Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread - Page 247 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7381 of 7410 Old 07-01-2014, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Pickstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Need Help

It started yesterday morning, was going to watch a little ESPN before going to work, turned the tv on and after 20-25 seconds the tv turned off. Tried unplugging it, and still does it. I have a UN55F8000. Any suggestions what the problem could be?
Pickstv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7382 of 7410 Old 07-02-2014, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRN94 View Post
johnnyboy1988, I believe the cable goes in either way. I felt mine and it is very tight and secure. Perhaps you haven't plugged it in all the way? There is a decent amount of travel it has to go through in order to be fully plugged in.
Thanks DRN94, I kinda just had to force it in...thanks for the help.
johnnyboy1988 is offline  
post #7383 of 7410 Old 07-03-2014, 10:02 AM
Member
 
skesler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pandora Sound Drops out using ARC - UN65F8000

A friend purchased a Samsung UN65F8000 Smart TV last Christmas. The TV has been great, but recently they ran into a problem with the Pandora App.

The TV is hooked up to a Denon AVR-E400 Receiver and is using HDMI ARC for sound from the TV to the receiver. Verizon FIOS and DVD are hooked up to the receiver via HDMI. Everything works great.

They have an issue with the Pandora app sound dropping out, randomly. The screen indicates the song is still playing (via progress bar), but no sound from the receiver. Sometimes he can switch Pandora radio stations and the sound will start back, and other times he has to cycle power to the Receiver or TV to get the sound to come back.

They also frequently use the Vudu and Netflix apps without any sound issues (using Audio Return Channel – ARC).

At first they thought maybe it was due to them using a free Pandora account. But recently they paid for Pandora One and still have the issue.

Is anyone else having any issues with Pandora sound playback on their UNxxF8000 series Samsung TV?
skesler is offline  
post #7384 of 7410 Old 07-03-2014, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
DRN94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 71
skelser, sounds like a HDMI firmware handshake issue between the receiver and the TV. My cable box will sometimes develop digital, echoed sound and I have to switch channels and go back to get the sound back to normal. Because TV providers, set top box manufacturers, receiver manufacturers, BluRay player manufacturer's, game console manufacturer's, etc. all use different HDMI standards, incompatibilities can happen at any time for any device or TV.

Since there are such a vast array of different devices and no standards in HDMI firmware Samsung cannot guarantee compatibility for everything on HDMI. All you can really do is make sure the software is up to date on the TV and the device in question. If it's a particular app that's having handshake problems specifically you could try talking to Denon support to see if its something that can be corrected in a patch. If the two are simply not compatible with each other then he may just need to use the Pandora App on the F8000's Smart Hub instead.

I'm no receiver expert but I troubleshoot TVs for an extended warranty company and that is my understanding of how the hardware and software interact in this situation. I'm leaving my job in a month or so for school but I've been troubleshooting TVs for over a year now and firmware incompatibilities cannot be resolved through hardware replacement because they are software induced problems.
DRN94 is offline  
post #7385 of 7410 Old 07-04-2014, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guy's, just picked up UN60F8000 model and I'm loving it...gonna start changing my picture options, I'm going to most likely follow CNET's Picture settings, do you guys recommend there's or somebody's else...BTW they say one option is to turn OFF Black Enhancer but i don't see it in my Picture Options, is it a typo, I'm somewhat confused lol....thanks.
johnnyboy1988 is offline  
post #7386 of 7410 Old 07-04-2014, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
audiyopapa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy1988 View Post
Hey guy's, just picked up UN60F8000 model and I'm loving it...gonna start changing my picture options, I'm going to most likely follow CNET's Picture settings, do you guys recommend there's or somebody's else...BTW they say one option is to turn OFF Black Enhancer but i don't see it in my Picture Options, is it a typo, I'm somewhat confused lol....thanks.
I have the same model and use the CNET settings, except I use Standard mode vs. movie mode. Only thing I really had to play around with was the back-light and brightness settings. I'm at 7 on back-light and about 50-52 on brightness. Also, the biggest piece of advice I have it to turn "auto motion plus" to "clear". Any other settling caused stuttering/judder on my set and it seems like most people have the same issue. Clear works great. It's a beautiful set - enjoy!
audiyopapa is offline  
post #7387 of 7410 Old 07-04-2014, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank You Audiyopapa, i'll try that...So no Black Enhancer setting is actually in the menu...
johnnyboy1988 is offline  
post #7388 of 7410 Old 07-04-2014, 02:21 PM
Member
 
bellest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LaSalle, IL
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy1988 View Post
Thank You Audiyopapa, i'll try that...So no Black Enhancer setting is actually in the menu...
Correct, no black enhancer on the F8000 series, there is however a "black tone" setting under advanced settings.
bellest is offline  
post #7389 of 7410 Old 07-04-2014, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle_2 View Post
I've complained for months about this very issue and just gave up talking about it. There will never be a fix for auto motion plus. It's beyond repair. I get all the same issues you mentioned on my FiOS. Custom is unusable, including clear motion. Any combination of settings makes everything choppy. This is with blu-ray as well, not just FiOS. Clear is the only AMP mode that is usable. I tend to hate the soap opera effect but at times I do wish to enable it for some content, and I've given up long ago on hoping there would be improvements. In fact I have no idea what the updates even do because after a year of updates I have seen no improvements or tweaks, even in areas I have called Samsung and mentioned (like the fact that the tv forgets your 3D brightness setting every time you turn the tv off - incredibly annoying and I asked Samsung if they could fix it to remember the last setting - they said they have no plans to change it).




The F8000 had an updated processor too, compared to the previous models, but that didn't help AMP one bit. The F8000 is just as choppy with AMP as the ES7500 was.
Turn AMP off, and you will get a proper picture, with frame rates and motion as intended or captured. Any setting with AMP On is just lipstick on a pig.
Sam S is offline  
post #7390 of 7410 Old 07-04-2014, 05:31 PM
Member
 
geekparrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just wondering about something...

I usually view 1080p content via streaming, cable or Blu-ray. I have some DVDs I would like to see, and I know the UN60F8000 I have upscales content. I have the Sony BD5100 too, which also does up scaling.

I'm curious as to how to get the best upscale picture quality with the tv and BR player. Is it just automatically upscaled, or are there settings I need to enable on either one to upscale it as good as possible?

Thanks!
geekparrot is offline  
post #7391 of 7410 Old 07-05-2014, 04:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
One more question on Picture settings...LED Clear Motion On or Off...
johnnyboy1988 is offline  
post #7392 of 7410 Old 07-05-2014, 06:01 AM
Senior Member
 
DRN94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 71
johnnyboy1988, turning LED Clear Motion to On will noticeably increase your motion resolution without introducing anti-judder "soap opera" effects. However, this setting sometimes has problems with stuttering on cable box feeds. Some TV providers appear to have more issues than others with it. If you can turn it on and don't get any stuttering, I'd recommend keeping it on for the improved motion resolution. It can really make a difference in 60hz content like sports.
DRN94 is offline  
post #7393 of 7410 Old 07-05-2014, 06:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRN94 View Post
johnnyboy1988, turning LED Clear Motion to On will noticeably increase your motion resolution without introducing anti-judder "soap opera" effects. However, this setting sometimes has problems with stuttering on cable box feeds. Some TV providers appear to have more issues than others with it. If you can turn it on and don't get any stuttering, I'd recommend keeping it on for the improved motion resolution. It can really make a difference in 60hz content like sports.
And leaving :

Auto Motion Plus: Off
Blur reduction: 10
Judder reduction: 0

is ok...thnx for reply.

Last edited by johnnyboy1988; 07-05-2014 at 06:55 AM.
johnnyboy1988 is offline  
post #7394 of 7410 Old 07-06-2014, 03:32 AM
Newbie
 
billy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy1988 View Post
And leaving :

Auto Motion Plus: Off
Blur reduction: 10
Judder reduction: 0

is ok...thnx for reply.


I was just going to pull the trigger on a vizio m series when i came across a crazy stupid deal on a barely used 55in 8000. Needless to say im speechless. I think i got the settings pretty good. I tried searchin most of the pages here. But if anyone has any tips or suggestions would you mind sharing. Id even take a page number to read up on. Thank you in advance.
billy23 is offline  
post #7395 of 7410 Old 07-06-2014, 04:48 AM
Member
 
bellest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LaSalle, IL
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by billy23 View Post
I was just going to pull the trigger on a vizio m series when i came across a crazy stupid deal on a barely used 55in 8000. Needless to say im speechless. I think i got the settings pretty good. I tried searchin most of the pages here. But if anyone has any tips or suggestions would you mind sharing. Id even take a page number to read up on. Thank you in advance.
Take a look at Buzz's settings on page 6 of this thread.
bellest is offline  
post #7396 of 7410 Old 07-06-2014, 08:34 AM
Member
 
VideoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Visio huh.

As they said in Monty Python.....RUN AWAY.....


But that's my opinion from problems other people have had with them.


Quote:
Originally Posted by billy23 View Post
I was just going to pull the trigger on a vizio m series when i came across a crazy stupid deal on a barely used 55in 8000. Needless to say im speechless. I think i got the settings pretty good. I tried searchin most of the pages here. But if anyone has any tips or suggestions would you mind sharing. Id even take a page number to read up on. Thank you in advance.
VideoTech is offline  
post #7397 of 7410 Old 07-06-2014, 10:12 AM
Member
 
aukevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting the 75" this Thursday. Replacing my 58" Panasonic plasma that I've had for 5 years. I love my two Samsung plasmas I have, hoping this LED will be awesome as well.

If I want 5 channel surround sound for the smart tv apps, do I have to use the ARC or can I use an optical cable to my receiver? Thanks.
aukevin is online now  
post #7398 of 7410 Old 07-06-2014, 11:04 AM
Member
 
survivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I tried to set up my new 75 inch F8000 with CNET settings but it seems some of the settings are not available in the menu. Have anyone faced the same issue? Anyone with the 75 inch mind to share your settings please? Thanks!!!
survivor is online now  
post #7399 of 7410 Old 07-06-2014, 03:14 PM
Member
 
VideoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
DOnt have your model so I cant be specific...but some settings are unavailable if other items are set.



Quote:
Originally Posted by survivor View Post
I tried to set up my new 75 inch F8000 with CNET settings but it seems some of the settings are not available in the menu. Have anyone faced the same issue? Anyone with the 75 inch mind to share your settings please? Thanks!!!
VideoTech is offline  
post #7400 of 7410 Old 07-06-2014, 03:15 PM
Member
 
VideoTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Either




Quote:
Originally Posted by aukevin View Post
I'm getting the 75" this Thursday. Replacing my 58" Panasonic plasma that I've had for 5 years. I love my two Samsung plasmas I have, hoping this LED will be awesome as well.

If I want 5 channel surround sound for the smart tv apps, do I have to use the ARC or can I use an optical cable to my receiver? Thanks.
aukevin likes this.
VideoTech is offline  
post #7401 of 7410 Old 07-06-2014, 07:57 PM
Member
 
survivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by VideoTech View Post
DOnt have your model so I cant be specific...but some settings are unavailable if other items are set.
Well, I am following the exact settings listed in the CNET site. I would assume that if those settings are unavailable then they won't list it out or they will specify it as greyed out. But they do list some specific settings that I can't find it in my F8000. I just want to find out whether anyone experiencing the same thing.
survivor is online now  
post #7402 of 7410 Old 07-07-2014, 03:43 PM
Member
 
tq745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm seriously considering a open box floor model 55" F8000 from BB. They quoted me a price of $999.00. From what I could tell the TV looked great. Will get the 2 year warranty for $100.00 just to be safe. Has everything but the TV base but they are willing to give me 10% off at wall mount. Do you think this is a good deal or should I go with the 55" H7150 for $1499.00?

Last edited by tq745; 07-07-2014 at 05:40 PM.
tq745 is offline  
post #7403 of 7410 Old Yesterday, 11:17 AM
Member
 
mruschetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by survivor View Post
Well, I am following the exact settings listed in the CNET site. I would assume that if those settings are unavailable then they won't list it out or they will specify it as greyed out. But they do list some specific settings that I can't find it in my F8000. I just want to find out whether anyone experiencing the same thing.

Where are you from ???, USA models have more settings than Canadian o European Models , like Smart LED...
mruschetti is offline  
post #7404 of 7410 Old Yesterday, 02:28 PM
Member
 
bellest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LaSalle, IL
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by tq745 View Post
I'm seriously considering a open box floor model 55" F8000 from BB. They quoted me a price of $999.00. From what I could tell the TV looked great. Will get the 2 year warranty for $100.00 just to be safe. Has everything but the TV base but they are willing to give me 10% off at wall mount. Do you think this is a good deal or should I go with the 55" H7150 for $1499.00?
I would jump all over that offer, from what I've read the H7150 severely inferior to the F8000...
tq745 likes this.
bellest is offline  
post #7405 of 7410 Old Yesterday, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
DRN94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by tq745 View Post
I'm seriously considering a open box floor model 55" F8000 from BB. They quoted me a price of $999.00. From what I could tell the TV looked great. Will get the 2 year warranty for $100.00 just to be safe. Has everything but the TV base but they are willing to give me 10% off at wall mount. Do you think this is a good deal or should I go with the 55" H7150 for $1499.00?
As long as it is free from uniformity issues, that is a great deal for the F8000.
DRN94 is offline  
post #7406 of 7410 Old Yesterday, 04:01 PM
Member
 
tq745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone, picked up the tv from BB today. Can't wait to get it wall mounted and see how this tv performs.
tq745 is offline  
post #7407 of 7410 Old Yesterday, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
JayBizniss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellest View Post
I would jump all over that offer, from what I've read the H7150 severely inferior to the F8000...

Where did you read this, as I am looking at buying the 65 h7150.
JayBizniss is online now  
post #7408 of 7410 Old Yesterday, 06:36 PM
Member
 
tq745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBizniss View Post
Where did you read this, as I am looking at buying the 65 h7150.
From what I know, the F8000 uses local dimming as opposed to software dimming for the H7150. Also the F8000 has the smart evolution kit which the H7150 doesn't. The H8000 is last year's F8000 sans the curved screen.
tq745 is offline  
post #7409 of 7410 Old Yesterday, 08:17 PM
Member
 
survivor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mruschetti View Post
Where are you from ???, USA models have more settings than Canadian o European Models , like Smart LED...
I am from USA. Got my TV from Amazon which was sold by Amazon.
survivor is online now  
post #7410 of 7410 Old Today, 07:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1st post 1st page had a few links and one I'm interested in is the enable cal-day and cal-night settings. The link takes me to a whole page of posts. I've searched that whole page three times over. If I'm missing it could some tell me the posting number?
racing4funn is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Westinghouse Ld 3235 32 Inch Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Samsung 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv Un55f8000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off