Official LG GA6400 Series Owners Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 388 Old 10-01-2013, 07:58 PM
Member
 
aceg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I use these settings for blurayand regular tv. I haven't watched any 3D blurays yet. I calibrated using the AVS HD 709 disc. I believe the color setting needs to stay at 50 versus 55. 55 was achieved after calibration using the picture wizard but appears to make the colors look slightly off (makes sense since the calibration was done with the color set at 50 but the picture wizard suggest the color is slightly low). I use the same settings for the cable box input but the colors seem slightly off. Unfortunately I don't have a way to generate the test images without using the bluray player and there could be differences between how the cable box ouputs color and gray scale versus the bluray player. Any feedback is appreciated.
jblank74 likes this.
aceg1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 06:21 AM
Member
 
SeanU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know what type of panel the 60" GA6400 uses? Is it s-ips ?
SeanU is offline  
post #93 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Ace, I will try those out tonight. I think it's good that we get some communication going among the owners so that we can get the most out of the set. Lets keep chatting and I will make sure to post feedback on the settings this evening.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #94 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanU View Post

Does anyone know what type of panel the 60" GA6400 uses? Is it s-ips ?

As far as I know, the panels are IPS only the 6400 and 6450. If I remember correctly, S-IPS is a Samsung Technology used in their S-AMOLED screens.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #95 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 11:07 AM
Member
 
RedBean006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

What kind of hdmi will I need for the 50GA6400 for viewing 3d bluray? I'm about to purchase this tv tonight most likely. I'm pretty sure that I just have regular hdmi cables so will I need to buy a new one?

 

Also I was debating between this tv and the Sony Braivia KDL50R550A. I've read tons of great reviews on it. I know the lg has way more features but as far as picture quality does anyone think the sony would be my best option? Need a tv that has great 3d and great 2d picture quality. My heart says the lg GA6400 but I just don't wanna be disappointed by the picture quality. I am replacing a 5 yr old 42 inch Samsung lcd.

RedBean006 is offline  
post #96 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
What kind of hdmi will I need for the 50GA6400 for viewing 3d bluray? I'm about to purchase this tv tonight most likely. I'm pretty sure that I just have regular hdmi cables so will I need to buy a new one?

It just needs to be "Hi-Speed HDMI". DO NOT go and spend $75 on unnecessary cables that claim to be suited for 3D. It is a waste of money.
Quote:
Also I was debating between this tv and the Sony Braivia KDL50R550A. I've read tons of great reviews on it. I know the lg has way more features but as far as picture quality does anyone think the sony would be my best option? Need a tv that has great 3d and great 2d picture quality. My heart says the lg GA6400 but I just don't wanna be disappointed by the picture quality. I am replacing a 5 yr old 42 inch Samsung lcd.

I can't speak to the picture quality of the Sony, but I can share my experience with the LG GA6400. I came from a 42" Panasonic S2 series Plasma (2010 model) and outside of better menus and better black levels, I think the GA6400 outclasses it. My picture quality is fine, I'd consider it better than the 42" Samsung LED 4000series my wife and I have in our bedroom. Sony makes fine TV's and the model you are looking at is bigger, but I can't tell you which will be better without experiencing both.

I'll answer any questions you have about the GA6400 though.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #97 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanU View Post

Hey Everyone. Just ordered a 60GA6400 on Amz for a great price. I have a Spyder and will be doing an HCFR calibration when I get some time. Can anyone comment on the viewing angles? Unfortunately I have to put this tv on a fireplace mantel, and will be looking up at it. This is my first LG TV... so I'm a little nervous about buying it without seeing it in person.

Viewing angles are good. Our seating arrangement is "U" shaped in the den and I tried out all the seats and although there is minor dimming from the side, it isn't bad at all and I doubt anyone except myself would even notice it. I'd rate the viewing angles an 8.5 on a 10 scale. If you're looking up more than side to side, I think you'll be perfectly fine. smile.gif

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #98 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 11:53 AM
Member
 
SeanU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the follow ups... I'll post again when the TV arrives.
SeanU is offline  
post #99 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 12:22 PM
Member
 
RedBean006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Does it have a nice crisp clear picture?

 

Have you done any gaming on it if so notice any lag?

RedBean006 is offline  
post #100 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I came from a S2 series 1080p Panasonic Plasma, which inherently has a more "grainy" picture, but I've got a 4000 series Samsung in our bedroom and the LG offers a better picture, as far as sharpness and detail, than either of the other sets do or did. The panel is pretty uniform, I don't have any cloudiness, but I have a slight amount of bleed on the side from the edge lighting, but it isn't distracting anymore and never was enough where I thought about returning it.

I only game on the PC at this point, having sold off my consoles here in 2013, so I can't speak about gaming on the TV.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #101 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 01:04 PM
Member
 
RedBean006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Is anyone having bleeding issues on the edges from the edge lighting? If so how bad is it?

RedBean006 is offline  
post #102 of 388 Old 10-02-2013, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well, every model of LED TV, regardless of maker, will have some/many units that have bleeding edges, it is just the nature of the technology. Some might be more sensitive to it than others, but like stuck pixels in the old days of LCD's, there is a certain level of "error acceptability" that takes place. I've owned a total of four LED-lit HDTV's and all have had some degree of edge bleed. They've been a Vizio, two Samsung's, an Insignia that we bought for our youngest sons room, and the LG GA6400 that we're talking about in here. None have been to the point where I deemed it an experience that was so negative that the unit needed to be returned.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #103 of 388 Old 10-03-2013, 02:58 AM
Member
 
RedBean006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So for the cable receiver does it just hook up with hdmi to communicate with the tv? I ordered my tv last night can't wait!

Did the new update for jellybean hit yet?
RedBean006 is offline  
post #104 of 388 Old 10-03-2013, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Define communicate? To watch programming, yes, just hook it up with HDMI, to control the cable box with the Smart Remote, you need to use the IR Blaster that is included with the TV and is relatively easy to set up.

Jellybean is expected later this month.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #105 of 388 Old 10-03-2013, 07:26 AM
Member
 
RedBean006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblank74 View Post

Define communicate? To watch programming, yes, just hook it up with HDMI, to control the cable box with the Smart Remote, you need to use the IR Blaster that is included with the TV and is relatively easy to set up.



What do you have to have to hook it up the blaster?

Jellybean is expected later this month.
RedBean006 is offline  
post #106 of 388 Old 10-03-2013, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The blaster plugs into a port on the rear of the TV and has two connections that are roughly 7 feet long that go out of it. What you do is put one of these in front of the "remote sensor" on the front of your cable box and it will control it with the LG Smart Remote, after going through the setup process, which isn't difficult at all, and is done via a walkthrough on the TV menu.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #107 of 388 Old 10-03-2013, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceg1 View Post

I use these settings for blurayand regular tv. I haven't watched any 3D blurays yet. I calibrated using the AVS HD 709 disc. I believe the color setting needs to stay at 50 versus 55. 55 was achieved after calibration using the picture wizard but appears to make the colors look slightly off (makes sense since the calibration was done with the color set at 50 but the picture wizard suggest the color is slightly low). I use the same settings for the cable box input but the colors seem slightly off. Unfortunately I don't have a way to generate the test images without using the bluray player and there could be differences between how the cable box ouputs color and gray scale versus the bluray player. Any feedback is appreciated.

Ace, you might not have every calibrated before, but those settings are off the charts good for TV viewing. I haven't tested them on Blu-Ray playback, but for TV, wow, outstanding. I hope to watch a movie tomorrow night so I will report back how it looks on Blu-Ray.

Thank you for posting them.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #108 of 388 Old 10-05-2013, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBean006 View Post

Is anyone having bleeding issues on the edges from the edge lighting? If so how bad is it?

I have some on the bottom left and right. Maybe the screws are too right? In gonna try to loosen them a bit.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #109 of 388 Old 10-06-2013, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Which screws would dictate edge bleed? I'd be very interested in trying that also, not that it's a major issue or anything on mine.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #110 of 388 Old 10-06-2013, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Guys, I was playing around with the Trumotion settings today and I don't think they are doing anything when enabled, on my Dish Network HDTV content. Does Trumotion not work on content from cable receivers? I can't tell a difference between Off or maxed out, but I know it is working on streaming content because it (unfortunately) seems to turn on automatically.

Any thoughts?

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #111 of 388 Old 10-07-2013, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblank74 View Post

Which screws would dictate edge bleed? I'd be very interested in trying that also, not that it's a major issue or anything on mine.

The ones directly behind the edge bleed in the back.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #112 of 388 Old 10-07-2013, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'll take a look at that this evening. Thanks for the info.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #113 of 388 Old 10-07-2013, 01:03 PM
Member
 
RedBean006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblank74 View Post

I'll take a look at that this evening. Thanks for the info.

 

 

Let me know if it fixes your issue. I'm very curious. My tv will finally come in on delivery tomorrow.

 

Does the tv home screen access my DVR(COX) or will I have to switch inputs?

RedBean006 is offline  
post #114 of 388 Old 10-07-2013, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
When you hit "HOME" you will see your programming in the upper left. If you are using the IR Blaster, hitting "GUIDE" twice brings up the channel guide.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #115 of 388 Old 10-07-2013, 06:02 PM
Member
 
RedBean006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But do you know if it will also access my cable box dvr as well in the home menu in addition to the guide?
RedBean006 is offline  
post #116 of 388 Old 10-07-2013, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
In Home? No, but accessing it is simple. You hit Guide and go up arrow twice to "DVR Menu" and your recorded items will be there.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #117 of 388 Old 10-07-2013, 06:19 PM
Member
 
RedBean006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ty. You been such big help. Get my tv in morning so excited lol. Any luck with the screws loosening?
RedBean006 is offline  
post #118 of 388 Old 10-08-2013, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I decided against even messing with it. It's so minor that I don't think it is worth any potential risk in messing with the screws to the panel.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #119 of 388 Old 10-08-2013, 11:03 AM
Member
 
SeanU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey everyone. I just got my 60" GA6400. Do I need a special hdmi cable for 3D support. I have Verizon Fios. Initially it seemed to work ok, but now I get a blocky distorted picture when I try to view 3d content.
SeanU is offline  
post #120 of 388 Old 10-08-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
You need a "Hi-Speed" HDMI Cable. It has to be Hi-Speed. Also, make sure you don't have the 2D-3D conversion "ON" on your 2D content. If you are going through a receiver, make sure that your receiver allows for 3D Passthrough.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Electronics 50ga6400 50 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv With Google Tv And Four Pairs Of 3d Glasses , Lg Electronics 47ga6400 47 Inch Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv With Google Tv And Four Pairs Of 3d Glasses
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off