Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread - Page 263 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7861 of 7873 Old 12-05-2014, 02:54 PM
Member
 
romito201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi29 View Post
About 1204.4 :

Medium to large update , NO picture changes.

This is the Smart Hub change , it is kind of like half 2013 half 2014 hub.

What do I think ?

It`s ok , really is not that big of a deal , I do miss the pane where your 10 most recent pic`s or videos would be , but you can still find them under the Multimedia pane.

All in all , not such a pain !! LOL

Later

Me  HH
i like how popular youtube videos come up in the multimedia tab
romito201 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7862 of 7873 Old 12-05-2014, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I will admit , I like that , a lot !!!

BTW___do you like the new YT app versus the old ?

For me it`s alright , just took a bit of getting used to , at first I thought all my sub`s were gone , but I found that by pushing the left arrow you can bring up your menu.

So , not to bad , still have the original on my PS3 and Oppo 103D.

Later

G.  HH
jedi29 is offline  
post #7863 of 7873 Old 12-05-2014, 04:33 PM
Member
 
ozark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I like the old YouTube app better, my TiVo still has the old app.
ozark is offline  
post #7864 of 7873 Old 12-05-2014, 08:08 PM
Member
 
romito201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi29 View Post
I will admit , I like that , a lot !!!

BTW___do you like the new YT app versus the old ?

For me it`s alright , just took a bit of getting used to , at first I thought all my sub`s were gone , but I found that by pushing the left arrow you can bring up your menu.

So , not to bad , still have the original on my PS3 and Oppo 103D.

Later

G.  HH
i like i can watch playlists on it now
romito201 is offline  
post #7865 of 7873 Old 12-06-2014, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
jhartm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skesler View Post
@jhartm2 My friend has a similar issue in that after 'Listening to tunes for x $TIME' the Pandora (PCM) sound just stops. However, the screen indicates the song is still playing (progress bar).
He is using the HDMI - ARC (Audio Return Channel) to provide sound to his receiver (Denon AVR-E400). We are thinking about switching to S/PDIF output, instead of using ARC, to troubleshoot.

Vudu and Netflix (DD5.1) have no issue.
We recently duplicated the issue of sound dropping (while song progress bar continues) by using local media (.mp3 on USB thumb drive), which uses Stereo PCM similar to Pandora. This indicates a multi-app issue. It seems to be more susceptible to drop sound, when you are skipping songs, or changing channels on Pandora. Same with skipping through the .mp3 list.

I thought someone pointed out you could configure the TV, to output 'Stereo' sound using DTS instead of PCM, and that seemed to solve an issue related to Pandora sound.

Do you know where in the TV menu you have that option?
Did you ever find a solution to your problem?

His setup is:
TV:  UN65F8000 (software version 1120)
A/V Receiver:  Denon AVR-E400
Connection:  HDMI ARC from TV to Reciever

We are trying to zero in on if it is an issue with the TV or the Receiver - or a HDMI handshake issue.

Thanks,
Steve
as it turns out, this is a problem between the yamaha and the samsung. i validated as much as possible by swapping in an old marantz on the same $EVERYTHING_ELSE. in fact, i have narrowed it down to PCM coming from the samsung... doesn't seem to happen with AC3 or any other type of stream. so for whatever reason the yamaha occasionally doesn't sync with the samsung... if i power cycle the yamaha while it's happening, it usually comes back on playing the song fine.

frustrating.

/jer
jhartm2 is offline  
post #7866 of 7873 Old 12-06-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
skesler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pandora (PCM) sound drops using ARC - Samsung -> Denon

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhartm2 View Post
as it turns out, this is a problem between the yamaha and the samsung. i validated as much as possible by swapping in an old marantz on the same $EVERYTHING_ELSE. in fact, i have narrowed it down to PCM coming from the samsung... doesn't seem to happen with AC3 or any other type of stream. so for whatever reason the yamaha occasionally doesn't sync with the samsung... if i power cycle the yamaha while it's happening, it usually comes back on playing the song fine.

frustrating.

/jer
Thanks for the response - ditto on the frustration.

Same issue with Denon AVR-E400 receiver. Still not convinced it is not a Samsung ARC issue with PCM audio dropping out.
skesler is offline  
post #7867 of 7873 Old 12-07-2014, 12:26 AM
Member
 
Holland108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Finally, the newest update in EU (1122.2) added Netflix 4.0, and the new You Tube.
Did not notice other changes (yet).
Anyone knows how to figure that out?
ekelund likes this.
Holland108 is offline  
post #7868 of 7873 Old 12-11-2014, 02:36 PM
Member
 
mrgud79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone looking to get a great deal on SAMSUNG UN75F8000 check this "Amazon" link out! Price is UNREAL!!!

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN75F8.../dp/B00BCGRLV2

Home theater: ​SAMSUNG UN75F8000, UN65F8000 & 65" HU9000, PIONEER ELITE SC 81 Receiver/POLK AUDIO 7.1 Speakers PC: CPU: 4770K @ 4.9| GPU: QUAD TITAN SLI| OS: Windows 8 64 bit | MB: ASUS MAXIMUS VI EXTREME| RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance | PSU: Corsair AX 1200| SOUNDCARD: Auzentech X-Fi HT HD 7.1 | STORAGE: two 1TB Samsung 840 Evo SSD's in Raid 0 | CASE: LEVEL 10 GT All watercooled 2x XSPC RX480 | KEYBOARD/MOUSE: Logitech MK710
mrgud79 is offline  
post #7869 of 7873 Old 12-14-2014, 04:06 AM
Member
 
romito201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
i have directv what should i use 720/60p or 1080i/60i
romito201 is offline  
post #7870 of 7873 Old 12-14-2014, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I`m not sure I understand your question , BUT , if your sat device is capable of outputting 1080 then the F8000 will take care of it. Even if your box only does 720 , you still don`t need to do anything.

There is NO res setting on the F8000.

The panel`s max res is 1080p.

If you had an old VCR that only output 230 lines , then the F8000 would do it`s best to up-convert them to 1080.

I hope this info helps

Later , HH

Me 
jedi29 is offline  
post #7871 of 7873 Old 12-15-2014, 12:18 PM
Member
 
romito201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi29 View Post
I`m not sure I understand your question , BUT , if your sat device is capable of outputting 1080 then the F8000 will take care of it. Even if your box only does 720 , you still don`t need to do anything.

There is NO res setting on the F8000.

The panel`s max res is 1080p.

If you had an old VCR that only output 230 lines , then the F8000 would do it`s best to up-convert them to 1080.

I hope this info helps

Later , HH

Me 
my box can do 720p or do 1080i
romito201 is offline  
post #7872 of 7873 Old 12-15-2014, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Ok , then I suggest you set your box to 1080.

Later

G. 
jedi29 is offline  
post #7873 of 7873 Old Today, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hi guys. I recently bought a F8500 plasma. The image quality is absolutely spectacular, but is has a pretty significant buzz, so I think I'm going to return it and go with an LED instead. I am deciding between the F8000 and the HU8550. For those of you who have seen both sets, how do they compare on 1080i/1080p content? Thinking about going with one or the other, but the F8000 is a few hundred bucks cheaper. Thanks!
falconcry is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Westinghouse Ld 3235 32 Inch Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Samsung 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv Un55f8000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off