Official Samsung UN**F6300 series LED TV Owners Thread. - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2204 Old 09-16-2014, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 51
UN55F6300 here. Couldnt find the specs I needed from Samsung.
Can this unit display 0-255 or only 16-235? I have heard things like renaming input to PC etc or something to activate 0-255 full RGB. Can someone walk me through it please?

I have the cable tv and HTPC running through the Denon receiver, so only 1 HDMI running to the TV, using 1 input.

Thanks.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2204 Old 09-17-2014, 07:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliaskary77 View Post
UN55F6300 here. Couldnt find the specs I needed from Samsung.
Can this unit display 0-255 or only 16-235? I have heard things like renaming input to PC etc or something to activate 0-255 full RGB. Can someone walk me through it please?

I have the cable tv and HTPC running through the Denon receiver, so only 1 HDMI running to the TV, using 1 input.

Thanks.
It can display both. In picture settings HDMI black level "low" is the video spec 16-235 and "normal" is the pc levels. The setting is not tied to the input being named PC. I have mine set to "low" with the input named PC for the PS3 to use. PS3 needs to correspondingly be set for "limited" to show the correct picture.
Sunspark_007 is offline  
post #2193 of 2204 Old 09-17-2014, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark_007 View Post
It can display both. In picture settings HDMI black level "low" is the video spec 16-235 and "normal" is the pc levels. The setting is not tied to the input being named PC. I have mine set to "low" with the input named PC for the PS3 to use. PS3 needs to correspondingly be set for "limited" to show the correct picture.

great thanks. will know what to play with. i was guessing it might have been color space of native vs auto, but that didnt seem right to do much.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is online now  
post #2194 of 2204 Old 09-21-2014, 08:58 AM
Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone know anything about the 6360 Series TV on the Samsung website? Is that just one that Costco or some other chain sells?

Samsung UN55F6300AF
Sony KDL-40Z4100
milkk is online now  
post #2195 of 2204 Old 09-23-2014, 08:05 AM
Member
 
vlad335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
New update just downloaded to my 55" 6300 series panel. Check it out.
vlad335 is offline  
post #2196 of 2204 Old 09-24-2014, 06:19 PM
Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad335 View Post
New update just downloaded to my 55" 6300 series panel. Check it out.
I checked last night and I also got the update. Wonder what it does probably just fixes to software/apps etc.

Samsung UN55F6300AF
Sony KDL-40Z4100
milkk is online now  
post #2197 of 2204 Old 09-25-2014, 03:41 AM
Member
 
vlad335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkk View Post
I checked last night and I also got the update. Wonder what it does probably just fixes to software/apps etc.
As far as I can tell, nothing changed. Hopefully someone will chime in with a list of fixes. ( Where do they find these?)
vlad335 is offline  
post #2198 of 2204 Old 09-25-2014, 03:47 AM
Member
 
vlad335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK figured it out. Here is what the new firmware does.
Quote:
  1. This firmware is for TV Model(s): LED F5500/F6300/F6350/F6400/F6800/F7050/F7100/F7150, PDP F5500
  2. The version is 2203.1
  3. This firmware update will improve the following:

    - Solves Netflix loading issue

    - Solves Auto Off-On Issue

    - Solves the issue Smart Control does not work.

    - Solves Network Connection Issue with Wireless Router.

    - Improves Picture Quality.

    - Solves the issue Screen Mirroring does not work.

    - Solves the issue Digital Clean View does not work correctly.
vlad335 is offline  
post #2199 of 2204 Old 09-25-2014, 05:25 PM
Member
 
milkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad335 View Post
OK figured it out. Here is what the new firmware does.
Thanks for the info

Samsung UN55F6300AF
Sony KDL-40Z4100
milkk is online now  
post #2200 of 2204 Old 09-26-2014, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Rbrodzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasReich View Post
i just noticed the netflix app on my un55f6300 no longer outputs 5.1 sound, only stereo. its not even an option anymore. it has been working fine up until now. amazon,hbo go, vudu, etc apps all output 5.1 fine. i have been using optical audio out as hdmi is not an option on my yamaha receiver. tv firmware1200.0. netflix version 4.00511.
anyone else having problems? any ideas?
I posted the same on August 9th. It has been sporadic whether or not I get 5.1 versus stereo. I can only assume it is a download speed "negotiation" between netflix server and unit, with all the steps in between.

Rick Brodzinsky


SF Bay Area - OTA & Xfinity

Samsung UN46F6350
Marantz NR1604
TIVO Premiere
Samsung BD-5900
Rbrodzinsky is online now  
post #2201 of 2204 Old 09-26-2014, 06:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rbrodzinsky View Post
I posted the same on August 9th. It has been sporadic whether or not I get 5.1 versus stereo. I can only assume it is a download speed "negotiation" between netflix server and unit, with all the steps in between.

Could be. If you have not done so already, check your Netflix settings to make sure that playback quality is set to 'High'. The default is 'Auto' which does not prioritize quality. Of course, 5.1 availability also varies depending on the content.
Vampidemic is offline  
post #2202 of 2204 Old 09-26-2014, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Rbrodzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampidemic View Post
Could be. If you have not done so already, check your Netflix settings to make sure that playback quality is set to 'High'. The default is 'Auto' which does not prioritize quality. Of course, 5.1 availability also varies depending on the content.
Please remind me where this setting is. The Netflix menu doesn't have any playback quality settings.

Rick Brodzinsky


SF Bay Area - OTA & Xfinity

Samsung UN46F6350
Marantz NR1604
TIVO Premiere
Samsung BD-5900
Rbrodzinsky is online now  
post #2203 of 2204 Old 09-26-2014, 08:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vampidemic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Official Samsung UN**F6300 series LED TV Owners Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rbrodzinsky View Post
Please remind me where this setting is. The Netflix menu doesn't have any playback quality settings.

Go to the Netflix.com Web site (not in the TV app), sign in > click the user icon in upper right > select 'Your Account' > select 'Playback Settings'
Vampidemic is offline  
post #2204 of 2204 Old 09-26-2014, 09:24 PM
Member
 
Rbrodzinsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks. I will monitor and see if that fixes the issue, at least when I know the source content is 5.1.

Rick Brodzinsky


SF Bay Area - OTA & Xfinity

Samsung UN46F6350
Marantz NR1604
TIVO Premiere
Samsung BD-5900
Rbrodzinsky is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Xbox 360 250gb Console With Kinect
Gear in this thread - 250gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off