Official Samsung UNxxF8000 Owners Thread - Page 91 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
GR1MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by giantsx6 View Post

I don't think the update is made up but I'm not sure if this is a better gaming TV than the w900A, which seems to be the best from reviews.
Then get the w900A already, and stop complaining about how much better you "heard" it is for gaming compared to the f8000. I have the 55f8000, and it is the best tv I ever owned, and in my opinion the best LED tv on the market. I have my ps3 & 360 hooked up to it, and don't notice any lag at all since the update. I think this will be the perfect tv for the ps4 & Xbox 1 when I get them.
morbidz, DRN94 and Angelp1977 like this.

XBOX: xxx GR1MM xxx
PS3: GR1MM
GR1MM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 05:40 PM
Newbie
 
M00KIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
giantsx6 you perhaps should do more research...i just pulled the trigger on 65 inch F8000 over the 55 inch Sony.W900A. If you are comparing F8000 to 802A and you think its better i will have to question your research lol
M00KIE is offline  
post #2703 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 05:56 PM
Member
 
giantsx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The 802 has even lower input lag than the 900a.
giantsx6 is offline  
post #2704 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 06:06 PM
Member
 
blacknyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
+1
No lag for me , in game mode
blacknyc is offline  
post #2705 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 06:11 PM
Member
 
blu3flam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tempe,AZ
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you guys updated to the latest firmware? I want opinions before updating mine smile.gif
blu3flam3 is offline  
post #2706 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ag.jase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Anybody else here use High contrast on their f8000?

I feel it makes everything look better, especially for gaming.
ag.jase is offline  
post #2707 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sam S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu3flam3 View Post

Have you guys updated to the latest firmware? I want opinions before updating mine smile.gif

Did mine, seems fine.
Sam S is online now  
post #2708 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 06:38 PM
Member
 
blu3flam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tempe,AZ
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ag.jase View Post

Anybody else here use High contrast on their f8000?

I feel it makes everything look better, especially for gaming.

I use high contrast for everything not just gaming , I think it looks better , but I dunno if that setting impacts the input lag for gaming?
blu3flam3 is offline  
post #2709 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
GR1MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by giantsx6 View Post

The 802 has even lower input lag than the 900a.
Then get the 802
morbidz likes this.

XBOX: xxx GR1MM xxx
PS3: GR1MM
GR1MM is offline  
post #2710 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 06:51 PM
Member
 
morbidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by GR1MM View Post

Then get the 802

"block member" settings works wonders wink.gif
morbidz is offline  
post #2711 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
ag.jase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu3flam3 View Post

I use high contrast for everything not just gaming , I think it looks better , but I dunno if that setting impacts the input lag for gaming?

doubt it.

I love the f8000, I use it to play some PC games on my set with ultra settings and it looks phenomenal.

I can't wait for ps4/xbox1 on this set.

Yea I have been using high contrast as well, but I have seen more knowledgeable members who shun settings like the extra contrast. I am no an expert, so not sure why, but to me the high contrast just makes it look so much sharper etc..
ag.jase is offline  
post #2712 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 08:23 PM
Member
 
blu3flam3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tempe,AZ
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ag.jase View Post

doubt it.

I love the f8000, I use it to play some PC games on my set with ultra settings and it looks phenomenal.

I can't wait for ps4/xbox1 on this set.

Yea I have been using high contrast as well, but I have seen more knowledgeable members who shun settings like the extra contrast. I am no an expert, so not sure why, but to me the high contrast just makes it look so much sharper etc..

Me too I just bought this tv for the ps4/xbone smile.gif
blu3flam3 is offline  
post #2713 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 08:30 PM
Member
 
oreb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu3flam3 View Post

Have you guys updated to the latest firmware? I want opinions before updating mine smile.gif

I have and none of my devices worked with universal remote. I had to resync a few times got the receiver going but not the BD player but this seems to happen only to me with every update so don't take my word for it. Otherwise everything is good.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ag.jase View Post

Yea I have been using high contrast as well, but I have seen more knowledgeable members who shun settings like the extra contrast. I am no an expert, so not sure why, but to me the high contrast just makes it look so much sharper etc..

Do you mean dynamic contrast or dynamic mode? You will loose shadow details. Turning contrast high in your calibration may clip whites but most calibrations I've see are 94-100 especially for 3D.
oreb is offline  
post #2714 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 09:08 PM
Newbie
 
Zaz3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, i'm from Perú. I have a problem, i bought a UN50F5500 Version No: AH02 and it came with a 1 pixel dead. The store going to change it for the same model, but are there only 2 options: Panel AH02 or CH02. Which one do i choose?

I know that the TS01 is the best panel, but that panel doesn't exist for the UN50F5500.

Greetings from Perú and thanks for the help.
Zaz3 is offline  
post #2715 of 7527 Old 09-02-2013, 10:07 PM
Newbie
 
deadthree024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigkahuna1 View Post

I am in the exact same situation. My 65F7100 is a panel version AH01 (Sharp) and has bad vertical banding and a host of other problems. I plan on upgrading to the 65F8000 and will insist on checking the panel version on the side of the box before buying it. So far I've read about versions TS01 and US02. Are there other versions and, as deadthree asked, are they all Samsung panels? Are any versions known to be better or worse?

Anyone?
deadthree024 is offline  
post #2716 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
adgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by VGI View Post

Is anyone playing with streaming Videos from a nas drive ?

It wont show all the directories
Did you see my last post in regards to NAS? Mine does show my "video" directory but that's the l my thing I told it to share under media server. Sounds like your user permissions on NAS could be jacked up?
adgrimes is offline  
post #2717 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 03:04 AM
Member
 
RedGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightman View Post

Is there a calibration settings based on the Standard mode? I really don't like Movie mode.
Due to the characteristics (e.g. dimming features), standard mode can't be calibrated properly.
RedGrant is offline  
post #2718 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 05:46 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@ag jase ...

Whats up with the Input lag ?

And can you tell me if there is a White rim on your Screen on top and on the bottom ? ... Cause on my F7000 there was a light rim probably caused by the edge LED technic ... you can see it on the top rim and on the bottom rim of your Screen ... do you have that ?
Philip Dilla is offline  
post #2719 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
ag.jase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Dilla View Post

@ag jase ...

Whats up with the Input lag ?

And can you tell me if there is a White rim on your Screen on top and on the bottom ? ... Cause on my F7000 there was a light rim probably caused by the edge LED technic ... you can see it on the top rim and on the bottom rim of your Screen ... do you have that ?


What about the input lag? Mine is fine. I have a plasma as well and this set feels just as fast / responsive. At least as far as I can tell without any real testing.

No I do not have any major flashlighting. What do you have? the 55 inch or higher? What's your settings?

thanks
ag.jase is offline  
post #2720 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 06:42 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had the F7000 ... but i had Trouble with the Input lag in game mode ... in the Bioshock Demo for example it was very hard to Play ... so i dont get why you guys say it is a good Feeling ...

I mean i do not have the F8000, but i guess the F7000 is more or less the same ... the F8000 Design is to big for my Little TV table thats why i chose the F7000 ...

But the Input Lag has to be exactly the same cause it is the same technic in everything that affects the Input Lag ...

So if the update on the F8000 fixed the lag ... it has to come to F7000, too ... or at least would work on that TV, too ...


And on my last F7000 I had light rims ... you could see a 1 Inch thick line at the top and at the bottom along the whole rim of the tv ... very annoying xD ... thats why I gave that TV back ...


Now iam asking myself if I should get another F7000, or if I should wait till 2014 for the new TVs because maybe they will have less Input lag ...
Philip Dilla is offline  
post #2721 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 06:50 AM
Member
 
Yappadappadu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Philip is not talking about flash lighting but about a white strip across the top and bottom of the screen.
You can take a look at this pic/forum post and should be able to see it if you zoom in.
http://www.avforums.com/forums/19525053-post1081.html
My first F7000 (EU only model that more or less corresponds to the US F7500) didn't suffer from it, I think, while my 2nd one has it.
Yappadappadu is online now  
post #2722 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 09:28 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do you think the Samsung TVs in 2014 have better Input Lag than the F7000 or F8000 ?
Philip Dilla is offline  
post #2723 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 10:15 AM
Member
 
poodfoison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oreb View Post

That's because the TV isn't dimming when it's booting. If you want to test for it turn all dimming crap off like Smart LED, Cinama black and Eco, and turn the backlight up. Watch some 3D like that. The first thing I did when I got this set was to turn off all dimming and watch for probably around 50 hrs. I was really surprised at how uniform and nice everything looked but then again that's how it should be for the amount of $ you're dropping. There was no flashlighting or light bleed, the whole panel just becomes lighter. However when I turn on Smart LED I get effects like the one pictured below:

You can see to the right of the pop up box where the panel becomes lighter but all around it's black. That happens when the credits are rolling, I'll see brighter strips all around the credits. If I turn the LED to low or off everything stays at the same uniformity but the screen gets lighter.

I got my UN55F8000 on Friday and I believe I'm experiencing this same issue. On any black screen with text (e.g. movie credits), the white from the text "bleeds" through to what is supposed to be black, which causes a cloudy discoloration in what should be total black. Considering the "dimming" this TV is supposed to offer, I find this especially perplexing. I will attempt to turn off the "Smart LED" option tonight. Assuming this works, doesn't that mean I'm paying for a feature that doesn't work?
poodfoison is offline  
post #2724 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 01:34 PM
Member
 
CeazeTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Dilla View Post

I had the F7000 ... but i had Trouble with the Input lag in game mode ... in the Bioshock Demo for example it was very hard to Play ... so i dont get why you guys say it is a good Feeling ...

I mean i do not have the F8000, but i guess the F7000 is more or less the same ... the F8000 Design is to big for my Little TV table thats why i chose the F7000 ...

But the Input Lag has to be exactly the same cause it is the same technic in everything that affects the Input Lag ...

So if the update on the F8000 fixed the lag ... it has to come to F7000, too ... or at least would work on that TV, too ...


And on my last F7000 I had light rims ... you could see a 1 Inch thick line at the top and at the bottom along the whole rim of the tv ... very annoying xD ... thats why I gave that TV back ...


Now iam asking myself if I should get another F7000, or if I should wait till 2014 for the new TVs because maybe they will have less Input lag ...

No they are not the same TV, the F8000 has a quad core processor so twice the speed of your F7000 and has a 1200 clear motion rating as opposed to 800 to the F7000 ...I had to google F7000 as I've never seen that model in stores, I'm not even sure if that model is 240hz because I believe the F7100 is the first model to start to have 240hz ...they don't share the same firmware either, sorry.
CeazeTM is offline  
post #2725 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Yappadappadu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
That's not quite correct. The EU model F7000 does have the same quad CPU as the F8000 and it does in fact get the same FW updates in EU.
Here's a look at the tech sheet which mentions the quad core (F7090 being the german name of the F7000, "Artikelname" is still F7000).
http://www.samsung.com/de/consumer/tv-audio-video/television/led-tv/UE55F7090SLXZG-spec
Yappadappadu is online now  
post #2726 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 02:05 PM
Member
 
CeazeTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappadappadu View Post

That's not quite correct. The EU model F7000 does have the same quad CPU as the F8000 and it does in fact get the same FW updates in EU.
Here's a look at the tech sheet which mentions the quad core (F7090 being the german name of the F7000, "Artikelname" is still F7000).
http://www.samsung.com/de/consumer/tv-audio-video/television/led-tv/UE55F7090SLXZG-spec

I was under the impression this was a UNxxF8000 thread, why are you referencing and comparing UE models with UN, they aren't even the same firmware we are at 1111.4 and I believe they are at 1106 or 1107 ...they are not really the same TV's, they operate at different hz so they can't use the same firmware, the UE model has a cmr of 1000 and the UN model has a cmr of 1200 ...this is something I found on a F7000:
http://www.empowernetwork.com/genekailiuli/blog/samsung-un55f7000-led-hdtv-review/

These are the TV's the firmware covers:

"This firmware is for TV Model(s): LED F7450/F7500/F7550/F8000
The version is 1111.4
This firmware update will improve..."

All which are quad core, any models below those are dual core.
CeazeTM is offline  
post #2727 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 02:11 PM
Member
 
Yappadappadu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
We're talking about the F8000 which is AFAIK basically the same model worldwide.
And then there's the European F7000 which is pretty similar to the F8000, including the camera. That's all.
Yappadappadu is online now  
post #2728 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 02:27 PM
Member
 
CeazeTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappadappadu View Post

We're talking about the F8000 which is AFAIK basically the same model worldwide.
And then there's the European F7000 which is pretty similar to the F8000, including the camera. That's all.

UE models and UN models are not the same ...UN models are on the NTSC system and UE is on the PAL system, different hertz as well 60hz vs 50hz so no they are not the same TV, when you say F8000 everyone here will think you are talking about the UN model unless specified since this is a UNxxF8000 thread ...and since everyone here was talking about the UN model when talking about the latest firmware about the lag, then no, they are not the same firmware, sorry.
CeazeTM is offline  
post #2729 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 02:34 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dude ...

This are the better parts in a F8090 (What would be a F8000 in the UN) compared to F7090 (probably the F7550 in the UN)

◦Different Design / Arc Stand.
◦Clean Back Design

--> Just Design

◦Cinema Black Technology
◦Micro Dimming Ultimate (Vs Micro Dimming Standard)
◦CMR of 1200, rather than 800

--> Nobody can see any difference cause of that

◦Built in Subwoofers

--> Cool Thing


But nothing of that effects the Input Lag or is needed to update the Input Lag ... so if the UN Model F8000 can improve the Input Lag ... technically the EU Model F7090 could do that too ... but obvisiously Samsung got more updates to the UN ... the question is if they will fix that Input Lag in the EU too
Philip Dilla is offline  
post #2730 of 7527 Old 09-03-2013, 02:54 PM
Member
 
CeazeTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ye
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Dilla View Post

Dude ...

This are the better parts in a F8090 (What would be a F8000 in the UN) compared to F7090 (probably the F7550 in the UN)

◦Different Design / Arc Stand.
◦Clean Back Design

--> Just Design

◦Cinema Black Technology
◦Micro Dimming Ultimate (Vs Micro Dimming Standard)
◦CMR of 1200, rather than 800

--> Nobody can see any difference cause of that

◦Built in Subwoofers

--> Cool Thing


But nothing of that effects the Input Lag or is needed to update the Input Lag ... so if the UN Model F8000 can improve the Input Lag ... technically the EU Model F7090 could do that too ...

yes technically it could, but to your point they haven't and who knows if they will they are on different systems so it's not the same ...when you ask about the input lag, our UN models have seemed to have been fixed ...and remember we are talking about game mode, so if you have all the bells and whistles to on and not on game mode you will have a bad experience gaming.
CeazeTM is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un55b8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55c8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Led Hdtv , Samsung Un55es8000 55 Inch 1080p 240 Hz 3d Slim Led Hdtv , Westinghouse Ld 3235 32 Inch Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Lg 47lm8600 Led Lcd Hdtv , Samsung 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv Un55f8000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off