*Official* Samsung UNxxF5000 and UNxxF5500 Owners Thread - Page 30 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2014, 04:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricarcher View Post
Ok, color tone normal? Im sure that aint accurate lol..everybody recommends warm2 or warm1..im looking for accurate settings..from someone who has calibrated..but thanks...I think some guy named Maverick posted his settings but im not sure if hes from the US or the UK...so if someone from tge US has this tv and has the correct settings please post
There aren't one set of "correct" settings for all TVs of the same model. If you want accurate you have to do the calibration yourself on your specific TV.
jprc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-05-2014, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well how about something generally close tp accurate settings then? I don't know how to use all that calibrating stuff.
electricarcher is offline  
Old 10-05-2014, 12:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricarcher View Post
Well how about something generally close tp accurate settings then? I don't know how to use all that calibrating stuff.
That's why you should check out this link: lifehacker.com/5858625/how-to-calibrate-your-hdtv-and-boost-your-video-quality-in-30-minutes-or-less
I'm not sure if mine accurate or not (guess its not), and to be honest, I don't care. What's more important for me is that things looks good and that I can se details in black and white stuff. Try my latest settings, in my post before this one. If you think it looks good, use it, be happy and don't think so much about if it's accurate or not. If you loose details in the black, lower the contrast a bit. If loosing details in white, lower the brightness. If you think both are OK and want things a bit brighter, set the gamma one step higher. Like I said, it's not gonna be "accurate" but is it really THAT important? Guess it depends. I mostly play games and as things are right now on my TV I think they're fine.

Last edited by Chinisan; 10-05-2014 at 12:38 PM.
Chinisan is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricarcher View Post
Ok, color tone normal? Im sure that aint accurate lol..everybody recommends warm2 or warm1..im looking for accurate settings..
If colour tone is accurate or not, I don't know. Probably, it's not.
Changed to warm1 anyway. Maybe it's better. Dunno. Was just trying to help.

Another benfit from using PC mode instead of turning on game mode is that you can change the audio settings. Good if you're using the TVs speaker. This sound like **** on standard settings. Changing to the movie preset sounds better. But the best, I think, is to change to "STANDARD", turn on TruSurround on "Sound Effect" and then go into Equaliser under "Sound Effect" and lower the higher frequencies and turn the lower frequencies up.

Add: Changed colour tone to Warm2 and White balance to "24, 25, 25, 10, 35, 35" as someone else had earlier in this thread. Anyway, looks better to me.

Btw, does somebody knows if it's possible to make the TV start at HDMI2 instead of "TV"? Or turning the "TV" part off completely? I'm only using it for PS3 anyway.

Last edited by Chinisan; 10-07-2014 at 02:15 PM.
Chinisan is offline  
Old 10-09-2014, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just put what I saw on an amazon customer review..I used his calibration settings..it looks good..its just who knows..maybe someone has the right settings and it can look better
electricarcher is offline  
Old 10-16-2014, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 36
When I turn on my UN32F5000, I get a red blinking light and no backlight or picture. I'm thinking that this might have been caused by a brief power interuption (i call them blinkblinks) while I was sleeping. Before I send the TV to Samsung for service, would someone be able to tell me how to do a blind reset (a sequence including how many times I'm supposed to arrow up, down, hit enter, etc.)? If not, then I'll have to send it out for service.
Big C is offline  
Old 10-16-2014, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post
When I turn on my UN32F5000, I get a red blinking light and no backlight or picture. I'm thinking that this might have been caused by a brief power interuption (i call them blinkblinks) while I was sleeping. Before I send the TV to Samsung for service, would someone be able to tell me how to do a blind reset (a sequence including how many times I'm supposed to arrow up, down, hit enter, etc.)? If not, then I'll have to send it out for service.
Here's on my TV (UE32F5005), but yours should be the same:

Big red On/Off button (1) - Wait around 10 sec (or 13 sec just to be sure)
Menu (1)
Down (5)
Enter (1)
Down (1)
Enter (1)
Down (3)
Enter (1)
Press 0 four times if you're using the default PIN code (otherwise, use your PIN code)
Left (1)
Enter (1)

Wait for the TV to reset...

The numbers inside the "( )" are how many times you should press the buttons. I hope it works

Last edited by Chinisan; 10-16-2014 at 12:02 PM.
Chinisan is offline  
Old 10-16-2014, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post
When I turn on my UN32F5000, I get a red blinking light and no backlight or picture. I'm thinking that this might have been caused by a brief power interuption (i call them blinkblinks) while I was sleeping. Before I send the TV to Samsung for service, would someone be able to tell me how to do a blind reset (a sequence including how many times I'm supposed to arrow up, down, hit enter, etc.)? If not, then I'll have to send it out for service.
Did you try pulling the plug for 5 minutes?
jprc is offline  
Old 10-16-2014, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
jprc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chinisan View Post
Here's on my TV (UE32F5005), but yours should be the same:

Big red On/Off button (1) - Wait around 10 sec (or 13 sec just to be sure)
Menu (1)
Down (5)
Enter (1)
Down (1)
Enter (1)
Down (3)
Enter (1)
Press 0 four times if you're using the default PIN code (otherwise, use your PIN code)
Left (1)
Enter (1)

Wait for the TV to reset...

The numbers inside the "( )" are how many times you should press the buttons. I hope it works
There are some menu differences between the European and N. American version of the F5000 so don't know whether that will work or not. It would depend where the differences are. I have a F5500 so I can't check for myself.
jprc is offline  
Old 10-16-2014, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chinisan View Post
Here's on my TV (UE32F5005), but yours should be the same:

Big red On/Off button (1) - Wait around 10 sec (or 13 sec just to be sure)
Menu (1)
Down (5)
Enter (1)
Down (1)
Enter (1)
Down (3)
Enter (1)
Press 0 four times if you're using the default PIN code (otherwise, use your PIN code)
Left (1)
Enter (1)

Wait for the TV to reset...

The numbers inside the "( )" are how many times you should press the buttons. I hope it works
Thanks for your time. Are there any American F5000 owners who could varify or apply appropriate corrections?
Big C is offline  
Old 10-16-2014, 10:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Double post ^^

Last edited by Chinisan; 10-16-2014 at 10:57 PM.
Chinisan is offline  
Old 10-16-2014, 10:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post
Thanks for your time. Are there any American F5000 owners who could varify or apply appropriate corrections?
For some reason my internet is really slow right now, but shouldn't it be posible to check the manual?

Here's what the menu options look like on my TV, and what you choose when doing a reset:

Picture
Sound
Broadcasting
Applications
System
Support ----> e-Manual
////////////////Self Diagnostic ----------> Picture Test
////////////////Software Update////////////Sound Test
////////////////User Mode///////////////////Signal Information
////////////////Contact Samsung////////////Reset -------------------> [ENTER PIN CODE]
Chinisan is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
DahleMilsather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: ND
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have used a number of flash drives, up to 128GB, and all have worked fine. I have tried a couple USB HDDs, and they do not work. I don't think these sets are meant to drive devices as complex as HDDs.

DahleMilsather is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
DahleMilsather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: ND
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To reiterate, for Big C

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chinisan View Post
For some reason my internet is really slow right now, but shouldn't it be posible to check the manual?

Here's what the menu options look like on my TV, and what you choose when doing a reset:

Picture
Sound
Broadcasting
Applications
System
Support ----> e-Manual
////////////////Self Diagnostic ----------> Picture Test
////////////////Software Update////////////Sound Test
////////////////User Mode///////////////////Signal Information
////////////////Contact Samsung////////////Reset -------------------> [ENTER PIN CODE]
To Big C: To reset my North American UN40F5500AF
Turn it on. (Remember, the red light is there to tell you the set is off - so the light should NOT BE LIT.)
Here are your keystrokes to reset:
menu, up, right, down, down, right, up, enter, 0000 (or your pin), left, enter
Hope that helps.

DahleMilsather is offline  
Old 12-07-2014, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Samsung 22" Class 1080p Slim LED HDTV - UN22F5000

I just made another post, but then I ran across this. I am looking for a small HDTV that has 1080p resolution to use as a computer monitor? Is the Samsung UN22F5000 the smallest Samsung HDTV with 1080p? Would it be a suitable computer monitor? Can anybody here suggest a reputable dealer that might still have these in stock? Also, does this have the PIP (Picture In Picture) feature?
Jim1348 is online now  
Old 01-06-2015, 07:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
please guide me :
I had changed hidden option of my samsung eu40f5000 and now Iwant to return it back. but I don't remember its default options.please take a photo of your samsung Hidden default options and help me.
thanks a lot.
amin.mp is offline  
Old 04-03-2015, 10:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkl10 View Post
After weeks of tweaking, I think I'm done with calibration for now.
I'm happy with how it looks and don't think can do much better without a meter.
I used the AVS709 calibration suite and a few rudimentary optical comparators to calibrate on the Xbox 360 and USB input of the TV and arrived at pretty much the same settings.
Then I just copied those settings to the HDMI input where my set top box is connected and it looked great. (can't calibrate from the set box itself)
My aim was simply accuracy and dynamic range.
The result is that pictures look... normal. Nothing sticks out as abnormal besides LCD black level limitation at lowly iluminated environment.
Colors look normal, not flashy or highly saturated, detail is very good. I managed to minimize the blue tint of the darkest parts.
Overall I'd say the picture is very well balanced and non fatiguing... geeez., sounds like I'm describing sound lol but it's really like that for me.

Although I know there's variation between TVs I'm going to share my settings just the same.
It still could be interesting to know other subjective assessments about how this looks in F5X00s that share the same panel (Samsung PSA) and calibration settings in the Service Menu with mine.

For USB and HDMI set top box:

Preset: Movie
Color Tone: Standard
Backlight: 10 - 12 (20 with backlight strobing activated)
Contrast: 95
Brightness: 47
Sharpness: 10
Color: 47
Tint: 50/50
Screen Size: Screen Fit (Grayed out for USB)
Gamma: -2
White Balance: 24, 25, 25, 10, 35, 35
Color Space: Auto
LED Motion Clear: Off (can/should be On for improved motion resolution, backlight would need to be increased to 20)
Black Tone: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Digital/Mpeg Noise Reduction: Off
HDMI Black Level: depends on the source, non applicable for USB
Everything else at stock settings


For Xbox 360 (Games) and PC:

PC mode
Preset: Standard
Color Tone: Standard
Backlight: 10 - 12
Contrast: 90
Brightness: 46
Sharpness: 50 (for 1080 material, if less than that I'll go higher)
Screen Size: 16:9
Gamma: -2
White Balance: 24, 25, 25, 10, 35, 35
HDMI Black Level: Normal
Everything else is grayed out.

Settings on Xbox:
Resolution: 1080p
Color Space: RGB
Reference Level: Expanded
Display find (or something like that): Enabled

That's it for now, been using these settings for some days and don't feel like changing them.
With the AVS709 suite I have ensured that there's no clipping (up to 109% above white and up to 237 for each RGB component) nor crush.
With videogames I tend to allow myself some liberty to stretch Sharpness to max.

For those who try this, comments are apprecciated.

EDIT: I forgot about film mode setting for the HDMI set top box: Auto1.
EDIT2: I'm in Europe. If you're in America, I don't recommend you use my settings, or at least avoid my white balance settings, because I've noticed from some professional reviews in Europe and America that the grayscale measurements and calibrations are very different between the two territories.
You could probably end up with worse picture than default, it's up to your subjective assessment.
This probably applies to Asia and Africa as well.
I recommend you get the AVS HD 709 calibration suite to do the basic calibration on your display, you won't need a meter for this and it's much better than copying someone else settings.

I also took the oportunity to correct some mistakes with this Edit.
Hey mate, is this still valid?
scorpgul is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 07:18 AM
Senior Member
 
kkl10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Hello scorpgul,

I haven't touched my TV for many months, but most of it is still valid, yes. No guaranty that it will work for you, though.
I have made some changes to the white balance and Contrast and changed Gamma to -1. I recommend you leave Gamma at 0 or -1, no lower than that. Other than that, not much has changed. I have also tweaked some white balance settings on the service menu, but that's a risky endeavor that won't work equally for every one (and it would require some sort of measuring equipment anyway).

Feel free to try these settings. If you don't see a significant improvement with those white balance and Color Tone settings, you may want to leave those alone.

EDIT: What you really should do is to download the AVS 709 calibration suite and use it to make your own adjustments. That's basically what I did.
scorpgul likes this.

Last edited by kkl10; 04-04-2015 at 07:28 AM.
kkl10 is offline  
Old 04-04-2015, 07:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkl10 View Post
Hello scorpgul,

I haven't touched my TV for many months, but most of it is still valid, yes. No guaranty that it will work for you, though.
I have made some changes to the white balance and Contrast and changed Gamma to -1. I recommend you leave Gamma at 0 or -1, no lower than that. Other than that, not much has changed. I have also tweaked some white balance settings on the service menu, but that's a risky endeavor that won't work equally for every one (and it would require some sort of measuring equipment anyway).

Feel free to try these settings. If you don't see a significant improvement with those white balance and Color Tone settings, you may want to leave those alone.

EDIT: What you really should do is to download the AVS 709 calibration suite and use it to make your own adjustments. That's basically what I did.
Hey mate, thanks for your reply. At first I had no idea that there was a a PC mode lol, I had to google how to enable it. I am playing on PS3 at the moment and I have used the exact settings you posted for Xbox and what a huge difference lol. Definitely a huge improvement.

One quick question. I know you have posted what the settings on the Xbox itself should be set so maybe you know their equivalent on PS3.

Under Display Settings on my PS3, I have set RGB FULL RAGE(HDMI) to Full

Y Pb/Cb Pr/ Super-White (HDMI) is set to Off
Deep Colour Output (HDMI) is set to Automatic

Should I leave the last 2 options as they are?

Also most of the games on PS3 are 720P so what should I set the Sharpness as?

Thanks
scorpgul is offline  
Old 04-05-2015, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
kkl10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I can't quite recall exactly in what way black level and color space should be configured anymore; I'm also not very familiar with the PS3 settings, unfortunately. But by the names of those settings, I believe you have it all correct. The settings seem to match.

In doubt, I can only recommend that you research and play around with the settings and see if you find the right setup. There's a specific way it has to be, it's not too difficult. The TV must expect the signal that the external device (PS3 in this case) is sending. Pay attention to the details on the darkest and brightest areas of the picture, nothing should be clipped. But blacks should look black, not grey. Must look natural.

It doesn't help that games aren't all designed in the same Full RGB color space, though. You may find yourself having to re-adjust the settings for different games. In any case, always use PC mode with any PC device (consoles are, essentially, PCs), it leaves many settings correctly configured by default.

Regarding Sharpness, I have observed that maximizing the setting (100) in PC mode doesn't really create much visual artifact or distortion. Most games we have for the Xbox are also 720P, so I usually leave the setting around 70 - 75. May depend on the game. It's a matter of finding the right balance between detail and natural/smooth picture quality. Never decrease Sharpness below 50 in PC mode.

Last edited by kkl10; 04-05-2015 at 09:30 AM.
kkl10 is offline  
 

Tags
Samsung , Samsung Un32f5000 32 Inch Slim Led Hdtv , Samsung 50 Inch Led Hdtv Un50eh5000
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off