Official LG GA6400 Series Owners Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2014, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
JOHNNY672003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
60ga6400

I bought a 60ga6400 form amazon, the bezel is alot thicker than i was hoping, the Pic is pretty good for a 120hz, I still have the 3.2 and dont plan on updating even though I keep getting the popup to do so, my question is this, can xbmc be loaded on this model, I tried but for some reason it wont install, any advice?
JOHNNY672003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2014, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Well I got this tv last night for 500, its the 47ga6400...it was a best buy display model which if that takes lets say 2-3 years off its life so be it...I figured I will at least get a good 8-10 years out of this set. I am really impressed with it and I am sad it didnt sell better then it did. I have not tried the 3d yet. One problem I did have was it did not come with qwerty remote...but Logitech k400 keyboard solved that so I could get through the setup. I love the picture quality. thanks for this thread and what you guys have done, it really helped get my tv setup nice and easy....I understand I can just use the theater glasses with this tv for 3D is that correct?
stuart628 is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Yes, you can theater 3d glasses. I have about 10 of them and they work perfectly.
jblank74 is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Good to know thank you...How satisfied with this tv are you? So far I have liked what I have seen and to be honest, dont think I will find anything near its quality in the 500 price range!
stuart628 is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 23
On a 1-10 scale with 1 being "I hate it, this is a terrible TV" and 10 being "I am in love with this TV, it's awesome!" I am at a 4.


It lacks the ability to tweak settings for the streaming products, so you can't turn off Trumotion or any of the other crap, for Netflix, etc. Plus, the picture quality, while easily customizable, seems difficult to make "perfect". I know that is a poor word to use, but I have never been able to get this TV to a picture quality level that I am happy with. I find myself constantly tweaking this or that, which is troubling. Also, the apps available are sparse, it is no longer supported from LG (and presumably Google), and it lacks some streaming services which should be no brainers. Also, while I haven't used them in some time, the speakers on the TV are among the worst I have ever heard.


The WORST thing about the set though is the moronic decision by LG to make it so that the auto-dimming cannot be turned off or adjusted, by the TV's owner, without a special service remote control. Watch a dark film like Fright Night and count how many times the screen brightens and darkens. I (embarrassingly) have had to tell people that this is a "feature", apologizing for their stupid decision.


That said, the WIFI is strong, it has lots of inputs, and the 3D is outstanding, so not everything is bad. I'm just so disappointed considering what this TV was supposed to be.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
well then I am sitting pretty lol...I dont care for the smart features as my xbox one will handle that...and the picture quality I am happy with as its better then the 2007 toshiba its replacing 3D my projector does, but its a nice bonus to have this one as well!!!
stuart628 is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuart628 View Post
well then I am sitting pretty lol...I dont care for the smart features as my xbox one will handle that...and the picture quality I am happy with as its better then the 2007 toshiba its replacing 3D my projector does, but its a nice bonus to have this one as well!!!

Glad you are pleased. Enjoy it!

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
Old 08-30-2014, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
dusadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I still the only one who can't get the tv to start on full screen instead of the home screen upon startup? Is it because I have quick start enabled?
dusadus is offline  
Old 08-30-2014, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
dusadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I'm the only one hat gets annoyed by the home screen default setup. Got through to LG. this is a feature that can't be changed. You can't have it start by default on tv.
dusadus is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm surprised they'd answer any questions about the unit. Almost seems they are doing all they can to forget about it.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I must be missing something, my tv starts at the normal tv screen not the home app, I do not have the quick startup enabled and it takes it awhile, but its there. I am really liking the picture quality of this tv and think it will be a great tv, especially during fantasy football season, I am assuming I can install my yahoo and espn fantasy apps and just check the scores of my teams through the app while on a commercial break! that will be sweet...I am going to start playing around with the android side of things here soon...first tip, check the dont rotate screen correct?
stuart628 is offline  
Old 10-21-2014, 11:22 PM
Newbie
 
john1655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ive had this issue for a while but I just found the solution. In start apps at startup one of the "apps" is live TV. It now starts live at startup. Crazy huh.
john1655 is offline  
Old 10-24-2014, 06:59 PM
Member
 
mercennarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Just an FYI, I was able to update some of my factory Android apps with the Aptoide app store. One of which was the Play Store app which I now updated to the new Android Lollipop 5.0 version, it looks much cleaner and is actually much faster than the one currently on our TVs. I highly recommend downloading Aptoide and updating your Playstore as well as any other apps (Chrome).
mercennarius is offline  
Old 11-10-2014, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
Facebook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1655 View Post
Ive had this issue for a while but I just found the solution. In start apps at startup one of the "apps" is live TV. It now starts live at startup. Crazy huh.
Can you help me get my TV to start in the home screen instead of the regular TV?
Facebook is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Do I have to do anything for 120Hz mode?

Do I have to do anything special to put it in 120Hz mode? I only use my TV for computer games, as I have my computer hooked up to it via HDMI 1.4

I put it in game mode because that's the only mode where there is no input lag. Does game mode have any bearing on the framerates?
Patrick McGuirk is offline  
Old 07-14-2015, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everyone still enjoying this TV?

I really like the new 2015 LGs, but this QWERTY remote is really great.

Still wish I had freaking Hulu App.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Old 08-02-2015, 12:29 PM
Member
 
trev01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To Hulu, install XBMC/KODI/TV ADDONS. I installed and have a home page shortcut, actually have it on now. No need for Xbox, Amazon Fire HD etc.....
trev01 is offline  
Old 10-10-2015, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Amazon Instant Video app work for anyone? I can't connect anymore.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Old 12-20-2015, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Sinistar83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I just noticed today the 3D World got discontinued.. Anyone know how to delete the icons and section off the homescreen for it?

EDIT: I just noticed I posted this in the wrong thread. I have a 5GA7900 model, though I'm guessing it got deleted from all LG 3D TVs?

Last edited by Sinistar83; 12-22-2015 at 08:38 AM.
Sinistar83 is offline  
Old 12-21-2015, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'll have to check as well. No way to delete them as I still have the YouTube one which doesn't even work.

The only Apps I use are Netflix (though the AppleTV Version is better), Plex (once again AppleTV is better), Vudu and YouTube (which I had to side load just to work since YT discontinued the version for this TV).

So really just Vudu since it's not on AppleTV. Netflix is easier for my wife to find built-in.

What apps are others still using? Most don't work on this TV.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Old 12-24-2015, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gone for me

Sad a TV that is 2 years old already has so many discontinued services. Wish I could still access Amazon VOD still.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Old 01-26-2016, 06:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,051
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2091 Post(s)
Liked: 1750
Did a quick search but cant find an answer.
Im assuming the 6450 is not a full array LED tv. Is it direct lit or edge lit?
Do the Amazon, Netflix and Youtube apps work well?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is offline  
Old 01-26-2016, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Did a quick search but cant find an answer.
Im assuming the 6450 is not a full array LED tv. Is it direct lit or edge lit?
Do the Amazon, Netflix and Youtube apps work well?
Not sure if the 6450 is a variation or not....but the 6400 only has the Netflix App and now a crappy Youtube app which has the highest quality video of 360p. I "downgraded" to an older 1080p version, thankfully. Amazon no longer works.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Old 01-26-2016, 09:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,051
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2091 Post(s)
Liked: 1750
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post
Not sure if the 6450 is a variation or not....but the 6400 only has the Netflix App and now a crappy Youtube app which has the highest quality video of 360p. I "downgraded" to an older 1080p version, thankfully. Amazon no longer works.
Thank you.
According to the first post in this thread the 6400 and 6450 are the same.
Bond 007 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like LG Killed the NEWS feed from the Home Menu.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Old 03-27-2016, 11:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post
Looks like LG Killed the NEWS feed from the Home Menu.
And magically it came back yesterday.
GizmoDVD is offline  
Old 03-27-2016, 02:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16,051
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2091 Post(s)
Liked: 1750
Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD View Post
And magically it came back yesterday.
Happy Easter!
Bond 007 is offline  
Old 06-21-2016, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
News Feed stopped working a few days ago.

So glad LG is still supporting a TV that is barely 3 years old
GizmoDVD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Lg Electronics 50ga6400 50 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv With Google Tv And Four Pairs Of 3d Glasses , Lg Electronics 47ga6400 47 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv With Google Tv And Four Pairs Of 3d Glasses
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off