Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread - Page 249 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #7441 of 7459 Unread 07-16-2014, 05:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I like the way the TV automatically dims at night (is this Eco setting?) But it dims a bit too much. If I play with brightness then it somehow knocks it out of the auto switching mode and I have to go back to factory setting to regain the auto mode. How do I bump up the dark room brightness?
racing4funn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7442 of 7459 Unread 07-16-2014, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BFJ 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by racing4funn View Post
I like the way the TV automatically dims at night (is this Eco setting?) But it dims a bit too much. If I play with brightness then it somehow knocks it out of the auto switching mode and I have to go back to factory setting to regain the auto mode. How do I bump up the dark room brightness?
Bump up the Backlight setting in Eco Sensor Mode up to 7
BFJ 96 is online now  
post #7443 of 7459 Unread 07-16-2014, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
DRN94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 71
unexpectederror,

Try taking a picture facing directly straight on to the screen and at least 8-10 feet back. It looks like you're looking down towards the TV and much closer than the viewing sweet spot. Being off axis in this way will exaggerate the black level of your screen. It's hard to judge uniformity errors if you're looking at the screen off axis. Try taking a picture closer to the optimum viewing sweet spot.
DRN94 is offline  
post #7444 of 7459 Unread 07-17-2014, 04:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post
I have an issue with my set.
When the credits from The Dark Knight Rises start the screen is completely black, as soon as text appears the screen lightens considerably, then when the text disappears, back to black, like a slow strobe effect between a 0IRE pattern to a 10IRE pattern. These are the settings I'm using from Buzzard767

Movie Mode
Backlight 7
Contrast 90
Brightness 45
Sharpness 0
Color 50
Tint 50/50
Picture Size - Screen Fit

Advanced Mode - off, off 0, and off
Color Space - Custom
R R44 G0 B4
G 15 52 0
B 0 8 45
Y 54 53 0
C 10 50 51
M 43 7 43
White Balance 23 23 25 16 25 27 (24 26 26 16 25 27)
10p White Balance
1 0 -1 -3
2 1 0 -1
3 2 2 0
4 1 2 1
5 2 2 0
6 0 0 0
7 0 0 0
8 -2 -2 -2
9 0 0 0
10 0 0 0
Gamma -1


is this normal for this set? do I have something set wrong? or is the set defective?
will enabling CalDay and CalNight help?

thanks in advance
to update the strobing issue, it will stop if brightness is set above 45, but you will lose the deep blacks on a blank screen. you cant test it easily enough by putting a black field pattern on the set, and move the brightness control. be sure the menu is not on screen after making changes.

there is a defect in the software on these sets where you will get different results while calibrating using fields or windows for the patterns, and if using fields, leaving the menu on screen. I cannot determine if using windows or fields is the correct way to go with this set when calibrating.

if you want to see an exaggerated example of this, change cinema black to high and measure the grayscale with the menu on screen and without, then look at the gamma charts.
vega509 is offline  
post #7445 of 7459 Unread 07-17-2014, 09:21 AM
CO1
Advanced Member
 
CO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellest View Post
You may qualify for a free, standard remote from samsung. Go to their website and navigate to the TV's model number, there will be a link there where you enter some info.
Here is the link to mt brother's TV but I can't find the "link where you enter some info" so could you give more details.
http://www.samsung.com/ca/consumer/t...UN60F8000AFXZC

Worst case scenario he will have to order one from Samsung in the US.
http://www.samsungparts.com/Products...59-00784C.aspx
CO1 is offline  
post #7446 of 7459 Unread 07-17-2014, 10:18 AM
Member
 
bellest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LaSalle, IL
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by CO1 View Post
Here is the link to mt brother's TV but I can't find the "link where you enter some info" so could you give more details.
http://www.samsung.com/ca/consumer/t...UN60F8000AFXZC

Worst case scenario he will have to order one from Samsung in the US.
http://www.samsungparts.com/Products...59-00784C.aspx
Hmm, apparently it's a US only thing:
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...UN65F8000BFXZA#
bellest is online now  
post #7447 of 7459 Unread 07-18-2014, 02:20 PM
Member
 
tq745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, I'm having a difficult time trying to find Buzz's settings. Like previous posters, the links on the OP is not directing me to where I need to be. If someone could post a link to it I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks.
tq745 is offline  
post #7448 of 7459 Unread 07-18-2014, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by tq745 View Post
Hey everyone, I'm having a difficult time trying to find Buzz's settings. Like previous posters, the links on the OP is not directing me to where I need to be. If someone could post a link to it I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks.
Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread
vega509 is offline  
post #7449 of 7459 Unread 07-20-2014, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
jimmirehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received this TV (UN65F8000) on friday. TV was fine during the on screen TV setup until i got to the update software now screen, i updated the TV, it rebooted and then this started happening (see pics). Again it was just fine and gorgeous prior to the update. Has anyone else ever experienced this?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3108.jpg (173.4 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3091.jpg (111.1 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3109.jpg (130.6 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by jimmirehman; 07-20-2014 at 11:47 AM.
jimmirehman is offline  
post #7450 of 7459 Unread 07-20-2014, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmirehman View Post
Just received this TV (UN65F8000) on friday. TV was fine during the on screen TV setup until i got to the update software now screen, i updated the TV, it rebooted and then this started happening (see pics). Again it was just fine and gorgeous prior to the update. Has anyone else ever experienced this?

http://youtu.be/RWHPUrhhKUs
http://youtu.be/ONXOjfoCm1Q
a guess, since the distortion never moves from its position, the panel may be failing. before anything try resetting the set, unplugging it for 5 minutes, then try to do the update again.
good luck.
vega509 is offline  
post #7451 of 7459 Unread 07-20-2014, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
jimmirehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post
a guess, since the distortion never moves from its position, the panel may be failing. before anything try resetting the set, unplugging it for 5 minutes, then try to do the update again.
good luck.

How do i do the update again? When i go to software update it tells me the TV is up to date
jimmirehman is offline  
post #7452 of 7459 Unread 07-20-2014, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmirehman View Post
How do i do the update again? When i go to software update it tells me the TV is up to date
you can try to download the file to a usb drive and install from that, if that fails, you will have to call Samsung tech support. sorry I can't be of more help.
vega509 is offline  
post #7453 of 7459 Unread 07-20-2014, 12:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orologio View Post
Hello,

I recently had my new 75" f8000 calibrated in Cal-day + Cal-night modes.

Because i do not like to manually switch from day to night mode, I was wondering whether there are any reasons why I should not enable Eco sensor to automatically dim, let's say, a Cal-day or a bright Cal-night?

Also if I may ask... can the Cal settings be locked to avoid accidents (like in isf...)?

Thank you
Can you share your settings with us to use as a starting point?
OBSSSD is offline  
post #7454 of 7459 Unread 07-20-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by OBSSSD View Post
Can you share your settings with us to use as a starting point?
page 6

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #7455 of 7459 Unread Yesterday, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well it has been 5 months since the purchase of this TV and I can really say it has been an awesome set. It came with 2 remotes, that bluetooth touchpad one and a regular soft button remote. When I watch Netflix or anything to do with the TV I've been using the Bluetooth remote and once you get use to it, it is really nice to use. Especially the size and how it feels in your hand.

Anyway, I just got around to getting ARC to work with Netflix. Works good. I never watched the TV show LOST, so I've been using Netflix to watch them. The picture looks awesome and the TV is throw out 5.1 to my receiver which is great. First time I have ever watched Netflix in HD and DD5.1. Anyway when I go to control the volume my Denon overlay pops up and so does the Samsung Anynet+ volume overlay at the same time. I want to be able to disable the Samsung volume control overlay. Does anyone know if that is possible? With both overlays on the screen at the same time you really can't see the volume number, and I usually set the volume by the number. It is not an end all situation, but figured I would ask.

Other than that the TV has been wonderful. I do have a couple year old Sony that has full back light array with local dimming that has just a little nicer picture, but it really is hard to tell. And I don't find myself these days so critical anymore. If I get a nice looking picture, decent sound, I'm happy. I remember years ago spending hours, days, weeks, just fiddling with settings, basically wasting my time. Asking for other users settings so I can use them on my set, and then changing them again days later when all I had to was set the settings to the way I liked them and leave them and enjoy the show. Now I can watch a TV show without that little voice in my head talking about how that corner was a little lighter than the other and crap like that.

I remember I paid $1900 for this set and now at the same store I see it for $1579. Damn, that's a pretty decent price for this set. I may just buy another. I think all the 4K hype is bringing down the 1080P sets, which is good because 4K to me, is just another hype like 3D. It will be available, but it won't be mainstream in several years....at least in my opinion. Because right after 4K you the industry needs to make money, so something else will come out, like 10K. Hey, may as well make it 20K. My eyes couldn't tell the difference anyway. We're only human, right?
Opentoe is offline  
post #7456 of 7459 Unread Yesterday, 08:51 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can someone comment on the motion blur for this set on sports/games?

I recently got a 55" XBR-X900 and am seeing quite a bit of blur especially in FIFA 14 on PS3 -- tried game mode, standard more w/motion flow off, clear, etc.

Am debating whether the F8000 with a 240hz native panel will help?

I got the XBR on clearance and the F8000 will be $100 lower.
blitzftw is online now  
post #7457 of 7459 Unread Yesterday, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
jimmirehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post
It came with 2 remotes, that bluetooth touchpad one and a regular soft button remote.

Mine only came with the Bluetooth remote, which i found odd, and when i went to the support site and tried to see if i qualify for the free 'physical button' remote, it told me i didn't.
jimmirehman is offline  
post #7458 of 7459 Unread Yesterday, 09:52 PM
Senior Member
 
DRN94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmirehman View Post
Mine only came with the Bluetooth remote, which i found odd, and when i went to the support site and tried to see if i qualify for the free 'physical button' remote, it told me i didn't.
It may have been for a limited time. I got my complimentary regular IR soft button remote back in July late year. Doubt they are still offering it for free a year later. I'm pretty sure the remote is only $15 at most. And honestly, I haven't used it at all, I prefer using the Bluetooth remote.
DRN94 is offline  
post #7459 of 7459 Unread Today, 06:26 AM
Member
 
bellest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: LaSalle, IL
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRN94 View Post
It may have been for a limited time. I got my complimentary regular IR soft button remote back in July late year. Doubt they are still offering it for free a year later. I'm pretty sure the remote is only $15 at most. And honestly, I haven't used it at all, I prefer using the Bluetooth remote.
I purchased my set in March of this year and it came with both remotes.I have no idea what Samung's logic is for why and who gets the second remote...
bellest is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Westinghouse Ld 3235 32 Inch Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Samsung 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv Un55f8000
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off