Official Samsung UN**F6300 series LED TV Owners Thread. - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2246 Old 10-18-2013, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck_IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJaye View Post

Does anyone know why a F6300 randomly switches inputs on the receiver within 2-4 hours of watching TV? 

Is it really random or is it just switching to your ARC input port on the receiver? With ANynet enabled, mine will auto switch to the ARC port on the receiver, whenever I enter a Smart TV app and go back to the input I was ne, when I exit the app. Otherwise, the only time it switches is when I first turn everything on. When the ARC connection is first made with my receiver(Denon), the Denon needlessly insists on changing to the ARC port, even tho I haven't goen to the Smart TV section. I have to manually jump back to the normal input. This is a Denon issue, not a Samsung issue tho.
Chuck_IV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2246 Old 10-19-2013, 10:50 AM
Member
 
mobileES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mentor, OH
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up this 55" set (the F6300), coming from my 3yr old 40" Toshiba, I am blown away!!! I am officially a Samsung loyalist for life now. Picture quality is amazing! More connections than I'll ever need. A few things I am curious about, on my Toshiba it had a picture size setting for "Native" and it would automatically display content recorded in 4:3, 16:9, etc in the correct size. Does the Samsung have a default setting for this, I didn't want to have to go through the picture settings menu to watch older tv shows then change it to watch newer movies. Also I know in the manual it says it supports a USB keyboard and mouse, would this include a wireless one say from Logitech?
mobileES is offline  
post #273 of 2246 Old 10-19-2013, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
bobjared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Earlier in this thread there was extensive discussion regarding Version Numbers and Screen Manufacturer. For the 46" model - UN46F635ax found at Costco the Version no/screen was "TS 01".

Last week I looked again at the sticker on the box at my local Costco and for this 46" model, the Version was: "TU 02". This number was not discussed previously in this thread. Does anyone have any further info on this particular screen or any comparison to the 'TS 01" ?

Thanks so much !
bobjared is offline  
post #274 of 2246 Old 10-19-2013, 06:07 PM
Senior Member
 
heresnowhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Both my 40 and 46 F6300 have TU 02 on them. Purchased at Best Buy. Was curious myself, just didn't ask...
heresnowhy is offline  
post #275 of 2246 Old 10-19-2013, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ice Cold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobjared View Post

Earlier in this thread there was extensive discussion regarding Version Numbers and Screen Manufacturer. For the 46" model - UN46F635ax found at Costco the Version no/screen was "TS 01".

Last week I looked again at the sticker on the box at my local Costco and for this 46" model, the Version was: "TU 02". This number was not discussed previously in this thread. Does anyone have any further info on this particular screen or any comparison to the 'TS 01" ?

Thanks so much !



The going theory is that TS01 Are high quality Samsung Made panels. As stated by Samsung technicians. Samsung will make an initial batch of panels. as time progresses a few months they will make fixes or improvements to those Panels, and change the Version number. These improved Samsung made Panels are called Prime Panels. Pretty much the holy grail for Samsung. The Prime panels Versions are TU02. I think pretty much all of the 46 inch F6300 series are these the Prime Panels.
This could be explained by several other posters confirming their Version numbers. And I personally have 2 46 inch F6300 models both TU02. And it stands out because bother are perfect. By that I mean.

- No banding
- No DSE
- No smearing or trailing while gaming like on the F7100 series (yikes)
- No Flashlighting not even a little I can have a white ball in the center screen surrounded by black only the white ball gets lit up with crisp bordered and no dimming.

CNET's review points out the F6300 is a True 120hz panel. And that it displays 1200 lines of motion resolution, a feat that matches the $3,000 F8000 Series. And delivers near reference quality colors when calibrated. Now thats Samsung quality. Samsungs Speciality is the Mid range thats what they do best. And they did it.
Ice Cold is offline  
post #276 of 2246 Old 10-19-2013, 07:33 PM
Member
 
brian2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have the 40F6300

All apps just got deleted - currently ONLY have the web browser. anyone else had this happen?

Tried seseting TV etc

suggestions?

Thanks
brian2013 is offline  
post #277 of 2246 Old 10-19-2013, 11:55 PM
Newbie
 
Jocelyn84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian2013 View Post

Have the 40F6300All apps just got deleted - currently ONLY have the web browser. anyone else had this happen?Tried seseting TV etcsuggestions?Thanks

Same here (F6300), I was worried but they all came back a little while ago smile.gif
Jocelyn84 is offline  
post #278 of 2246 Old 10-21-2013, 08:45 AM
Member
 
brian2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jocelyn84, thanks, yup some of mine have returned but not all. At least the ones I used the most have returned, but it did mess up my Saturday Night Movie redface.gif)
brian2013 is offline  
post #279 of 2246 Old 10-21-2013, 11:07 AM
Member
 
mobileES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mentor, OH
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevermore0 View Post

Alright, so I looked again and I had definitely hurt my black levels with those adjustments, but I've tweaked things some more and I think it's looking really good right now. Surprisingly the flesh tone setting does seem to help a bit. Here are all of my settings:

Backlight: 16
Contrats: 95
Brightness: 48 (this might be a little high for some people, but I like being able to see all the details in dark scenes)
Sharpness: 15
Color: 47
Tint G/R: 50/50

Flesh Tone: +10

White Balance---
R-Offset: 21
G-Offset: 23
B-Offset: 22
R-Gain: 19
G-Gain: 10
B-Gain: 45

Gamma: +1 (you can increase this if it still seems too yellow to you, but everything else washes out too)

Looks pretty fabulous with these setting IMO, but your mileage may vary. The one thing I would note is that blues don't quite pop as much as you may like, but it's not something I'd even notice if I wasn't directly comparing it to my desktop monitor. Blue things are still blue.

Hope these work for you all. Good luck!

I used these settings a so far the picture looks great with the newer movies like Oblivion.
mobileES is offline  
post #280 of 2246 Old 10-21-2013, 11:38 PM
Newbie
 
bookcookr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice Cold View Post

The going theory is that TS01 Are high quality Samsung Made panels. As stated by Samsung technicians. Samsung will make an initial batch of panels. as time progresses a few months they will make fixes or improvements to those Panels, and change the Version number. These improved Samsung made Panels are called Prime Panels. Pretty much the holy grail for Samsung. The Prime panels Versions are TU02. I think pretty much all of the 46 inch F6300 series are these the Prime Panels.
This could be explained by several other posters confirming their Version numbers. And I personally have 2 46 inch F6300 models both TU02. And it stands out because bother are perfect. By that I mean.

- No banding
- No DSE
- No smearing or trailing while gaming like on the F7100 series (yikes)
- No Flashlighting not even a little I can have a white ball in the center screen surrounded by black only the white ball gets lit up with crisp bordered and no dimming.

CNET's review points out the F6300 is a True 120hz panel. And that it displays 1200 lines of motion resolution, a feat that matches the $3,000 F8000 Series. And delivers near reference quality colors when calibrated. Now thats Samsung quality. Samsungs Speciality is the Mid range thats what they do best. And they did it.

What does the following mean?
- No banding
- No DSE
- No smearing or trailing
bookcookr is offline  
post #281 of 2246 Old 10-22-2013, 03:55 PM
Member
 
kohmei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18

I've had my 46" F6350 for about a week now, and during a video I was streaming on Netflix, the audio started randomly cutting out: at first for just a second or two, but then up to several minutes at a time. It's just the audio, as the video keeps playing uninterrupted, as if someone put the TV on mute; and, it's the stream audio only, as the beeps and boops the menu software makes continue to play. I've tried different streams on the TV and the problem is definitely there, as well as tried the same streams on other devices without experiencing the same problem.

 

I tried googling this problem, only to find one single reviewer on Amazon reporting the same problem. He says the problem is commonplace, but his review is the only evidence outside the two of us I can find of it occuring. Is this indeed a common problem and I just can't find any more instances of it? Did I just get a lemon?

kohmei is offline  
post #282 of 2246 Old 10-25-2013, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
cu52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bright spots on Screen?

I have recently purchased a UN60F6300. I am not thrilled with the picture and have played with a lot of the settings, i might have figured out why.

When I turned off the system with my harmony remote, i was too far to the side to turn the TV off. So the TV was still on and no input from the HDMI cable. I noticed several bright sports on the screen. (backlight at level 13)



Samsung chat help was usless. "Change backlight to 7 and leave it for a week let us know if it returns". Guessing it would remain but be less noticeable.

Thoughts?

Do I need to exchange this TV?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.
cu52 is offline  
post #283 of 2246 Old 10-25-2013, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
1ceTr0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Yep, exchange that thing pronto
1ceTr0n is offline  
post #284 of 2246 Old 10-25-2013, 08:04 PM
Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobjared View Post

Earlier in this thread there was extensive discussion regarding Version Numbers and Screen Manufacturer. For the 46" model - UN46F635ax found at Costco the Version no/screen was "TS 01".

Last week I looked again at the sticker on the box at my local Costco and for this 46" model, the Version was: "TU 02". This number was not discussed previously in this thread. Does anyone have any further info on this particular screen or any comparison to the 'TS 01" ?

Thanks so much !

Someone already replied to this but just to add to it TU02 is basically the same panel as TS01 but from the next manufacturing cycle which may include improvements. What improvements? Who really knows... If you check the panel ID in the service menu both TU02 and TS01 give the exact same code. Whichever you get they are both definitely Samsung panels I have a TU02 and it has been great so far.
snorge is offline  
post #285 of 2246 Old 10-26-2013, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
cannondale0815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Did anyone try the new firmware 1115.1 that came out yesterday?

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/UN60F6300AFXZA

I'd rather have someone else be the guinea pig wink.gif

Description as follows:

This firmware is for TV Model(s): LED F5500/F6300/F6350/F6400/F6800/F7050/F7100/F7150, PDP F5500
The version is 1115.1
This firmware update will improve the following:

- Solves Network Connection Issue with Wireless Router.

- Improves Picture Quality.

- Solves the issue Screen Mirroring does not work.

- Solves the issue Digital Clean View does not work correctly.
cannondale0815 is online now  
post #286 of 2246 Old 10-26-2013, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannondale0815 View Post

Did anyone try the new firmware 1115.1 that came out yesterday?

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/UN60F6300AFXZA

I'd rather have someone else be the guinea pig wink.gif

Description as follows:

This firmware is for TV Model(s): LED F5500/F6300/F6350/F6400/F6800/F7050/F7100/F7150, PDP F5500
The version is 1115.1
This firmware update will improve the following:

- Solves Network Connection Issue with Wireless Router.

- Improves Picture Quality.

- Solves the issue Screen Mirroring does not work.

- Solves the issue Digital Clean View does not work correctly.

Just installed the update via usb tv works fine so far smile.gif It's late my eyes are closing don't know if the picture quality is better lol I'm still mesmerized by the tv, only had it 2 weeks ehhe.
cannondale0815 likes this.

Samsung UN60H7150AF/Xbox One
Samsung UN55F6300AF/Xbox 360
milkk is offline  
post #287 of 2246 Old 10-27-2013, 12:40 PM
Member
 
scottvamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Did the update yesterday. Took close to an hour and I have pretty fast internet. TV works fine but I still have that annoying pop up everytime I change sources:(
scottvamp is offline  
post #288 of 2246 Old 10-27-2013, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottvamp View Post

Did the update yesterday. Took close to an hour and I have pretty fast internet. TV works fine but I still have that annoying pop up everytime I change sources:(

Try Samsung Support maybe they might have a fix? I have never seen that on mine but I have never really used the Samsung remote other than to access the menu quickly just use my Harmony.

Samsung UN60H7150AF/Xbox One
Samsung UN55F6300AF/Xbox 360
milkk is offline  
post #289 of 2246 Old 10-27-2013, 01:30 PM
Member
 
snorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottvamp View Post

Did the update yesterday. Took close to an hour and I have pretty fast internet. TV works fine but I still have that annoying pop up everytime I change sources:(

Did it let you update through the tv or did you download the usb package?
snorge is offline  
post #290 of 2246 Old 10-27-2013, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post

Did it let you update through the tv or did you download the usb package?

I think he did it via the TV if it took that long. I didn't have the TV option yet here in Canada so I grabbed it off the website and installed via USB.

Samsung UN60H7150AF/Xbox One
Samsung UN55F6300AF/Xbox 360
milkk is offline  
post #291 of 2246 Old 10-27-2013, 02:48 PM
Member
 
scottvamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorge View Post

Did it let you update through the tv or did you download the usb package?
I did it through the tv. I thought some tweeker would have figured out my pop up issue - lol
I will have to call Samsung this week. That update did not fix any major issues that I was aware of.....
scottvamp is offline  
post #292 of 2246 Old 10-27-2013, 09:34 PM
Member
 
vinnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should I be leaving the digital sound option to Neo 2:5 ? PCM is the only other option. When PCM is selected my AVR display only shows 2 speakers but when Neo 2:5 is selected the display shows 5 speakers but I don't hear anything from the rears. confused.gif
vinnny is offline  
post #293 of 2246 Old 10-27-2013, 11:53 PM
Member
 
HoundBaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denville New Jersey
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried to update via the TV software update menu.. Get the message there are no new updates for you at the moment. My current ver. 1113.
HoundBaby is offline  
post #294 of 2246 Old 10-28-2013, 08:09 AM
Member
 
HoundBaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denville New Jersey
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was able to perform upgrade via TV software menu. Upgrade took a little over 5 minutes. Current ver. 1115. This is the third firmware update since I purchased this TV Sept. 30. Firmware ver. 1108, 1111, 1113, and now 1115.
HoundBaby is offline  
post #295 of 2246 Old 10-28-2013, 02:27 PM
Member
 
sicknesstv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had issues turning your tv on (65inch 6350 from costco)? About once maybe twice a week my 6350 wont turn on and the light at the bottom left will blink red. If I unplug the tv for a few seconds and plug it back in it seems to work just fine.

Wondering if my set is faulty .. or if my monster green power surge protector is the culprit... I will most likely be exchanging this weekend.
sicknesstv is offline  
post #296 of 2246 Old 10-28-2013, 03:07 PM
Member
 
sabih786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know what HDMI versions this tv has, I plugged in a chrome cast but it does not provide power via only the HDMI. I thought this tv was HDMI V1.4 and as such should support power?

sig
sabih786 is offline  
post #297 of 2246 Old 10-29-2013, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
cannondale0815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabih786 View Post

Does anyone know what HDMI versions this tv has, I plugged in a chrome cast but it does not provide power via only the HDMI. I thought this tv was HDMI V1.4 and as such should support power?

Chromecast needs to be powered via the USB cable that came with it.

Some discussion on this here.
sabih786 likes this.
cannondale0815 is online now  
post #298 of 2246 Old 10-30-2013, 05:52 PM
Member
 
vinnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are any settings lost when doing a firmware update ?
vinnny is offline  
post #299 of 2246 Old 10-30-2013, 10:37 PM
Member
 
HoundBaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denville New Jersey
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All my settings remained the same after each firmware update.
HoundBaby is offline  
post #300 of 2246 Old 10-31-2013, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoundBaby View Post

All my settings remained the same after each firmware update.

Same here...

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Xbox 360 250gb Console With Kinect
Gear in this thread - 250gb by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off