or the TV. Has anyone else experienced this and is there a fix for this?

Thanks

I have seen it occasionally when going from blu ray to tv and ps4 to tv when i use the universal remote. It automatically turns everything on and does the selection input for the AVR as well. I think it is the sequence that the macro is using on the remote.. I am ok with it happening every now and then since I don't have time to mess with the macros..

Doesn't happen if I use each component remote .. Only with the remote control that I use for all the units. Not samsung issue for me since I am using a universal remote for that.

Are you using universal remote with macro's for all your units?

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #4697 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
wkwhittenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post


I have seen it occasionally when going from blu ray to tv and ps4 to tv when i use the universal remote. It automatically turns everything on and does the selection input for the AVR as well. I think it is the sequence that the macro is using on the remote.. I am ok with it happening every now and then since I don't have time to mess with the macros..

Doesn't happen if I use each component remote .. Only with the remote control that I use for all the units. Not samsung issue.

Which remote are you using? I'm using the Harmony Smart remote with both my iPhone and the remote that comes with it.

wkwhittenberg is offline  
post #4698 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 01:31 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I use a universal remote MX-450. Manual is here.

I also have a universal advanced RF base station so that I can just point the universal remote anywhere (up, down, sideways, anyplace in the room but not necessarily pointing to the tv or any of the components) and the signal will be picked up by all the components. It is MRF-350. Manual is here.

All of my components are behind my sofa. Only my TV is in front of me.. So the RF base comes in handy.. Do not need to point the remote behind me and hope the sensors on the various components capture it. smile.gif

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
post #4699 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrooveRite View Post

It really is, lol!! My brother just lost this fight with his wife. He had his sights set on the F8000 65" and she killed his hopes! She said that they have a working TV (Sammy 46" 2009) already! No need for a new one. They just don't understand, lol rolleyes.gif

Explaining bias lighting to them doesn't get any better either. "We have a light in the room."

Plus when you start trying to explain when it gets technical, woosh!
xvfx is offline  
post #4700 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
tsduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My TV will occasionally go black and come back on. I mean hear and there not a lot. It goes black then come back on with the info banner across the top. Is there some setting that might be doing it or is something jacked up?
tsduke is offline  
post #4701 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsduke View Post

My TV will occasionally go black and come back on. I mean hear and there not a lot. It goes black then come back on with the info banner across the top. Is there some setting that might be doing it or is something jacked up?

Does it do it at random times or does it do it one time within a minute or so of powering up the tv? Mine does it one time, every single time I power up the TV. It's like an HDMI handshake - it goes black for a second and then the info banner with the HDMI input number and input resolution is displayed. I have my TV plugged into a switched outlet on a power strip, so the TV gets "unplugged" automatically whenever the AVR gets turned off and then "plugged back in" whenever I turn the AVR back on. I always assumed that this behavior was somehow related to powering the tv off in this manner vs. "properly" shutting it off and letting it go into standby.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #4702 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
tsduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post

Does it do it at random times or does it do it one time within a minute or so of powering up the tv? Mine does it one time, every single time I power up the TV. It's like an HDMI handshake - it goes black for a second and then the info banner with the HDMI input number and input resolution is displayed. I have my TV plugged into a switched outlet on a power strip, so the TV gets "unplugged" automatically whenever the AVR gets turned off and then "plugged back in" whenever I turn the AVR back on. I always assumed that this behavior was somehow related to powering the tv off in this manner vs. "properly" shutting it off and letting it go into standby.

I can't remember for sure but most if not nearly all of them are within a few minutes of power up. It seems like I've had them after longer time of view too. I'll have to pay more attention.

I don't have a green surge protector so my tv isn't unplugged when off.
tsduke is offline  
post #4703 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 03:18 PM
Member
 
arrow201's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelt2000x View Post

Thanks. Just measured and I am exactly 12' away. I'd you sat any further away do you think you would want the 65"?

12' sounds good for a 65". if possible, take a DVD
you know of and a measuring tape to the store to
try.
arrow201 is offline  
post #4704 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
arrow201's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsduke View Post

My TV will occasionally go black and come back on. I mean hear and there not a lot. It goes black then come back on with the info banner across the top. Is there some setting that might be doing it or is something jacked up?

software update set to AUTO ?
arrow201 is offline  
post #4705 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
tsduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrow201 View Post

software update set to AUTO ?

Yes. Is that bad?

Edit: Nevermind. Auto is set to no. Current version is 1117.
tsduke is offline  
post #4706 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
sideout99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Culver City, Ca.
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

Question.. After you make a change in the setting on the TV, it is automatically saved, right when you exit the menu?

If power goes out at the house and then power returns, the settings should stay, correct?

I didn't see any save button per say so thought to ask.

I believe that is correct.  A power failure will not loose settings.  But, I have not had a power failure LOL  So I guess I can not say 100% that that is a fact.

Actually, I do believe I have unplugged and re-plugged my TV.  No lose of settings.

sideout99 is offline  
post #4707 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 04:03 PM
Member
 
arrow201's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideout99 View Post

I believe that is correct.  A power failure will not loose settings.  But, I have not had a power failure LOL  So I guess I can not say 100% that that is a fact.
Actually, I do believe I have unplugged and re-plugged my TV.  No lose of settings.

I bought one of those APC battery back up UPS/surge power
bars for my TV and receiver. For $80, I think its a
good investment.
arrow201 is offline  
post #4708 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
sideout99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Culver City, Ca.
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrow201 View Post


I bought one if those APC battery back up UPS/surge power
bars for my TV and receiver. For $80, I think its a
good investment.

I have had one for a long time for my PC.  I had my NAS near the PC and plugged into it.  Then I moved my NAS into my entertainment center (lloks better more hidden and, it hides the UPS and wires  :cool:).  Had a good quality surge protector in the entertainment console.  But then thought...  NAS is a disk drive, even surge protected might not like sudden removal of power.  So I bought another UPS for the entertainment center.  Not that I am going to run my TV and everything else off of it for long, but gives me time to properly shutdown my NAS.  When I bought my first one, APC ...  Actually that's right, the APC died after years.  I went with a CyberPower one, EC850LED.  The first one I bought for the PC I think was like $120.  The second one I just bought, the same, was like $80 now.

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DBAA696/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

sideout99 is offline  
post #4709 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 05:11 PM
Senior Member
 
DRN94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Anyone that does not think the update to OLED is worth it picture wise has not seen one, now financial costs of the OLED's are a different topic.

Obviously OLED is superior to LED in every measurable way and its clear it'll provide a quantum leap coming from LED. My question was is the F8000 good enough to not upgrade until OLED is affordable? Or will LED progress enough in the near future to warrant an upgrade to another LED before making the switch to OLED?

If the black level on the top LED flagships dropped by a factor of 5 or more compared to the F8000 before an OLED of 55" was around $5,000 I would probably gladly sell my F8000 and upgrade to another LED. But if OLED will be under $4000 for a 55" by 2017 or 2018 then I could easily see holding on to the F8000 until then. I guess it just depends how much better LED gets and how expensive OLED stays in the meantime.
DRN94 is offline  
post #4710 of 7493 Old 02-04-2014, 06:15 PM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideout99 View Post

I believe that is correct.  A power failure will not loose settings.  But, I have not had a power failure LOL  So I guess I can not say 100% that that is a fact.
Actually, I do believe I have unplugged and re-plugged my TV.  No lose of settings.

Thanks for the details. I do have all my changes written down worse case! smile.gif

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501. Pics here.
HPQ is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Westinghouse Ld 3235 32 Inch Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Samsung 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv Un55f8000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off