Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by fambo View Post


Well correct me If I'm wrong? but looking at the pictures it appears that the stand is almost as wide as the TV. So to place this TV on a stand, It would have to be a wider stand. Even wider for the 60 or 65 inch set down the road. What do you guys think????

The fact that the stand is so wide is definitely a downside, but I think this is negated by the fact that the TV, when sitting on the stand, may very well be the most gorgeous set ever built. The thing is simply a work of art. I'm in the market for the 75" version. In preparation for the new set, I have purchased a Standout Designs 82" stand. In fact, the stand is on its way to me as I type this. It's an extremely wide stand, but I figure it will not only accommodate the 75 incher, but it will also leave me ready for any future sets up to 90" or so.
gweempose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 07:37 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
just got home from work turned on my Sammy , it greats me with this message..



AGUSTINFOREVER likes this.
Lwood is offline  
post #33 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What FW version did your tv come with? Mine came with 1015
grhopper is offline  
post #34 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 08:01 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhopper View Post

What FW version did your tv come with? Mine came with 1015

came with 1012
Lwood is offline  
post #35 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I wonder what changed. Did you have any problems?
grhopper is offline  
post #36 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhopper View Post

I wonder what changed. Did you have any problems?

no problems what so ever.
are you going to get your sammy professional calibrated??
Lwood is offline  
post #37 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
here is the opening credits of pans labyrinth

i dont see any clouds ..




Lwood is offline  
post #38 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 08:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,912
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 1685
Not only that, I see absolutely no haloing. Very nice. smile.gif
Ken Ross is offline  
post #39 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Probably not professionally calibrated. I've been trying to do it with the WOW disk as I have time, but have only gotten a few steps in. BTW, my production date is Feb 2013, and version is TS01.
grhopper is offline  
post #40 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
When I went to turn off the tv just now I got a message saying it was updating the camera firmware before powering off.
grhopper is offline  
post #41 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmay91472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwood View Post

just got home from work turned on my Sammy , it greats me with this message..





Lol.... and so the firmware updates begin. FYI.... You may want to turn updates off until you truly know what they will do. Just ask early ES8000 owners about their missing edge enhancement and shadow detail features that mysteriously disappeared after one of the first firmware upgrades.
cmay91472 is offline  
post #42 of 7883 Old 03-18-2013, 11:20 PM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhopper View Post

When I went to turn off the tv just now I got a message saying it was updating the camera firmware before powering off.

yes me too
Lwood is offline  
post #43 of 7883 Old 03-19-2013, 04:04 AM
Senior Member
 
AGuy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Now that more of us have the set, I'm eager to hear about calibration settings! So far in 2D, I haven't made too many adjustments. I've been watching content in the Movie preset and just lowered the backlight, brightness and contrast values slightly. By default it was crushing the blacks a bit. I still use Movie when playing games, too, but change it from Warm 2 to Warm 1.
AGuy01 is offline  
post #44 of 7883 Old 03-19-2013, 09:01 AM
Member
 
AGUSTINFOREVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGuy01 View Post

Now that more of us have the set, I'm eager to hear about calibration settings! So far in 2D, I haven't made too many adjustments. I've been watching content in the Movie preset and just lowered the backlight, brightness and contrast values slightly. By default it was crushing the blacks a bit. I still use Movie when playing games, too, but change it from Warm 2 to Warm 1.

Hi, I've just seen on the other thread you set the black tone in darkest. My only question is : Did you notice some clouding when setting that feature in off ? , cause I'm sure all Expert from CNET, Flatpanelshd,etc, will recommend us to set or leave it off ( sorry, I'm obssesed to know if the F8000 could get rid of that terrible issue ). Thank u

Pdta : I could find some presets of the F8000 by taking a look at the Avforums review ( make double click on the menu pics ) :

Picture mode : Movie
Backlight : 10
Contrast ; 80
Brightness : 45
Sharpness : 0
Colour : 50


Advance settings :
Dynamic contrast :off
Black tone : off

White Balance :

R-Offset : 25
G-Offset : 25
B-Offset : 25
R-Gain : 33
G-Gain : 23
B-Gain : 25


I'd change the title of this thread for : F8000 samsung - The final clouding battle has just began ( or so ) biggrin.gif , it'd make it differente from the rest, because we don't want to see a lot of users complain about the clouding issue anymore as always happened on the other ones ( D8000-ES8000).
Agustin Alonso likes this.
AGUSTINFOREVER is offline  
post #45 of 7883 Old 03-19-2013, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
AGuy01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGUSTINFOREVER View Post

Hi, I've just seen on the other thread you set the black tone in darkest. My only question is : Did you notice some clouding when setting that feature in off ? , cause I'm sure all Expert from CNET, Flatpanelshd,etc, will recommend us to set or leave it off ( sorry, I'm obssesed to know if the F8000 could get rid of that terrible issue ). Thank u

I didn't notice any clouding, even when disabling everything. I just liked the look of Black Tone enabled, despite it crushing shadow detail a bit.
AGUSTINFOREVER likes this.
AGuy01 is offline  
post #46 of 7883 Old 03-19-2013, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Lwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGuy01 View Post

Now that more of us have the set, I'm eager to hear about calibration settings! So far in 2D, I haven't made too many adjustments. I've been watching content in the Movie preset and just lowered the backlight, brightness and contrast values slightly. By default it was crushing the blacks a bit. I still use Movie when playing games, too, but change it from Warm 2 to Warm 1.

do you turn on game mode?? when playing games.
Lwood is offline  
post #47 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello

New to the forum, also a new UN55F8000. Wondering which samsung push button remote could be used in place

of the touch remote that came with the tv?

Thanks
Pickstv is offline  
post #48 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickstv View Post

Hello

New to the forum, also a new UN55F8000. Wondering which samsung push button remote could be used in place

of the touch remote that came with the tv?

Thanks

I could be wrong, but I think it's the same exact one that comes with the ES8000.
gweempose is offline  
post #49 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post

I could be wrong, but I think it's the same exact one that comes with the ES8000.


Thanks for the help. May give it a try, just don't like the touch remote.
Pickstv is offline  
post #50 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Can one of the owners please tell me where the IR receiver is on the F8000? I was at Best Buy yesterday looking at the set, and I couldn't find it. I plan on controlling the set with a universal remote, so I will need to stick an IR baster over the receiver.
gweempose is offline  
post #51 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post

Can one of the owners please tell me where the IR receiver is on the F8000? I was at Best Buy yesterday looking at the set, and I couldn't find it. I plan on controlling the set with a universal remote, so I will need to stick an IR baster over the receiver.

My best guess is that it's built into the Samsung light at the bottom of the screen. When I get home I can try to cover that up with something and see if my Dish remote can still turn it on.
grhopper is offline  
post #52 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eagle_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post

I could be wrong, but I think it's the same exact one that comes with the ES8000.

Correct. The same standard remote from last year works with the F8000.
eagle_2 is offline  
post #53 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhopper View Post

My best guess is that it's built into the Samsung light at the bottom of the screen ...

That's what I was afraid of. It's gonna look pretty odd if I stick a blaster right over the Samsung logo. frown.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhopper View Post

When I get home I can try to cover that up with something and see if my Dish remote can still turn it on.

Thanks! I really appreciate it.
gweempose is offline  
post #54 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I tried covering up the light on the bottom with my hand, and the tv still powered on with my Dish remote. If I cover the end of remote with my hand, the signal doesn't go through to the tv. That being said, the signal being used is an IR signal, and the receiver isn't at the light. Other than covering the whole tv with electrical tape and remove little by little until you find the magic spot.
grhopper is offline  
post #55 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post

Can one of the owners please tell me where the IR receiver is on the F8000? I was at Best Buy yesterday looking at the set, and I couldn't find it. I plan on controlling the set with a universal remote, so I will need to stick an IR baster over the receiver.


My guess would be somewhere on the lower right corner

around the red stand-by mode light.
Pickstv is offline  
post #56 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhopper View Post

I tried covering up the light on the bottom with my hand, and the tv still powered on with my Dish remote. If I cover the end of remote with my hand, the signal doesn't go through to the tv. That being said, the signal being used is an IR signal, and the receiver isn't at the light. Other than covering the whole tv with electrical tape and remove little by little until you find the magic spot.

Hey. Thanks for checking. So at least we now know one spot it isn't. smile.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickstv View Post

My guess would be somewhere on the lower right corner

around the red stand-by mode light.

This is where it typically is, but the bezel is so small, I just don't see how it could fit there. This is turning out to be quite a mystery.
gweempose is offline  
post #57 of 7883 Old 03-20-2013, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickstv View Post

My guess would be somewhere on the lower right corner

around the red stand-by mode light.

Good call. I covered up the area of the red standby light with my hand and it blocked the signal from my Dish remote
grhopper is offline  
post #58 of 7883 Old 03-21-2013, 10:05 AM
Member
 
AGUSTINFOREVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhopper View Post

Good call. I covered up the area of the red standby light with my hand and it blocked the signal from my Dish remote

Hi, here you go another review of the F8000 ( European version ) . but only pay attention if Samsung, finally, could get rid of clouding : http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/samsung-ue55f8000-201303212755.htm ( I'm waiting for some pics from you , please). See u.
AGUSTINFOREVER is offline  
post #59 of 7883 Old 03-21-2013, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
grhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just received an email from Samsung about the voice input problems I've been having:
Quote:
Thank you for your patience as we investigated the issue with Netflix. We apologize for the inconvenience and will be happy to assist you.

We have released a new firmware for our 2013 TVs on the Over the Network (OTN) server. You can now download and install through your TV, instead of using the USB method. Please upgrade to the latest firmware to enjoy Netflix.

The firmware version your TV needs to enjoy Netflix is 1015.2. In order to download this firmware, we have two (2) options; USB and OTN. We have found excellent detailed guides, which provide step by step instructions on downloading firmware. The two options are listed below:

Please copy and paste the links to download:

1) Over the Network:

http://agent.samsungsupport.com/agent/popup/iframe/pop_troubleshooting_fr.jsp?sitecode=us&account_type=&account=SEASNA972.ID&idx=168704&modelname=UN55F8000AF&modelcode=UN55F8000AFXZA&local_drive=GRV&display_type=A

2) USB:

http://agent.samsungsupport.com/agent/popup/iframe/pop_troubleshooting_fr.jsp?sitecode=us&account_type=&account=SEASNA972.ID&idx=168701&modelname=UN55F8000AF&modelcode=UN55F8000AFXZA&local_drive=GRV&display_type=A

In regards to the voice input issue, try different sources. If available, try connecting an external device (DVD player, Game Console, Blu-ray player, etc) to see if the issue continues. If the issue continues, please contact our Customer Support at 1-800-726-7864 (Samsung) to complete an Environment Test.

We hope this information was helpful. Should you have any other concerns, we would be more than happy to hear from you again.
grhopper is offline  
post #60 of 7883 Old 03-21-2013, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
Flocons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi F8000 owners! I'm actually expecting my set tomorrow, and have a quick question about wall mounting options for the UN55F8000, as much as I love the stand that it comes with. Anyhow, my question more directly involves the Samsung Ultra Slim mount (WMN2000B) that I already own. Is the new set compatible with these kind of wire mounts, or am I going to have to look into the big bulky brackets? Better yet, can someone take picture of the back of their TV?

Thanks a bunch!
Flocons is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Westinghouse Ld 3235 32 Inch Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Samsung 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv Un55f8000
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off