Is there any way to reset a parameter wrongly placed and saved in the service menu of TV SONY KDL-46NX711? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-16-2013, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pflinhares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all.
I'm new to the forum and seek to resolve a mistake I made. I changed a setting in the service menu of my TV SONY KDL-NX711. When I turned on the TV again, no picture, no sound. The green LED turns on, but nothing happens. My TV died permanently, or is there a way to reset the service menu? I emphasize that there is no menu visible on the screen. It would be a blind reset. I thank anyone who can help me.
pflinhares is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-16-2013, 05:28 PM
Member
 
iBrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
From SONY KDL-NX717 Service Manual:

2-4. RESETTING THE TV TO FACTORY CONDITION
Use the following instructions to restore the User Adjustments
and Channel Memory settings to the preset factory conditions.
1. While holding down the [up arrow]on the Remote Commander,
press the POWER button on the TV Switch Unit of the set.

The set restarts and displays the Initial Setup screen. This
may take several minutes.

2-4-1. RESETTING THE TV TO FACTORY CONDITION USING
SERVICE MODE
1. TV must be in Standby Mode. (POWER off).
2. Press the following buttons on the Remote Commander
within a second of each other:
[DISPLAY]> Channel [5]> Volume [+]> [POWER] .
3. If necessary, press [JUMP] or [OPTIONS] to go to DIGITAL
mode.
4. Press 8 .
“SERVICE” changes to green RST.
5. Press MUTING.
RST executes the command and displays EXE.
6. Press 0 .
EXE-RST displays green, then red indicating the TV is
writing the data.
7. When the process is complete the green SERVICE text
displays and the LED display as shown below:
TIMER Standby POWER
8. Cycle AC Power (Unplug and Plug AC Cord from the
AC Outlet).
9. The set restarts and displays the Initial Setup screen.
This may take several minutes

Download SM here:
http://elektrotanya.com/?q=showresult&what=SONY%20NX7&kategoria=&kat2=all

Your model is not listed, so choose the closest model, mostly enter service mode etc. is the same.
You can only download 2 SM pdf free, each day!
iBrad is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-17-2013, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pflinhares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for your help, but I already tried this mode. I have a problem to do this, there is no image on the screen. I did the procedure indicated without seeing anything. So I think that is not a viable way to solve the problem. I'm starting to think unintentionally changed some parameter irreversible. In the service menu there is a warning to not make changes to the item "location" or risk having to replace Buth BOARD. Keep trying the alternatives that appear, but so far everything has gone wrong.
pflinhares is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-17-2013, 02:35 PM
KDH
Senior Member
 
KDH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Changes made in sm of a sony tv are not perment unless saved by 2 key presses for got what they are 9 and mute or something like that. The tv will rember settings untill the set is unpluged. Then it will revert back to what ever setting were there before changes were made. I suspect that if unpluging does not restore it that its a coincadince.
KDH is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-26-2013, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pflinhares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again for the tips. I've tried every way possible, but the TV just starts, the green LED lights up, but does not show any picture or sound. Assuming that really could have been saved some improper configuration, is there anything I can do?
pflinhares is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off