Official Samsung UN**F6300 series LED TV Owners Thread. - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2204 Old 08-10-2013, 02:43 PM
Member
 
teqzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nank View Post

I haven't noticed anything new from the update either.

Does anyone know if you can add memory? I want to download apps, but only have a gig.

I have the Costco 60 inch 6350 and have no picture quality issues for off viewing. Couldn't be happier with this TV.


No memory upgrade is possible unless you move up to ES7500 and ES8000 LED and E7000 (no SI) and E8000 PDP models for use with your existing TV
EVOKit for older TVs
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1450292/official-samsung-smart-tv-evolution-kit-thread
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Samsung---Smart-Evolution-Kit/8939299.p?id=1218956064162&skuId=8939299
teqzen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2204 Old 08-11-2013, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
javajunkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up the UN40F6300FXZA a few weeks ago and have been very happy . . . until a few days ago when I found my IR extender cable chewed up by my over-rambunctious little pup. I've not been able locate a source for a replacement, except a UK listing on EBay. Nothing against you Brits, but I'd rather not deal with an international transaction. wink.gif

Anyone know of a US source or a compatible replacement? The part number from a tag on the cord is BN96-26652A.
javajunkee is offline  
post #183 of 2204 Old 08-11-2013, 06:27 PM
Member
 
rusty55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by javajunkee View Post

I've not been able locate a source for a replacement, except a UK listing on EBay. Nothing against you Brits, but I'd rather not deal with an international transaction. wink.gif

Anyone know of a US source or a compatible replacement? The part number from a tag on the cord is BN96-26652A.


Here's one on Ebay in the US...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SAMSUNG-Genuine-OEM-Digital-Home-Theater-Wireless-Remote-Receiver-BN96-26652A-/190880756347?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c7161327b

And Sears has it in stock also:

http://www.searspartsdirect.com/partsdirect/part-number/BN96-26652A/0057
rusty55 is offline  
post #184 of 2204 Old 08-11-2013, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
javajunkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the quick replies! I totally missed the US ebay listing. Purchase complete.
javajunkee is offline  
post #185 of 2204 Old 08-14-2013, 09:18 AM
Member
 
aridan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by javajunkee View Post

Picked up the UN40F6300FXZA a few weeks ago and have been very happy . . . until a few days ago when I found my IR extender cable chewed up by my over-rambunctious little pup. I've not been able locate a source for a replacement, except a UK listing on EBay. Nothing against you Brits, but I'd rather not deal with an international transaction. wink.gif

Anyone know of a US source or a compatible replacement? The part number from a tag on the cord is BN96-26652A.

Quick question: I was wondering what was the point of the IR extender.... I use a universal remote (Harmony One) to control my TV, STB, Receiver, etc., so my universal remote changes stations directly with the STB.... why would I want to send the channel change signal to the STB via the TV, when all I get is a lag?

Is the IR extender included with the TV so we can keep on using the TV's remote (to retain full functionality of the 'smart TV' features)? If that's the case, I can just as easily program my universal remote with the important functions for the Hub and the such, and forego the IR extender...

Or is the IR extender offered for those without a universal remote, that don't want to have 2 remotes (TV & STB)?

Am I missing anything here?
aridan is offline  
post #186 of 2204 Old 08-14-2013, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
javajunkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My understanding is I will be able to control the TV and my Comcast STB (I don't have a Universal Remote). I hadn't configured yet and just had the cable sitting on the shelf in front of the TV. My cat and dog tag-teamed to knock it off the self, then play/chew it up to oblivion. lol
javajunkee is offline  
post #187 of 2204 Old 08-14-2013, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
foxharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
anyone else have drifting lipsync issues using the built-in Smart TV netflix client? the sync is definitely off, and seems to get better and worse over the course of a show. this is true whether using ARC or optical audio feed to the receiver.

additionally, the lipsync adjustment on my yamaha rx-v375 only offers "manual" (no automatic) lipsync adjustment, and the manual adjustment does nothing at all, across its entire range (0ms to over 100ms).

the TV is a UN46F6300.
foxharp is offline  
post #188 of 2204 Old 08-14-2013, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Sathish Ganapat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does any one noticed yellow patches all over the Samsung Apps and Samsung login page as well.... does any one have the same problem like mine???
I think i got this problem once i upgraded to latest firmware updated 1110...
UN46F6350
Sathish Ganapat is offline  
post #189 of 2204 Old 08-16-2013, 08:04 AM
Newbie
 
Pig Vomit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, all. New owner here.

Picked up a 65" at Costco last week, replaced my old "now appears tiny in my living room, and no longer too big in my bedroom" 46". I'm pretty happy with the purchase. My old set is about 6 years old, and the technology has come a long way.

In any case, the TV came with the 1110 firmware installed. I see that the firmware version listed on the Samsung support site is 1110.1. Is there a difference between the two? No firmware available via TV's wifi update. For sh**s and giggles I tried to upgrade through USB, and it said there was no valid firmware on the USB stick.
Pig Vomit is offline  
post #190 of 2204 Old 08-16-2013, 08:27 PM
Newbie
 
latethank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
your laptop and HP will automatically and wirelessly detect your TV as soon as you put it on your network jPYb
latethank is offline  
post #191 of 2204 Old 08-20-2013, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
aeroshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in my return window for a Vizio e601 and decided to try out the 60F6300. It arrived yesterday from amazon but it has some noticeable clouding. There are 6 large bright spots even with the backlight down to 8. Is this something that will disappear over time? Or is it a defective unit? Also the corners seem to be darker on a white screen. I am using the settings from lcdbuyingguide.
aeroshock is offline  
post #192 of 2204 Old 08-20-2013, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Hip2bSquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeroshock View Post

I am in my return window for a Vizio e601 and decided to try out the 60F6300. It arrived yesterday from amazon but it has some noticeable clouding. There are 6 large bright spots even with the backlight down to 8. Is this something that will disappear over time? Or is it a defective unit? Also the corners seem to be darker on a white screen. I am using the settings from lcdbuyingguide.

I'd exchange it until you get a good set.
Hip2bSquare is offline  
post #193 of 2204 Old 08-21-2013, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
iowahawkeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa City IA
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FYI: The UN60F6350 draws 74 watts using my Kill-O-Watt meter with the built in speakers with volume at "20". Sticker on back states 70w is normal.

HD since Sept 2005
iowahawkeye is offline  
post #194 of 2204 Old 08-22-2013, 01:16 PM
Member
 
brian2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxharp View Post

anyone else have drifting lipsync issues using the built-in Smart TV netflix client? the sync is definitely off, and seems to get better and worse over the course of a show.

Yup have had lip sync issues with Netflix, but none with Amazon Prime
brian2013 is offline  
post #195 of 2204 Old 08-22-2013, 03:44 PM
Newbie
 
foxharp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian2013 View Post

Yup have had lip sync issues with Netflix, but none with Amazon Prime

yeah, it definitely seems to be content-specific. some netflix shows do it, others don't. the one or two amazon shows i tried (i don't use it regularly) were fine.

any idea how one reports problems against the Smart TV clients? do the reports to go Netflix? to Samsung?
foxharp is offline  
post #196 of 2204 Old 08-26-2013, 12:34 PM
Member
 
jcmusika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello fellow avs
we just got a UN60F6300xx last saturday and using default settings, the SOE is driving the wifey nuts. we are used to watching film on the Plasmas but we needed a larger set for the living room where there is just too much light. the F60xx does it job very well in terms of light output and clarity
except for SOE. what settings do i need to adjust, that i am new to samsung LED.
thanks
jcmusika is offline  
post #197 of 2204 Old 08-26-2013, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
n2speed125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1. hit MENU on remote..
2. select PICTURE
3. scroll down and select PICTURE OPTIONS
4. scroll down and select AUTO MOTION PLUS
5. now select AUTO MOTION PLUS and either turn it OFF or set it to CLEAR which almost everyone seems to like..
n2speed125 is offline  
post #198 of 2204 Old 08-26-2013, 01:04 PM
Member
 
jcmusika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thanks N2.
will try tonight
jcmusika is offline  
post #199 of 2204 Old 08-28-2013, 04:07 AM
Member
 
pappascw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up a UN60F6400 from Amazon last week. Had a 2 year old LG and so far not impressed with this thing. Had a few other Samsungs and this thing has terrible views from the side. the way my room is configured it sits above a fireplace and most of the seating is from the side angles. From the dead front it looks pretty good. Used some calibration settings to tweak the settings and picture is good, just side angle viewing is white washed out..

This typical of the newer LED panels?
pappascw is offline  
post #200 of 2204 Old 08-28-2013, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Brkaway79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I purchased the 32F6300 on Sunday. In general the picture is great; uniform backlight, blacks are black, and colors seem accurate enough. However, motion is very poor. The picture stutters a lot. This occurs with all settings of AMP including off. I ran the Spears & Munsil Blu-ray calibration disk and only AMP on smooth was able to handle the motion tests at all. In real world content this produced the soap opera effect and still stuttered. It came with firmware version 1105 so I'll check if the latest firmware improves anything. If not I'll return it.
Brkaway79 is offline  
post #201 of 2204 Old 08-28-2013, 02:31 PM
Newbie
 
HELI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just downloaded firmware ver 1111. Does anyone have any info?
HELI is offline  
post #202 of 2204 Old 08-30-2013, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
DMiZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received the F6300 last weekend and I'm experiencing the issue where the TV turns off and then on by itself (power cycle). It did it about 20 times in a half hour. I've searched all over and read a bunch of thoughts on some of the other model F's but I guess I'm looking for a concrete decision on what to do. I don't want to return/exchange it for another if the new one is going to do the same or I may get some other issue.

I downloaded the newest firmware last night, but haven't had the chance to test it yet. Does anyone know if they fixed this issue or something I can do to fix it? I'm not seeing much of an update on this problem in other threads.

Thanks in advance!

Signed,

A sad sad new TV owner
DMiZ is offline  
post #203 of 2204 Old 08-31-2013, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
Eric Reiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Camera for wall mounted TV.

When I mounted the TV on a slim mount, i didn't realize the camera would be able to be aimed. Are there any options here to use the existing camera? If not, how do I connect an external camera and get the tv to recognize it. Thanks in advance
Eric Reiter is offline  
post #204 of 2204 Old 09-02-2013, 06:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eric_Connelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just picked a 55" up yesterday at Costco with the Samsung pane, TH01.

I replaced out 55" GT30 in our bedroom with it. We wanted to get rid of clutter, Dune HD Box, Apple TV, etc and go with a smart TV.

PQ was not my main concern, its a bedroom TV and most of the content we watch is streamed anyways but I did not expect such a dramatic drop.

Hard to go from the very natural and smooth plasma to LED. I played around with the sittings and got it to be more watchable.

The netflix client compared to the Apple TV is not nearly as good PQ wise nor the interface. The Apple TV shifts resolutions based on connection on the fly, the Samsung app stops, buffers, and goes. It takes forever to buffer and I have a 100mbps connection at home.

We have a lot of content in MP4 and seemed to be no list view in the DLNA client, only those big tiles which makes it difficult to sort/find. Plex was quite a bit better but again the PQ just did not seem as good as the Dune HD.

This is not a TV PQ issue. DirecTV looked fine. Netflix via the Apple TV was superior compared to the built in client, any of our content via the Dune HD was superior compared to the built in smart apps.

Looks nice on the wall and it was 1/2 the weight of the plasma.

We really wanted to eliminate all the clutter under the TV but does not seem like that is going to work. Probably going to take it back this week.
Eric_Connelly is offline  
post #205 of 2204 Old 09-04-2013, 06:36 AM
Member
 
Brkaway79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brkaway79 View Post

I purchased the 32F6300 on Sunday. In general the picture is great; uniform backlight, blacks are black, and colors seem accurate enough. However, motion is very poor. The picture stutters a lot. This occurs with all settings of AMP including off. I ran the Spears & Munsil Blu-ray calibration disk and only AMP on smooth was able to handle the motion tests at all. In real world content this produced the soap opera effect and still stuttered. It came with firmware version 1105 so I'll check if the latest firmware improves anything. If not I'll return it.

The firmware update improved the sometimes jittery picture but the stuttering remained so I returned the set. I'll try a different brand/model.
Brkaway79 is offline  
post #206 of 2204 Old 09-06-2013, 01:58 PM
Member
 
john44a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
has anyone compared the 6350 to the vizio m- series , particularly the 55" models ?
john44a is offline  
post #207 of 2204 Old 09-10-2013, 07:30 AM
Newbie
 
pghchud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cannot get the Samsung Universal Remote to work with my DiSH VIP222k using the IR extender. Model number comes up and I select it but the channel change on the Samsung remote does nothing. I've tried selecting different DiSH model numbers but nothing. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong or how to troubleshoot it? Thank you.
pghchud is offline  
post #208 of 2204 Old 09-11-2013, 08:39 AM
Newbie
 
MJS242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thought I'd share some images of the clouding / uneven back light on a UN65F6300 I recently purchased and returned. These photos are exaggerated because they were taken with a black screen in complete darkness using a tripod/long exposure, but you get the idea:

http://imgur.com/a/6kJIq

Top image is backlight set to 8
Middle image is the dynamic setting
Bottom image is the standard setting

From my research I found differing opinions on uneven back lighting / clouding. It was hard to determine if what I had was within an acceptable range. The first samsung support person I spoke with wouldn't give me a straight answer. The second person told me that what I had was pretty unusual and it was a defective panel which allowed for me to do a return. I didn't want to risk getting another Samsung/LED and having to deal with the same problem all over again. Opted for a Panasonic S60 (saved $300) and the picture is much better.
MJS242 is offline  
post #209 of 2204 Old 09-12-2013, 09:12 AM
Member
 
bum944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newbie here looking for some advice. I have a bit of a challenge with my install, partly due to the downward facing speakers. Is there an audio output that I can use to connect some external speakers that use the internal 10W X2 amplifier? I'm looking for some installation flexibility while getting a modest audio quality improvement at the same time. Any help is much appreciated.
bum944 is offline  
post #210 of 2204 Old 09-14-2013, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 80
On the issue of who makes Samsung panels -- I am looking at the white sticker on the side of the box for the 6360AF bought from Costco about two weeks ago and there is absolutely no "version number" or any designation resembling any of the ramblings on here about panel manufacturer. Further, I dont even see (on here) any speculations regarding quality from one manufacturer to another. So can we be a little more specific. And can we be clearer about what the actual recommendations are regarding panel maker?

Sorry, but its rediculous to wade thru a bunch verbage and still come out with the same questions...

Scott

Panasonic 2013 55VT60
Marantz SR-5005 AVR
B&W 805 Speakers
Velodyne 15" Sub
TiVO Roamo OTA
Scott Oakley is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Xbox 360 250gb Console With Kinect
Gear in this thread - 250gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off