Official LG GA6400 Series Owners Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 401 Old 08-05-2014, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
JOHNNY672003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
60ga6400

I bought a 60ga6400 form amazon, the bezel is alot thicker than i was hoping, the Pic is pretty good for a 120hz, I still have the 3.2 and dont plan on updating even though I keep getting the popup to do so, my question is this, can xbmc be loaded on this model, I tried but for some reason it wont install, any advice?
JOHNNY672003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 401 Old 08-26-2014, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well I got this tv last night for 500, its the 47ga6400...it was a best buy display model which if that takes lets say 2-3 years off its life so be it...I figured I will at least get a good 8-10 years out of this set. I am really impressed with it and I am sad it didnt sell better then it did. I have not tried the 3d yet. One problem I did have was it did not come with qwerty remote...but Logitech k400 keyboard solved that so I could get through the setup. I love the picture quality. thanks for this thread and what you guys have done, it really helped get my tv setup nice and easy....I understand I can just use the theater glasses with this tv for 3D is that correct?
stuart628 is offline  
post #393 of 401 Old 08-26-2014, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Yes, you can theater 3d glasses. I have about 10 of them and they work perfectly.
jblank74 is offline  
post #394 of 401 Old 08-26-2014, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good to know thank you...How satisfied with this tv are you? So far I have liked what I have seen and to be honest, dont think I will find anything near its quality in the 500 price range!
stuart628 is offline  
post #395 of 401 Old 08-26-2014, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
On a 1-10 scale with 1 being "I hate it, this is a terrible TV" and 10 being "I am in love with this TV, it's awesome!" I am at a 4.


It lacks the ability to tweak settings for the streaming products, so you can't turn off Trumotion or any of the other crap, for Netflix, etc. Plus, the picture quality, while easily customizable, seems difficult to make "perfect". I know that is a poor word to use, but I have never been able to get this TV to a picture quality level that I am happy with. I find myself constantly tweaking this or that, which is troubling. Also, the apps available are sparse, it is no longer supported from LG (and presumably Google), and it lacks some streaming services which should be no brainers. Also, while I haven't used them in some time, the speakers on the TV are among the worst I have ever heard.


The WORST thing about the set though is the moronic decision by LG to make it so that the auto-dimming cannot be turned off or adjusted, by the TV's owner, without a special service remote control. Watch a dark film like Fright Night and count how many times the screen brightens and darkens. I (embarrassingly) have had to tell people that this is a "feature", apologizing for their stupid decision.


That said, the WIFI is strong, it has lots of inputs, and the 3D is outstanding, so not everything is bad. I'm just so disappointed considering what this TV was supposed to be.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #396 of 401 Old 08-26-2014, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
well then I am sitting pretty lol...I dont care for the smart features as my xbox one will handle that...and the picture quality I am happy with as its better then the 2007 toshiba its replacing 3D my projector does, but its a nice bonus to have this one as well!!!
stuart628 is offline  
post #397 of 401 Old 08-26-2014, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post
well then I am sitting pretty lol...I dont care for the smart features as my xbox one will handle that...and the picture quality I am happy with as its better then the 2007 toshiba its replacing 3D my projector does, but its a nice bonus to have this one as well!!!

Glad you are pleased. Enjoy it!

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #398 of 401 Old 08-30-2014, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
dusadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I still the only one who can't get the tv to start on full screen instead of the home screen upon startup? Is it because I have quick start enabled?
dusadus is offline  
post #399 of 401 Old 08-30-2014, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
dusadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I'm the only one hat gets annoyed by the home screen default setup. Got through to LG. this is a feature that can't be changed. You can't have it start by default on tv.
dusadus is offline  
post #400 of 401 Old 09-01-2014, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm surprised they'd answer any questions about the unit. Almost seems they are doing all they can to forget about it.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #401 of 401 Old 09-02-2014, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I must be missing something, my tv starts at the normal tv screen not the home app, I do not have the quick startup enabled and it takes it awhile, but its there. I am really liking the picture quality of this tv and think it will be a great tv, especially during fantasy football season, I am assuming I can install my yahoo and espn fantasy apps and just check the scores of my teams through the app while on a commercial break! that will be sweet...I am going to start playing around with the android side of things here soon...first tip, check the dont rotate screen correct?
stuart628 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Electronics 50ga6400 50 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv With Google Tv And Four Pairs Of 3d Glasses , Lg Electronics 47ga6400 47 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv With Google Tv And Four Pairs Of 3d Glasses
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off